حماية مروجي الشعاب المرجانية لتمكين استعادة الشعاب المرجانية: نهج مبتكر لإدارة الشعاب المرجانية في بليز

 

الموقع:

نظام الحاجز المرجاني بليز ، بليز

التحدي

موقع نظام الحاجز المرجاني بليزيفتح ملف IMAGE

موقع نظام الحاجز المرجاني بليز.

تشتهر بليز بتنوعها البيولوجي المذهل ، الأرضي والبحري. لطالما اعتبرت الشعاب المرجانية بعضًا من أكثر الشعاب المرجانية البكر وفريدة من نوعها في منطقة البحر الكاريبي ، إلا أنها بدأت تظهر عليها علامات مقلقة على حدوث أضرار في نهاية هذا القرن. وجدت دراسة أجرتها 2006 عن الشعاب المرجانية في جميع أنحاء بليز أن الغطاء المرجاني الحي قد انخفض من 140٪ تقريبًا في 30 إلى معدل 1995٪. تقوم جمعية الحفاظ على الحياة البرية (WCS) ، والتي تعمل في بليز منذ 11s للمساعدة في الحفاظ على البيئة البحرية في البلاد ، بإجراء أبحاث حول صحة مصايد الأسماك في بليز من محطة المحميات البحرية التابعة لها في Glover's Reef.

يقع Glover's Reef داخل نظام الاحتياطي Belize Barrier Reef ، حيث يُسمح بالصيد ، وكذلك صيد الأسماك بالرمح. وجد WCS أن التجار وبعض النهاش يعانون من الصيد المفرط وأن نسبة الببغاء في المصيد تضاعفت بين 2004 و 2008 لأن الصيادين يرون أن الببغاء يعتبر "أفضل الأسماك التالية" للحصاد.

كانت حقيقة أن الصيادين كانوا يستهدفون أنواع رعي الشعاب المرجانية مشكلة خطيرة ذات آثار بعيدة المدى على صحة الشعاب المرجانية في بليز. تلعب مروجي الشعاب المرجانية ، مثل الببغاء ، دورًا بيئيًا مهمًا داخل الشعاب المرجانية ؛ عن طريق تناول كميات كبيرة من الطحالب ، فإنها تحافظ على نموها ، وتأكد من أنها لا تتغلب على الشعاب المرجانية. يمكن للطحالب أن تخنق الشعاب المرجانية وتوقف نموها وتقلل من نجاحها في التوظيف.

قوس قزح الببغاء (Scarus guacamaia) ، أكبر الأسماك العاشبة في منطقة البحر الكاريبي. الصورة © جوليو معاذ (WCS)يفتح ملف IMAGE

قوس قزح الببغاء (Scarus guacamaia) ، أكبر الأسماك العاشبة في منطقة البحر الكاريبي. الصورة © Julio Maaz / WCS

لذلك ترتبط صحة الشعاب المرجانية ارتباطًا وثيقًا بوجود الأسماك العاشبة مثل الببغاء. عندما واصل الصيادون في بليز حصاد الببغاء ، بدأت أعدادهم تنخفض بسرعة. أظهرت الأبحاث حول التغير في مجتمعات الأسماك بعد فترة مدتها سبع سنوات (2002-2009) لصيد الأسماك في بليز انخفاض 41٪ في الببغاء خلال تلك الفترة الزمنية. الصيد الجائر للببغاء كان له بالفعل آثار ملحوظة على الشعاب المرجانية في بليز. وجدت إحدى الدراسات أن بحيرة مرجانية مرجانية في Glover's Reef كانت تتمتع بصحة جيدة مع غطاء مرجاني 75٪ الآن تحتوي على غطاء مرجاني أقل من 20٪ بسبب النمو الزائد للطحالب.

الإجراءات المتخذة

إن خيار الإدارة التقليدية لمساعدة الأنواع التي تتعرض للصيد المفرط في التعافي كان عادة عمليات إغلاق للصيد. ومع ذلك ، أجرت WCS دراسة لمدة عام في 14 في Glover's Reef ووجدت أن حظر صيد الأسماك في منطقة الحفظ في المحمية البحرية كان فعالًا في مساعدة الأنواع المفترسة مثل الباراكودا والسباعين على التعافي ، ولم يكن له تأثير يذكر على استرداد الأنواع العاشبة . هذا يعني أن حظر الصيد لن يكون كافيًا لتقليل نمو الطحالب ومساعدة الشعاب المرجانية على التعافي. ساعدت هذه المعلومات ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع المعلومات الحديثة حول الحالة الصحية السيئة للشعاب المرجانية في بليز ، أصحاب المصلحة على فهم الحاجة إلى طريقة بديلة وأكثر إبداعًا لحماية الشعاب المرجانية في بليز: حماية مروجي الشعاب المرجانية الرئيسيين. كان الصيادون المحليون هم أول من أوصوا طوعًا بفرض حظر على صيد أسماك الببغاء بعد أن أوضح لهم مدى أهمية هذه الأسماك لصحة الشعاب المرجانية وبالتالي في سبل عيشهم. في أبريل 2009 ، أصبح الحظر الطوعي على صيد أسماك الببغاء قانونًا وطنيًا عندما أقرت حكومة بليز مجموعة جديدة من اللوائح (لوائح مصايد الأسماك 2009) لحماية الأنواع السمكية المفرطة.

قارب صيد نموذجي يستخدم في بليز. الصورة © Julio Maaz / WCSيفتح ملف IMAGE

قارب صيد نموذجي يستخدم في بليز. الصورة © Julio Maaz / WCS

يحظر أول اللوائح الجديدة أي أخذ من الببغاء وسمك الجرو في مياه بليز. كلا النوعين من أهم مروجي الشعاب المرجانية ، لذلك يعالج هذا القانون بشكل مباشر الزيادة الأخيرة في صيد الأسماك العاشبة والتأثير السلبي لهذا على صحة الشعاب المرجانية. من خلال توفير حماية كاملة للببغاء وسمك الجراح ، فإن الأمل هو مساعدة أعدادهم على الانتعاش والحد من نمو الطحالب التي تهدد الشعاب المرجانية في بليز. بليز هي أول دولة تصدر قانونًا وطنيًا لحماية مروجي الشعاب المرجانية ، وهو أمر مهم لصحة الشعاب المرجانية. في الواقع ، يعتبر الكثيرون هذا القانون الجديد معيارًا جديدًا لحماية الشعاب المرجانية ، حيث تركز استراتيجيات الإدارة حتى الآن على المناطق البحرية المحمية (MPAs). بطبيعة الحال ، يعد التطبيق والامتثال مفتاح ضمان نجاح هذا الحظر على المستوى الوطني. تقدم WCS مساعدة تقنية لإدارة مصايد الأسماك في بليز لضمان قيام ضباط المصايد والدوريات بإنفاذ هذا القانون الجديد.

يشرح الدكتور بيتر مومبي أهمية الببغاء في الحفاظ على صحة الشعاب المرجانية لمجموعة كبيرة من الصيادين في مدينة بليز. الصورة © WCSيفتح ملف IMAGE

يشرح الدكتور بيتر مومبي أهمية الببغاء في الحفاظ على صحة الشعاب المرجانية لمجموعة كبيرة من الصيادين في مدينة بليز. الصورة © WCS

تساعد المجموعة الثانية من اللوائح الجديدة على حماية ناساو جروبرEpinephelus striatus) ، والتي يتم سردها حاليًا على أنها مهددة بالانقراض من القائمة الحمراء للأنواع المهددة بالانقراض. لا يزال مسموحًا بصيد الأسماك في Nassau Grouper ولكن أصبح الآن منظمًا بشكل كبير - يوجد الآن حد أدنى وحد أقصى للحجم ، ويجب إحضار جميع المجموعات بأكملها حتى يمكن مراقبة معدلات الصيد. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يتم حماية مجموعات التفريخ من الهامور الناصري ، ويتم حظر صيد الأسماك بالرمي داخل المحميات البحرية. تنشئ المجموعة الثالثة من اللوائح عددًا من مناطق "عدم الاستيلاء" في المناطق المحمية ، والتي تكون مغلقة أمام الصيد. المناطق المختارة هي نقاط التنوع البيولوجي ذات الأنظمة الإيكولوجية و / أو الأنواع الفريدة و / أو الهشة.

ما مدى نجاح ذلك؟

من الصعب في هذا الوقت تقييم تأثير الحظر على المستوى الوطني على رعاة الشعاب المرجانية الرئيسيين على صحة الشعاب المرجانية في بليز بسبب حقيقة أن القانون قد تم تمريره منذ بضع سنوات فقط في عام 2009. تجري WCS مراقبة مستمرة في Glover's Reef لتقييم انتعاش سمكة الببغاء في هذا الموقع ، ولكن لا توجد مؤشرات واضحة على زيادة الكثافة حتى الآن. ومع ذلك ، هناك بعض الأدلة القوية على أن حظر الصيد يساعد رعاة الشعاب المرجانية على التعافي. في عام 2011 ، تجاوزت الكتلة الحيوية العاشبة في بليز المستويات المسجلة في عام 2006 وزادت بنسبة 33٪ فوق المستويات المنخفضة التي تم قياسها في عام 2009. وينبغي أن تشير هذه الزيادة في الكتلة الحيوية العاشبة في الوقت المناسب إلى انخفاض في هيمنة الطحالب في الشعاب المرجانية في بليز.

تم تقييم فعالية حظر الصيد في استعادة مجموعات الأسماك والتجمعات المرجانية في بليز في دراسة بين 2009 و 2011. تم العثور على زيادات في الكتلة الحيوية للأسماك العاشبة في ما يقرب من نصف المواقع التي شملتها الدراسة ، ولكن بقي غطاء المرجان والطحال الكبير كما هو. ومع ذلك ، يعزو مؤلفو الدراسة عدم وجود تغيير في غطاء الشعاب المرجانية والطحالب إلى مدى حظر الحظر المفروض على رعايا الشعاب المرجانية.

الببغاء توقف (Sparisoma viride) مع tangs الأزرق ، والتي هي أيضا رعاة محمية. الصورة © Virginia Burns / WCSيفتح ملف IMAGE

الببغاء توقف (Sparisoma viride) مع tangs الأزرق ، والتي هي أيضا رعاة محمية. الصورة © Virginia Burns / WCS

يبدو أن جهود الإنفاذ كانت ناجحة حيث كانت هناك حالات قليلة جدًا من الصيد غير القانوني لسمك الببغاء منذ فرض الحظر. أظهرت نتائج دراسة وراثية لعينات الشرائح في جميع أنحاء بليز لعام 2012 امتثالًا جيدًا جدًا للحظر - أكثر من 90٪ من الشرائح التي تم فحصها لم تكن أسماكًا ببغاء.

الدروس المستفادة والتوصيات

  • البحث الشامل حول الموضوع المطروح (في هذه الحالة ، الصلة بين كثافة الببغاء وصحة الشعاب المرجانية) ضروري لاتخاذ قرارات مستنيرة.
  • يعد البحث المكثف أمرًا حيويًا أيضًا في شرح واكتساب ثقة أصحاب المصلحة المحليين. إذا رأوا أن الأبحاث تدعم بوضوح نقطة معينة ، فمن المرجح أن تمتثل لها.
  • الصيادون هم أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين في الحفاظ على البيئة لأن الكثير مما يفعلونه في حياتهم اليومية يؤثر على المحيط. من الأهمية بمكان أن تحظى بدعمهم وأن توضح لهم بوضوح مدى أهمية الشعاب الصحية في كسب عيشهم.
  • يمكن أن يوفر إشراك الصيادين من المنطقة ثروة من المعرفة المحلية ، بالإضافة إلى المشاركة والامتثال لاحقًا.
  • يستغرق استرداد الشعاب المرجانية وقتًا - رغم أن ثلاث سنوات من البيانات تشير إلى زيادة الكتلة الحيوية لأسماك الببغاء ، فإن الشعاب المرجانية البطيئة النمو ستحتاج إلى حماية طويلة الأجل لاستعادة عافيتها تمامًا.
  • تعد المناطق المحمية البحرية وجهود الحفظ على مستوى المجتمع جزءًا مهمًا في الحفاظ على الشعاب المرجانية ، لكن بعض القضايا تتطلب حلولًا بنهج أوسع.

ملخص التمويل

تم تنفيذ برامج جمع بيانات مصايد الأسماك والرصد في WCS لسنوات عديدة بالشراكة مع إدارة مصايد الأسماك ، وستستمر في محاولة لتسجيل تعافي أسماك الببغاء في Glover's Reef وتتبع صحة الشعاب المرجانية. تم تمويل هذا العمل بشكل أساسي من قبل مؤسسة أوك والوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية ومؤسسة ساميت.

المنظمات الرائدة

يفتح في نافذة جديدةجمعية صون الحياة البرية
إدارة مصايد الأسماك في بليز

المصادر

يفتح في نافذة جديدةبليز تتخذ إجراءات لإنقاذ الشعاب المرجانية ومصايد الأسماك ، جمعية الحفاظ على الحياة البريةيفتح ملف PDF

يفتح في نافذة جديدةبليز حدود الصيد البحري ، جمعية الحفاظ على الحياة البرية

يفتح في نافذة جديدةبليز المنطقة المحمية تعزيز أعداد الأسماك المفترسة ، جمعية الحفاظ على الحياة البرية

يفتح في نافذة جديدةالصيد في شبكة الغذاء الكاريبي يريح شلالات الطعاميفتح ملف PDF

يفتح في نافذة جديدةاختبار للتحكم من أعلى إلى أسفل: يمكن لمصايد الأسماك بعد الاضطرابات إغلاق هيمنة الطحالب العكسيةيفتح ملف PDF

بقلم: فلورنس ديبوندت

بورنو youjizz كسكسكسكسكس المعلم الثلاثون الجنس
Translate »

Belize – Fisheries Management


Protecting Reef Grazers to Enable Coral Reef Recovery: An Innovative Coral Reef Management Approach in Belize

Location
Belize Barrier Reef System, Belize

The Challenge
Belize is well known for its incredible biodiversity, both terrestrial and marine. Its reefs have long been considered some of the Caribbean’s most pristine and unique reefs, however they started to show worrying signs of damage at the turn of this century. A 2006 survey of 140 reefs throughout Belize found that live coral cover had declined from approximately 30% in 1995 to an average of 11%. The Wildlife Conservation Society (WCS), which has been working in Belize since the 1980s to help conserve the country’s marine environment, carries out research on the health of Belize’s fisheries from their Marine Reserve Station at Glover’s Reef.

Location of the Belize Barrier Reef System

Location of the Belize Barrier Reef System.

Glover’s Reef is located within the Belize Barrier Reef Reserve System, where fishing, as well as spearfishing, is allowed. WCS found that groupers and some snappers are now overfished and that the proportion of parrotfish in the catch doubled between 2004 and 2008 because parrotfish are considered by fishermen as “the next best fish” to harvest.

The fact that fishermen were targeting reef-grazing species was a serious problem with far-reaching effects for the health of Belize’s reefs. Reef-grazers such as parrotfish play a critical ecological role within coral reefs; by eating large amounts of algae, they keep its growth in check, making sure that it does not overgrow the reef. Algae can smother corals, stunt their growth, and reduce their recruitment success.

Rainbow parrotfish (Scarus guacamaia), the largest herbivorous fish in the Caribbean.  Photo © Julio Maaz (WCS).

Rainbow parrotfish (Scarus guacamaia), the largest herbivorous fish in the Caribbean. © Julio Maaz/WCS

The health of reefs is therefore closely linked to the presence of herbivorous fish such as parrotfish. As fishermen in Belize continued to harvest parrotfish, their numbers started to rapidly go down. Research on the change in fish communities after a seven-year period (2002-2009) of fishing in Belize showed a 41% decline in parrotfish over that time period. Overfishing parrotfish already has had observable effects on Belize’s reefs. One study found that an atoll reef lagoon at Glover’s Reef that had once been very healthy with a 75% coral cover now has less than 20% coral cover because of algae over-growth.

Actions Taken
The traditional management option to help overfished species recover has typically been fishing closures. However, WCS conducted a 14-year study at Glover’s Reef and found that while a fishing ban in the Conservation Zone of the marine reserve was effective in helping predatory species such as barracudas and snappers recover, it had little effect on the recovery of herbivorous species. This meant that a fishing ban would not be enough to reduce the growth of algae and help corals recover. This information, along with recent information on the poor health of Belize’s reefs, helped stakeholders understand the need for an alternative and more innovative way to protect Belize’s reefs: protect major reef grazers. It was local fishermen who first voluntarily recommended a ban on fishing parrotfish after it was made clear to them how important these fish were to the health of the reef and therefore to their livelihoods. In April 2009, the voluntary ban on the fishing of parrotfish became national law when the government of Belize passed a new set of regulations (Fisheries Regulations 2009) to protect overfished species.

A typical fishing boat used in Belize © Julio Maaz (WCS).

A typical fishing boat used in Belize. © Julio Maaz/WCS

The first of the new regulations prohibits any taking of parrotfish and surgeonfish in Belize’s waters. Both species are major reef-grazers, so this law directly addresses the recent increase in catch of herbivorous fish and the negative impact this is having on reef health. By giving parrotfish and surgeonfish full protection, the hope is to help their numbers recover and to in turn reduce the growth of algae that is threatening Belize’s reefs. Belize is the first country to pass a national law to protect reef grazers, which are critical to the health of coral reefs. In fact, many consider this new law a new standard for coral reef protection, as management strategies have until now focused on marine protected areas (MPAs). Of course, enforcement and compliance is key to ensuring the success of this national-level ban. WCS is providing technical aid to the Belize Fisheries Department to ensure that fisheries officers and patrols enforce this new law.

Dr. Peter Mumby explains the importance of parrotfish as grazers maintaining the health of coral reefs to a large group of fishermen in Belize City © WCS.

Dr. Peter Mumby explains the importance of parrotfish as grazers maintaining the health of coral reefs to a large group of fishermen in Belize City. © WCS

A second set of the new regulations helps protect the endangered Nassau Grouper (Epinephelus striatus), which is currently listed as Endangered by the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species. Fishing of the Nassau Grouper is still allowed but is now heavily regulated – there is now a minimum and maximum size limit, and all groupers must be brought in whole so that catch rates can be monitored. Additionally, spawning aggregations of Nassau grouper are protected, and spearfishing is now banned within marine reserves. A third set of regulations creates a number of “no-take” zones in protected areas, which are closed to fishing. The areas selected are biodiversity hotspots with unique and/or fragile ecosystems and/or species.

How successful has it been?
It is difficult at this time to evaluate the effect that the national-level ban on major reef-grazers has had on Belize’s coral reef health due to the fact that the law was passed just a few years ago in 2009. WCS is conducting ongoing monitoring at Glover’s Reef to evaluate the recovery of parrotfish at this site, but there are no clear indications of increases in density yet. There is however some strong evidence that the fishing ban is helping reef-grazers recover. In 2011, the herbivore biomass in Belize surpassed levels recorded in 2006 and increased 33% above the low levels measured in 2009. This increase in herbivore biomass should in time signify a decrease in algae dominance in Belize’s reefs.

Stoplight parrotfish (Sparisoma viride) with blue tangs, which are also protected grazers © Virginia Burns (WCS).

Stoplight parrotfish (Sparisoma viride) with blue tangs, which are also protected grazers. © Virginia Burns/WCS

The effectiveness of the fishing ban in restoring fish populations and coral assemblages in Belize was evaluated in a study between 2009 and 2011. Increases in herbivorous fish biomass were found at approximately half of the studied sites, but coral and macroalgal cover stayed the same. However, the authors of the study attribute the lack of change in coral and algae cover to how recent the ban on fishing reef-grazers was.

Enforcement efforts appear to be successful as there have been very few instances of illegal catch of parrotfish since the ban was introduced. The results of a 2012 genetic study of fillet samples throughout Belize also demonstrate very good compliance with the ban – over 90% of the fillets checked were not parrotfish.

Lessons Learned and Recommendations
Lessons learned and some key recommendations include:

  • Extensive research on the subject at hand (in this case, the link between parrotfish density and reef health) is essential to making informed decisions.
  • Extensive research is also vital in explaining and gaining the trust of local stakeholders. If they see that research clearly supports a certain point, they are more likely to comply with it.
  • Fishermen are key stakeholders in marine conservation because so much of what they do in their daily lives impacts the ocean. It is vital to gain their support and to clearly explain to them how important healthy reefs are to their livelihoods.
  • Engaging fishers from the area can provide a wealth of local knowledge, as well as buy-in and compliance later on.
  • Reef recovery takes time – although three years of data indicates an increase in biomass of parrotfishes, slow-growing corals will need long-term protection to fully recover.
  • MPAs and community-level conservation efforts are an important part of coral reef conservation but certain issues require solutions with a broader approach.

Funding Summary
The monitoring and fisheries catch data collection programs of WCS have been carried out for many years in partnership with the Fisheries Department, and they will continue in an effort to record the recovery of parrotfish at Glover’s Reef and track the health of the coral reef. This work was funded primarily by the Oak Foundation, USAID, and the Summit Foundation.

Lead Organizations
Wildlife Conservation Society
Belize Fisheries Department

Resources
Belize Takes Action to Save Coral Reefs & Fisheries, Wildlife Conservation Society (pdf)
Belize Limits Reef Fishing, Wildlife Conservation Society
Belize protected area boosting predatory fish populations, Wildlife Conservation Society
Fishing down a Caribbean food web relaxes trophic cascades (pdf)
Testing for top-down control: can post-disturbance fisheries closures reverse algal dominance (pdf)

Written by: Florence Depondt

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone