الصورة © Project REGENERATE

في السنوات الأخيرة ، زاد الاتحاد الدولي لحفظ الطبيعة مشاركته في جزر المالديف ، وهي مجموعة من الجزر في المحيط الهندي ، مع تطوير برنامج IUCN للمشاريع البحرية في جزر المالديف ، والذي يهدف إلى دعم الحكومة في معالجة الأولويات والتحديات البيئية التي تواجهها جزر المالديف وجوه. مشروع REGENERATE (الشعاب المرجانية تولد مرونة بيئية واقتصادية في النظم الإيكولوجية للجزر المرجانية) ، وهو مشروع رئيسي في إطار هذا البرنامج ، يدعم الإدارة المستدامة للموارد الساحلية في جزر المالديف ، ولا سيما الشعاب المرجانية ، من أجل بناء المرونة الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والبيئية للعوامل السلبية. آثار تغير المناخ. يتمثل أحد الأنشطة البحثية الرئيسية للمشروع في رحلة استكشافية علمية ثنائية المراحل لاستكشاف التنوع البيولوجي للشعاب المرجانية وقدرتها على الصمود وتوفير البيانات البيئية الأساسية لجزر المالديف.

استخدمت المرحلة الأولى من البعثة ، بالتعاون مع جامعة كوينزلاند ومسح كاتلين سيفيو ، كاميرات عالية التقنية لجمع البيانات من ثماني جزر مرجانية. تألفت المحطة الثانية من الرحلة البحثية من 17 باحثًا يمثلون جامعات ومؤسسات بحثية وبيئية من جميع أنحاء العالم ، وركزت على نورث آري (أليفو أليفو) أتول في جزر المالديف. وثق الفريق وفرة الأسماك وهيكل الأنواع ، والتكوين القاعي ، والتركيبة السكانية للشعاب المرجانية ، وابيضاض المرجان والأمراض ، وأنواع اللافقاريات المتنقلة ، وصحة الثقبة. كانت الإستراتيجية الرئيسية للمشروع هي بناء القدرات المحلية من خلال تدريب العلماء المواطنين على بروتوكولات المراقبة الوطنية. انضم علماء مواطنون من أليفو أليفو أتول ، العاصمة ماليه وفي مناطق بعيدة مثل كولومبو ، سريلانكا ، إلى فريق البحث ، وتلقوا التدريب ، وساعدوا في جمع البيانات عن الشعاب المرجانية في منازلهم. ستساعد البيانات التي تم جمعها في تقييم مرونة النظام البيئي للشعاب المرجانية. سيساعد أيضًا في تقييم كيفية تأثير الكثافة السكانية على صحة الشعاب المرجانية. تعالج مثل هذه التقييمات فجوات البيانات المهمة في المنطقة وهي بالغة الأهمية في بلد شديد التأثر بتغير المناخ ، وتعتمد أيضًا على الشعاب المرجانية المشهورة عالميًا والموارد التي توفرها. هذه المعلومات ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع البيانات من تقييمات الرصد المستقبلية ، ستوجه قرارات السياسة والإدارة في المنطقة.

حصل فريق Reef Resilience على "وراء الكواليس" لمحة عن هذه البعثة من اثنين من أفراد الطاقم: زاك كالدويل ، مسؤول سلامة الغوص في منظمة Nature Conservancy ، وأمير شميدت ، المسؤول الميداني لمشاريع البحرية في IUCN Maldives.

Reef Resilience (RR): هل يمكنك أن تخبرنا قليلاً عن كيفية ظهور هذا المشروع؟

زاك كالدويل (ZC): كان هناك ارتفاع متوقع في درجة حرارة البحر هذا العام في المياه حول جزر المالديف. نظرًا لأننا نعلم أن الشعاب المرجانية أكثر عرضة للتبييض والأمراض عند الإجهاد الحراري ، فقد خلق هذا فرصة مناسبة لمعالجة الأسئلة البحثية الملحة حول مرونة الشعاب المرجانية في جزر المالديف. يبدو أن هناك فراغًا كبيرًا في المعلومات الكمية عن الشعاب المرجانية في جزر المالديف ، لذلك كان النهج هو تنظيم فريق شامل لضمان جمع جميع المعلومات الضرورية للإجابة على الأسئلة المطروحة.

RR: ما هو دورك في الحملة؟

الصورة © Project REGENERATE

ZC: كنت عضوا في فريق الأسماك. عملت بشكل مباشر مع ثلاثة باحثين آخرين لإحصاء وحجم أسماك الشعاب المرجانية الموجودة على طول خط المقطع العرضي. عملت أيضًا بشكل مباشر مع معهد سكريبس لعلوم المحيطات لجمع البيانات القاعية. أقمنا قطع 10 م × 10 م في قاع البحر وأخذنا سلسلة من الصور لهذه المؤامرات. تم تجميع الصور لاحقًا معًا لعمل خريطة مفصلة لقاع البحر. يوفر لنا هذا سجلاً دائمًا كبيرًا لهيكل المجتمع في تلك المنطقة في ذلك الوقت. لقد استكملنا هذه البيانات بمسوحات الأسماك لمقارنة وفرة الأسماك بتكوين القاع.

أقوم بإجراء مسوحات مماثلة للشعاب المرجانية والأسماك في هاواي لتزويد شركاء مجتمعنا بمعلومات عن صحة الشعاب المرجانية الخاصة بهم للمساعدة في إعلام الإدارة المجتمعية. تعمل Nature Conservancy Hawai'i حاليًا مع شركاء مجتمع 19 في جميع أنحاء الولاية. كفريق بحثي ، من المهم أن نبقى محدثين بأحدث بروتوكولات المراقبة وأن نساهم أيضًا في المشروعات البحثية التعاونية مثل Project REGENERATE.

أمير شميدت (ع): كان لدي ثلاثة أدوار لألعبها خلال الرحلة الاستكشافية. كان واجبي الأول هو التأكد من أن فريق البحث كان يأخذ عينات من الأماكن الصحيحة في الأوقات المناسبة. مع وجود عشرات الغواصين وثلاث غطسات يوميًا ، كان علينا الالتزام بجدول زمني ضيق! كان دوري الثاني هو الإشراف على عنصر علم المواطن في الرحلة الاستكشافية. وشمل ذلك أربعة علماء من المواطنين المحليين - شخصان من منظمة غير حكومية بيئية ، ومقيم في Green Fins Maldives ، وممثل من وكالة حماية البيئة في جزر المالديف - الذين ساعدوا في جمع البيانات عن الأسماك وأشكال الحياة القاعية ، مثل الشعاب المرجانية ، والإسفنج ، و الطحالب خلال الرحلة الاستكشافية بأكملها وأحد عشر من أفراد المجتمع وموظفي المنتجع الذين انضموا إلى الرحلة البحرية ليوم واحد ، وتلقوا على متن السفينة وفي تدريب على المياه على بروتوكولات المراقبة التي تركز على المجتمعات القاعية.

RR: كيف فعلت الفكرة  لتضمين أفراد المجتمع المحلي والعلماء في الحملة ، أي ما هو دوافعك لهذا الجانب من المشروع؟

التدريب

الصورة © Project REGENERATE

مثل: كان هدفنا لإشراك أفراد المجتمع في الحملة هو تحديد من يهتم محليًا برصد الشعاب المرجانية ، من أجل بناء شبكة من العلماء المواطنين لمراقبة مواردنا البحرية واستخدام هذه المعلومات لاحقًا لإنشاء خطة إدارة.

عادة نذهب إلى الجزر ونجري ورش عمل للمراقبة هناك. هذه المرة ، اغتنمنا الفرصة لاستضافة ورش العمل على متن سفينة الأبحاث. بالإضافة إلى التدريب ، تمكن أفراد المجتمع من معرفة شكل الحياة اليومية في رحلة بحثية. مجتمعات جزر المالديف صغيرة ولأن النقل فيما بينها محدود ، فإن التفاعلات من هذا النوع نادرة للغاية. أعتقد أنه كان ممتعًا لكل من أعضاء المجتمع والباحثين ، وساعدهم على رؤية الصورة الأكبر.

تسجيل الدخول إلى شبكة المنتدى لقراءة بقية المقابلة.

بورنو youjizz كسكسكسكسكس المعلم الثلاثون الجنس
Translate »

Behind-the-scenes on Project REGENERATE

Photo © Project REGENERATE

In recent years, the IUCN has increased its engagement in the Maldives, a group of islands in the Indian Ocean, with the development of the IUCN Maldives Marine Projects program, which aims to support the Government in addressing the environmental priorities and challenges that the Maldives faces. Project REGENERATE (Reefs Generate Environmental and Economic Resilience in Atoll  Ecosystems), a major project under this program, supports the sustainable management of coastal resources in the Maldives, particularly coral reefs, in order to build economic, social, and environmental resilience to the adverse effects of climate change. One major research activity of the project is a two-leg scientific expedition to investigate coral reef biodiversity and resilience and provide baseline ecological data for the Maldives.

The first leg of the expedition, in collaboration with the University of Queensland and the Catlin Seaview Survey, employed high tech cameras to collect data from eight atolls. The second leg of the research cruise was comprised of 17 researchers, representing  universities, research and environmental institutions from around the world, and focused on North Ari (Alifu Alifu) Atoll in the Maldives. The team documented fish abundance and species structure, benthic composition, coral population demographics, coral bleaching and disease, mobile invertebrate species, and foramnifera health. A key strategy of the project was to build local capacity by training citizen scientists in national monitoring protocols. Citizen scientists from Alifu Alifu Atoll, the capital Male and as far afield as Colombo, Sri Lanka, joined the research team, received training, and helped to collect data for their home reef. The data collected will help to assess the resilience of the coral reef ecosystem. It will also help to assess how population density affects reef health. Such assessments address important data gaps in the region and are critical in a country highly vulnerable to climate change, and also dependent on its world-renowned coral reefs and the resources that they provide. This information, combined with data from future monitoring assessments, will inform policy and management decisions in the region.

The Reef Resilience Team got a “behind-the-scenes” glimpse into this expedition from two crew members: Zach Caldwell, The Nature Conservancy’s Dive Safety Officer, and Amir Schmidt, IUCN Maldives Marine Projects Field Officer.

Reef Resilience (RR): Can you tell us a little bit about how this project came about?

Zach Caldwell (ZC): There was a predicted sea temperature rise this year in the waters around the Maldives. Because we know that corals are more susceptible to bleaching and disease when thermally stressed, this created a timely opportunity to address pressing research questions on the resilience of corals in the Maldives. There seems to be quite a void in quantitative information on coral reefs in the Maldives, so the approach was to organize a comprehensive team to ensure that all necessary information was collected to answer the questions being asked.

RR: What was your role in the expedition?

Photo © Project REGENERATE

ZC: I was a member of the fish team. I worked directly with three other researchers to count and size reef fishes found along our transect line. I also worked directly with Scripps Institution of Oceanography to collect benthic data. We set up 10m x 10m plots on the seafloor and took a sequence of photos of these plots. The photos were later stitched together to make a detailed map of the sea floor. This provides us with a large permanent record of the community structure in that area at that time.  We complimented these data with fish surveys to compare fish abundance with bottom composition.

I conduct similar coral reef and fish surveys in Hawai‘i to provide our community partners with information on the health of their reefs to help inform community-based management. The Nature Conservancy Hawai‘i is currently working with 19 community partners across the State. As a research team, it’s important that we stay up-to-date on the latest monitoring protocols and also contribute to collaborative research projects like Project REGENERATE.

Amir Schmidt (AS): I had three roles to play during the expedition. My first duty was to make sure that the research team was sampling the right places at the right times. With dozens of divers and three dives per day, we had to stick to a tight time schedule! My second role was to oversee the citizen science component of the expedition. This included four local citizen scientists – two people from an environmental NGO, an assessor for Green Fins Maldives, and a representative from the Environmental Protection Agency Maldives – who helped to collect data on fish and benthic life forms, such as corals, sponges, and algae during the whole expedition and eleven community members and resort staff who joined the cruise for a day, receiving on board and in water training on monitoring protocols focused on benthic communities.

RR: How did the idea  to include local community members and scientists in the expedition come about, i.e. what was your motivation for this aspect of the project?

Training

Photo © Project REGENERATE

AS: Our goal for including community members in the expedition was to identify who locally is interested in coral reef monitoring, in order to build a network of citizen scientists to monitor our marine resources and later use this information to create a management plan.

Usually we go to the islands and conduct monitoring workshops there. This time, we took advantage of the opportunity to host the workshops on the research vessel. In addition to the training, the community members got to see what daily life on a research expedition looks like. The Maldivian island communities are small and because transportation in between them is limited, interactions of this kind are extremely rare. I think it was interesting for both the community members and researchers, and helped them to see the bigger picture.

Log on to the Network Forum to read the rest of the interview.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone