مراقبة مجتمعات الشعب المرجانية في أول منطقة لحماية العاشبات من هاواي

 

الموقع:

شمال كيانابالي ، غرب ماوي ، هاواي

التحدي

في صيف 2009 ، أنشأت ولاية هاواي أول منطقة محمية بحرية في هاواي مصممة بالكامل لتعزيز المرونة ، وهي منطقة Kahekili Herbivore لإدارة مصايد الأسماك (KHFMA) ، والتي تأخذ فيها جميع الحيوانات العاشبة (الببغاء وسمك الجرو والسمك والقنفذ) و يحظر تغذية الأسماك ، لكن يُسمح باستخدام أشكال أخرى من صيد الأسماك. يوفر إنشاء KHFMA حالة اختبار لحظر صيد الحيوانات العاشبة على الشعاب المرجانية في هاواي. يمكن أن يؤدي الدليل القاطع على فعاليته إلى اعتماد أوسع لهذا الشكل من أشكال الإدارة و / أو لوائح الصيد الإضافية. على سبيل المثال ، في 2014 ، أدخلت ولاية هاواي الحد المسموح به للأكياس من نوعين من الببغاء لكل صياد في اليوم ، ولا تأخذ في المرحلة النهائية لأكبر نوعين من أسماك الببغاء للشعاب المرجانية في ماوي ، جزئياً ، بسبب الأدلة التي جاءت من مشروع رصد KHFMA. في هاواي ، كما هو الحال في أجزاء أخرى من العالم ، تعد قوانين المصايد والمناطق البحرية المحمية مثيرة للجدل. لذلك ، فإن كل من المؤيدين والنقاد المحتملين لنهج الإدارة هذه يراقبون بعناية نتائج إدارة الحيوانات العاشبة.

حدود KHFMA على طول ساحل Kāʻanapali ، غرب ماوي. الصورة © هاواي DLNRيفتح ملف IMAGE

حدود KHFMA على طول ساحل Kāʻanapali ، غرب ماوي. الصورة © هاواي DLNR

الإجراءات المتخذة

في وقت مبكر من عملية إنشاء KHFMA ، أنشأ قسم هاواي للموارد المائية (DAR) والشركاء في جامعة هاواي برنامج مراقبة طويل الأجل ضمن حدود MPA المقترحة لجمع البيانات لتوفير خط أساس ما قبل الإغلاق ل KHFMA. وقعت المسوحات الأولى في يناير 2008 ، 18 أشهر قبل إنشاء الاحتياطي. يتكون برنامج الرصد من استطلاعات نصف سنوية مكثفة أجرتها DAR وقسم النظم الإيكولوجية للشعاب المرجانية في دائرة نوا.

تضمن تصميم الاستقصاء تقسيم الموائل داخل المحمية إلى فئات الموائل 6 بناءً على الهيكل المادي والعمق (الشعاب المرجانية الضحلة ، الشعاب المرجانية العميقة ، الشجرية الضيقة الأخدود ، الرموش والأخدود العميق ، الرصيف ، مختلطة منتصف العمق ) ، يتوافق أيضًا مع الموقع على طول الخط الساحلي وعلى مقربة من الشاطئ. داخل كل فئة من الموائل ، توجد أزواج من الغواصين الذين شملهم الاستطلاع بطول 25m بطول عشوائي ، مع غواص واحد يقوم بمسح أسماك والآخر ينتج مسحًا مقطعيًا ضوئيًا ويسجل أيضًا أعدادًا من قنافذ البحر عند عودتهم. بشكل نموذجي ، أكملت فرق الغوص مسوحات 90-100 في كل جولة مراقبة لـ 4 ، ثم يتم تحليل الصور فيما بعد ، ويتم تجميع جميع البيانات المتعلقة بالأسماك والقنفذ والقاع داخل فصول الموائل وعلى مقياس KHFMA ، مع كل موطن تم تقييمه بواسطة الحجم النسبي.

ما مدى نجاح ذلك؟

في سبتمبر 2014 ، بعد 5 سنوات من إنشاء مؤسسة الملك فهد الطبية ، تشير النتائج حتى الآن إلى دليل قوي على تعافي الحيوانات العاشبة. كان هناك أكثر من الضعف في الكتلة الحيوية لأسماك الببغاء ، ولا سيما الزيادات في أعداد الأفراد الكبيرة ، وكانت هناك زيادة في تنوع أسماك الببغاء ، لا سيما في الموائل الضحلة التي من المحتمل أن يتم صيدها بشدة قبل الإغلاق. كما زادت الكتلة الحيوية لسمك الجراح بشكل ملحوظ ، ولكن بدرجة أقل. خلال نفس الفترة الزمنية ، زاد غطاء الطحالب المرجانية القشرية (CCA) ، التي تعتبر مؤشرًا على ارتفاع ضغط الرعي والتي تعتبر ركيزة مناسبة لاستقرار ونمو الشعاب المرجانية ، من 2٪ غطاء قبل الإغلاق إلى> 10٪ غطاء بعد 5 سنوات من الحماية. كما بدأ الغطاء المرجاني في الزيادة في منطقة الملك فهد الطبية على مدى الثمانية عشر شهرًا الماضية تقريبًا ، لكن الزيادة حتى الآن صغيرة نسبيًا. انظر دراسة الحالة ذات الصلة حول منطقة Kahekili Herbivore لإدارة مصايد الأسماك للحصول على تفاصيل حول الإجراءات المتخذة والدروس المستفادة من إدارة المنطقة لمقاومة الشعاب المرجانية.

لذلك ، تشير الأدلة الأولية إلى أن حماية الحيوانات العاشبة تعمل ؛ زاد ضغط الرعي ونتيجة لذلك ، تحول التوازن التنافسي من هيمنة الطحالب إلى هيمنة المرجان بعد فترة طويلة من الانخفاض على الشعاب المرجانية المحلية.

لقد كانت القدرة على إنتاج بيانات عالية الجودة تظهر الاسترداد مهمة للغاية في الحفاظ على الدعم العام والأوسع لل KHFMA. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، كانت القدرة على فصل أنماط الاسترداد في مناطق مختلفة من الاحتياطي مفيدة للغاية في فهم عوامل مثل درجة الامتثال المحتملة. على سبيل المثال ، في العامين الأولين من الحماية ، على الرغم من وجود انتعاش واضح في الموائل الأعمق ، لم يكن هناك في البداية سوى القليل من التغيير في مناطق الشعاب المرجانية الضحلة القريبة من مرافق وقوف السيارات ، وبالتالي الأكثر عرضة للصيد غير المشروع. بالتأكيد حدث بعض الصيد الجائر في السنوات الأولى بعد الإغلاق. ومع ذلك ، يبدو أن الالتزام يتحسن ، استنادًا إلى البيانات التي تشير إلى انتعاش قوي في تلك المناطق والتقارير من مجتمع متحمس ومشارك.

الدروس المستفادة والتوصيات

كانت الشراكة القوية التي تضم وكالة إدارة محلية نشطة (DAR) لها روابط قوية في المجتمع أساسية لضمان نشر نتائج المراقبة الإيجابية على نطاق واسع.

أسماك العاشبة مفيدة محمية الآن بالكامل داخل KHFMA Photo © Hawai'i DLNRيفتح ملف IMAGE

الأسماك العاشبة مفيدة الآن محمية بالكامل داخل KHFMA. الصورة © هاواي DLNR

كما هو شائع في هاواي ، الشعاب المرجانية في KHFMA متغيرة للغاية ، وتشمل مجموعة واسعة من أنواع الموائل ونوعية الموائل. لذلك ، قمنا بتصميم استراتيجية مسح لزيادة عدد وانتشار المكاني من داخل KHFMA لزيادة الثقة في أن النتائج تمثل كامل موائل الشعاب المرجانية داخل المحمية. توجد مقايضات في جميع قرارات التصميم ، ولكن تم اتخاذ الخيارات الرئيسية من أجل:

  • تحديد موقع عشوائيا transects بدلا من استخدام transects دائمة. سيكون للبيانات المستقاة من تقاطعات دائمة تباين أقل بين جولات المسح ، ولكن مع حمل كبير لتثبيتها وصيانتها ، وحتى لتحديد موقعها في سياق غطس المسح ؛ و
  • وضع خريطة للموائل لشعاب KHFMA ، مع تقسيم جميع مناطق الشعاب إلى طبقات الموائل المذكورة أعلاه

تعمل خريطة الموئل على تبسيط البرنامج من الناحية التشغيلية لأنه يسمح للغواصين بإجراء أكبر عدد ممكن من القطع داخل كل غوص ، ثم استخدم مواقع القطع لتصنيف كل مقطع في واحدة من فئات الموائل المحددة مسبقًا. يمكننا بعد ذلك توليد بيانات موجزة لكل جولة استقصائية بشكل منفصل لكل فصل موئل ولل KHFMA ككل. وقد سمح لنا ذلك بالتعرف على مسارات الاسترداد المختلفة في مناطق الموائل المختلفة بسبب التراكيب المختلفة للأنواع وتاريخ الصيد ودرجة الامتثال المحلي.

درس رئيسي آخر هو أن أخذ العينات عدة مرات في السنة أمر مهم بسبب وجود اختلافات موسمية قوية في الغطاء الضخم. أخذنا عينات في الربيع وأواخر الصيف كل عام. سيكون من المرغوب فيه أخذ عينات أكثر انتظامًا ، ولكنه سيكون تحديًا من الناحية التشغيلية لأن كل حدث من أحداث أخذ العينات الخاصة بنا يتضمن ضم فرق من جزر مختلفة (أواهو وماوي) والوكالات التي لها أولويات وبرامج أخرى.

من المهم قياس التغير على مدار الوقت داخل الاحتياطي ، ولكن من الضروري أيضًا مقارنة تلك الاتجاهات بالأنماط التي تحدث على الشعاب المرجانية المماثلة خارج الاحتياطي. ولاية هاواي لديها برامج مراقبة طويلة الأجل في مناطق الشعاب المرجانية 8 في ماوي. على الرغم من أن تصميم المسح لهذا الرصد طويل الأجل لم يكن هو نفسه تمامًا ، إلا أن الأساليب المستخدمة متوافقة. استخدمنا بيانات من KHFMA لقياس التغيير مع مرور الوقت داخل الاحتياطي واستخدمنا بيانات الرصد طويلة الأجل الحالية لمقارنات "خارج MPA". في حين أن هناك بعض العيوب لذلك (على سبيل المثال ، يتم جمع بيانات الاحتياطي داخل وخارج باستخدام أساليب مختلفة وتصاميم المسح) ، والفائدة هي أنه لم يكن لدينا لوضع ضوابط محددة KHFMA لهذا المشروع ، وبالتالي كنا قادرين على التركيز على جميع لدينا جهد المسح على KHFMA بدلاً من تقسيمها بين منطقتين (KHFMA ومراقبة واحدة) أو ثلاثة مجالات أو أكثر (KHFMA واثنين أو أكثر من الضوابط).

كما هو الحال مع أي برنامج مراقبة جديد تقريبًا ، هناك فوائد محتملة هائلة من القدرة على مقارنة البيانات ومشاركتها مع البرامج المحلية الأخرى. لذلك ، فإننا ننصح بشدة أي شخص بإنشاء برنامج جديد لتبني الأساليب والتصميمات المثالية التي يتم استخدامها على نطاق واسع في المنطقة. بشكل عام ، زيادة مشاركة البيانات عبر البرامج أمر بالغ الأهمية بالنظر إلى صعوبة وتكلفة جمع بيانات مسح الشعاب المرجانية. في Kahekili ، ساهم توافر البيانات المحلية عالية الجودة الوفيرة في التركيز العلمي على KHFMA - الباحثون الذين يرغبون في دراسة المنطقة يستفيدون من مجموعة البيانات الغنية المتاحة لهم.

أخيرًا ، على الرغم من أن الأدلة الأولية توضح فعالية KHFMA ، لا يزال هناك طريق طويل قبل أن يحدث المدى الكامل لاسترداد الشعاب المرجانية. تزيد الكتلة الحيوية للحيوانات العاشبة من الإغلاق اللاحق لسنوات 5 ، ومع ذلك فقد أظهرت الدراسات في أماكن أخرى أن أسماك الشعاب المرجانية يمكن أن تستغرق الإغلاق اللاحق لسنوات 10 أو 20 للوصول إلى الحد الأقصى الجديد (بطء الجراح في التعافي بشكل كامل ، ربما بسبب العمر الطويل) علاوة على ذلك ، على الرغم من أن زيادة الحيوانات العاشبة قد ولدت ظروفًا أكثر ملاءمة لتوظيف الشعاب المرجانية ونموها ، فإن النمو البطيء نسبيًا للشعاب المرجانية يعني أنه سوف يستغرق وقتًا طويلاً (على سبيل المثال ، سنوات 10-15 أو أكثر) قبل التأثيرات النهائية لحماية الحيوانات العاشبة على التجمعات المرجانية واضحة تماما. برامج المسح التي تهدف إلى قياس فعالية إدارة الحيوانات العاشبة يجب أن (1) تتوقع أن الشفاء التام سيكون عملية من عقود وليس سنوات ؛ و (2) دمج دراسات العمليات بشكل مثالي (على سبيل المثال ، نمو وتوظيف الشعاب المرجانية) للحصول على أكبر مجال للكشف المبكر عن الآثار الإيجابية. على الرغم من أننا حاولنا بدء مثل هذه الدراسات في KHFMA ، إلا أننا لم ننجح بعد في جمع الأموال لهذا العمل.

ملخص التمويل

هاواي برنامج أبحاث مبادرة الشعاب المرجانية
برنامج الحفاظ على الشعاب المرجانية NOAA

المنظمات الرائدة

يفتح في نافذة جديدةقسم الموارد المائية في هاواي ، إدارة الأراضي والموارد الطبيعية
NOAA شعبة النظم الإيكولوجية للشعاب المرجانية ، هونولولو

شركاؤنا

يفتح في نافذة جديدةجامعة هاواي في مانوا ، قسم النبات

المصادر

يفتح في نافذة جديدةردود أسماك العاشبة والبنتوس على سنوات حماية 6 في منطقة Kahekili Herbivore لمصايد الأسماك ، ماوييفتح ملف PDF

معلومات عن إنشاء منطقة Kahekili Herbivore لمصايد الأسماك

يفتح في نافذة جديدةقواعد منطقة إدارة مصايد أسماك كاهكيلي

يفتح في نافذة جديدةKahekili Herbivore مصايد الأسماك منطقة الفيسبوك

بورنو youjizz كسكسكسكسكس المعلم الثلاثون الجنس
Translate »

Hawaii – Fisheries Management


Monitoring Coral Reef Communities in Hawai‘i’s First Herbivore Protection Area

Location
North Kāʻanapali, West Maui, Hawai‘i

The Challenge
In the summer of 2009, the state of Hawai‘i established Hawai‘i’s first MPA designed entirely to promote resilience, the Kahekili Herbivore Fishery Management Area (KHFMA), in which take of all herbivores (parrotfish, surgeonfish, chub and urchins) and fish feeding is prohibited, but other forms of fishing are permitted. The establishment of the KHFMA provides a test case for the prohibition of fishing of herbivores on Hawai‘i’s reefs. Compelling evidence of its effectiveness could lead to wider adoption of this form of management and/or additional fishing regulations. As an example, in 2014, the state of Hawai‘i introduced a bag limit of two parrotfish per fisher per day and no take for terminal phase of the two largest parrotfish species for reefs in Maui, in part, due to evidence that came from the KHFMA monitoring project. In Hawai‘i, as in other parts of the world, fishery regulations and marine protected areas are contentious. Therefore, both supporters and potential critics of these management approaches are carefully observing the outcomes of the herbivore management.

Boundaries of the KHFMA along the Kāʻanapali Coast, West Maui. © Hawai‘i DLNR

Boundaries of the KHFMA along the
Kāʻanapali Coast, West Maui. © Hawai‘i DLNR

Actions Taken
Early in the process of establishing the KHFMA, Hawai‘i Division of Aquatic Resources (DAR) and partners at the University of Hawai‘i established a long-term monitoring program within the proposed MPA boundaries to gather data to provide a pre-closure baseline for the KHFMA. The first surveys occurred in January 2008, 18 months prior to the establishment of the reserve. The monitoring program consists of intensive biannual surveys conducted by DAR and NOAA’s Coral Reef Ecosystem Division.

The survey design involved subdividing the habitat within the reserve into 6 habitat categories based on physical structure and depth (shallow aggregate reef, deep aggregate reef, shallow spur-and-groove, deep spur-and-groove, pavement, and mixed mid-depth), that also corresponded with location along the shoreline and with proximity to shore. Within each habitat class, pairs of divers surveyed 25m-long transects haphazardly located, with one diver surveying fishes and the other conducing a photo-transect survey and also recording numbers of sea urchins on their return swim. Typically, dive teams completed ~90-100 surveys in each 4-day monitoring round, images are subsequently analyzed, and all fish, urchin, and benthic data is synthesized within habitat classes and at the scale of the KHFMA, with each habitat weighted by its relative size.

How Successful Has it Been?
In September 2014, 5 years after establishment of the KHFMA, results to date indicate strong evidence of herbivore recovery. There has been more than doubling of parrotfish biomass, particularly increases in numbers of large individuals, and there has been an increase in parrotfish diversity, particularly in shallow habitats that likely were most heavily fished prior to closure. Surgeonfish biomass has also increased significantly, but to a lesser degree. Over the same time period, cover of crustose coralline algae (CCA), considered indicative of high grazing pressure and which is suitable substrate for coral settlement and growth, has increased from 2% cover pre-closure to >10% cover after 5 years of protection. Coral cover has also begun to increase within the KHFMA over approximately the last 18 months, but the increase thus far is relatively small. See the related Case Study on the Kahekili Herbivore Fisheries Management Area for details on actions taken and lessons learned from managing the area for reef resilience.

Therefore, preliminary evidence suggests that herbivore protection is working; grazing pressure has increased and as a result, the competitive balance has shifted from algal to coral dominance following a long period of decline on local reefs.

The ability to produce high quality data showing recovery has been very important in maintaining public and broader support for the KHFMA. Additionally, the ability to separate out patterns of recovery in different areas of the reserve has been very helpful in understanding factors such as the likely degree of compliance. For example, in the first two years of protection, although there was clear recovery in deeper habitats, there was initially little change in the shallow fringing reef areas close to parking facilities, and therefore, most vulnerable to poaching. Certainly some poaching occurred in the first years after closure. However, compliance appears to be improving, based on data indicating strong recovery in those areas and reports from a motivated and engaged community.

Lessons Learned and Recommendations
Lessons learned and key recommendations include:

Beneficial herbivorous fishes now fully protected within the KHFMA © Hawai‘i DLNR

Beneficial herbivorous fishes now fully protected within the KHFMA. © Hawai‘i DLNR

A strong partnership involving an active local management agency (DAR) with strong links in the community has been fundamental to ensuring that the positive monitoring results have been widely disseminated.

As is common in Hawai‘i, the reefs in the KHFMA are highly variable, encompassing a wide range of habitat types and habitat quality. Therefore, we designed a survey strategy to maximize the number and spatial spread of transects within the KHFMA to increase confidence that the results are representative of the entirety of reef habitats within the reserve. There are trade offs in all design decisions, but key choices were made to:

  • haphazardly locate transects rather than utilize permanent transects. Data from permanent transects would have lower variability between survey rounds, but with significant overhead to install and maintain them, and even to locate them in the course of survey dives; and
  • develop a habitat map of the KHFMA reef, with all reef areas stratified into the habitat classes described above

The habitat map simplifies the program operationally because it allows divers to conduct as many transects as possible within each dive, then use the transect locations to classify each transect into one of the pre-defined habitat categories. We could then generate summary data per survey round separately for each habitat class and for the KHFMA as a whole. That allowed us to discern the different trajectories of recovery in the different habitat zones due to different species compositions, history of fishing, and degree of local compliance.

Another key lesson is that sampling multiple times a year is important because of strong seasonal differences in macroalgal cover. We sampled in spring and late summer each year. More regular sampling would be desirable, but would be operationally challenging because each of our sampling events involves bringing together teams from different islands (Oahu and Maui) and agencies which have other priorities and programs.

It is important to measure change over time within the reserve, but it is also necessary to compare those trends with patterns occurring on comparable reefs outside the reserve. The state of Hawai‘i has long-term monitoring programs at 8 reef areas in Maui. Although the survey design for that long-term monitoring was not exactly the same, the methods used are compatible. We used data from the KHFMA to measure change over time within the reserve and used the existing long-term monitoring data for ‘outside-MPA’ comparisons. While there are some drawbacks to that (e.g., inside and outside reserve data are gathered using different methods and survey designs), the benefit is that we did not have to establish specific KHFMA controls for this project, and therefore were able to focus all our survey effort on the KHFMA rather than dividing it between two (KHFMA and one control) or three or more areas (KHFMA and two or more controls).

As with nearly any new monitoring program, there are enormous potential benefits from being able to compare and share data with other local programs. Therefore, we strongly advise anyone establishing a new program to adopt methods and ideally designs that are widely utilized in the region. More generally, increased data sharing across programs is critical given the difficulty and cost of gathering coral reef survey data. In Kahekili, the availability of abundant high-quality local data has contributed to the scientific focus on the KHFMA – researchers wishing to study the region make use of the rich dataset available to them.

Finally, although preliminary evidence demonstrates the effectiveness of the KHFMA, there is still a long way to go before the full extent of reef recovery may occur. Herbivore biomass is increasing 5 years post closure, yet studies elsewhere have shown that reef fishes can take 10 or 20 years post closure to reach new maxima (surgeonfish being particularly slow to fully recover, perhaps because of their long life spans). Further, although increased herbivory does appear to have generated conditions more suitable for coral recruitment and growth, the relatively slow growth of corals means that it will be a long time (e.g., 10-15 years or more) before ultimate impacts of herbivore protection on coral assemblages are fully evident. Survey programs aiming to measure the effectiveness of herbivore management should therefore (i) expect that full recovery will be a process of decades not years; and (ii) ideally incorporate process studies (e.g., coral recruitment growth and mortality) to have the greatest scope for early detection of positive impacts. Although we have attempted to initiate such studies at KHFMA, we have not yet been successful in raising funds for that work.

Funding Summary
Hawai‘i Coral Reef Initiative Research Program
NOAA Coral Reef Conservation Program

Lead Organization
Hawai‘i Division of Aquatic Resources, Department of Land and Natural Resources
NOAA Coral Reef Ecosystems Division, Honolulu

Partners
University of Hawai‘i at Manoa, Department of Botany

Resources
Responses of Herbivorous Fishes and Benthos to 6 Years of Protection at the Kahekili Herbivore Fisheries Management Area, Maui (pdf)
Information on establishment of the Kahekili Herbivore Fishery Management Area
Kahekili Herbivore Fisheries Management Area Rules
Kahekili Herbivore Fishery Management Area Facebook

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone