檢測夏威夷考艾島的珊瑚病爆發和未來的教訓

所在地

Hanalei,Kaua'i,Hawai'i

所面臨的挑戰

Hanalei位於夏威夷Kaua'i北岸,是一個關於450永久居民的小社區。 哈納雷地區擁有豐富的生物多樣性和文化傳統,是高保護價值的物種的家園。 五個ahupua'a,傳統的夏威夷陸地分區,流入哈納雷灣。 還有三個具有重要文化意義的魚塘,這是一種傳統的夏威夷水產養殖技術,將流水封閉或轉移到封閉的近岸區域,以供養魚供當地消費。 哈納雷河是美國十四條美國遺產河流之一。

哈納雷河和山谷。 照片©Hanalei Watershed Hui

哈納雷河和山谷。 照片©Hanalei Watershed Hui

旅遊業是考艾島的主要經濟驅動力。 許多社區成員經營小規模的旅遊業務。 在北岸,只有約25%的居民是長期永久居民; 許多住宅物業已經改建為度假租賃,其中許多遊客和季節性居民來自美國本土。

該社區高度參與自然資源管理和規劃,並確定了陸地污染的主要原因,包括將單戶住宅改為更加密集的商業用途,低效的廢水管理系統,自然侵蝕,肥料的過度使用,以及野豬引起的侵蝕和乾擾。 強烈的波浪作用是哈納萊伊周圍海水的特徵,確保哈納萊伊珊瑚礁周圍的水通常混合良好,水停留時間較短。

在2004,研究Kaua'i北岸珊瑚礁的科學家首先觀察到低水平的黑帶珊瑚病。 然後,在2012中,向志願者報告網絡“礁石之眼”(EOR)報告了疾病的爆發水平。 美國地質調查局(USGS),夏威夷大學海洋生物學研究所(UH)和國家海洋和大氣管理局(NOAA)的科學家現已確認該病影響三種水稻珊瑚(Montipora capitata,M。 patula和M. flabellata),並且,在各個位點有一些變異,大約是這些物種的1-8%菌落。 雖然這些百分比相對較低,但是Montipora珊瑚是北岸珊瑚礁上主要的珊瑚礁珊瑚,因此該疾病有可能對珊瑚礁的結構和功能產生重大影響。 黑帶珊瑚病可以非常快地穿過珊瑚群。 通常可以觀察到藍細菌的疾病前沿。 它留下死珊瑚組織,藻類覆蓋暴露的骨骼。

回答有關珊瑚病反應的媒體問題。 照片©夏威夷水產資源部

回答有關珊瑚病反應的媒體問題。 照片©夏威夷水產資源部

所採取的行動

根據快速反應應急計劃(RRCP)的既定協議,一旦珊瑚礁網絡眼睛確認珊瑚病爆發,USGS,UH和NOAA就進行了初步評估。 RRCP為夏威夷水產資源部(DAR)及其合作夥伴提供計劃,以應對影響珊瑚礁健康的事件,包括珊瑚病,珊瑚褪色和刺冠海星(COTS)爆發。 收到報告後的第一步是讓合作夥伴科學家和政​​府生物學家確認並評估疾病的程度。 在2012,一個UH微生物學實驗室確定了一種負責該疾病的藍細菌,類似於在加勒比和印度洋 - 太平洋地區觀察到的疾病。 一名UH博士生在2013對Kaua'i的珊瑚礁進行了調查,並確認該病主要影響北岸(86北部21調查地點有此病,而南部只有一個地點有這種疾病)。 新聞界廣泛報導了疾病的爆發,引起了人們對這一問題的關注和社區關注。

記錄黑帶疾病的影響。 照片©夏威夷水產資源部

記錄黑帶疾病的影響。 照片©夏威夷水產資源部

關於珊瑚病的知之甚少,而對如何管理患病的珊瑚礁則知之甚少; 因此,研究是第一階段響應的主要部分。 DAR合作夥伴目前正在開展各種主題的研究,包括疾病傳播,潛在治療,珊瑚健康對珊瑚對黑帶珊瑚病易感性的影響,環境因素如何與黑帶病的發病率相關,以及實驗性治療方案。 該研究將提供必要的信息,以更有效地確定管理方案。

來自珊瑚黑帶疾病的病變(健康珊瑚位於疾病前方的左側,死珊瑚位於右側)。 照片©夏威夷大學海洋生物學研究所

來自珊瑚黑帶疾病的病變(健康珊瑚位於疾病前方的左側,死珊瑚位於右側)。 照片©夏威夷大學海洋生物學研究所

夏威夷大學海洋生物學研究所珊瑚病實驗室的成員已經開始對受影響的珊瑚群進行實驗性治療。 已經發現將海洋環氧膩子應用於受影響珊瑚的病變邊緣可以有效地阻止或減緩珊瑚的疾病進展,並且下一步將進行更大的有效性試驗。

它有多成功?

1月,2014,DAR與開展初步疾病評估的合作夥伴以及環境保護局(EPA),DAR生物學家和教育專家以及Kewalo海洋實驗室的珊瑚專家組成了管理響應小組。 如快速反應應急計劃所述,該小組的目的是審查有關疾病爆發的傳入數據,向公眾傳達該事件,並評估管理方案。 到目前為止,該團隊已優先考慮確定疾病環境驅動因素的項目,評估潛在的管理策略,並啟動了一個網站,他們將繼續發布有關響應的最新信息。 黑帶疾病爆發正在進行中,尚未報告恢復情況。

經驗教訓和建議

  • 計劃有助於協調響應。 快速反應應急計劃的存在使DAR及其合作夥伴能夠以有組織的方式應對黑帶珊瑚病。 有些疾病發展迅速,可以覆蓋大面積區域,因此做好準備並了解可用於應對這些事件的資源是很好的。
  • 社區參與是關鍵。 公民科學網絡“眼睛之礁”能夠比DAR工作人員單獨工作更快地識別珊瑚病爆發。 在這種情況下,社區成員擴大了管理人員監測珊瑚疾病干擾的能力,並將在珊瑚礁的恢復過程中發揮關鍵作用。
  • 在應對這種干擾時,溝通至關重要。 從一開始就制定溝通計劃或讓溝通專家參與,這將有助於團隊向Kaua'i的所有合作夥伴和社區通報珊瑚病的知識以及正在進行的研究。
  • 應急資金仍然是一個重大障礙。 這很困難,因為您無法預測疾病事件需要何時,何地以及需要多少資金。 需要製定一項財務計劃,以便將資金專門用於珊瑚病,漂白和COTS干擾。
  • 夥伴關係至關重要。 調查珊瑚病需要一個由科學家,管理人員,非政府組織,溝通專家,社區領導,私營部門參與者等組成的多學科團隊。協作可以在珊瑚疾病干擾期間及時有效地利用更多資源。 DAR正在這一課程的基礎上,在9月2014美國珊瑚礁特別工作組會議上建立第一個應對這些類型的珊瑚礁影響的管理人員全球學習交流。
DAR工作人員在當地夏令營教授珊瑚健康。 照片©夏威夷水產資源部

DAR工作人員在當地夏令營教授珊瑚健康。 照片©夏威夷水產資源部

資金摘要

夏威夷土地和自然資源部,水產資源部(DAR)和划船與海洋娛樂部(DOBOR),海洋與地球科學與技術學院(SOEST),夏威夷大學海洋生物學研究所(HIMB),美國地質調查局(USGS),國家海洋和大氣管理局珊瑚礁生態系統司(NOAA-CRED),其他幾個社區合作夥伴也提供了資源和供應

牽頭組織(管理層回應小組成員)

夏威夷水產資源部土地和自然資源部
夏威夷大學海洋生物學研究所
國家海洋和大氣管理局,太平洋島嶼漁業科學中心,珊瑚礁生態系統司
環境保護局,太平洋島嶼地區
美國地質調查局野生動物保健中心
夏威夷大學Kewalo海洋實驗室
夏威夷大學微生物學系

合作夥伴

下面的氣泡
礁石的眼睛
哈納雷流域惠
考艾社區學院
Seasport Divers
懷帕基金會

資源

珊瑚礁響應:Kaua'i上的黑帶珊瑚病

珊瑚礁網絡的眼睛

Reefology 101,珊瑚健康與生態論壇

夏威夷州珊瑚礁戰略

撰文: Anne Rosinski,夏威夷土地和自然資源部水產資源部海洋資源專家
Maka'ala Ka'aumoana,Hanalei Watershed Hui

本案例研究改編自:Cullman,G。(編輯)2014。 彈性資料手冊:島嶼系統中社會生態恢復力的案例研究。 美國紐約自然歷史博物館生物多樣性與保護中心。

por youjizz xmxx 老師xxx 性別

Hawaii – Coral Disease


Detection of a Coral Disease Outbreak in Kauaʻi, Hawaiʻi and Lessons for the Future

Location
Hanalei, Kauaʻi, Hawaiʻi

The Challenge
Hanalei, on the North Shore of Kauaʻi, Hawaiʻi, is a small community of about 450 permanent residents. The Hanalei region is rich in biodiversity and cultural tradition and is home to species of high conservation value. Five ahupuaʻa, the traditional Hawaiian land division, drain into Hanalei Bay. There are also three culturally important fish ponds, a traditional Hawaiian aquaculture technique that encloses or diverts stream waters into an enclosed near shore area for purposes of rearing fish for local consumption. The Hanalei River is one of fourteen American heritage Rivers in the United States.

Hanalei River and Valley

Hanalei River and Valley. © Hanalei Watershed Hui

Tourism is the main economic driver on Kauaʻi. Many community members operate small-scale tourism businesses. On the North Shore, only about 25% of the residents are long-term, permanent residents; many residential properties have been converted to vacation rentals, with many of these visitors and seasonal residents originating from the mainland United States.

The community is highly engaged in natural resource management and planning and has identified major causes of land-based pollution including the conversion of single family homes to more intense commercial uses, inefficient waste water management systems, natural erosion, over-use of fertilizers, and erosion and disturbance caused by feral pigs. Strong wave action characterizes the ocean waters surrounding Hanalei, ensuring that the water surrounding Hanalei’s reefs are generally well mixed and water residence times are low.

Answering media questions

Answering media questions about the coral disease response.
© Hawaii Division of Aquatic Resources

In 2004, scientists studying the reefs on the North Shore of Kauaʻi first observed a black band coral disease at low levels. Then, in 2012, outbreak levels of the disease were reported to the volunteer reporting network, Eyes of the Reef (EOR). Scientists with the United States Geological Survey (USGS), University of Hawaiʻi Institute of Marine Biology (UH), and the National Ocean and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) have now confirmed that the disease affects three species of rice corals (Montipora capitata, M. patula, and M. flabellata), and, with some variation across sites, approximately 1-8% of colonies of these species. While these percentages are relatively low, Montipora corals are the dominant reef-building corals on North Shore reefs and therefore the disease has the potential to have a significant impact on reef structure and function. Black band coral disease can move through a coral colony very fast. Typically a disease front of cyanobacteria can be observed. It leaves behind dead coral tissue and algae covers the exposed skeleton.

Actions Taken

black band disease

Documenting the impact of the black band disease. © Hawaii Division of Aquatic Resources

Once the Eyes of the Reef Network confirmed the coral disease outbreak, USGS, UH, and NOAA conducted an initial assessment, according to the established protocol of the Rapid Response Contingency Plan (RRCP). The RRCP provides the Hawaiʻi Division of Aquatic Resources (DAR) and its partners with a plan to respond to events affecting reef health, including coral disease, coral bleaching, and crown-of-thorn starfish (COTS) outbreaks. The first step after receiving the report was getting partner scientists and government biologists to confirm and assess the extent of the disease. In 2012, a UH microbiology laboratory identified a cyanobacteria responsible for the disease, similar to diseases that have been observed in the Caribbean and the Indo-Pacific. A UH doctoral student surveyed Kauaʻi’s reefs in 2013 and confirmed that the disease was predominantly affecting the North Shore (86% of the 21 northern surveyed sites had the disease present, while only one site out of four in the south had the disease). The press covered the disease outbreak extensively, which brought attention and community concern about the issue.

Lesions from black band disease

Lesions from black band disease on a coral (healthy coral is to the left of the disease front, dead coral is to the right). © University of Hawaii Institute of Marine Biology

There is relatively little known about coral diseases and less about how to manage diseased reefs; therefore, research is a major part of the first phase response. DAR partners are currently undertaking studies on diverse topics including disease transmission, potential treatments, the influence of coral health on coral susceptibility to the black band coral disease, how environmental factors correlate to the incidences of black band disease, and an experimental treatment option. This research will provide essential information to more effectively identify management options.

Members of the coral disease laboratory at University of Hawaiʻi Institute of Marine Biology have been piloting an experimental treatment for affected coral colonies. Application of marine epoxy putty to edges of the disease lesions on affected corals has been found to effectively stop or slow disease progression on corals and a larger trial of effectiveness is a next step.

How Successful Has it Been?
In January 2014, DAR formed a Management Response Team with the partners that conducted the initial disease assessment as well as the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), DAR biologists and education specialists, and a coral specialist from the Kewalo Marine Laboratory. The purpose of the Team, as described in the Rapid Response Contingency Plan, is to review incoming data regarding the disease outbreak, communicate the event to the public, and evaluate management options. Thus far, the team has prioritized projects that will identify environmental drivers for the disease, evaluate potential management strategies, and launched a website where they will continue to post the latest information about the response. The black band disease outbreak is ongoing and no recovery can be reported as of yet.

Lessons Learned and Recommendations
Lessons learned and key recommendations include:

    • A plan facilitates a coordinated response. The existence of the Rapid Response Contingency Plan enabled DAR and its partners to respond to the black band coral disease in an organized manner. Some diseases move quickly and can cover large areas, so it is good to be prepared and to know what resources are available to respond to these events.
summer camp about coral health

DAR staff teaching a local summer camp about coral health. © Hawaii Division of Aquatic Resources

  • Community involvement is key. The citizen science network Eyes of the Reef is able to recognize coral disease outbreaks more quickly than if DAR staff had been working alone. In this case, community members expanded the capacity of managers to monitor for coral disease disturbances and will play a key role in the reef’s recovery.
  • Communication is critical when responding to this type of disturbance. Having a communication plan or involving a communication expert from the beginning would have aided the team in informing all partners and the community on Kauaʻi of what was known about the coral disease and about the research being done.
  • Contingency funding continues to be a substantial barrier. It is difficult because you cannot predict when, where, and how much funding will be needed for a disease event. A finance plan needs to be created that will allow funds to be isolated specifically for coral disease, bleaching, and COTS disturbances.
  • Partnerships are essential. Investigating a coral disease takes a multi-disciplinary team of scientists, managers, NGOs, communication experts, community leaders, private sector participants, etc. Collaboration can allow more resources to be leveraged in a timely and efficient way during a coral disease disturbance. DAR is building on this lesson by establishing the first global learning exchange of managers who respond to these types of coral reef impacts at the September 2014 U.S Coral Reef Task Force Meeting.

 

Funding Summary
Hawaiʻi Department of Land and Natural Resources, Division of Aquatic Resources (DAR) and Division of Boating and Ocean Recreation (DOBOR)The School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology (SOEST)University of Hawaiʻi Institute of Marine Biology (HIMB)US Geological Survey (USGS)
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Coral Reef Ecosystem Division (NOAA-CRED)Several additional community partners also contributed resources and supplies

Lead Organizations (Management Response Team Members)
Hawai‘i Department of Land and Natural Resources, Division of Aquatic Resources
University of Hawaiʻi Institute of Marine BiologyNational Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, Pacific Islands Fisheries Science Center, Coral Reef Ecosystem Division
The Environmental Protection Agency, Pacific Island Region
U.S. Geological Survey Wildlife Health Center
University of Hawaiʻi Kewalo Marine Laboratory
University of Hawaiʻi Department of Microbiology

Partners
Bubbles Below
Eyes of the Reef
Hanalei Watershed Hui
Kauaʻi Community College
Seasport Divers
Waipa Foundation

Resources
Reef Response: Black Band Coral Disease On Kauaʻi
Eyes of the Reef Network
Reefology 101, Coral Health and Ecology Forum
Hawaii Coral Reef Strategy, State of Hawaii (pdf)

Written by: Anne Rosinski, Marine Resource Specialist, Division of Aquatic Resources, Hawaiʻi Department of Land & Natural Resources
Makaʻala Kaʻaumoana, Hanalei Watershed Hui

This case study was adapted from: Cullman, G. (ed.) 2014. Resilience Sourcebook: Case studies of social-ecological resilience in island systems. Center for Biodiversity and Conservation, American Museum of Natural History, New York, NY.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone