دوريات الجنة: تطور الإنفاذ في جزر غالاباغوس

 

الموقع:

جزر غالاباغوس، إكوادور

التحدي

تعد محمية جالاباجوس البحرية (GMR) رابع أكبر محمية بحرية في العالم على بعد حوالي 133,0002. تم إنشاء GMR رسميًا في 1998 عن طريق القانون الخاص للتنمية المستدامة والحفاظ على مقاطعة غالاباغوس (LOREG) ويمتد 40 على بعد أميال بحرية من خط الأساس حول الجزر. تتميز الجزر بخصائص جغرافية وجيولوجية فريدة من نوعها وتقع عند تقاطع أربعة تيارات محيطية. وقد ساعد ذلك في إنتاج التنوع البيولوجي الفريد الموجود هناك اليوم ، مما أكسبهم سمعة "مختبر حي للتطور" بين العلماء والباحثين. واليوم ، فإن مزيجًا من صناعات السياحة وصيد الأسماك المتنامية ، التي تدعم سبل عيش سكان الجزر ، يهدد أيضًا عزلتهم وتنوعهم البيولوجي.

محمية جالاباجوس البحرية والمنطقة الاقتصادية الخالصة. الصورة © Google Earth

يشكل الحجم الهائل للمحمية البحرية ، وعدد السكان المزدهر على مدار السنة من سكان 28,000 ، وأكثر من سائح 200,000 كل عام تحديات عديدة للحفاظ على الأرخبيل. يتضح من التحديات الرئيسية المتعلقة بالحفظ والإدارة التي تواجه البيئة البحرية في غالاباغوس ما يلي:

  • يشمل قطاع الصيد الحرفي الموجود داخل الأرخبيل الصيادين 1,000 وما مجموعه سفن 355. تشمل مصايد الأسماك الرئيسية سرطان البحر وخيار البحر وسمك التونة والعديد من أنواع السمك الأبيض.
  • أسطول الصيد الوطني هو أكبر أسطول سمك التونة في جنوب المحيط الهادئ. وتشمل مصائد الأسماك الرئيسية التونة والسمك الأبيض.
  • سفن الصيد الدولية تأتي من كولومبيا وكوستاريكا. تشمل مصائد الأسماك الرئيسية أسماك التونة وأسماك القرش والسمك الأبيض.
  • تنتشر ألواح ليفينج 85 وأكثر من 20 للرحلات النهارية والسفن بين الجزر في جميع أنحاء الأرخبيل.
  • تصل ناقلات البضائع والبترول أسبوعيًا إلى ثلاثة موانئ رئيسية.

بعد سبعة عشر عامًا من إنشاء GMR ، تم إحراز تقدم مهم في لوائح المصايد وإنفاذها فيما يتعلق بحجم أسطول الدوريات والبنية التحتية والموارد البشرية والتطوير المؤسسي. ومع ذلك ، لا تزال إدارة الموارد البحرية مسألة معقدة ، خاصة بسبب الضغط المستمر على الموارد والحاجة إلى التنسيق الفني والبشري في صيانة أسطول الدوريات.

الإجراءات المتخذة

تعمل WildAid ، بالتعاون مع الشركاء ، على جعل GMR واحدة من أفضل المناطق البحرية المحمية في العالم النامي. يهدف مشروعهم المستمر إلى وقف الصيد غير القانوني وتحسين قدرة إدارة المصايد في خدمة المتنزهات الوطنية في غالاباغوس (GNPS). لا يمكن أن تنجح الإدارة الفعالة لـ GMR دون بذل جهود فعالة لإنفاذ القانون والامتثال. لا يوجد نهج "رصاصة فضية" واحد للرصد. عززت WildAid قدرة المراقبة والحجب في GNPS من خلال إدخال أنظمة تكنولوجية متطورة مع ضمان قدرة استجابة سريعة لاعتراض الصيادين غير الشرعيين بمجرد التعرف عليهم من قبل النظام. والهدف من ذلك هو إضفاء الطابع المؤسسي على تشغيل هذه النظم ووضع إجراءات التشغيل الأساسية لجميع الإدارات المشاركة في مراقبة وتيقظ GMR.

دورية تراكم الأصول
قبل 1998 وإصدار LOREG ، ركزت Galapagos National Park Service (GNPS) فقط على إدارة المناطق الأرضية ولم تكن لديها القدرة على إنفاذ البحرية. من المهم أيضًا ملاحظة أنه قبل LOREG ، كان لأسطول التونة الإكوادوري وصولاً كاملاً إلى الأرخبيل ، بينما بعد 1998 لم يعد للأسطول الصناعي إمكانية الوصول إلى أحد مناطق الصيد الرئيسية الخاصة بهم. منذ إنشاء GMR في 1998 ، ركزت جهود الإنفاذ الأولية على شراء سفن ومعدات الدورية ، وإنشاء مكتب للموارد البحرية ، وتدريب حراس المنتزهات البحرية. بواسطة 2005 ، اشترت GNPS وتلقى العديد من التبرعات للحصول على قائمة مثيرة للإعجاب من الأصول: سفن دورية 11 ، قاعدة عائمة واحدة ، قاعدة أرضية ، وطائرة دورية بأربعة مقاعد. لم تكن قدرة صيانة GNPS قادرة على مواكبة عمليات الاستحواذ على الأصول ، وبحلول 2006 كانت معظم السفن في حالة سيئة. أدى تراكم الأصول أيضًا إلى توفير المزيد من الأفراد والوقود ومواد التشحيم والبدلات اليومية اللازمة للحفاظ على العمليات. من أجل معالجة بعض هذه المشكلات ، ركزت WildAid and Conservation International (CI) على تطوير قدرة الصيانة المحلية لأسطول GNPS لضمان القيام بدوريات دون انقطاع في GMR وعلى توفير التكنولوجيا للمساعدة في تقليل تكاليف المراقبة. فيما يلي أمثلة على التقنيات المستخدمة.

خيارات التكنولوجيا للمراقبة والحظر

يفتح في نافذة جديدةنظم الرصد التعاونية تتطلب أجهزة إرسال واستقبال نشطة للموقع على متن السفن. تتضمن رسائل الموقع معلومات مثل: اسم السفينة وخط العرض وخط الطول والدورة التدريبية والسرعة. يجب إصدار قانون تنظيمي محدد لإلزام مالكي السفن بشراء وتفعيل أجهزة الإرسال والاستقبال على متن السفينة. إذا تم فصل جهاز الموقع ، فلن ترى المحطات الساحلية ومراكز التحكم موقع السفينة. نظرًا لأن منتهكي القانون يميلون إلى إلغاء تنشيط أجهزة الإرسال والاستقبال ، يجب أن تنظر اللوائح في فرض عقوبات صارمة على العبث الانتهازي من قبل أصحاب المصلحة. العيب الرئيسي لهذه الأنظمة هو أنها لن تكتشف الصيادين من مناطق أو دول أخرى لا تستخدم أجهزة الإرسال والاستقبال.

في 2009 ، ساعد WildAid في تطبيق نظام مراقبة الأقمار الصناعية (SVMS) لتتبع الموقع والسرعة الدقيقين لجميع السفن الكبيرة التي تسافر داخل المحمية على مدار الساعة. في السنة الأولى ، تم القبض على سفن 32 باستخدام SVMS وأسطول دورية الاستجابة السريعة. الصورة © WildAid

  • أنظمة مراقبة السفن (VMS) لرصد الأسطول التجاري الوطني. عملت WildAid وشركائها مع القوات البحرية والسلطات البيئية لإصدار قانون في مارس 2009 يتطلب من جميع السفن فوق 20 GT استخدام VMS. تم تضمين عقوبات صارمة لإلغاء تنشيط جهاز الإرسال والاستقبال وفقد المخالفون الوصول إلى الوقود المدعوم. تم تعيين تردد إشارة جهاز الإرسال والاستقبال VMS على مدار الساعة للسفن الإكوادورية ، في حين أن معيار المنظمة البحرية الدولية (IMO) هو 6 ساعة. كان يتعين على مالكي السفينة دفع ثمن الخدمة الشهرية. كانت هذه عملية لمدة عام في 3 بدأت في 2006 ، وتبادل كل من القوات البحرية و GNPS الوصول إلى البيانات واستقبلت مراكز التحكم لمراقبة حركة السفينة.
  • نظم التعرف الآلي (AIS) لرصد السفن التجارية والحرفية. كما تم التبرع بالبنية التحتية القائمة على الشاطئ والتي تدعم AIS وتثبيتها في جميع أنحاء الأرخبيل في 2012 ؛ ومع ذلك ، فقد كان غير فعال إلى حد كبير لأنه لا يوجد تشريع حتى الآن يفرض استخدام أجهزة الإرسال والاستقبال AIS.

يفتح في نافذة جديدةنظم مراقبة غير تعاونية هي أفضل خيار للمعدات عند اكتشاف السفن التي تنفذ عمداً أنشطة غير قانونية في مناطق جغرافية محددة أو في غياب أنظمة تعاونية. غالبًا ما يتم تقسيم النظم لتعويض أوجه القصور في تقنية معينة باستخدام نقاط القوة في تقنية أخرى. على سبيل المثال ، غالبًا ما تكمل أنظمة الرادار أنظمة AIS من أجل الكشف عن السفن الأجنبية أو السفن التي ألغت عن عمد أجهزة الإرسال والاستقبال الخاصة بها.

  • طائرة دورية لمراقبة السفن التجارية والحرفية. نظرًا للامتداد الكبير لـ GMR ، اشترت GNPS طائرة من أربعة مقاعد بمساعدة الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية. بالنظر إلى التكلفة العالية لعمليات السفن ، كان يُعتقد أن طائرة الدورية كانت أداة مراقبة ممتازة ؛ ومع ذلك ، بمرور الوقت أصبح مكلفًا للغاية ، حيث يجب استيراد جميع الأجزاء والطائرة تحتاج إلى تأمين ووقود خاص وميكانيكي بدوام كامل وطيار. تم تعقيد هذا أيضًا من حقيقة أن الشركة المصنعة للطائرة أغلقت في 2009.
  • المشاركات اليقظة لرصد مصايد الأسماك وخيار البحر. بالنظر إلى أن العديد من مصايد الأسماك عالية الإنتاجية تتركز في مناطق محددة ، أنشأت GNPS مراكز اليقظة في المواقع الرئيسية التي يكون فيها ضغط الصيد أقوى. كان الوجود المادي لحراس الحديقة منظارين وراديو VHF البحري هو النظام الأكثر فعالية لمناطق جغرافية محددة.
  • كاميرات فيديو عالية الطاقة ورادارات لمراقبة جميع أنشطة السفن في الموانئ. أكملت WildAid والصندوق العالمي للحياة البرية (WWF) و CI تركيب رادارات مراقبة الميناء وكاميرات الفيديو في ثلاثة منافذ رئيسية في نوفمبر 2013. تعتبر المستشعرات الإضافية أدوات مفيدة للغاية لكل من سلطات GNPS وخفر السواحل في تطبيق لوائح الصيد والسياحة والسياحة المحلية. لقد كانت الكاميرات مفيدة بشكل خاص في المخالفات مثل تهريب الوقود والصيد غير القانوني وقوارب الركاب المزدحمة بين الجزر وتنظيف الأسماك في الميناء وغيرها. كل من قبطان الميناء ومركز التحكم في GNPS ينسقان مع زودياك يعمل في الخليج ، وهو قادر على الاستجابة بسرعة عند تحديد الانتهاكات. يعتبر الرادار مفيدًا بشكل خاص في تحديد السفن التي تدخل الخلجان وتتركها مهربة بشكل غير قانوني ومع إيقاف تشغيل أجهزة إرسال / استقبال الموقع عن عمد.

إضفاء الطابع المؤسسي على إجراءات التشغيل والحفاظ على السفن
تهدف وايلد إيد وشركاؤه إلى إضفاء الطابع المؤسسي على تشغيل هذه الأنظمة ووضع إجراءات تشغيل أساسية لجميع الإدارات المشاركة في مراقبة وتيقظ GMR. هذا مهم للغاية لأن التكنولوجيا والأنظمة مفيدة فقط مثل المدربين على تشغيلها وصيانتها. وتشمل الأنشطة:

  • تطوير مركز التحكم ودوريات الصعود وبروتوكولات التشغيل القياسية مع إدارة الموارد البحرية GNPS.
  • تقديم الدعم الفني لإدارة تقنية المعلومات GNPS لتطوير البرامج الحاسوبية لتنظيم جميع أنشطة الدوريات الميدانية وتقديم المعلومات إلى قسم الصيانة. يقوم البرنامج بإنشاء تقارير فيما يتعلق بساعات السفن التي يتم التنقل فيها وساعات الطاقم ومسارات الدوريات والنتائج وقطع الغيار المطلوبة ومتابعة أوامر الصيانة.
  • إنشاء خط أساس لحالة أسطول الدوريات يشمل تكاليف التشغيل والصيانة. بناءً على هذه المعلومات ، بدأت GNPS في إعطاء الأولوية لاستراتيجية الصيانة الخاصة بها ، بالإضافة إلى إجراء عمليات تدقيق تقنية دورية من طرف ثالث لمراقبة تنفيذ خطة الصيانة.
  • برامج تدريبية دورية على صيانة المحركات والكهرباء للعاملين الذين يشغلون سفن خدمة المتنزه.
  • وضع بروتوكول للتعامل مع كل من الإجراءات الجنائية البيئية والدستورية التي تنفذها الدائرة القانونية GNPS في جميع مراحلها لتسريع التعامل مع القضايا الإدارية والجنائية GMR. نظرًا لمستويات عالية من دوران المحامين مع GNPS ، فإن قاعدة البيانات والبروتوكولات هي المفتاح للمساعدة في الحفاظ على الاستمرارية وضمان سيادة القانون.

ما مدى نجاح ذلك؟

تمتلك GNPS حاليًا واحدة من أكثر أنظمة المراقبة الإلكترونية تطوراً في العالم النامي وأسطول من سفن الاستجابة السريعة لاعتراض الصيادين غير الشرعيين بمجرد التعرف عليهم من قبل النظام. ومع ذلك ، لم يكن التحسن خطي. بالنظر إلى الطبيعة السياسية لنظام GNPS ، تم التراجع عن فترات التقدم بسبب دوران أعضاء مجلس الإدارة والموظفين الرئيسيين. على الرغم من هذه النكسات ، فقد تحسن تطبيق GMR بشكل كبير. كما هو موضح في الخريطة ، تحترم معظم سفن الصيد التجارية المحمية البحرية 40 ميل بحري. ومع ذلك ، لا يوجد امتثال كامل لأن بعض الصيادين التجاريين يتحايلون على الكشف عن الأقمار الصناعية من خلال سحب سفن مصنوعة من الألياف الزجاجية الصغيرة حتى يتمكنوا من دخول GMR دون اكتشافها. بغض النظر عن جميع الابتكارات التكنولوجية ، لا تزال هناك حاجة السفن لمنع. يواصل WildAid والشركاء العمل مع GNPS لتحسين جاهزية السفينة ، وتحسين تخصيص الموارد ، وإضفاء الطابع المؤسسي على البروتوكولات الرئيسية للعمليات الفعالة. في النهاية ، سوف تمتلك GNPS أنظمة قوية وموظفين مدربين تدريباً عالياً لتنفيذ برنامج امتثال فعال يضمن الحصاد المستدام للموارد البحرية.

مرور 30 ​​يومًا على محمية غالاباغوس البحرية كما تراه من مركز التحكم في GNPS. الصورة © GNPS

30 Day Time Lapse صورة محمية جالاباجوس البحرية كما تظهر من مركز التحكم في GNPS. صورة © GNPS

الدروس المستفادة والتوصيات

  • الإرادة السياسية ، وخاصة فيما يتعلق بإنفاذ القوانين واللوائح من قبل السلطات ، هي العامل الأكثر أهمية في إنفاذ اللوائح وإدارة MPA. يمكن أن تأتي الإرادة السياسية من العديد من المصادر ، مثل الجمهور وصانعي القانون والمنظمات غير الحكومية والسلطات وأصحاب المصلحة الآخرين.
  • بدون تشريع مناسب ، تكون تقنية النظام التعاوني غير فعالة إلى حد كبير في مراقبة السفن. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يجب أن تكون هناك عقوبات / حوافز للاستخدام السليم ولتجنب التعطيل.
  • يجب أن تكون جميع عمليات الاستحواذ على الأصول مدفوعة بالأداء ولا تمليها الجهات المانحة. تلقت GNPS سفن دورية وغيرها من الأصول من الجهات المانحة التي كانت لديها أفضل النوايا ؛ ومع ذلك ، فقد أثبتت صيانتها أنها مكلفة للغاية وتسببت في استنزاف ميزانية التشغيل الخاصة بها.
  • التكنولوجيا ليست سوى أداة. يجب استثمار القدرة المؤسسية والموارد البشرية في تشغيل الأنظمة وصيانتها وفرض القواعد واللوائح في نهاية المطاف.
  • بالنظر إلى ارتفاع معدل دوران الموظفين ، يعد وضع بروتوكولات تشغيل قياسية لعمليات اليقظة البحرية الرئيسية أمرًا بالغ الأهمية لضمان الاستمرارية ومنع التفسيرات غير الرسمية للقواعد واللوائح.
  • يساعد وضع مقاييس بسيطة مثل سجلات السفن وقوائم المراجعة ومساعدي الوظائف في ضمان الصيانة التنبؤية مقابل الإصلاحات التصحيحية المكلفة.
  • لا يزال الوجود المادي لسلطة (القوارب في الماء) أحد أفضل رادع الصيد غير المشروع داخل GMR.

ملخص التمويل

WildAid: $ 2M
الحفظ الدولي: $ 2M
الصندوق العالمي للحياة البرية ورعي البحر: 2.5M $
الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية: 1.5M $

المنظمات الرائدة

يفتح في نافذة جديدةWildAid
يفتح في نافذة جديدةالحفظ الدولية
يفتح في نافذة جديدةالصندوق العالمي للحياة البرية

شركاؤنا

خدمة متنزه جالاباجوس الوطني (GNPS)
البحرية الاكوادورية

المصادر

يفتح في نافذة جديدةحماية WildAid البحرية

تم تقديم دراسة الحالة هذه بواسطة WildAid. لمزيد من المعلومات ، يرجى الاتصال بـ: Marcel Bigue at bigue@wildaid.orgإنشاء بريد إلكتروني جديد or يفتح في نافذة جديدةانقر هنا.

بورنو youjizz كسكسكسكسكس المعلم الثلاثون الجنس
Translate »

Ecuador – Fisheries Management


Patrolling Paradise: The Evolution of Enforcement in the Galapagos

Location
Galapagos Islands, Ecuador

Enforcement map

The Galapagos Marine Reserve and Respective Economic Exclusive Zone. © Google Earth

The Challenge
The Galapagos Marine Reserve (GMR) is the fourth-largest marine reserve in the world at approximately 133,000 km2. The GMR was formally created in 1998 via the Special Law for the Sustainable Development and Conservation of the Province of Galapagos (LOREG) and extends 40 nautical miles from its baseline around the islands. The islands have unique geographic and geological characteristics and are situated at the intersection of four oceanic currents. This helped produce the unique biodiversity that is found there today, earning them the reputation of a ‘living laboratory of evolution’ among scientists and researchers. Today, the combination of growing tourism and fishing industries, which support the livelihoods of the islands’ inhabitants, also threatens their isolation and biodiversity.

The sheer size of the marine reserve, a thriving year-round population of 28,000 inhabitants, and over 200,000 tourists a year pose numerous challenges to the conservation of the archipelago. The primary conservation and management challenges facing the Galapagos marine environment are illustrated by the following:

  • The artisanal fishing sector that resides within the archipelago includes 1,000 fishers and a total of 355 vessels. Key fisheries include lobster, sea cucumber, tuna, and several species of whitefish.
  • The national fishing fleet is the largest tuna fleet in the South Pacific. Key fisheries include tuna and whitefish.
  • International fishing vessels come from Colombia and Costa Rica. Key fisheries include tuna, sharks, and whitefish.
  • 85 liveaboards and more than 20 day-tour and inter-island vessels circulate throughout the archipelago.
  • Cargo and petroleum tankers arrive weekly to three key ports.

Seventeen years after the establishment of the GMR, important advances in fisheries regulations and enforcement have been made in terms of patrol fleet size, infrastructure, human resources, and institutional development. The management of marine resources, however, is still a complicated matter, especially due to the constant pressure placed on resources and the need for technical and human coordination in the maintenance of the patrol fleet.

Actions Taken
WildAid, in cooperation with partners, is working to make the GMR one of the best-protected marine areas in the developing world. Their ongoing project aims to stop illegal fishing and improve the fisheries management capacity of the Galapagos National Park Service (GNPS). Effective management of the GMR cannot succeed without effective law enforcement and compliance efforts. There is no one ‘silver bullet’ approach to monitoring. WildAid has strengthened the surveillance and interdiction capacity of the GNPS by introducing cutting-edge technology systems while ensuring fast response capacity to intercept illegal fishers once they are identified by the system. The aim is to institutionalize the operation of these systems and establish core operating procedures for all departments involved in the control and vigilance of the GMR.

Patrol Asset Accumulation
Prior to 1998 and the promulgation of LOREG, the Galapagos National Park Service (GNPS) focused only on the management of terrestrial areas and did not have capacity for marine enforcement. It is also important to note that prior to the LOREG, the Ecuadorian tuna fleet had complete access to the archipelago, while after 1998 the industrial fleet no longer had access to one of their primary fishing grounds. Since the creation of the GMR in 1998, initial enforcement efforts focused on the procurement of patrol vessels and equipment, the construction of a marine resources office, and the training of marine park wardens. By 2005, the GNPS procured and received numerous donations for an impressive list of assets: 11 patrol vessels, one floating base, a terrestrial base, and a four-seat patrol plane. GNPS maintenance capacity was not able to keep pace with asset acquisitions, and by 2006 most vessels were in disrepair. The asset accumulation also resulted in more personnel, fuel, lubricants, and per diems required to maintain operations. In order to address some of these issues, WildAid and Conservation International (CI) focused on developing the local maintenance capacity of the GNPS fleet to ensure uninterrupted patrolling of the GMR and on supplying technology to help reduce surveillance costs. Examples of the technologies employed are described below.

Technology Options for Surveillance and Interdiction

In 2009, WildAid helped implement a Satellite Vessel Monitoring System (SVMS) to track the exact position and speed of all large vessels traveling within the reserve on an hourly basis. In the first year, 32 vessels were apprehended using SVMS and the Rapid Response Patrol Fleet. © WildAid

In 2009, WildAid helped implement a Satellite Vessel Monitoring System (SVMS) to track the exact position and speed of all large vessels traveling within the reserve on an hourly basis. In the first year, 32 vessels were apprehended using SVMS and the Rapid Response Patrol Fleet. © WildAid

Collaborative monitoring systems require active location transceivers on board of vessels. Location messages include information such as: vessel name, latitude, longitude, course, and speed. A specific regulatory law must be promulgated to obligate vessel owners to purchase and activate on-board transceivers. If the location device is disconnected, the shore stations and control centers will not see the vessel’s position. As law violators tend to deactivate transceivers, regulations must consider stiff penalties for opportunistic tampering by stakeholders. A major drawback of these systems is that they will not detect fishers from other areas or countries which do not employ transceivers.

  • Vessel Monitoring Systems (VMS) for Monitoring the National Commercial Fleet. WildAid and partners worked with the Navy and environmental authorities to promulgate a law in March 2009 requiring all vessels above 20 GT to use VMS. Stiff penalties were included for transceiver deactivation and violators lost access to subsidized fuel. VMS transceiver signal frequency was set to hourly for Ecuadorian vessels, while the International Maritime Organization (IMO) standard is 6 hours. The vessel owners were required to pay for the monthly service. This was a 3-year process initiated in 2006, and both the Navy and the GNPS shared access to data and received control centers to monitor vessel movement.
  • Automatic Identification Systems (AIS) for Monitoring Commercial and Artisanal Vessels. Shore-based infrastructure supporting AIS was also donated and installed throughout the archipelago in 2012; however, it has been largely ineffective as there is no legislation to date mandating the use of AIS transceivers.

Non-collaborative monitoring systems are the best equipment option when detecting vessels that are intentionally carrying out illegal activities in specific geographic areas or in the absence of collaborative systems. Systems are often layered to make up for the deficiencies of one particular technology by using the strengths of another. For example, radar systems often complement AIS systems in order to detect foreign vessels or vessels that have intentionally deactivated their transceivers.

  • Patrol Plane for the Surveillance of Commercial and Artisanal Vessels. Given the vast expanse of the GMR, the GNPS procured a four-seat airplane with the help of USAID. Given the high cost of vessel operations, the patrol plane was first thought to be an excellent surveillance tool; however, over time it has become quite expensive, as all parts must be imported and the plane requires insurance, special fuel, a full-time mechanic, and pilot. This has also been complicated by the fact that the plane manufacturer shut down in 2009.
  • Vigilance Posts for Monitoring Artisanal Sea Cucumber and Lobster Fisheries. Given that many of these highly productive fisheries are concentrated in specific areas, the GNPS set up vigilance posts at key sites where fishing pressure is strongest. The physical presence of park rangers with binoculars and VHF marine radios has been the most effective system for specific geographic areas.
  • High Power Video Cameras and Radars for the Surveillance of all Vessel Activity at Ports. WildAid, World Wildlife Fund (WWF), and CI completed the installation of harbor surveillance radars and video cameras at three key ports in November 2013. The additional sensors are extremely useful tools for both GNPS and Coast Guard authorities in the enforcement of local fishing, tourism, and maritime trafficking regulations. The cameras have been especially helpful for infractions such as fuel contraband, illegal fishing, overloaded inter-island passenger boats, and the cleaning of fish at port among others. Both the port captain and the GNPS control center coordinate with a staffed zodiac in the bay, which is able to respond swiftly as violations are identified. The radar is specifically useful for identifying vessels entering and leaving the bays with illegal contraband and with location transceivers deliberately turned off.

Institutionalizing Operating Procedures and the Maintenance of Vessels
WildAid and partners aim to institutionalize the operation of these systems and establish core operating procedures for all departments involved in the control and vigilance of the GMR. This is very important because the technology and the systems are only as useful as those who are trained to operate and maintain them. Activities include:

    • Developing control center, patrol, and boarding standard operating protocols with the GNPS Marine Resource Department.
    • Providing technical support to the GNPS IT Department for the development of software to systematize all field patrolling activities and provide the information to the Maintenance Department. The software generates reports with respect to vessel hours navigated, crew hours, patrol tracks, findings, spare parts required, and follow-up on maintenance orders.
    • Establishing a baseline for the state of the patrol fleet that includes operational and maintenance costs. Based on this information, the GNPS began prioritizing its maintenance strategy, additionally carrying out periodic third party technical audits to monitor maintenance plan execution.
    • Periodic training programs on engine and electrical maintenance for personnel operating the vessels of the park service.
    • Developing a protocol for handling each of the environmental and constitutional criminal proceedings carried out by the GNPS legal department in all their stages to expedite the handling of GMR administrative and criminal cases. Given high levels of lawyer turnover with the GNPS, the database and protocols are key in helping maintain continuity and ensuring the rule of law.

How Successful Has It Been?
The GNPS currently possesses one of the most sophisticated electronic monitoring systems in the developing world and a fleet of fast response vessels to intercept illegal fishers once they are identified by the system. However, improvement has not been linear. Given the political nature of the GNPS, periods of progress have been rolled back due to turnover of directors and key employees. Despite these setbacks, the enforcement of the GMR has improved substantially. As shown on the map, most commercial fishing vessels respect the 40 nautical mile marine reserve. There is not full compliance, however, as some commercial fishers circumvent satellite detection by towing small fiberglass vessels so they can enter the GMR undetected. Regardless of all the technological innovations, vessels are still needed for interdiction. WildAid and partners continue to work with the GNPS to improve vessel readiness, optimize resource allocation, and institutionalize key protocols for efficient operations. Eventually, the GNPS will possess robust systems and highly trained personnel to execute an effective compliance program that ensures the sustainable harvesting of marine resources.

30 Day Time Lapse Image of the Galapagos Marine Reserve as Seen from the GNPS Control Center. © GNPS

30 Day Time Lapse Image of the Galapagos Marine Reserve as Seen from the GNPS Control Center. © GNPS

Lessons Learned and Recommendations

  • Political will, particularly in terms of the enforcement of laws and regulations by authorities, is the most important factor for enforcing regulations and MPA management. Political will can come from many sources, such as the public, law makers, NGOs, the authorities, and other stakeholders.
  • Without appropriate legislation, collaborative system technology is largely ineffective for vessel monitoring. In addition, there must be penalties/incentives for proper use and to avoid deactivation.
  • All asset acquisitions must be performance driven and not dictated by donors. The GNPS received patrol vessels and other assets from donors who had the best of intentions; however, their maintenance proved too costly and resulted in a drain on their operating budget.
  • Technology is only a tool. Institutional capacity and human resources must be invested in to operate and maintain the systems and ultimately enforce rules and regulations.
  • Given high staff turnover, the elaboration of standard operating protocols for key maritime vigilance processes is crucial for ensuring continuity and preventing informal interpretations of rules and regulations.
  • The elaboration of simple measures such as vessel logs, checklists, and job aides help ensure predictive maintenance vs. costly corrective repairs.
  • The physical presence of an authority (boats in the water) still remains one of the best deterrents to illegal fishing within the GMR.

Funding Summary
WildAid: $2M
Conservation International: $2M
World Wildlife Fund and Sea Shepherd: $2.5M
USAID: $1.5M

Lead Organizations
WildAid
Conservation International
World Wildlife Fund

Partners
Galapagos National Park Service (GNPS)
Ecuadorian Navy

Resources
WildAid Marine Protection

This case study was provided by WildAid. For further information please contact: Marcel Bigue at bigue@wildaid.org or click here.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone