巡邏天堂:加拉帕戈斯執法的演變

 

地區

加拉巴哥群島,厄瓜多爾

所面臨的挑戰

加拉帕戈斯海洋保護區(GMR)是世界上第四大海洋保護區,大約133,000公里2。 GMR是通過加拉帕戈斯省(LOREG)可持續發展和保護特別法在1998正式創建的,並將40海裡從島嶼周圍的基線延伸出來。 這些島嶼具有獨特的地理和地質特徵,位於四個洋流的交匯處。 這有助於產生今天在那裡發現的獨特的生物多樣性,使他們在科學家和研究人員中獲得“進化的活生物實驗室”的聲譽。 今天,支持島上居民生計的旅遊業和漁業不斷發展的組合也威脅到他們的孤立和生物多樣性。

加拉帕戈斯海洋保護區和各自的經濟專屬區。 照片©谷歌地球

海洋保護區的龐大規模,28,000居民全年蓬勃發展的人口以及每年200,000遊客的數量,對群島的保護提出了許多挑戰。 加拉帕戈斯海洋環境面臨的主要保護和管理挑戰如下:

  • 位於群島內的手工漁業部門包括1,000漁民和總共355漁船。 主要漁業包括龍蝦,海參,金槍魚和幾種白鮭。
  • 國家捕魚船隊是南太平洋最大的金槍魚船隊。 主要漁業包括金槍魚和白鮭。
  • 國際漁船來自哥倫比亞和哥斯達黎加。 主要漁業包括金槍魚,鯊魚和白鮭。
  • 85船宿和超過20一日遊和島嶼間船隻在整個群島流通。
  • 貨運和石油油輪每週抵達三個主要港口。

GMR成立17年後,在巡邏艦隊規模,基礎設施,人力資源和機構發展方面取得了重要的漁業法規和執法進展。 然而,海洋資源的管理仍然是一個複雜的問題,特別是由於資源不斷施加壓力以及在維護巡邏艦隊方面需要技術和人力協調。

所採取的行動

WildAid與合作夥伴合作,致力於使GMR成為發展中國家受保護最好的海洋區域之一。 他們正在進行的項目旨在阻止非法捕魚並提高加拉帕戈斯國家公園管理局(GNPS)的漁業管理能力。 沒有有效的執法和合規努力,GMR的有效管理就無法成功。 沒有一種“銀彈”監測方法。 WildAid通過引入尖端技術系統加強了GNPS的監視和攔截能力,同時確保一旦系統識別出非法漁民的快速反應能力就可以攔截非法漁民。 目的是使這些系統的運作制度化,並為參與控制和警惕GMR的所有部門建立核心操作程序。

巡邏資產積累
在1998和LOREG頒布之前,加拉帕戈斯國家公園管理局(GNPS)只專注於陸地區域的管理,並沒有海上執法的能力。 同樣重要的是要注意,在LOREG之前,厄瓜多爾金槍魚船隊可以完全進入群島,而在1998之後,工業船隊不再能夠進入其主要漁場。 自從1998創建GMR以來,最初的執法工作重點是巡邏船和設備的採購,海洋資源辦公室的建設以及海洋公園管理員的培訓。 通過2005,GNPS為一系列令人印象深刻的資產採購併收到了大量捐款:11巡邏艦,一個浮動基地,一個地面基地和一個四座巡邏機。 GNPS維護能力未能跟上資產收購的步伐,而且2006大多數船隻都處於失修狀態。 資產積累還導致維持運營所需的人員,燃料,潤滑油和每日津貼更多。 為了解決其中的一些問題,WildAid和國際保護組織(CI)致力於開發GNPS機隊的本地維護能力,以確保不間斷地對GMR進行巡邏,並提供技術以幫助降低監控成本。 所採用的技術的實例描述如下。

監督和阻截的技術選擇

在新窗口中打開協同監控系統 需要在船上使用有源位置收發器。 位置消息包括以下信息:船隻名稱,緯度,經度,航向和速度。 必須頒布特定的監管法律,以使船東有義務購買和激活車載收發器。 如果斷開定位設備的連接,則岸站和控制中心將看不到船隻的位置。 由於違反法律的人傾向於停用收發器,因此法規必須考慮對利益相關者進行機會主義篡改的嚴厲處罰。 這些系統的主要缺點是它們不會檢測到其他未使用收發器的地區或國家的漁民。

在2009中,WildAid幫助實施了一個衛星船監測系統(SVMS),以便每小時跟踪保護區內所有大型船隻的準確位置和速度。 在第一年,使用SVMS和快速反應巡邏艦隊逮捕了32船隻。 照片©WildAid

  • 用於監控國家商業車隊的船舶監控系統(VMS)。 WildAid和合作夥伴與海軍和環保部門合作,在3月2009頒布了一項法律,要求20 GT以上的所有船隻都使用VMS。 收費器停用包括嚴厲的處罰,違反者無法獲得補貼燃料。 厄瓜多爾船隻的VMS收發器信號頻率設定為每小時,而國際海事組織(IMO)標準為6小時。 船東必須支付每月服務費用。 這是3開始的2006年過程,海軍和GNPS共享數據訪問權限並接收控制中心以監控船隻移動。
  • 用於監控商業和手工船舶的自動識別系統(AIS)。 支持AIS的岸基基礎設施也在2012的整個群島內捐贈和安裝; 然而,由於迄今沒有立法強制要求使用AIS收發器,因此它基本上無效。

在新窗口中打開非協作監控系統 在檢測有意在特定地理區域內或在沒有協作系統的情況下進行非法活動的船舶時,這是最佳設備選擇。 系統通常是分層的,通過利用另一種技術的優勢來彌補一種特定技術的不足。 例如,雷達系統通常補充AIS系統,以便檢測故意停用其收發器的外國船隻或船隻。

  • 用於商業和手工船舶監視的巡邏機。 鑑於GMR的廣闊空間,GNPS在USAID的幫助下購買了一架四座飛機。 鑑於船舶運營成本高昂,巡邏機首先被認為是一種出色的監視工具; 然而,隨著時間的推移它變得相當昂貴,因為所有部件必須進口,飛機需要保險,特殊燃料,全職機械師和飛行員。 由於飛機製造商在2009中關閉,這也變得複雜了。
  • 用於監測手工海參和龍蝦漁業的警戒崗位。 鑑於許多這些高產漁業集中在特定地區,GNPS在捕撈壓力最強的關鍵地點設立了警戒崗位。 帶有雙筒望遠鏡和VHF海洋無線電的公園管理員的實際存在是特定地理區域最有效的系統。
  • 用於監視港口所有船舶活動的高功率視頻攝像機和雷達。 WildAid,世界自然基金會(WWF)和CI在11月2013的三個主要港口完成了港口監視雷達和攝像機的安裝。 額外的傳感器是GNPS和海岸警衛隊當局在執行當地捕魚,旅遊和海上販運法規方面非常有用的工具。 這些攝像機特別有助於違法行為,例如燃料違禁品,非法捕魚,島上客船過載以及港口魚類清潔等。 港口船長和GNPS控制中心都與海灣中的人員黃道帶協調,當發現違規行為時,該黃道帶能夠迅速作出反應。 該雷達特別適用於識別進入和離開海灣的船隻是否存在非法違禁品,並故意關閉位置收發器。

制定操作程序和維護船舶
WildAid和合作夥伴的目標是使這些系統的運作制度化,並為參與控制和警惕GMR的所有部門建立核心操作程序。 這一點非常重要,因為技術和系統只有經過培訓才能操作和維護它們的人才有用。 活動包括:

  • 與GNPS海洋資源部門共同開發控制中心,巡邏和登機標準操作協議。
  • 為GNPS IT部門提供技術支持,以開發軟件,使所有現場巡邏活動系統化,並向維護部門提供信息。 該軟件生成有關航行時間,船員時間,巡邏路線,調查結果,所需備件以及維護訂單後續跟踪的報告。
  • 建立巡邏艦隊狀態的基線,包括運營和維護成本。 根據這些信息,GNPS開始優先考慮其維護策略,另外定期進行第三方技術審核以監控維護計劃的執行情況。
  • 為運營公園服務船隻的人員提供發動機和電氣維護的定期培訓計劃。
  • 制定一項議定書,處理GNPS法律部門在各個階段開展的每項環境和憲法刑事訴訟,以加快處理GMR行政和刑事案件。 鑑於GNPS的律師流動率很高,數據庫和協議是幫助保持連續性和確保法治的關鍵。

它有多成功?

GNPS目前擁有發展中國家最先進的電子監測系統之一,以及一系列快速反應船隻,一旦被系統識別,就可以攔截非法漁民。 但是,改進並不是線性的。 鑑於GNPS的政治性質,由於董事和關鍵員工的流動,已經取消了進展期。 儘管出現了這些挫折,但GMR的執行情況已大為改善。 如地圖所示,大多數商業漁船都遵守40海里海洋保護區。 然而,並沒有完全符合要求,因為一些商業漁民通過牽引小型玻璃纖維船來規避衛星探測,因此他們無法進入GMR。 無論所有技術創新如何,仍需要船隻進行攔截。 WildAid和合作夥伴繼續與GNPS合作,以提高船舶準備程度,優化資源分配,並使關鍵協議制度化,從而實現高效運營。 最終,GNPS將擁有強大的系統和訓練有素的人員,以執行有效的合規計劃,確保可持續地收穫海洋資源。

從GNPS控制中心看到的30天時間間隔是加拉帕戈斯海洋保護區。 照片©GNPS

從GNPS控制中心看到的加拉帕戈斯海洋保護區的30日間時間推移圖像。 照片©GNPS

經驗教訓和建議

  • 政治意願,特別是在當局執行法律和法規方面,是執行法規和MPA管理的最重要因素。 政治意願可以來自許多來源,例如公眾,立法者,非政府組織,當局和其他利益相關者。
  • 如果沒有適當的立法,協作系統技術對船舶監測基本上無效。 此外,必須對正確使用和避免停用進行懲罰/激勵。
  • 所有資產收購必須以績效為導向,而不是由捐助者決定。 GNPS收到了有最好意圖的捐助者的巡邏船和其他資產; 然而,他們的維護成本太高,導致他們的運營預算流失。
  • 技術只是一種工具。 必須投入機構能力和人力資源來運作和維護系統,並最終執行規則和條例。
  • 鑑於人員流動率高,制定關鍵海事警戒程序的標準作業議定書對於確保連續性和防止對規則和條例的非正式解釋至關重要。
  • 制定簡單的措施,如船舶日誌,清單和工作助手,有助於確保預測性維護與昂貴的糾正性維修。
  • 當局(船隻在水中)的實際存在仍然是GMR內非法捕魚的最佳威懾力之一。

資金摘要

WildAid:$ 2M
保護國際:$ 2M
世界野生動物基金會和海洋牧羊犬:$ 2.5M
USAID:$ 1.5M

牽頭組織

在新窗口中打開野生救援協會
在新窗口中打開保護國際
在新窗口中打開世界野生動物基金

合作夥伴

加拉帕戈斯國家公園管理局(GNPS)
厄瓜多爾海軍

資源

在新窗口中打開WildAid海洋保護

該案例研究由WildAid提供。 欲了解更多信息,請聯繫:Marcel Bigue bigue@wildaid.org創建新電子郵件 or 在新窗口中打開點擊這裡..

por youjizz xmxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Ecuador – Fisheries Management


Patrolling Paradise: The Evolution of Enforcement in the Galapagos

Location
Galapagos Islands, Ecuador

Enforcement map

The Galapagos Marine Reserve and Respective Economic Exclusive Zone. © Google Earth

The Challenge
The Galapagos Marine Reserve (GMR) is the fourth-largest marine reserve in the world at approximately 133,000 km2. The GMR was formally created in 1998 via the Special Law for the Sustainable Development and Conservation of the Province of Galapagos (LOREG) and extends 40 nautical miles from its baseline around the islands. The islands have unique geographic and geological characteristics and are situated at the intersection of four oceanic currents. This helped produce the unique biodiversity that is found there today, earning them the reputation of a ‘living laboratory of evolution’ among scientists and researchers. Today, the combination of growing tourism and fishing industries, which support the livelihoods of the islands’ inhabitants, also threatens their isolation and biodiversity.

The sheer size of the marine reserve, a thriving year-round population of 28,000 inhabitants, and over 200,000 tourists a year pose numerous challenges to the conservation of the archipelago. The primary conservation and management challenges facing the Galapagos marine environment are illustrated by the following:

  • The artisanal fishing sector that resides within the archipelago includes 1,000 fishers and a total of 355 vessels. Key fisheries include lobster, sea cucumber, tuna, and several species of whitefish.
  • The national fishing fleet is the largest tuna fleet in the South Pacific. Key fisheries include tuna and whitefish.
  • International fishing vessels come from Colombia and Costa Rica. Key fisheries include tuna, sharks, and whitefish.
  • 85 liveaboards and more than 20 day-tour and inter-island vessels circulate throughout the archipelago.
  • Cargo and petroleum tankers arrive weekly to three key ports.

Seventeen years after the establishment of the GMR, important advances in fisheries regulations and enforcement have been made in terms of patrol fleet size, infrastructure, human resources, and institutional development. The management of marine resources, however, is still a complicated matter, especially due to the constant pressure placed on resources and the need for technical and human coordination in the maintenance of the patrol fleet.

Actions Taken
WildAid, in cooperation with partners, is working to make the GMR one of the best-protected marine areas in the developing world. Their ongoing project aims to stop illegal fishing and improve the fisheries management capacity of the Galapagos National Park Service (GNPS). Effective management of the GMR cannot succeed without effective law enforcement and compliance efforts. There is no one ‘silver bullet’ approach to monitoring. WildAid has strengthened the surveillance and interdiction capacity of the GNPS by introducing cutting-edge technology systems while ensuring fast response capacity to intercept illegal fishers once they are identified by the system. The aim is to institutionalize the operation of these systems and establish core operating procedures for all departments involved in the control and vigilance of the GMR.

Patrol Asset Accumulation
Prior to 1998 and the promulgation of LOREG, the Galapagos National Park Service (GNPS) focused only on the management of terrestrial areas and did not have capacity for marine enforcement. It is also important to note that prior to the LOREG, the Ecuadorian tuna fleet had complete access to the archipelago, while after 1998 the industrial fleet no longer had access to one of their primary fishing grounds. Since the creation of the GMR in 1998, initial enforcement efforts focused on the procurement of patrol vessels and equipment, the construction of a marine resources office, and the training of marine park wardens. By 2005, the GNPS procured and received numerous donations for an impressive list of assets: 11 patrol vessels, one floating base, a terrestrial base, and a four-seat patrol plane. GNPS maintenance capacity was not able to keep pace with asset acquisitions, and by 2006 most vessels were in disrepair. The asset accumulation also resulted in more personnel, fuel, lubricants, and per diems required to maintain operations. In order to address some of these issues, WildAid and Conservation International (CI) focused on developing the local maintenance capacity of the GNPS fleet to ensure uninterrupted patrolling of the GMR and on supplying technology to help reduce surveillance costs. Examples of the technologies employed are described below.

Technology Options for Surveillance and Interdiction

In 2009, WildAid helped implement a Satellite Vessel Monitoring System (SVMS) to track the exact position and speed of all large vessels traveling within the reserve on an hourly basis. In the first year, 32 vessels were apprehended using SVMS and the Rapid Response Patrol Fleet. © WildAid

In 2009, WildAid helped implement a Satellite Vessel Monitoring System (SVMS) to track the exact position and speed of all large vessels traveling within the reserve on an hourly basis. In the first year, 32 vessels were apprehended using SVMS and the Rapid Response Patrol Fleet. © WildAid

Collaborative monitoring systems require active location transceivers on board of vessels. Location messages include information such as: vessel name, latitude, longitude, course, and speed. A specific regulatory law must be promulgated to obligate vessel owners to purchase and activate on-board transceivers. If the location device is disconnected, the shore stations and control centers will not see the vessel’s position. As law violators tend to deactivate transceivers, regulations must consider stiff penalties for opportunistic tampering by stakeholders. A major drawback of these systems is that they will not detect fishers from other areas or countries which do not employ transceivers.

  • Vessel Monitoring Systems (VMS) for Monitoring the National Commercial Fleet. WildAid and partners worked with the Navy and environmental authorities to promulgate a law in March 2009 requiring all vessels above 20 GT to use VMS. Stiff penalties were included for transceiver deactivation and violators lost access to subsidized fuel. VMS transceiver signal frequency was set to hourly for Ecuadorian vessels, while the International Maritime Organization (IMO) standard is 6 hours. The vessel owners were required to pay for the monthly service. This was a 3-year process initiated in 2006, and both the Navy and the GNPS shared access to data and received control centers to monitor vessel movement.
  • Automatic Identification Systems (AIS) for Monitoring Commercial and Artisanal Vessels. Shore-based infrastructure supporting AIS was also donated and installed throughout the archipelago in 2012; however, it has been largely ineffective as there is no legislation to date mandating the use of AIS transceivers.

Non-collaborative monitoring systems are the best equipment option when detecting vessels that are intentionally carrying out illegal activities in specific geographic areas or in the absence of collaborative systems. Systems are often layered to make up for the deficiencies of one particular technology by using the strengths of another. For example, radar systems often complement AIS systems in order to detect foreign vessels or vessels that have intentionally deactivated their transceivers.

  • Patrol Plane for the Surveillance of Commercial and Artisanal Vessels. Given the vast expanse of the GMR, the GNPS procured a four-seat airplane with the help of USAID. Given the high cost of vessel operations, the patrol plane was first thought to be an excellent surveillance tool; however, over time it has become quite expensive, as all parts must be imported and the plane requires insurance, special fuel, a full-time mechanic, and pilot. This has also been complicated by the fact that the plane manufacturer shut down in 2009.
  • Vigilance Posts for Monitoring Artisanal Sea Cucumber and Lobster Fisheries. Given that many of these highly productive fisheries are concentrated in specific areas, the GNPS set up vigilance posts at key sites where fishing pressure is strongest. The physical presence of park rangers with binoculars and VHF marine radios has been the most effective system for specific geographic areas.
  • High Power Video Cameras and Radars for the Surveillance of all Vessel Activity at Ports. WildAid, World Wildlife Fund (WWF), and CI completed the installation of harbor surveillance radars and video cameras at three key ports in November 2013. The additional sensors are extremely useful tools for both GNPS and Coast Guard authorities in the enforcement of local fishing, tourism, and maritime trafficking regulations. The cameras have been especially helpful for infractions such as fuel contraband, illegal fishing, overloaded inter-island passenger boats, and the cleaning of fish at port among others. Both the port captain and the GNPS control center coordinate with a staffed zodiac in the bay, which is able to respond swiftly as violations are identified. The radar is specifically useful for identifying vessels entering and leaving the bays with illegal contraband and with location transceivers deliberately turned off.

Institutionalizing Operating Procedures and the Maintenance of Vessels
WildAid and partners aim to institutionalize the operation of these systems and establish core operating procedures for all departments involved in the control and vigilance of the GMR. This is very important because the technology and the systems are only as useful as those who are trained to operate and maintain them. Activities include:

    • Developing control center, patrol, and boarding standard operating protocols with the GNPS Marine Resource Department.
    • Providing technical support to the GNPS IT Department for the development of software to systematize all field patrolling activities and provide the information to the Maintenance Department. The software generates reports with respect to vessel hours navigated, crew hours, patrol tracks, findings, spare parts required, and follow-up on maintenance orders.
    • Establishing a baseline for the state of the patrol fleet that includes operational and maintenance costs. Based on this information, the GNPS began prioritizing its maintenance strategy, additionally carrying out periodic third party technical audits to monitor maintenance plan execution.
    • Periodic training programs on engine and electrical maintenance for personnel operating the vessels of the park service.
    • Developing a protocol for handling each of the environmental and constitutional criminal proceedings carried out by the GNPS legal department in all their stages to expedite the handling of GMR administrative and criminal cases. Given high levels of lawyer turnover with the GNPS, the database and protocols are key in helping maintain continuity and ensuring the rule of law.

How Successful Has It Been?
The GNPS currently possesses one of the most sophisticated electronic monitoring systems in the developing world and a fleet of fast response vessels to intercept illegal fishers once they are identified by the system. However, improvement has not been linear. Given the political nature of the GNPS, periods of progress have been rolled back due to turnover of directors and key employees. Despite these setbacks, the enforcement of the GMR has improved substantially. As shown on the map, most commercial fishing vessels respect the 40 nautical mile marine reserve. There is not full compliance, however, as some commercial fishers circumvent satellite detection by towing small fiberglass vessels so they can enter the GMR undetected. Regardless of all the technological innovations, vessels are still needed for interdiction. WildAid and partners continue to work with the GNPS to improve vessel readiness, optimize resource allocation, and institutionalize key protocols for efficient operations. Eventually, the GNPS will possess robust systems and highly trained personnel to execute an effective compliance program that ensures the sustainable harvesting of marine resources.

30 Day Time Lapse Image of the Galapagos Marine Reserve as Seen from the GNPS Control Center. © GNPS

30 Day Time Lapse Image of the Galapagos Marine Reserve as Seen from the GNPS Control Center. © GNPS

Lessons Learned and Recommendations

  • Political will, particularly in terms of the enforcement of laws and regulations by authorities, is the most important factor for enforcing regulations and MPA management. Political will can come from many sources, such as the public, law makers, NGOs, the authorities, and other stakeholders.
  • Without appropriate legislation, collaborative system technology is largely ineffective for vessel monitoring. In addition, there must be penalties/incentives for proper use and to avoid deactivation.
  • All asset acquisitions must be performance driven and not dictated by donors. The GNPS received patrol vessels and other assets from donors who had the best of intentions; however, their maintenance proved too costly and resulted in a drain on their operating budget.
  • Technology is only a tool. Institutional capacity and human resources must be invested in to operate and maintain the systems and ultimately enforce rules and regulations.
  • Given high staff turnover, the elaboration of standard operating protocols for key maritime vigilance processes is crucial for ensuring continuity and preventing informal interpretations of rules and regulations.
  • The elaboration of simple measures such as vessel logs, checklists, and job aides help ensure predictive maintenance vs. costly corrective repairs.
  • The physical presence of an authority (boats in the water) still remains one of the best deterrents to illegal fishing within the GMR.

Funding Summary
WildAid: $2M
Conservation International: $2M
World Wildlife Fund and Sea Shepherd: $2.5M
USAID: $1.5M

Lead Organizations
WildAid
Conservation International
World Wildlife Fund

Partners
Galapagos National Park Service (GNPS)
Ecuadorian Navy

Resources
WildAid Marine Protection

This case study was provided by WildAid. For further information please contact: Marcel Bigue at bigue@wildaid.org or click here.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone