معالجة المياه العادمة وتشريعات الصيد في بونير

الموقع:

منتزه بونير البحري الوطني ، بونير ، جزر الأنتيل الهولندية

التحدي

تحدي
مجتمعة ، تشكل جزيرة بونير ومناطق رامسار في العديد من الجزر الساتلية (كلاين بونير ولاك) منتزه بونير البحري الوطني (BNMP). تضم الحديقة 2,700 هكتارات من الشعاب المرجانية المهددة ، والأعشاب البحرية وأشجار المانغروف ، وتحتوي على موائل متنوعة من الشاطئ إلى البيئات المدية ، ومن الشعاب المرجانية إلى بيئات المياه العميقة.

Bonaire1 ، caption: يحتوي Bonaire National Marine Park على موائل متنوعة للشعاب المرجانية. الصورة © JP Carnevaleيفتح ملف IMAGE

يحتوي Bonaire National Marine Park على موائل متنوعة للشعاب المرجانية. © JP Carnevale

أثرت أحداث التبييض والإعصار على هذه المنطقة في الماضي. حدث التبييض الخفيف فقط بالاشتراك مع حدث تبييض 1998 El Niño ، مما أدى إلى تعافي جيد. في 1999 ، أثر إعصار ليني على الشعاب الضحلة في الجانب الضيق من بونير وكلاين بونير ؛ ومع ذلك ، كان الانتعاش مرتفعا بالمثل ، حيث بلغت معدلات التوظيف 3.5 مرات أعلى من بقية بلدان الكاريبي ، ومعدلات بقاء عالية. في الآونة الأخيرة ، أدت أحداث التبييض 2005 و 2006 إلى تبييض 9٪ تقريبًا و 10٪ تقريبًا. ومع ذلك ، في كلا الحدثين ، كان معدل الاسترداد بعد انحسار الضغط الحراري حوالي 100٪. بعد حدث تبييض في 2010 ، تبييض 10٪ من الشعاب المرجانية وتوفي مما أدى إلى انخفاض حاد في وفرة المرجان في 2011. بالإضافة إلى فقد أسماك الببغاء العاشبة بسبب الصيد الجائر ، فقد أدى ذلك إلى زيادة الطحالب الكبيرة.

وبصرف النظر عن هذه الاضطرابات الطبيعية ، فإن هذه المنطقة مهددة بالتلوث والتنمية الساحلية والأنواع الغازية (أسماك الأسد و halophila الأعشاب البحرية) والنمو في الأنشطة السياحية.

الإجراءات المتخذة

تتمثل مهمة منتزه بونير الوطني البحري في حماية وإدارة الموارد الطبيعية والثقافية والتاريخية للجزيرة ، مع السماح باستخدام مستدام بيئيًا لمنفعة أجيال المستقبل. يعتقد BNMP بقوة أن الخطوة الأولى لضمان صحة الشعاب المرجانية الصحية والمرنة هي حماية جودة المياه وتقليل كل الضغوط. في هذا الإطار ، اتخذ BNMP إجراءات مختلفة للحفظ والإدارة لمعالجة المشاكل المميزة المتمثلة في الصيد الجائر ، والتنمية الساحلية ، والتلوث ، والآثار السلبية للسياحة.

بناء محطة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي. © جان ياب فان المنكركيفتح ملف IMAGE

بناء محطة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي. © جان ياب فان المنكرك

في عام 2010 ، تم إصدار تشريع لتحسين حماية البيئة ، واعتبارًا من عام 2014 كان لا يزال ساريًا وبدأ في إظهار التحسينات في البيئة. يتضمن التشريع حماية عوامل المرونة المحددة مثل: الحماية الكاملة للأسماك العاشبة ، والحماية الكاملة للعديد من الأسماك آكلة اللحوم ، وقواعد وأنظمة أقوى بشأن مصايد الأسماك. يتضمن التشريع الجديد أيضًا تحسينات في إجراءات البناء الساحلي وإرشادات بناء أكثر صرامة.

الصيد الجائر
للتصدي للانخفاض الموثق في أسماك المفترسة مثل المجمعين ، همهمات وسمك النهاش ، بدأ BNMP في الضغط على الحكومة وأصحاب المصلحة المختلفين في 2004 لإنشاء مناطق محمية بالأسماك (FPAs). في إطار هذا الضغط ، قامت مجموعة من الصيادين ومشغلي الغطس والمسؤولين الحكوميين وغيرهم من أصحاب المصلحة من سانت لوسيا بزيارة بونير لشرح لنظرائهم كيف ستفيد FPAs في بونير كلاً من الصيادين ومنظمي السياحة. بعد بضعة أشهر ، قامت مجموعة من الصيادين والمسؤولين الحكوميين و BNMP Rangers ومنظمي الرحلات السياحية بزيارة سانت لوسيا للغرض نفسه. في 2008 ، بعد مفاوضات مكثفة ، تم إنشاء FPAs على جانب الطريق في بونير ، بما في ذلك 4 تقريبًا من منطقة عدم الاستيلاء. في 2010 تم حظر حصاد الببغاء واستخدام مصائد الأسماك.

التنمية الساحلية والتلوث
بالإضافة إلى ضغوط الصيد ، تشهد بونير تنمية ساحلية سريعة. لتقليل تأثير ممارسات البناء ، قام BNMP بتطوير كتيب معتمد رسميًا من  يفتح في نافذة جديدةإرشادات البناءيفتح ملف PDF ، جنبا إلى جنب مع قسم التخطيط المادي ، وزارة الزراعة والثروة السمكية ، وشركة إدارة النفايات المحلية ، وشركات البناء ، وأصحاب الأراضي ، والمطورين ، والمنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية. قام برنامج BNMP بإدارة برنامج مكثف لرصد المغذيات خلال 2006-2008 ، ونوفمبر 2011- مايو 2013 الذي يغطي كامل leeside من Bonaire وجميع أنحاء Klein Bonaire. تم تشغيل برنامج مراقبة المغذيات هذا بالتعاون مع الحكومة المركزية وإدارة التخطيط البدني في بونير ومعهد هاربور برانش لعلوم المحيطات في فلوريدا. تشير البيانات الأولية إلى أن مستويات النيتروجين المذاب مرتفعة وأن السبب الأكثر ترجيحًا هو ممارسات الصرف الصحي والري غير المستدام في المنطقة الساحلية. لتخفيف مدخلات مياه الصرف الصحي هذه إلى البحر ، عملت BNMP مع مشغلي المنتجعات لإنشاء "موازين المياه" ، وتحسين إدارة المياه العذبة ومياه الصرف. انتهى هذا العمل بإنشاء شبكة الصرف الصحي المحلية.

مع يفتح في نافذة جديدةأكثر من أربع سنوات من بيانات مراقبة المغذيات يشير إلى مستويات عالية من المواد الغذائية في المنطقة ، هناك منشأة لمعالجة المياه العادمة قيد الإنشاء. تم تصميم محطة المنشأة لنقل المياه العادمة بعيدًا عن الخط الساحلي ومن المتوقع أن يتم تشغيلها بحلول أواخر 2014. يوجد مصنع مؤقت ويعمل منذ 2011 بينما يستمر البناء في المصنع الرئيسي.

Bonaire3 ، caption: تتعرض موائل الشعاب المرجانية في منتزه Bonaire National Marine Park للتهديد بسبب الصيد المفرط ، والتلوث ، والتنمية الساحلية ، والسياحة ، وأحداث التبييض. الصورة © BNMPيفتح ملف IMAGE

موائل الشعاب المرجانية في حديقة بونير الوطنية البحرية مهددة بالصيد الجائر والتلوث والتنمية الساحلية والسياحة وأحداث التبييض. © BNMP

سياحة
تعد سياحة الغطس مكونًا أساسيًا لاقتصاد بونير ، حيث تولد دخلاً كبيرًا وخلق فرص عمل ، ومن الأهمية بمكان أن يكون مشغلي الغوص وعملاءهم على دراية تامة بالتأثيرات السلبية المحتملة ووسائل الحد منها. في 2008 ، طورت BNMP دورة "Reef Ranger". هذه الدورة إلزامية منذ 2010 ولكنها لم تنفذ بالكامل. الهدف من هذا البرنامج هو تحقيق أقصى قدر من الدعم النشط للحفاظ على الشعاب المرجانية من خلال توفير تدريب موحد لموظفي الغوص ، المصممة وفقًا للظروف المحلية. أدركت BNMP أن مشغلي الغواصين والغواصين يمكن أن يكونوا سفراء طبيعيين لحفظ الشعاب المرجانية لأن لديهم مصلحة خاصة في الحفاظ على النظم الإيكولوجية البحرية الصحية والمتنوعة.

يعد التواصل الفعال أيضًا هدفًا أساسيًا في بونيتر Stichting Nationale Pareken (STINAPA) ، والتي تدير بنجاح متنزهين طبيعيين هما منتزه بونير الوطني البحري ومتنزه واشنطن سلاجباي الوطني. يُعد التواصل مع عامة الجمهور ومجموعات أصحاب المصلحة أولوية رئيسية لـ BNMP ، وهو ما دفعته مجموعة من السكان الذين أشاروا إلى انخفاض الوعي والمشاركة ، وعدم الشعور بملكية BNMP. نتيجة لذلك ، حملة تواصل مستمرة بعنوان " يفتح في نافذة جديدةالطبيعة هي مصدر رزقنا، "تم تطويره لتوفير المعرفة وتغيير المواقف حول قضايا الحفظ. اعتبر توفير المعلومات الكافية بشأن أهمية الحفاظ على الطبيعة والتنمية المستدامة في بونير أمراً بالغ الأهمية. لقد نجحت الحملة في بعض المناطق وتخضع حاليًا لتقييم.

ما مدى نجاح ذلك؟

الصيد الجائر
تم إجراء المراقبة بانتظام منذ 2003 في بونير. أدى الحظر المفروض على صيد أسماك الببغاء (واستخدام مصائد الأسماك) إلى زيادة الكثافة السكانية للببغاء والكتلة الحيوية بعد 2011 ، وعلى الرغم من انخفاض وفرة المرجان بسبب التبييض ، بدأ غطاء المرجان في الزيادة مرة أخرى (في حين انخفض غطاء الطحالب الكبيرة ) في 2013. ربما بسبب زيادة في الافتراس ، دياديما انخفضت قنفذ السكان.

التنمية الساحلية والتلوث
تم بناء محطة مؤقتة لمعالجة المياه في بونير وبدأ تشغيلها في أواخر 2011 ، وسيتم تشغيل محطة ثانية في أواخر 2014. تشير التقديرات إلى أنه سيتم إزالة ما مجموعه 17.5 إلى 35 طن من النيتروجين في السنة من المياه العادمة. ومع ذلك ، فقد أظهرت مراقبة المغذيات الحديثة في أواخر 2013 أن مؤشرات جودة المياه على الساحل الغربي من بونير تشير إلى ظروف مزرية ، على الرغم من انخفاض مستويات النيتروجين بشكل طفيف. كان لدى بعض المواقع التي تم أخذ عينات منها مستويات عالية من أعداد البكتيريا البرازية ، ومستويات متزايدة من الفسفور. بشكل عام ، أظهرت العينات تحسنًا طفيفًا منذ قيم 06-08 ، لكن العناصر الغذائية لا تزال عند مستويات العتبة.

سياحة
تستمر أخلاقيات الحفظ القوية في بونير ، ويرجع ذلك أساسًا إلى الإيرادات الكبيرة من السياحة التي تركز على الغوص والغطس في سكوبا. ينصب تركيز هذا العمل البيئي على السكان المحليين بدلاً من السياحة ، على الرغم من أن السياحة قد زادت في السنوات القليلة الماضية.

الدروس المستفادة والتوصيات

  • إشراك أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين أمر بالغ الأهمية. لن تنجح أي خطة للحفظ على المدى الطويل دون الدعم الكامل من الأطراف المعنية.
  • إشراك جميع أصحاب المصلحة من البداية ؛ أثبت أن ما تريد تنفيذه (بمساعدتهم) له قيمة فريدة من نوعها ، وأنهم المستفيدون من هذه الخطة / الإجراء.
  • قم بإعداد خطة تنفيذ (بسيطة هي الأفضل) ، وناقشها مع أصحاب المصلحة عندما تصبح جاهزًا للعامة ، واتبعها خطوة بخطوة مع قليل من الارتجال.
  • بمجرد تنفيذ الخطة ، قم بإبلاغ الجهات المعنية بأخبار التقدم وكذلك الإخفاقات. الشفافية أمر بالغ الأهمية!
  • وضع قواعد وقوانين وإجراءات واضحة. الناس أكثر استعدادًا لدعم ما يفهمونه ويثقون به.
  • يمكن أن تساعد حملات التواصل في توفير المعلومات المحدثة لعامة الناس والمسؤولين الحكوميين.
  • التطور ل الإدارة الساحلية المتكاملة يمكن أن تقلل من مقدار الضغوطات على الشعب المرجانية لتحسين القدرة على التكيف مع تغير المناخ في المستقبل.
  • إن تطوير دورة مماثلة لبرنامج "Reef Ranger" يمكن أن يحسن الممارسات المستدامة للغواصين المرجانية وغيرهم من ممارسي الرياضات المائية.

ملخص التمويل

المنظمات الرائدة

يفتح في نافذة جديدةبونير الحديقة البحرية الوطنية

شركاؤنا

وزارة البنية التحتية والبيئة
وزارة الشؤون الاقتصادية
DROB — NMB (قسم التخطيط البيئي المحلي)
يفتح في نافذة جديدةحفظ السلاحف البحرية في بونير
يفتح في نافذة جديدةمجلس مشغلي الموارد المائية
يفتح في نافذة جديدةحفظ الطبيعة
يفتح في نافذة جديدةWWF-هولندا

مصادر

يفتح في نافذة جديدةبونير المبادئ التوجيهية البناءيفتح ملف PDF  وضعت من قبل BNMP ، قسم التخطيط المادي ، وزارة الزراعة والثروة السمكية ، شركة إدارة النفايات المحلية ، شركات المقاولات ، ملاك الأراضي ، المطورين ، والمنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية.

يفتح في نافذة جديدةنتائج برنامج مراقبة المغذيات، التي أجريت بالتعاون مع الحكومة المركزية ، وإدارة التخطيط البدني في بونير ، ومعهد علوم البحار فرع هاربور.

بونير الوطنية لإدارة الحدائق البحرية ( يفتح في نافذة جديدةقوات الدفاع الشعبي)

تقييم مقاومة الشعاب المرجانية لمتنزه بونير البحري الوطني ( يفتح في نافذة جديدةقوات الدفاع الشعبي)

يفتح في نافذة جديدةحالة واتجاهات الشعاب المرجانية في بونير في 2013: أسباب التفاؤل

بورنو youjizz كسكسكسكسكس المعلم الثلاثون الجنس
Translate »

Bonaire – Land-Based Pollution


Wastewater Treatment and Fishing Legislation in Bonaire

Location
Bonaire National Marine Park, Bonaire, Netherlands Antilles

The Challenge
Collectively, the island of Bonaire and the Ramsar areas of several satellite islands (Klein Bonaire and Lac) form the Bonaire National Marine Park (BNMP). The park encompasses 2,700 hectares of fringing coral reef, seagrass and mangrove ecosystems and contains diverse habitats from the shore to intertidal environments, and from coral reefs to deep water environments.

Bonaire1, caption: Bonaire National Marine Park contains diverse coral reef habitats. Photo © J.P. Carnevale

Bonaire National Marine Park contains diverse coral reef habitats. © J.P. Carnevale

Bleaching and hurricane events have affected this area in the past. Only mild bleaching occurred in association with the 1998 El Niño bleaching event, resulting in good recovery. In 1999, Hurricane Lenny affected the shallow reefs of the leeward side of Bonaire and Klein Bonaire; however recovery was similarly high, with recruitment rates 3.5 times higher than the rest of the Caribbean, and high survival rates. More recently, the 2005 and 2006 bleaching events resulted in bleaching of approximately 9% and 10%, respectively. However, in both events the recovery rate after the thermal stress subsided was almost 100%. After a bleaching event in 2010, 10% of corals bleached and died leading to a sharp decline in coral abundance in 2011. Combined with losses of herbivorous parrotfish to overfishing, this has led to an increase of macroalgae.

Aside from these natural disturbances, this region is threatened by pollution, coastal development, invasive species (lionfish and halophila seagrass) and growth in tourism activities.

Actions Taken
The mission of the Bonaire National Marine Park is to protect and manage the island’s natural, cultural and historical resources, while allowing ecologically sustainable use for the benefit of future generations. The BNMP strongly believes that the first step to ensure healthy and resilient corals is to protect water quality and reduce all stresses. Within this framework, the BNMP has been taking different conservation and management actions to address the distinct problems of overfishing, coastal development, pollution, and negative impacts of tourism.

Constructing the wastewater treatment plant. © Jan Jaap van Almenkerk

Constructing the wastewater treatment plant. © Jan Jaap van Almenkerk

In 2010, legislation was passed to improve environmental protection, and as of 2014 was still in place and starting to show improvements in the environment. The legislation includes protection of identified resilience factors like: full protection of herbivorous fishes, full protection of many carnivorous fishes, and stronger rules and regulations on fisheries. The new legislation also includes improvements in procedures for coastal construction and more stringent construction guidelines.

Overfishing
To address the documented decline in predator fishes like groupers, grunts and snappers, the BNMP started lobbying the government and different stakeholders in 2004 to create fish protected areas (FPAs). Within this lobbying work, a group of fishermen, dive operators, government officers and others stakeholders from St. Lucia visited Bonaire to explain to their counterparts how FPAs in Bonaire would benefit both fisherman and tourism operators. A few months later a group of fishermen, government officers, BNMP Rangers and tour operators visited St. Lucia with the same purpose. In 2008, after intensive negotiations, two FPAs were established on the leeward side on Bonaire, encompassing approximately 4 km of a no-take zone. In 2010 the harvest of parrotfish and use of fish traps were banned.

Coastal Development and Pollution
In addition to fishing pressures, Bonaire is experiencing rapid coastal development. To minimize the impact of construction practices, the BNMP developed an officially approved booklet of Construction Guidelines, together with the Department of Physical Planning, Department of Agriculture and Fisheries, the local waste management company, construction companies, land owners, developers, and local NGOs. The BNMP ran an intensive nutrient monitoring program during 2006-2008, and Nov. 2011- May 2013 that covered the entire leeside of Bonaire and all around Klein Bonaire. This nutrient monitoring program was run in cooperation with the Central Government, the Department of Physical Planning of Bonaire and the Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institution in Florida. Preliminary data show that the levels of dissolved nitrogen are high and that the most probable cause is due to sewage and unsustainable irrigation practices in the coastal zone. To mitigate this sewage water input to the sea, the BNMP worked with resort operators to establish “water balances,” and to improve fresh water and waste water management. This work has ended with the establishment of a local sewer system.

With over four years of nutrient monitoring data indicating high levels of nutrients in the area, a wastewater treatment facility is under construction. The facility plant is designed to move wastewater away from the shoreline and is anticipated to be in operation by late 2014. A temporary plant is in place and has been operating since 2011 while construction continues on the main plant.

Bonaire3, caption: Bonaire National Marine Park's coral reef habitats are threatened by over-fishing, pollution, coastal development, tourism, and bleaching events. Photo © BNMP

Bonaire National Marine Park’s coral reef habitats are threatened by over-fishing, pollution, coastal development, tourism, and bleaching events. © BNMP

Tourism
Dive tourism is an essential component of the economy of Bonaire, generating significant income and creating employment, and it is vital that dive operators and their clients are well educated about potential negative impacts and means of reducing them. In 2008, the BNMP developed a “Reef Ranger” course. This course has been mandatory since 2010 but not yet fully implemented. The goal of this program is to maximize active support for coral reef conservation by providing standardized training for dive staff, tailored to local circumstances. BNMP recognized that dive operators and divers can be natural ambassadors for coral reef conservation since they have a vested interest in maintaining healthy and diverse marine ecosystems.

Effective communication is also a fundamental goal of Stichting Nationale Pareken (STINAPA) Bonaire, which successfully manages two nature parks of Bonaire National Marine Park and Washington Slagbaai National Park. Communication with the general public and stakeholder groups is a main priority for the BNMP, prompted by a group of residents who indicated a decrease of awareness and involvement, and no sense of ownership of the BNMP. As a result, an on-going communication campaign titled “Nature is our livelihood,” was developed to provide knowledge and change attitudes about conservation issues. Providing adequate information concerning the importance of nature conservation and the sustainable development of Bonaire was considered of utmost importance. The campaign has been successful in some areas and is currently undergoing an evaluation.

How successful has it been?

Overfishing
Monitoring has taken place regularly since 2003 in Bonaire. The ban on fishing of parrotfish (and use of fish traps) has led to an increase in parrotfish population density and biomass after 2011, and, despite a decrease in coral abundance due to bleaching, coral cover began to increase again (while macroalgae cover decreased) in 2013. Perhaps due to an increase in predation, Diadema urchin populations have decreased.

Coastal Development and Pollution
A temporary water treatment plant was built on Bonaire and began operation in late 2011, and a second will be in operation in late 2014. It is estimated that a total of 17.5 to 35 tons of nitrogen a year will be removed from waste water. However, recent nutrient monitoring in late 2013 showed that water quality indicators on the west coast of Bonaire signal eutrophic conditions, though levels of nitrogen have been decreasing slightly. Some sampled sites had high levels of fecal bacteria numbers, and increasing levels of phosphorous. Generally, sampling has showed a slight improvement since 06-08 values, but nutrients remain at threshold levels.

Tourism
A strong conservation ethic persists in Bonaire, mainly due to the large revenue from tourism focused on SCUBA diving and snorkeling. The focus of this environmental work has been on local people rather than tourism, although tourism has increased in the last few years.

Lessons Learned and Recommendations
Lessons learned and some key recommendations include:

  • Involvement of key stakeholders is critical. No conservation plan will succeed long term without complete support of interested parties.
  • Involve all stakeholders from the beginning; demonstrate that what you want to implement (with their help) has unique value, and that they are the beneficiaries of this plan/action.
  • Set up an implementation plan (simple is better), discuss it with the stakeholders when ready make it public, and follow it step-by-step with little improvisation.
  • Once the plan is implemented, inform stakeholders about news of progress as well as failures. Transparency is critical!
  • Create clear rules, laws and procedures. People are more willing to support what they understand and trust.
  • Communication campaigns can help provide updated information to the general public and government officers.
  • The development of Integrated Coastal Management can reduce the amount of stressors on the reef to improve resilience to future climate change.
  • The development of a course similar to the “Reef Ranger” program can improve the sustainable practices of reef divers and other water sport practitioners.

Funding Summary

Lead Organizations
Bonaire National Marine Park

Partners
Ministry of Infrastructure and Environment
Ministry of Economic Affairs
DROB—NMB (Local environmental planning department)
Sea Turtle Conservation of Bonaire
Council of Underwater Resource Operators
The Nature Conservancy
WWF-Netherlands

Resources
Bonaire construction guidelines formulated by the BNMP, Department of Physical Planning, Department of Agriculture and Fisheries, the local waste management company, construction companies, land owners, developers, and local NGOs.

Results of the nutrient monitoring program, conducted in cooperation with the Central Government, the Department of Physical Planning of Bonaire, and Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institution.

Bonaire National Marine Park Management
Coral Reef Resilience Assessment of the Bonaire National Marine Park (pdf)
Status and Trends of Bonaire’s Reefs in 2013: Causes for Optimism

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone