監測夏威夷第一個草食動物保護區的珊瑚礁群落

所在地

北Kā'anapali,西毛伊島,夏威夷

所面臨的挑戰

在2009的夏天,夏威夷州建立了夏威夷第一個完全用於提升韌性的MPA,Kahekili草食動物漁業管理區(KHFMA),其中包括所有食草動物(鸚嘴魚,刺尾魚,鰱魚和海膽)和禁止餵魚,但允許其他形式的捕魚。 KHFMA的成立為禁止在夏威夷的珊瑚礁上捕食草食動物提供了一個測試案例。 其有效性的令人信服的證據可能導致更廣泛地採用這種形式的管理和/或其他捕撈法規。 例如,在2014中,夏威夷州每個漁民每天引入一個袋限制為兩隻鸚嘴魚,並且在毛伊島的兩個最大的鸚嘴魚物種的最終階段沒有採取,部分原因是來自KHFMA監測項目。 在夏威夷,與世界其他地區一樣,漁業法規和海洋保護區也存在爭議。 因此,這些管理方法的支持者和潛在批評者都在仔細觀察草食動物管理的結果。

沿著毛伊島西部Kā'anapali海岸的KHFMA邊界。 照片©夏威夷DLNR

沿著毛伊島西部Kā'anapali海岸的KHFMA邊界。 照片©夏威夷DLNR

所採取的行動

在建立KHFMA的早期階段,夏威夷水產資源部(DAR)和夏威夷大學的合作夥伴在擬議的MPA邊界內建立了一個長期監測計劃,以收集數據以提供關閉前的基線為KHFMA。 第一次調查發生在1月2008,18成立之前的幾個月。 監測計劃包括由DAR和NOAA的珊瑚礁生態系統部門進行的密集兩年一次的調查。

調查設計涉及根據物理結構和深度將保護區內的生境細分為6個生境類別(淺集料礁,深集料礁,淺溝渠,深溝渠,人行道和中深度混合層) ),也與沿海岸線的位置以及與海岸的位置相對應。 在每個棲息地類別中,成對的潛水員隨意地調查了25m長的樣帶,其中一個潛水員對魚類進行了調查,另一個潛水員進行了照片橫斷面調查,並且還記錄了海豹在回游時的數量。 通常,潛水隊在每個90天的監測回合中完成100-4次調查,隨後分析圖像,並在棲息地類別內和KHFMA範圍內綜合所有魚類,海膽和底棲動物的數據,每個棲息地均按其加權相對大小。

它有多成功?

在KNFMA成立幾年後的2014,5年9月,迄今為止的結果表明食草動物康復的有力證據。 鸚嘴魚的生物量增加了一倍以上,特別是大型個體的數量增加,鸚嘴魚的多樣性也有所增加,特別是在關閉前可能捕撈量最大的淺層棲息地。 外科魚類生物量也顯著增加,但程度較輕。 在同一時期,被認為是高放牧壓力的珊瑚殼珊瑚藻(CCA)覆蓋,是珊瑚沉降和生長的合適基質,從2%覆蓋前增加到10%覆蓋後的5%覆蓋率增加保護。 在大約過去的18月份,KHFMA內的珊瑚覆蓋率也開始增加,但到目前為止增長相對較小。 請參閱Kahekili草食動物漁業管理區的相關案例研究,了解從管理珊瑚礁恢復力區域所採取的行動和經驗教訓的詳細信息。

因此,初步證據表明食草動物保護正在起作用; 放牧壓力增加,因此,在當地珊瑚礁長期衰退之後,競爭平衡已從藻類轉向珊瑚優勢。

產生高質量數據顯示恢復的能力對於維持對KHFMA的公眾和更廣泛的支持非常重要。 此外,能夠在保護區的不同區域分離出恢復模式,這對於理解可能的合規程度等因素非常有幫助。 例如,在保護的前兩年,儘管在較深的棲息地中有明顯的恢復,但最初在靠近停車設施的淺邊礁區域幾乎沒有變化,因此最容易遭到偷獵。 當然,在關閉後的頭幾年發生了一些偷獵行為。 然而,基於數據顯示這些領域的強勁復甦以及來自積極參與的社區的報告,合規性似乎正在改善。

經驗教訓和建議

由積極的地方管理機構(DAR)與社區之間建立強有力聯繫的強大夥伴關係對確保積極監測結果得到廣泛傳播至關重要。

有益的食草魚現在在KHFMA照片©Hawai'i DLNR內完全受到保護

有益的食草魚現在在KHFMA內得到充分保護。 照片©夏威夷DLNR

在夏威夷很常見,KHFMA的珊瑚礁變化很大,包括各種棲息地類型和棲息地質量。 因此,我們設計了一項調查策略,以最大化KHFMA內橫斷面的數量和空間擴散,以增加對結果代表保護區內整個珊瑚礁棲息地的信心。 所有設計決策都有權衡,但關鍵選擇是:

  • 隨意定位橫斷面而不是利用永久橫斷面。 永久性橫斷面的數據在調查輪次之間的變異性較小,但安裝和維護它們的成本很高,甚至在調查潛水過程中找到它們; 和
  • 開發KHFMA珊瑚礁的棲息地圖,所有珊瑚礁區域分層為上述棲息地類別

棲息地圖在操作上簡化了程序,因為它允許潛水員在每次潛水中進行盡可能多的橫斷面,然後使用橫斷面位置將每個橫斷面分類為預定義的棲息地類別之一。 然後,我們可以為每個棲息地類別和整個KHFMA分別生成每輪調查的匯總數據。 由於不同的物種組成,捕撈歷史和當地的順應程度,這使我們能夠辨別出不同棲息地區的不同恢復軌跡。

另一個重要的教訓是,由於巨大的藻類覆蓋率存在巨大的季節性差異,因此每年多次採樣非常重要。 我們每年春季和夏季採樣。 需要更多的定期抽樣,但在操作上具有挑戰性,因為我們的每個抽樣活動都涉及將來自不同島嶼(瓦胡島和毛伊島)和具有其他優先事項和計劃的機構的團隊聚集在一起。

重要的是衡量保護區內隨時間的變化,但也有必要將這些趨勢與保護區外可比礁石上發生的模式進行比較。 夏威夷州在毛伊島的8礁區開展了長期監測計劃。 雖然長期監測的調查設計並不完全相同,但所使用的方法是兼容的。 我們使用來自KHFMA的數據來衡量儲備中隨時間的變化,並使用現有的長期監測數據進行“外部MPA”比較。 雖然存在一些缺點(例如,使用不同的方法和調查設計收集內部和外部儲備數據),但好處是我們不必為該項目建立特定的KHFMA控制,因此能夠集中我們所有的對KHFMA的調查工作,而不是將其分為兩個(KHFMA和一個控制)或三個或更多個區域(KHFMA和兩個或更多控制)。

與幾乎所有新的監控計劃一樣,能夠與其他本地計劃進行比較和共享數據會帶來巨大的潛在好處。 因此,我們強烈建議任何建立新計劃的人採用該地區廣泛使用的方法和理想的設計。 更一般地說,鑑於收集珊瑚礁調查數據的難度和成本,增加各項計劃的數據共享至關重要。 在Kahekili,豐富的高質量本地數據的可用性促進了對KHFMA的科學關注 - 希望研究該地區的研究人員利用他們可獲得的豐富數據集。

最後,雖然初步證據證明了KHFMA的有效性,但在可能發生珊瑚礁恢復的全部程度之前還有很長的路要走。 草食動物的生物量在關閉後的5年份增加,但其他地方的研究表明,礁魚可以在關閉後的10或20年達到新的最大值(刺槐魚完全恢復特別緩慢,可能是因為它們的壽命很長)。 此外,儘管增加的食草似乎確實產生了更適合珊瑚招募和生長的條件,但珊瑚生長相對緩慢意味著在食草動物保護的最終影響之前,它將持續很長時間(例如,10-15年或更長時間)。珊瑚組合非常明顯。 因此,旨在衡量食草動物管理有效性的調查方案應該(i)期望完全恢復將是幾十年而不是幾年的過程; (ii)理想地將過程研究(例如珊瑚補充增長和死亡率)納入早期發現積極影響的最大範圍。 雖然我們試圖在KHFMA開展此類研究,但我們尚未成功為這項工作籌集資金。

資金摘要

夏威夷珊瑚礁倡議研究計劃
NOAA珊瑚礁保護計劃

牽頭組織

夏威夷水產資源部,土地和自然資源部
檀香山NOAA珊瑚礁生態系統部

合作夥伴

夏威夷大學馬諾阿分校植物學系

資源

食草魚和底棲生物對毛伊島卡赫基利草食動物漁業管理區6年保護的響應

關於建立Kahekili草食動物漁業管理區的信息

Kahekili草食動物漁業管理區規則

Kahekili Herbivore漁業管理區Facebook

por youjizz xmxx 老師xxx 性別

Hawaii – Fisheries Management


Monitoring Coral Reef Communities in Hawai‘i’s First Herbivore Protection Area

Location
North Kāʻanapali, West Maui, Hawai‘i

The Challenge
In the summer of 2009, the state of Hawai‘i established Hawai‘i’s first MPA designed entirely to promote resilience, the Kahekili Herbivore Fishery Management Area (KHFMA), in which take of all herbivores (parrotfish, surgeonfish, chub and urchins) and fish feeding is prohibited, but other forms of fishing are permitted. The establishment of the KHFMA provides a test case for the prohibition of fishing of herbivores on Hawai‘i’s reefs. Compelling evidence of its effectiveness could lead to wider adoption of this form of management and/or additional fishing regulations. As an example, in 2014, the state of Hawai‘i introduced a bag limit of two parrotfish per fisher per day and no take for terminal phase of the two largest parrotfish species for reefs in Maui, in part, due to evidence that came from the KHFMA monitoring project. In Hawai‘i, as in other parts of the world, fishery regulations and marine protected areas are contentious. Therefore, both supporters and potential critics of these management approaches are carefully observing the outcomes of the herbivore management.

Boundaries of the KHFMA along the Kāʻanapali Coast, West Maui. © Hawai‘i DLNR

Boundaries of the KHFMA along the
Kāʻanapali Coast, West Maui. © Hawai‘i DLNR

Actions Taken
Early in the process of establishing the KHFMA, Hawai‘i Division of Aquatic Resources (DAR) and partners at the University of Hawai‘i established a long-term monitoring program within the proposed MPA boundaries to gather data to provide a pre-closure baseline for the KHFMA. The first surveys occurred in January 2008, 18 months prior to the establishment of the reserve. The monitoring program consists of intensive biannual surveys conducted by DAR and NOAA’s Coral Reef Ecosystem Division.

The survey design involved subdividing the habitat within the reserve into 6 habitat categories based on physical structure and depth (shallow aggregate reef, deep aggregate reef, shallow spur-and-groove, deep spur-and-groove, pavement, and mixed mid-depth), that also corresponded with location along the shoreline and with proximity to shore. Within each habitat class, pairs of divers surveyed 25m-long transects haphazardly located, with one diver surveying fishes and the other conducing a photo-transect survey and also recording numbers of sea urchins on their return swim. Typically, dive teams completed ~90-100 surveys in each 4-day monitoring round, images are subsequently analyzed, and all fish, urchin, and benthic data is synthesized within habitat classes and at the scale of the KHFMA, with each habitat weighted by its relative size.

How Successful Has it Been?
In September 2014, 5 years after establishment of the KHFMA, results to date indicate strong evidence of herbivore recovery. There has been more than doubling of parrotfish biomass, particularly increases in numbers of large individuals, and there has been an increase in parrotfish diversity, particularly in shallow habitats that likely were most heavily fished prior to closure. Surgeonfish biomass has also increased significantly, but to a lesser degree. Over the same time period, cover of crustose coralline algae (CCA), considered indicative of high grazing pressure and which is suitable substrate for coral settlement and growth, has increased from 2% cover pre-closure to >10% cover after 5 years of protection. Coral cover has also begun to increase within the KHFMA over approximately the last 18 months, but the increase thus far is relatively small. See the related Case Study on the Kahekili Herbivore Fisheries Management Area for details on actions taken and lessons learned from managing the area for reef resilience.

Therefore, preliminary evidence suggests that herbivore protection is working; grazing pressure has increased and as a result, the competitive balance has shifted from algal to coral dominance following a long period of decline on local reefs.

The ability to produce high quality data showing recovery has been very important in maintaining public and broader support for the KHFMA. Additionally, the ability to separate out patterns of recovery in different areas of the reserve has been very helpful in understanding factors such as the likely degree of compliance. For example, in the first two years of protection, although there was clear recovery in deeper habitats, there was initially little change in the shallow fringing reef areas close to parking facilities, and therefore, most vulnerable to poaching. Certainly some poaching occurred in the first years after closure. However, compliance appears to be improving, based on data indicating strong recovery in those areas and reports from a motivated and engaged community.

Lessons Learned and Recommendations
Lessons learned and key recommendations include:

Beneficial herbivorous fishes now fully protected within the KHFMA © Hawai‘i DLNR

Beneficial herbivorous fishes now fully protected within the KHFMA. © Hawai‘i DLNR

A strong partnership involving an active local management agency (DAR) with strong links in the community has been fundamental to ensuring that the positive monitoring results have been widely disseminated.

As is common in Hawai‘i, the reefs in the KHFMA are highly variable, encompassing a wide range of habitat types and habitat quality. Therefore, we designed a survey strategy to maximize the number and spatial spread of transects within the KHFMA to increase confidence that the results are representative of the entirety of reef habitats within the reserve. There are trade offs in all design decisions, but key choices were made to:

  • haphazardly locate transects rather than utilize permanent transects. Data from permanent transects would have lower variability between survey rounds, but with significant overhead to install and maintain them, and even to locate them in the course of survey dives; and
  • develop a habitat map of the KHFMA reef, with all reef areas stratified into the habitat classes described above

The habitat map simplifies the program operationally because it allows divers to conduct as many transects as possible within each dive, then use the transect locations to classify each transect into one of the pre-defined habitat categories. We could then generate summary data per survey round separately for each habitat class and for the KHFMA as a whole. That allowed us to discern the different trajectories of recovery in the different habitat zones due to different species compositions, history of fishing, and degree of local compliance.

Another key lesson is that sampling multiple times a year is important because of strong seasonal differences in macroalgal cover. We sampled in spring and late summer each year. More regular sampling would be desirable, but would be operationally challenging because each of our sampling events involves bringing together teams from different islands (Oahu and Maui) and agencies which have other priorities and programs.

It is important to measure change over time within the reserve, but it is also necessary to compare those trends with patterns occurring on comparable reefs outside the reserve. The state of Hawai‘i has long-term monitoring programs at 8 reef areas in Maui. Although the survey design for that long-term monitoring was not exactly the same, the methods used are compatible. We used data from the KHFMA to measure change over time within the reserve and used the existing long-term monitoring data for ‘outside-MPA’ comparisons. While there are some drawbacks to that (e.g., inside and outside reserve data are gathered using different methods and survey designs), the benefit is that we did not have to establish specific KHFMA controls for this project, and therefore were able to focus all our survey effort on the KHFMA rather than dividing it between two (KHFMA and one control) or three or more areas (KHFMA and two or more controls).

As with nearly any new monitoring program, there are enormous potential benefits from being able to compare and share data with other local programs. Therefore, we strongly advise anyone establishing a new program to adopt methods and ideally designs that are widely utilized in the region. More generally, increased data sharing across programs is critical given the difficulty and cost of gathering coral reef survey data. In Kahekili, the availability of abundant high-quality local data has contributed to the scientific focus on the KHFMA – researchers wishing to study the region make use of the rich dataset available to them.

Finally, although preliminary evidence demonstrates the effectiveness of the KHFMA, there is still a long way to go before the full extent of reef recovery may occur. Herbivore biomass is increasing 5 years post closure, yet studies elsewhere have shown that reef fishes can take 10 or 20 years post closure to reach new maxima (surgeonfish being particularly slow to fully recover, perhaps because of their long life spans). Further, although increased herbivory does appear to have generated conditions more suitable for coral recruitment and growth, the relatively slow growth of corals means that it will be a long time (e.g., 10-15 years or more) before ultimate impacts of herbivore protection on coral assemblages are fully evident. Survey programs aiming to measure the effectiveness of herbivore management should therefore (i) expect that full recovery will be a process of decades not years; and (ii) ideally incorporate process studies (e.g., coral recruitment growth and mortality) to have the greatest scope for early detection of positive impacts. Although we have attempted to initiate such studies at KHFMA, we have not yet been successful in raising funds for that work.

Funding Summary
Hawai‘i Coral Reef Initiative Research Program
NOAA Coral Reef Conservation Program

Lead Organization
Hawai‘i Division of Aquatic Resources, Department of Land and Natural Resources
NOAA Coral Reef Ecosystems Division, Honolulu

Partners
University of Hawai‘i at Manoa, Department of Botany

Resources
Responses of Herbivorous Fishes and Benthos to 6 Years of Protection at the Kahekili Herbivore Fisheries Management Area, Maui (pdf)
Information on establishment of the Kahekili Herbivore Fishery Management Area
Kahekili Herbivore Fisheries Management Area Rules
Kahekili Herbivore Fishery Management Area Facebook

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone