À propos de nous

Le Reef Resilience Network met en relation les gestionnaires des ressources marines avec des informations, des experts, des ressources et des possibilités de développement des compétences afin d’accélérer et de tirer parti des solutions permettant d’améliorer la conservation et la restauration des récifs coralliens et de leurs pêcheries dans le monde entier. Le réseau est un partenariat dirigé parThe Nature Conservancy composé de plus de membres 1,500 et soutenu par des dizaines de partenaires et le personnel de TNC, ainsi que des experts mondiaux de 100 dans les domaines des récifs coralliens, de la pêche, du changement climatique, de la communication, etc., agissant en tant que formateurs, conseillers et réviseurs de contenu.

Comment nous travaillons

Le réseau renforce la capacité des membres à gérer efficacement les récifs coralliens menacés par le réchauffement des mers, le blanchissement, le développement côtier, la pollution, la surpêche et les modifications de la chimie des océans. Pour y parvenir, nous:

  • Synthétisez et partagez les dernières stratégies scientifiques et de gestion pour garder les gestionnaires occupés inspirés et au courant. Notre site Web est mis à jour par des experts internationaux et présente les informations les plus récentes sur des sujets clés, des résumés d’articles de revues sur la science de la résilience, facilement consultables, ainsi que des études de cas mettant en évidence des stratégies de gestion efficaces et une nouvelle application de la science.
  • Reliez les gestionnaires et les experts pour partager les ressources et les leçons apprises qui éclairent et améliorent les décisions de gestion et inspirent de plus grandes collaborations. Les connexions sont établies à la fois en personne et en ligne par le biais d'échanges d'apprentissage hébergés sur le réseau, de formations et de webinaires interactifs sur des «sujets d'actualité» en matière de gestion des ressources marines. Nous hébergeons également le forum du réseau, un forum de discussion en ligne réservé aux membres, permettant aux gestionnaires et aux praticiens de partager des idées et des ressources et de poser des questions.
  • Fournir une formation et un financement de démarrage pour lancer des projets d'éducation, de surveillance et de réduction de la menace. Formation et soutien pour aider les gestionnaires à intégrer les concepts de résilience dans leurs stratégies de gestion et leurs politiques de réglementation, et à encourager un partage accru des connaissances au sein des régions et entre celles-ci.

Actualités

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter recevoir des informations sur les dernières avancées scientifiques et stratégiques, de nouvelles études de cas et résumés de revues, des prochains webinaires et les principales actualités sur les coraux dans le monde. Pour explorer les nouvelles du réseau précédemment présentées, visitez notre page Nouvelles.

Notre impact

Pendant des années 15, le réseau a joué un rôle essentiel dans la transformation des informations scientifiques et théoriques sur les récifs en connaissances, outils et conseils opérationnels pour les gestionnaires de ressources: gouvernements, ONG et dirigeants communautaires chargés de gérer les récifs et les services qu’ils fournissent.

4,120

Gestionnaires et praticiens ayant reçu une formation en ligne et / ou en personne

50

Projets de gestionnaires lancés avec un soutien financier ref

180,000 +

Les gens accèdent à notre boîte à outils en ligne chaque année ref

Rencontrer les gestionnaires

Bien qu'il y ait beaucoup d'histoires à raconter, voici à quoi ressemble le soutien du réseau et comment il se traduit en mesures concrètes pour améliorer la santé des coraux.

Pleins feux sur les gestionnaires
Pleins feux sur les gestionnaires
Pleins feux sur les gestionnaires
Pleins feux sur les gestionnaires

Rencontrez notre personnel

Petra MacGowan

Petra MacGowan

Gestionnaire du programme de résilience des récifs, Océans mondiaux

Petra est chargée de diriger les efforts mondiaux de renforcement des capacités du réseau et de gérer la mise en œuvre du partenariat NOAA-Programme de conservation des récifs coralliens / TNC afin de soutenir les efforts des gestionnaires de récifs coralliens et des partenaires de la conservation en Floride, aux Îles Vierges américaines, à Porto Rico et à Hawai 'Samoa américaines, le Commonwealth des Îles Mariannes du Nord et Guam pour protéger et gérer durablement leurs récifs coralliens. Auparavant, Petra a travaillé pour la Division des ressources aquatiques de l'État d'Hawaï (DAR), où elle a géré les stratégies de conservation des récifs coralliens de l'État, y compris la planification et la mise en œuvre d'aires marines gérées dans les principales îles hawaïennes et le développement d'initiatives de gestion communautaires. pour renforcer les efforts d'application de la loi à l'échelle de l'État. Elle est titulaire d'une maîtrise en affaires maritimes de l'Université de Washington, où elle a mené sa thèse en Guinée-Bissau, en Afrique de l'Ouest.

Kristen Maize

Kristen Maize

Responsable de la communication stratégique, programme hawaïen

Kristen dirige les communications du réseau, aide à organiser et à diriger des formations et collabore avec les gestionnaires pour développer des compétences en communication stratégique et dans d'autres domaines. Pour le programme TNC Hawaii, elle élabore et met en œuvre des stratégies de communication pour appuyer les pratiques et les politiques de conservation marine. Le contexte environnemental interdisciplinaire de Kristen est un mélange de communication, de politique, de gestion et de recherche. Les points saillants de sa carrière incluent: l’appui aux campagnes de marketing social sur les récifs coralliens à Hawaii et dans les îles Mariannes du Nord; gérer les programmes environnementaux du parc national des Amis du parc des Îles Vierges; et mener des recherches sur le terrain et en laboratoire sur des projets liés à la santé des récifs coralliens, aux espèces de poissons menacées, et à l'intégration de la perception humaine à la gestion des pêches. Kristen est titulaire d'une maîtrise en gestion de l'environnement côtier de l'Université de Duke. Elle est également peintre à l'huile professionnelle.

Dr. Elizabeth Shaver

Dr. Elizabeth Shaver

Programme scientifique sur la résistance des récifs, programme des Caraïbes

Liz est le fer de lance du développement de nouvelles sciences, ressources et partenariats pour la résilience des récifs coralliens pour le réseau. En tant qu'ancienne employée du réseau, Liz a participé au développement des versions précédentes de la boîte à outils et a été l'auteur principal du module de restauration du réseau. Liz travaille en étroite collaboration avec le programme TNC pour les Caraïbes, d’autres bureaux régionaux et des partenaires externes du monde entier (comme le Coral Restoration Consortium) afin de synthétiser et de partager des pratiques optimales fondées sur la science, en se concentrant actuellement sur le développement et la mise en œuvre d’un nouveau système. cours en ligne sur la restauration des récifs coralliens (à venir!). Titulaire d'un doctorat en sciences marines et conservation de l'Université Duke, elle a mené des expériences sur le terrain, des enquêtes à grande échelle sur les récifs et des questionnaires destinés aux gestionnaires afin de déterminer l'incidence des interactions écologiques sur les stratégies de gestion des récifs coralliens. Ses recherches ont porté sur la prédation des coraux, le changement climatique et le blanchiment, de multiples facteurs de stress, la facilitation des espèces et la restauration des récifs coralliens et autres habitats marins.

Cherie Wagner

Cherie Wagner

Coordonnateur du programme de résilience des récifs, Océans mondiaux

Cherie coordonne le réseau développement le toolkit, webinaires et formations à soutenir les efforts des gestionnaires de récifs coralliens et des partenaires de la conservation en Floride, aux îles Vierges américaines, à Porto Rico, à Hawaii, aux Samoa américaines, dans le Commonwealth des Îles Mariannes du Nord et à Guam. Avant de rejoindre le Global Océan Équipe, elle a travaillé sur un plan d’évaluation de la durabilité environnementale des projets aquacoles à petite échelle de l’organisation au WorldFish Centre en Malaisie. Elle a également travaillé sur l'évaluation du risque de la pêche sur les espèces côtières à Vancouver, Canada pour le projet Natural Capital. Elle est titulaire d'une maîtrise en affaires maritimes de l'Université de Washington, où elle s'est spécialisée dans l'utilisation des ressources marines et la gestion des aires marines protégées par les communautés aux Philippines.

The Reef Resilience Network connects marine resource managers with information, experts, resources, and skill-building opportunities to accelerate and leverage solutions for improved conservation and restoration of coral reefs and reef fisheries around the world. The Network is a partnership led by The Nature Conservancy that is comprised of more than 1,500 members, and supported by dozens of partners and TNC staff, as well as over 100 global experts in coral reefs, fisheries, climate change, communication, and more who serve as trainers, advisors, and content reviewers.

How We Work

The Network strengthens members’ ability to effectively manage coral reefs threatened by warming seas, bleaching, coastal development, pollution, overfishing, and changes in ocean chemistry. To achieve this, we:
Screen Shot 2017-07-11 at 4.16.12 PM

  • Synthesize and share the latest science and management strategies to keep busy managers inspired and in-the-know. Our website is updated by global experts and features the latest information on key topics, easily searchable summaries of journal articles featuring resilience science, and case studies highlighting successful management strategies and new application of science.
  • Connect managers and experts to share resources and lessons learned that inform and improve management decisions and inspire greater collaborations. Connections are made both in person and online through Network-hosted learning exchanges, trainings, and interactive webinars on “hot topics” in marine resource management. We also host the Network Forum, an online member-only discussion forum where managers and practitioners can share ideas and resources, and ask questions.
  • Provide training and seed funding to launch education, monitoring, and threat-reduction projects. Training and support to help managers incorporate resilience concepts into their management strategies and regulatory policies, and encourage increased knowledge-sharing within and across regions.

Our Impact

For 15 years, the Network has played a critical role in transforming scientific and theoretical information about reefs into operational knowledge, tools, and guidance for resource managers: the government, NGO, and community leaders tasked with managing reefs and the services they provide.

ReefResilienceCoralReefMap

      4,120 Managers and practitioners who have received training online and/or in-person

          50  Managers’ projects launched with funding support*

180,000+ People access our online toolkit annually**

 

* $95,355 in seed funding led to capacity-building training for more than 1,598 professionals in 32 countries and territories

**Based on visitation rates from 2017-2018

Managers on the Ground

While there are many stories to tell, here is what support from the Network looks like and how it translates into real action for improved coral health. Meet the managers:

Manager Spotlight Manager Spotlight
Manager Spotlight Manager Spotlight

Read more manager spotlight stories to learn about other seed funding projects.

The Latest News

Sign up for our newsletter to receive information on the latest science and strategies, new case studies and journal summaries, upcoming webinars, and highlights of coral news around the world. To explore previously featured Network news, visit our News page.

Our Staff

Petra MacGowan (Reef Resilience Program Manager, Global Oceans) is responsible for leading the global capacity building efforts of the Network and managing the implementation of the NOAA-Coral Reef Conservation Program/TNC partnership to support the efforts of coral reef managers and conservation partners in Florida, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico, Hawai‘i, American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and Guam to protect and sustainably manage their coral reefs. Previously, Petra worked for the State of Hawai‘i Division of Aquatic Resources (DAR) where she managed the State’s coral reef conservation strategies including the planning and implementation of marine managed areas in the Main Hawaiian Islands and the development of community-based management initiatives to enhance enforcement efforts statewide. She holds a Master’s of Marine Affairs from the University of Washington where she conducted her thesis work in Guinea-Bissau, West Africa.

kmaizeKristen Maize (Strategic Communication Manager, Hawai‘i Program) guides Network communication, helps organize and lead trainings, and works with managers to build skills in strategic communication. For TNC Hawai‘i Program, she develops and implements communication strategies to support marine conservation practice and policy. Kristen’s interdisciplinary environmental background is a blend of communication, policy, management, and research. Career highlights include: supporting coral reef social marketing campaigns in Hawai‘i and the Northern Mariana Islands; managing environmental programs for Friends of Virgin Islands National Park; and conducting field and lab research on projects related to coral reef health, endangered species of fish, and incorporating human perception into fisheries management. Kristen has a coastal environmental management Masters degree from Duke University. She is also a professional oil painter.

Dr. Elizabeth Mcleod (Reef Resilience Science Lead and Climate Adaptation Scientist, Asia Pacific) was instrumental in developing TNC’s Reef Resilience toolkit and trainings which have trained nearly 1,500 reef managers in more than 75 countries on the best practices for addressing threats to coral reefs. She is leading an effort to ensure gender equity is integrated into climate adaptation projects. Lizzie’s research focuses on building the resilience of coastal communities and ecosystems to climate change. She has over a decade of experience developing new strategies to reduce the impacts of climate change on tropical marine ecosystems and developing tools and guidance to help managers and communities to respond. She has worked on conservation projects across Micronesia, Indonesia, and Melanesia, modeling the impacts of climate change, conducting reef assessments, developing research priorities and management recommendations for climate change, blue carbon, ocean acidification, and developing and applying frameworks to assess community vulnerability to climate change and adaptation options. Lizzie received her PhD in climate vulnerability and adaptation in tropical systems from the University of Hawaii. She has published over 30 conservation science papers on topics such as climate vulnerability and adaptation, marine protected areas, conservation planning, coral reef resilience, ocean acidification, sea-level rise, blue carbon, customary tenure, and partnerships between religious groups and conservation. She serves as Editor for two conservation journals: Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment and Coastal Management.

Coral Restoration LeadDr. Elizabeth Shaver (Reef Resilience Coral Restoration Lead) works on coral restoration-related content on the website and network forum. As a former employee of the TNC Reef Resilience Program, Liz assisted in the development of previous versions of the Reef Resilience Toolkit and was the lead author on the new Coral Restoration Module. Liz works closely with partners including the Coral Restoration Consortium to synthesize and share new science and best practices with managers and practitioners through the module and the development of a new restoration online course (coming soon!). Liz holds a PhD in Marine Science and Conservation from Duke University, where she conducted field and lab experiments, large-scale reef surveys, and manager questionnaires to identify how ecological interactions can be used strategically in the designs of coral reef management strategies. Her research has focused on topics such as coral predation, climate change and bleaching, multiple stressors, positive species interactions, and the restoration of coral reefs and salt marshes.

Cherie Wagner SmallCherie Wagner (Reef Resilience Program Coordinator, Global Oceans) coordinates the Network, managing program logistics and helping to develop the online toolkit, webinars, newsletters, and trainings. She also works to coordinate the NOAA-Coral Reef Conservation Program/TNC partnership to support the efforts of coral reef managers and conservation partners in Florida, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico, Hawai‘i, American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and Guam. Before joining the Global Ocean Team, she worked to create a plan for evaluating the environmental sustainability of the organization’s small-scale aquaculture projects at the WorldFish Center in Malaysia. She also worked on assessing the risk of fisheries on coastal species in Vancouver, Canada for the Natural Capital Project. She has a Master’s degree in Marine Affairs from the University of Washington where she focused on marine resource use and community-based marine protected area management in the Philippines. 

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone