保護珊瑚礁能夠恢復珊瑚礁:伯利茲的創新珊瑚礁管理方法

 

地區

伯利茲伯利茲堡礁系統

所面臨的挑戰

伯利茲堡礁系統的位置打開IMAGE文件

伯利茲堡礁系統的位置。

伯利茲以其令人難以置信的生物多樣性而聞名,無論是陸地還是海洋。 它的珊瑚礁一直被認為是加勒比地區最原始和最獨特的珊瑚礁之一,但它們在本世紀初開始出現令人擔憂的損壞跡象。 2006對整個伯利茲的140珊瑚礁的調查發現,活珊瑚覆蓋率從30的約1995%下降到平均11%。 野生動物保護協會(WCS)自1980以來一直在伯利茲工作,以幫助保護該國的海洋環境,從格洛弗礁的海洋保護區開展伯利茲漁業健康研究。

Glover's Reef位於伯利茲堡礁保護區內,可以釣魚和捕魚。 WCS發現石斑魚和一些笛鯛現在已被過度捕撈,捕撈中鸚嘴魚的比例在2004和2008之間翻了一番,因為鸚嘴魚被漁民視為“下一個最佳魚類”。

漁民瞄準放牧珊瑚的物種這一事實是一個嚴重的問題,對伯利茲珊瑚礁的健康產生了深遠的影響。 鸚嘴魚等珊瑚礁食肉動物在珊瑚礁中起著重要的生態作用; 通過食用大量的藻類,它們可以控制生長,確保它不會過度生長。 藻類可以窒息珊瑚,阻礙它們的生長,並減少它們的招募成功率。

彩虹鸚嘴魚(Scarus guacamaia),最大的食草魚在加勒比。 照片©Julio Maaz(WCS)打開IMAGE文件

彩虹鸚嘴魚(Scarus guacamaia),最大的食草魚在加勒比。 照片©Julio Maaz / WCS

因此,珊瑚礁的健康與鸚嘴魚等食草魚的存在密切相關。 隨著伯利茲的漁民繼續收穫鸚嘴魚,他們的數量開始迅速下降。 對伯利茲捕撈七年(2002-2009)後魚類群落變化的研究顯示,在此期間鸚鵡魚的41%下降。 過度捕撈鸚嘴魚已經對伯利茲的珊瑚礁產生了可觀察到的影響。 一項研究發現,由於藻類過度生長,Glover's Reef的環礁礁湖曾經非常健康,具有75%珊瑚覆蓋,現在珊瑚覆蓋率低於20%。

所採取的行動

幫助過度捕撈物種恢復的傳統管理方案通常是捕撈關閉。 然而,WCS在Glover's Reef進行了一項為期14年的研究,發現雖然海洋保護區的保護區內的捕魚禁令有效地幫助了梭魚和笛鯛等捕食性物種的恢復,但它對草食性物種的恢復幾乎沒有影響。 。 這意味著禁漁令不足以減少藻類的生長並幫助珊瑚恢復。 這些信息以及有關伯利茲珊瑚礁健康狀況不佳的最新信息,幫助利益相關者了解了保護伯利茲珊瑚礁的另一種更具創新性的方法的必要性:保護主要的珊瑚礁爬行者。 當地漁民首先自願建議禁止捕撈鸚嘴魚後,向他們明確了這些魚對珊瑚礁的健康及其生計的重要性。 4月2009,當伯利茲政府通過一套新的法規(漁業法規2009)以保護過度捕撈的魚類時,自願禁止捕撈鸚嘴魚成為國家法律。

伯利茲使用的典型漁船。 照片©Julio Maaz / WCS打開IMAGE文件

伯利茲使用的典型漁船。 照片©Julio Maaz / WCS

第一項新法規禁止在伯利茲水域採取鸚嘴魚和刺尾魚。 這兩個物種都是主要的珊瑚食草動物,所以這項法律直接解決了最近草食性魚類捕撈量的增加及其對珊瑚礁健康的負面影響。 通過給予鸚嘴魚和刺尾魚的全面保護,希望是幫助它們恢復數量,從而減少威脅伯利茲珊瑚礁的藻類的生長。 伯利茲是第一個通過國家法律來保護珊瑚礁食草動物的國家,這對珊瑚礁的健康至關重要。 事實上,許多人認為這項新法律是珊瑚礁保護的新標準,因為管理戰略到目前為止一直專注於海洋保護區(海洋保護區)。 當然,執法和遵守是確保這項國家級禁令取得成功的關鍵。 WCS正在向伯利茲漁業部提供技術援助,以確保漁業官員和巡邏隊執行這項新法律。

Peter Mumby博士解釋了鸚嘴魚作為食草動物對伯利茲市一大群漁民保持珊瑚礁健康的重要性。 照片©WCS打開IMAGE文件

Peter Mumby博士解釋了鸚嘴魚作為食草動物對伯利茲市一大群漁民保持珊瑚礁健康的重要性。 照片©WCS

第二套新法規有助於保護瀕臨滅絕的拿騷石斑魚(Epinephelus striatus),目前被世界自然保護聯盟瀕危物种红色名錄列為瀕危物種。 仍然允許捕撈拿騷石斑魚,但現在受到嚴格監管 - 現在有一個最小和最大尺寸限制,所有石斑魚必須全部整理,以便可以監測捕撈率。 此外,Nassau石斑魚的產卵集合受到保護,現在禁止在海洋保護區內進行魚叉捕撈。 第三套法規在保護區內建立了許多“禁捕”區域,這些區域禁止捕魚。 選定的區域是具有獨特和/或脆弱生態系統和/或物種的生物多樣性熱點。

它有多成功?

目前,由於該法律是在幾年前於2009年通過的,目前尚難以評估國家級主要珊瑚礁掠食者禁令對伯利茲珊瑚礁健康的影響。WCS正在進行持續監控在格洛弗礁(Glover's Reef)評估了該處鸚嘴魚的恢復情況,但尚無明顯跡象表明密度會增加。 但是,有強有力的證據表明,捕魚禁令正在幫助礁石捕撈者恢復健康。 2011年,伯利茲的草食動物生物量超過了2006年的記錄水平,比33年的低水平增加了2009%。草食動物生物量的增加應及時表明伯利茲珊瑚礁中藻類優勢的減少。

在2009和2011之間的一項研究中評估了禁漁令在伯利茲恢復魚類種群和珊瑚群落的有效性。 在大約一半的研究地點發現食草魚生物量增加,但珊瑚和大型藻類覆蓋保持不變。 然而,該研究的作者將珊瑚和藻類覆蓋變化的缺乏歸因於最近對捕撈漁場的禁令。

與藍色tangs的交通信號燈鸚嘴魚(Sparisoma viride),也是被保護的食草動物。 照片©Virginia Burns / WCS打開IMAGE文件

與藍色tangs的交通信號燈鸚嘴魚(Sparisoma viride),也是被保護的食草動物。 照片©Virginia Burns / WCS

自禁令實施以來,幾乎沒有非法捕撈鸚鵡魚的案例,執法工作似乎是成功的。 2012年對整個伯利茲的魚片樣品進行的遺傳研究結果也表明,該禁令非常有效–超過90%的魚片不是鸚嘴魚。

經驗教訓和建議

  • 對手頭的主題進行廣泛研究(在這種情況下,鸚嘴魚密度與珊瑚礁健康之間的聯繫)對於做出明智的決定至關重要。
  • 廣泛的研究對於解釋和獲得當地利益相關者的信任也至關重要。 如果他們認為研究明確支持某一點,他們更有可能遵守它。
  • 漁民是海​​洋保護的主要利益相關者,因為他們在日常生活中所做的很多事情都影響著海洋。 獲得他們的支持並向他們清楚地解釋健康珊瑚礁對他們生計的重要性至關重要。
  • 與該地區的漁民接觸可以提供豐富的當地知識,以及後來的買入和合規。
  • 珊瑚礁恢復需要時間 - 儘管三年的數據顯示鸚鵡魚的生物量增加,但生長緩慢的珊瑚需要長期保護才能完全恢復。
  • 海洋保護區和社區一級的保護工作是珊瑚礁保護的重要組成部分,但某些問題需要更廣泛的解決方案。

資金摘要

WCS的監視和漁業捕撈數據收集計劃已與漁業部合作開展了多年,它們將繼續努力,以記錄在格洛弗礁石上的鸚嘴魚的恢復情況,並跟踪珊瑚礁的健康狀況。 這項工作主要由橡樹基金會,美國國際開發署和薩米特基金會資助。

牽頭組織

在新窗口中打開野生動物保護協會
伯利茲漁業部

資源

在新窗口中打開伯利茲採取行動拯救珊瑚礁和漁業,野生動物保護協會打開PDF文件

在新窗口中打開伯利茲限制珊瑚礁捕魚,野生動物保護協會

在新窗口中打開伯利茲保護區促進捕食性魚類種群,野生動物保護協會

在新窗口中打開沿著加勒比食物網釣魚放鬆營養級聯打開PDF文件

在新窗口中打開自上而下的控制測試:干擾後漁業關閉可逆轉藻類優勢打開PDF文件

撰稿:Florence Depondt

por youjizz xmxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Belize – Fisheries Management


Protecting Reef Grazers to Enable Coral Reef Recovery: An Innovative Coral Reef Management Approach in Belize

Location
Belize Barrier Reef System, Belize

The Challenge
Belize is well known for its incredible biodiversity, both terrestrial and marine. Its reefs have long been considered some of the Caribbean’s most pristine and unique reefs, however they started to show worrying signs of damage at the turn of this century. A 2006 survey of 140 reefs throughout Belize found that live coral cover had declined from approximately 30% in 1995 to an average of 11%. The Wildlife Conservation Society (WCS), which has been working in Belize since the 1980s to help conserve the country’s marine environment, carries out research on the health of Belize’s fisheries from their Marine Reserve Station at Glover’s Reef.

Location of the Belize Barrier Reef System

Location of the Belize Barrier Reef System.

Glover’s Reef is located within the Belize Barrier Reef Reserve System, where fishing, as well as spearfishing, is allowed. WCS found that groupers and some snappers are now overfished and that the proportion of parrotfish in the catch doubled between 2004 and 2008 because parrotfish are considered by fishermen as “the next best fish” to harvest.

The fact that fishermen were targeting reef-grazing species was a serious problem with far-reaching effects for the health of Belize’s reefs. Reef-grazers such as parrotfish play a critical ecological role within coral reefs; by eating large amounts of algae, they keep its growth in check, making sure that it does not overgrow the reef. Algae can smother corals, stunt their growth, and reduce their recruitment success.

Rainbow parrotfish (Scarus guacamaia), the largest herbivorous fish in the Caribbean.  Photo © Julio Maaz (WCS).

Rainbow parrotfish (Scarus guacamaia), the largest herbivorous fish in the Caribbean. © Julio Maaz/WCS

The health of reefs is therefore closely linked to the presence of herbivorous fish such as parrotfish. As fishermen in Belize continued to harvest parrotfish, their numbers started to rapidly go down. Research on the change in fish communities after a seven-year period (2002-2009) of fishing in Belize showed a 41% decline in parrotfish over that time period. Overfishing parrotfish already has had observable effects on Belize’s reefs. One study found that an atoll reef lagoon at Glover’s Reef that had once been very healthy with a 75% coral cover now has less than 20% coral cover because of algae over-growth.

Actions Taken
The traditional management option to help overfished species recover has typically been fishing closures. However, WCS conducted a 14-year study at Glover’s Reef and found that while a fishing ban in the Conservation Zone of the marine reserve was effective in helping predatory species such as barracudas and snappers recover, it had little effect on the recovery of herbivorous species. This meant that a fishing ban would not be enough to reduce the growth of algae and help corals recover. This information, along with recent information on the poor health of Belize’s reefs, helped stakeholders understand the need for an alternative and more innovative way to protect Belize’s reefs: protect major reef grazers. It was local fishermen who first voluntarily recommended a ban on fishing parrotfish after it was made clear to them how important these fish were to the health of the reef and therefore to their livelihoods. In April 2009, the voluntary ban on the fishing of parrotfish became national law when the government of Belize passed a new set of regulations (Fisheries Regulations 2009) to protect overfished species.

A typical fishing boat used in Belize © Julio Maaz (WCS).

A typical fishing boat used in Belize. © Julio Maaz/WCS

The first of the new regulations prohibits any taking of parrotfish and surgeonfish in Belize’s waters. Both species are major reef-grazers, so this law directly addresses the recent increase in catch of herbivorous fish and the negative impact this is having on reef health. By giving parrotfish and surgeonfish full protection, the hope is to help their numbers recover and to in turn reduce the growth of algae that is threatening Belize’s reefs. Belize is the first country to pass a national law to protect reef grazers, which are critical to the health of coral reefs. In fact, many consider this new law a new standard for coral reef protection, as management strategies have until now focused on marine protected areas (MPAs). Of course, enforcement and compliance is key to ensuring the success of this national-level ban. WCS is providing technical aid to the Belize Fisheries Department to ensure that fisheries officers and patrols enforce this new law.

Dr. Peter Mumby explains the importance of parrotfish as grazers maintaining the health of coral reefs to a large group of fishermen in Belize City © WCS.

Dr. Peter Mumby explains the importance of parrotfish as grazers maintaining the health of coral reefs to a large group of fishermen in Belize City. © WCS

A second set of the new regulations helps protect the endangered Nassau Grouper (Epinephelus striatus), which is currently listed as Endangered by the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species. Fishing of the Nassau Grouper is still allowed but is now heavily regulated – there is now a minimum and maximum size limit, and all groupers must be brought in whole so that catch rates can be monitored. Additionally, spawning aggregations of Nassau grouper are protected, and spearfishing is now banned within marine reserves. A third set of regulations creates a number of “no-take” zones in protected areas, which are closed to fishing. The areas selected are biodiversity hotspots with unique and/or fragile ecosystems and/or species.

How successful has it been?
It is difficult at this time to evaluate the effect that the national-level ban on major reef-grazers has had on Belize’s coral reef health due to the fact that the law was passed just a few years ago in 2009. WCS is conducting ongoing monitoring at Glover’s Reef to evaluate the recovery of parrotfish at this site, but there are no clear indications of increases in density yet. There is however some strong evidence that the fishing ban is helping reef-grazers recover. In 2011, the herbivore biomass in Belize surpassed levels recorded in 2006 and increased 33% above the low levels measured in 2009. This increase in herbivore biomass should in time signify a decrease in algae dominance in Belize’s reefs.

Stoplight parrotfish (Sparisoma viride) with blue tangs, which are also protected grazers © Virginia Burns (WCS).

Stoplight parrotfish (Sparisoma viride) with blue tangs, which are also protected grazers. © Virginia Burns/WCS

The effectiveness of the fishing ban in restoring fish populations and coral assemblages in Belize was evaluated in a study between 2009 and 2011. Increases in herbivorous fish biomass were found at approximately half of the studied sites, but coral and macroalgal cover stayed the same. However, the authors of the study attribute the lack of change in coral and algae cover to how recent the ban on fishing reef-grazers was.

Enforcement efforts appear to be successful as there have been very few instances of illegal catch of parrotfish since the ban was introduced. The results of a 2012 genetic study of fillet samples throughout Belize also demonstrate very good compliance with the ban – over 90% of the fillets checked were not parrotfish.

Lessons Learned and Recommendations
Lessons learned and some key recommendations include:

  • Extensive research on the subject at hand (in this case, the link between parrotfish density and reef health) is essential to making informed decisions.
  • Extensive research is also vital in explaining and gaining the trust of local stakeholders. If they see that research clearly supports a certain point, they are more likely to comply with it.
  • Fishermen are key stakeholders in marine conservation because so much of what they do in their daily lives impacts the ocean. It is vital to gain their support and to clearly explain to them how important healthy reefs are to their livelihoods.
  • Engaging fishers from the area can provide a wealth of local knowledge, as well as buy-in and compliance later on.
  • Reef recovery takes time – although three years of data indicates an increase in biomass of parrotfishes, slow-growing corals will need long-term protection to fully recover.
  • MPAs and community-level conservation efforts are an important part of coral reef conservation but certain issues require solutions with a broader approach.

Funding Summary
The monitoring and fisheries catch data collection programs of WCS have been carried out for many years in partnership with the Fisheries Department, and they will continue in an effort to record the recovery of parrotfish at Glover’s Reef and track the health of the coral reef. This work was funded primarily by the Oak Foundation, USAID, and the Summit Foundation.

Lead Organizations
Wildlife Conservation Society
Belize Fisheries Department

Resources
Belize Takes Action to Save Coral Reefs & Fisheries, Wildlife Conservation Society (pdf)
Belize Limits Reef Fishing, Wildlife Conservation Society
Belize protected area boosting predatory fish populations, Wildlife Conservation Society
Fishing down a Caribbean food web relaxes trophic cascades (pdf)
Testing for top-down control: can post-disturbance fisheries closures reverse algal dominance (pdf)

Written by: Florence Depondt

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone