照片©Project REGENERATE

近年來,自然保護聯盟加強了對印度洋島嶼馬爾代夫的參與,發展了自然保護聯盟馬爾代夫海洋項目方案,該方案旨在支持政府解決馬爾代夫的環境優先事項和挑戰。面對。 再生項目(珊瑚礁在環礁生態系統中產生環境和經濟復原力)是該計劃下的一個重大項目,支持馬爾代夫沿海資源,特別是珊瑚礁的可持續管理,以建立經濟,社會和環境的不利影響。氣候變化的影響。 該項目的一項主要研究活動是進行雙腿科學考察,以調查珊瑚礁的生物多樣性和恢復力,並為馬爾代夫提供基線生態數據。

探險隊的第一站,與昆士蘭大學和卡特林海景調查合作,使用高科技攝像機從八個環礁收集數據。 研究巡航的第二站由17研究人員組成,代表來自世界各地的大學,研究和環境機構,並專注於馬爾代夫的北阿里(Alifu Alifu)環礁。 該團隊記錄了魚類豐度和物種結構,底棲組成,珊瑚種群人口統計學,珊瑚褪色和疾病,流動無脊椎動物物種和foramnifera健康。 該項目的一項關鍵戰略是通過在國家監測協議中培訓公民科學家來建立當地能力。 來自首都馬累Alifu Alifu Atoll和遠在斯里蘭卡科倫坡的公民科學家加入了研究小組,接受了培訓,並幫助他們收集了家庭珊瑚礁的數據。 收集的數據將有助於評估珊瑚礁生態系統的複原力。 它還有助於評估人口密度如何影響珊瑚礁健康。 此類評估解決了該地區的重要數據差距,對於一個極易受氣候變化影響的國家而言至關重要,並且還依賴於其世界知名的珊瑚礁及其提供的資源。 這些信息與未來監測評估的數據相結合,將為該地區的政策和管理決策提供信息。

Reef Resilience Team從兩名船員那裡得到了“幕後”一瞥這次探險:大自然保護協會潛水安全官Zach Caldwell和IUCN馬爾代夫海洋項目現場官員Amir Schmidt。

Reef Resilience(RR):您能否介紹一下這個項目是如何產生的?

扎克考德威爾(ZC): 今年馬爾代夫周圍水域的海水溫度預計會上升。 因為我們知道珊瑚在受到熱應激時更容易受到漂白和疾病的影響,這為及時解決馬爾代夫珊瑚恢復力研究問題創造了機會。 馬爾代夫珊瑚礁的定量信息似乎相當無效,因此採用的方法是組建一個綜合團隊,確保收集所有必要的信息,以回答所提出的問題。

RR:你在遠征中的角色是什麼?

照片©Project REGENERATE

陳竺: 我是魚隊的成員。 我和其他三位研究人員直接合作,對沿著斷麵線發現的珊瑚魚進行了計數和大小調整。 我還直接與斯克里普斯海洋學研究所合作,收集底棲數據。 我們在海底設置了10m x 10m圖,並拍攝了這些圖的一系列照片。 這些照片後來拼接在一起,製作了詳細的海底地圖。 這為我們提供了當時該地區社區結構的大量永久記錄。 我們通過魚類調查對這些數據進行了評價,以比較魚類豐度與底部組成。

我在夏威夷進行了類似的珊瑚礁和魚類調查,為我們的社區合作夥伴提供有關其珊瑚礁健康狀況的信息,以幫助為社區管理提供信息。 大自然保護協會夏威夷目前正與全州的19社區合作夥伴合作。 作為一個研究團隊,我們必須及時了解最新的監控協議,並為Project REGENERATE等協作研究項目做出貢獻。

Amir Schmidt(AS): 我在探險期間扮演了三個角色。 我的首要任務是確保研究團隊在正確的時間為正確的地方提供樣品。 每天有數十名潛水員和三次潛水,我們不得不堅持一個緊迫的時間表! 我的第二個職責是監督探險隊的公民科學部分。 其中包括四名當地公民科學家 - 兩名來自環境非政府組織,一名綠鰭馬爾代夫評估員和一名來自馬爾代夫環境保護局的代表 - 他們幫助收集有關魚類和底棲生命形式的數據,如珊瑚,海綿和整個探險期間的藻類和11名社區成員和度假村工作人員參加了一天的巡航,接受船上和水上培訓,主要關注底棲社區的監測協議。

RR:這個想法是怎麼回事 在考察中包括當地社區成員和科學家,即你對項目這方面的動機是什麼?

職業培訓

照片©Project REGENERATE

如: 我們將社區成員納入探險的目標是確定當地對珊瑚礁監測感興趣的人,以便建立一個公民科學家網絡來監測我們的海洋資源,然後利用這些信息制定管理計劃。

通常我們去島上並在那裡舉辦監測研討會。 這次,我們利用這個機會主持研究船的研討會。 除了培訓之外,社區成員還可以看到研究探險的日常生活。 馬爾代夫島嶼社區很小,因為它們之間的交通有限,這種相互作用極為罕見。 我認為這對社區成員和研究人員都很有意義,並幫助他們看到更大的圖景。

登錄到 網絡論壇 閱讀其餘的採訪。

por youjizz xmxx 老師xxx 性別

Behind-the-scenes on Project REGENERATE

Photo © Project REGENERATE

In recent years, the IUCN has increased its engagement in the Maldives, a group of islands in the Indian Ocean, with the development of the IUCN Maldives Marine Projects program, which aims to support the Government in addressing the environmental priorities and challenges that the Maldives faces. Project REGENERATE (Reefs Generate Environmental and Economic Resilience in Atoll  Ecosystems), a major project under this program, supports the sustainable management of coastal resources in the Maldives, particularly coral reefs, in order to build economic, social, and environmental resilience to the adverse effects of climate change. One major research activity of the project is a two-leg scientific expedition to investigate coral reef biodiversity and resilience and provide baseline ecological data for the Maldives.

The first leg of the expedition, in collaboration with the University of Queensland and the Catlin Seaview Survey, employed high tech cameras to collect data from eight atolls. The second leg of the research cruise was comprised of 17 researchers, representing  universities, research and environmental institutions from around the world, and focused on North Ari (Alifu Alifu) Atoll in the Maldives. The team documented fish abundance and species structure, benthic composition, coral population demographics, coral bleaching and disease, mobile invertebrate species, and foramnifera health. A key strategy of the project was to build local capacity by training citizen scientists in national monitoring protocols. Citizen scientists from Alifu Alifu Atoll, the capital Male and as far afield as Colombo, Sri Lanka, joined the research team, received training, and helped to collect data for their home reef. The data collected will help to assess the resilience of the coral reef ecosystem. It will also help to assess how population density affects reef health. Such assessments address important data gaps in the region and are critical in a country highly vulnerable to climate change, and also dependent on its world-renowned coral reefs and the resources that they provide. This information, combined with data from future monitoring assessments, will inform policy and management decisions in the region.

The Reef Resilience Team got a “behind-the-scenes” glimpse into this expedition from two crew members: Zach Caldwell, The Nature Conservancy’s Dive Safety Officer, and Amir Schmidt, IUCN Maldives Marine Projects Field Officer.

Reef Resilience (RR): Can you tell us a little bit about how this project came about?

Zach Caldwell (ZC): There was a predicted sea temperature rise this year in the waters around the Maldives. Because we know that corals are more susceptible to bleaching and disease when thermally stressed, this created a timely opportunity to address pressing research questions on the resilience of corals in the Maldives. There seems to be quite a void in quantitative information on coral reefs in the Maldives, so the approach was to organize a comprehensive team to ensure that all necessary information was collected to answer the questions being asked.

RR: What was your role in the expedition?

Photo © Project REGENERATE

ZC: I was a member of the fish team. I worked directly with three other researchers to count and size reef fishes found along our transect line. I also worked directly with Scripps Institution of Oceanography to collect benthic data. We set up 10m x 10m plots on the seafloor and took a sequence of photos of these plots. The photos were later stitched together to make a detailed map of the sea floor. This provides us with a large permanent record of the community structure in that area at that time.  We complimented these data with fish surveys to compare fish abundance with bottom composition.

I conduct similar coral reef and fish surveys in Hawai‘i to provide our community partners with information on the health of their reefs to help inform community-based management. The Nature Conservancy Hawai‘i is currently working with 19 community partners across the State. As a research team, it’s important that we stay up-to-date on the latest monitoring protocols and also contribute to collaborative research projects like Project REGENERATE.

Amir Schmidt (AS): I had three roles to play during the expedition. My first duty was to make sure that the research team was sampling the right places at the right times. With dozens of divers and three dives per day, we had to stick to a tight time schedule! My second role was to oversee the citizen science component of the expedition. This included four local citizen scientists – two people from an environmental NGO, an assessor for Green Fins Maldives, and a representative from the Environmental Protection Agency Maldives – who helped to collect data on fish and benthic life forms, such as corals, sponges, and algae during the whole expedition and eleven community members and resort staff who joined the cruise for a day, receiving on board and in water training on monitoring protocols focused on benthic communities.

RR: How did the idea  to include local community members and scientists in the expedition come about, i.e. what was your motivation for this aspect of the project?

Training

Photo © Project REGENERATE

AS: Our goal for including community members in the expedition was to identify who locally is interested in coral reef monitoring, in order to build a network of citizen scientists to monitor our marine resources and later use this information to create a management plan.

Usually we go to the islands and conduct monitoring workshops there. This time, we took advantage of the opportunity to host the workshops on the research vessel. In addition to the training, the community members got to see what daily life on a research expedition looks like. The Maldivian island communities are small and because transportation in between them is limited, interactions of this kind are extremely rare. I think it was interesting for both the community members and researchers, and helped them to see the bigger picture.

Log on to the Network Forum to read the rest of the interview.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone