管理漁業的珊瑚礁恢復力:Kahekili草食動物漁業管理區

位置

北Kā'anapali,西毛伊島,夏威夷

所面臨的挑戰

夏威夷州水產資源部(DAR)和夏威夷大學(UH)海洋生物學研究所的珊瑚礁監測評估在1999開始對毛伊島背風海岸沿岸的珊瑚礁進行長期監測程序。 這些珊瑚礁調查地點中的許多地點都是在以前的研究地點建立的,為管理人員提供了這些珊瑚礁系統變化的長期圖景。 評估顯示,在監測到的九個珊瑚礁中,由於珊瑚礁被侵入性藻類侵占,許多遺址的活珊瑚覆蓋面顯著減少。 在Kā'anapali北部的Kahekili,珊瑚礁監測點表明55和33之間的珊瑚覆蓋率從1994%降低到2006%。

侵入性藻類的顯著增加被視為對West Maui珊瑚礁的主要威脅。 在Kā'anapali,特別是紅藻的盛開 Acanthophora spicifera 已經變得更加豐富,UH研究表明這是由於廢水和肥料養分增加所致。 儘管有陸地污染的來源,但由於珊瑚礁放牧食草動物的數量減少,同一地點的魚類調查得到證實,藻類數量的增加更加嚴重。

沿著毛伊島西部Kā'anapali海岸的KHFMA邊界。 ©Hawai'i DLNR

沿著KHFMA的邊界
西毛伊島的Kā'anapali海岸。 ©Hawai'i DLNR

所採取的行動

DAR和國家海洋和大氣管理局(NOAA)合作開展的“魚類棲息地利用研究”揭示了放牧魚類與大量入侵藻類之間關係的明確證據; 存在的食草魚越多,珊瑚礁上的藻類就越少。

因此,在2009的7月份,夏威夷州指定了Kahekili草食動物漁業管理區(KHFMA),以控制珊瑚礁上海藻的過剩,並使海洋生態系統恢復健康平衡。 禁止殺死,傷害或傷害海膽和某些食草魚類,包括海鱸魚,鸚嘴魚和刺尾魚,以增加該地區這些有益魚類和海膽的當地豐富度。 為了促進放牧,也禁止餵養這些魚類。 陸上邊界從Honokōwai海灘公園(和海上距離1,292碼)向南延伸大約2英里到Hanaka'ō'ō海灘(並且離岸335碼距離)(Hawai'i Revised Statues,Chapter 13-60.7) )。

它有多成功?

雖然一些漁民和文化從業者反對捕魚規則,但大多數社區都得到了KHFMA的大力支持。 許多當地漁民了解珊瑚礁的惡劣條件,並意識到漁業管理的好處。 對KHFMA的壓倒性支持導致了該地區的更多教育以及遵守規則。

自從2009成立KHFMA以來,DAR與UH和NOAA的太平洋群島漁業科學中心(PIFSC)合作,繼續監測Kahekili的珊瑚礁。 根據2月2013的PIFSC中期監測報告,迄今為止的結果表明:

  • 鸚鵡魚生物量的一致上升趨勢,在2009和2012之間增加了一倍多
  • 鸚鵡魚生物量的增加並未在KHFMA中均勻分佈,特別是在Kahekili海灘公園附近的淺灘近岸礁區,鸚嘴魚的生物量很少或根本沒有恢復;
  • 總鸚鵡魚生物量與總甲殼類珊瑚藻(CCA)覆蓋之間存在強烈的正相關關係。 CCA是一種對珊瑚沉降很重要的良性藻類,研究表明,鸚鵡魚生物量的增加導致CCA覆蓋率增加
  • 外科魚類的生物量沒有明顯的總體趨勢

刺槐魚生物量缺乏變化的可能原因可能與它們的壽命有關; 它們可以達到40 +年,因此有了三年的數據,生物質沒有變化就不足為奇了。

自FMA建立以來,鸚鵡魚生物量的穩定增長可能顯示出珊瑚礁的恢復能力。 魚越大,挖掘叮咬越深,這一點很重要,因為這樣可以清除基質中的藻類,露出裸露的岩石並開闢新的珊瑚採集點。

有益的食草魚現在受到KHFMA©Hawai'i DLNR的全面保護

有益的食草魚現在在KHFMA內得到充分保護。 ©Hawai'i DLNR

經驗教訓和建議

  • 除了增加珊瑚礁上的食草魚類以控制入侵藻類之外,管理還必須包括減少陸地污染的來源,導致近岸水域中的高水平養分(氮和磷),這可能會推動藻類大量繁殖。
  • 由侵入性藻類和隨後的珊瑚礁退化造成的惡劣的棲息地質量也將具有較低的經濟(商業和娛樂)和文化價值。
  • 研究表明,受監測地點的珊瑚礁惡化發生得很快; 因此,資源管理者必須採取措施,不僅要將珊瑚礁恢復到健康狀態,還要防止任何進一步的威脅使毛伊島的珊瑚礁退化。
  • 自指定KFHMA以來,公眾對珊瑚礁健康的認識以及陸地污染對珊瑚礁生態系統的負面影響有所增加。 在社區的支持下,West Maui珊瑚礁自此被指定為夏威夷珊瑚礁戰略下的優先地點,被州和美國陸軍工程兵團選為Ridge to Reef合作流域管理項目,並擁有被美國珊瑚礁特遣部隊指定為太平洋地區的優先地點。
  • 珊瑚礁恢復需要時間 - 儘管三年的數據顯示鸚鵡魚的生物量增加,但生長緩慢的珊瑚需要長期保護才能完全恢復。
  • 在規劃過程開始時,真正努力提供數據並與當地社區進行對話,這對項目的成功至關重要。 社區成員將獲得更多信任,提供意見,並成為解決問題過程的一部分。
  • 具體,實時和適用的數據對於擁有一個支持性,知識淵博的社區至關重要。
  • 識別和吸引該地區的主要利益相關者和漁民可以提供豐富的當地知識,以及後來的買入和合規。

資金摘要

建立KHFMA的過程由夏威夷州土地和自然資源部(DLNR)資助和配備,作為該機構的使命和核心職責的一部分。 監測工作的資金主要來自美國魚類和野生動物管理局管理的運動魚類恢復計劃。 Maui和O'ahu島嶼每年從該計劃獲得大約300,000 /年(美國),其中Maui花費約200,000(美國)來監測員工和其他相關費用。 其他資助夥伴包括:

太平洋群島漁業科學中心NOAA珊瑚礁生態系統司
NOAA珊瑚礁保護計劃
夏威夷大學
研究生有資金

牽頭組織

夏威夷水產資源部,土地和自然資源部

合作夥伴

夏威夷珊瑚礁倡議研究計劃
NOAA珊瑚礁保護計劃
NOAA太平洋群島漁業科學中心,珊瑚礁生態系統部
大自然保護協會
夏威夷海洋生物學研究所
夏威夷大學馬諾阿分校植物學系

其它資源

夏威夷珊瑚礁戰略,夏威夷州(PDF格式)

食草魚類和魚類的反應 在毛伊島Kahekili草食動物漁業管理區進行6多年保護的底棲生物(PDF格式)

Kahekili Herbivore漁業管理 - 中期監測結果(PDF格式)

Kahekili草食動物漁業管理區規則

夏威夷水產資源部茂宜珊瑚礁的現狀和趨勢(PDF格式)

Kahekili草食動物漁業管理區,草食動物管理部門努力提高珊瑚礁恢復能力(PDF格式)

Hawaii – Fisheries Management


Managing Fisheries for Reef Resilience: Kahekili Herbivore Fisheries Management Area

Location
North Kāʻanapali, West Maui, Hawai‘i

The Challenge
Long term monitoring of coral reefs along the leeward coast of the Island of Maui began in 1999 by the State of Hawai‘i’s Division of Aquatic Resources (DAR) and the University of Hawai‘i’s (UH) Institute of Marine Biology’s Coral Reef Monitoring Assessment Program. Many of these coral reef survey locations were established at previous study sites, providing managers with a longer term picture of the changes on these reef systems. Assessments have shown that of the nine reefs monitored, many sites experienced a significant decrease in live coral cover as reefs became overrun by invasive algae. At Kahekili in north Kāʻanapali, reef monitoring sites indicated a decrease in coral cover from 55% to 33% between 1994 and 2006.

The significant increases of invasive algae were seen as a major threat to West Maui’s coral reefs. At Kāʻanapali, specifically, red algal blooms of Acanthophora spicifera had become much more abundant, which was suggested by UH research to be a result of elevated nutrients from wastewater and fertilizers. Despite the sources of land-based pollution, the increasing abundance of algae was exacerbated by the fact that there was a decrease in abundance of reef grazing herbivores, which fish surveys at the same sites confirmed.

Boundaries of the KHFMA along the Kāʻanapali Coast, West Maui. © Hawai‘i DLNR

Boundaries of the KHFMA along the
Kāʻanapali Coast, West Maui. © Hawai‘i DLNR

Actions Taken
A cooperative “Fish Habitat Utilization Study” by DAR and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) revealed clear evidence of the relationship between grazing fish and the abundance of invasive algae; the more herbivorous fishes present, the less algae on the reefs.

Therefore, in July of 2009, the State of Hawai‘i designated the Kahekili Herbivore Fisheries Management Area (KHFMA) in order to control the overabundance of marine algae on coral reefs and restore the marine ecosystem back to a healthy balance. The killing, injuring, or harming of sea urchins and certain herbivorous fishes, including sea chubs, parrotfish, and surgeonfish is prohibited in order to increase the local abundance of these beneficial fishes and sea urchins in the area. Feeding of these fishes is also prohibited in order to promote grazing. The onshore boundaries extend from Honokōwai Beach Park (and offshore for a distance of 1,292 yards) south approximately 2 miles to Hanaka’ō’ō Beach (and offshore for a distance of 335 yards) (Hawai‘i Revised Statues, Chapter 13-60.7).

How Successful Has it Been?
Although some fishermen and cultural practitioners opposed fishing rules, the majority of the community was in strong support of the KHFMA. Many of the local fishermen understood the poor conditions of the reef, and realized the benefits of fisheries management. The overwhelming support for the KHFMA has led to more education within the area as well as compliance with the rules.

Since the establishment of the KHFMA in 2009, DAR, in partnership with UH and NOAA’s Pacific Islands Fisheries Science Center (PIFSC), has continued monitoring the reefs at Kahekili. According to the PIFSC Interim Monitoring Report from February 2013, results thus far indicate the following:

  • Consistent upward trend in biomass of parrotfishes, which more than doubled between 2009 and 2012
  • Increases in parrotfish biomass have not been distributed evenly across the KHFMA, and, in particular, there has been little or no recovery of parrotfish biomass in the shallow, nearshore reef areas adjacent to Kahekili Beach Park;
  • Strong positive relationship between total parrotfish biomass and total crustose coralline algae (CCA) cover. CCA is a benign algae that is important for coral settlement, and studies show that increases in parrotfish biomass leads to increased CCA cover
  • No clear overall trend in biomass of surgeonfishes
Beneficial herbivorous fishes now fully protected within the KHFMA © Hawai‘i DLNR

Beneficial herbivorous fishes now fully protected within the KHFMA. © Hawai‘i DLNR

A possible reason for the lack of change in biomass of surgeonfish could be linked to their lifespan; they can live up to 40+ years, so with three years of data, it is not surprising that biomass has not changed.

The steady increase in biomass of parrotfishes since the establishment of the FMA has potentially significant indications for reef resilience. The larger the fish, the deeper the excavating bites, which is important because this removes algae from the substrate, exposes bare rock and opens up new sites for coral recruitment.

Lessons Learned and Recommendations
Lessons learned and key recommendations include:

  • In addition to increasing stocks of herbivorous fishes on the reefs to control invasive algae, management must also include reducing sources of land-based pollution that is resulting in high levels of nutrients (nitrogen and phosphorus) found in nearshore waters, which is likely driving the algal blooms.
  • Poor habitat quality resulting from invasive algae and subsequent degradation of reefs will also have lower economic (commercial and recreational) and cultural value.
  • Studies have shown that reef deterioration in the monitored sites occurred rapidly; therefore, resource managers must take steps to not only restore reefs back to their healthy conditions, but also prevent any further threats from degrading Maui’s reefs.
  • Public awareness about coral reef health and the negative impacts of land-based pollution on reef ecosystems has increased since the designation of the KFHMA. With the community’s support, West Maui reefs have since been designated as a priority site under the Hawai‘i Coral Reef Strategy, have been chosen for a Ridge to Reef cooperative watershed management project by the state and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, and have been designated as a priority site in the Pacific by the U.S. Coral Reef Task Force.
  • Reef recovery takes time – although three years of data indicates an increase in biomass of parrotfishes, slow-growing corals will need long-term protection to fully recover.
  • Making a genuine effort to provide data and have a dialogue with the local community at the beginning of the planning process is essential to the success of the project. Community members will gain more trust, offer input, and be part of the problem solving process.
  • Data that is specific, real time, and applicable is vital to having a supportive, knowledgeable community.
  • Identifying and engaging key stakeholders and fishers from the area can provide a wealth of local knowledge, as well as buy-in and compliance later on.

Funding Summary
The process to establish the KHFMA was funded and staffed by the State of Hawai‘i’s Department of Land and Natural Resources (DLNR) as part of the agency’s mission and core responsibilities. Monitoring efforts have been funded primarily through a Sports Fish Restoration Program grant administered by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. The islands of Maui and O‘ahu receive roughly $300,000/year (US) from the program, of which Maui spends about $200,000 (US) for monitoring staff and other associated costs. Other funding partners include:

NOAA Coral Reef Ecosystem Division, Pacific Islands Fisheries Science Center
NOAA Coral Reef Conservation Program
University of Hawai‘i
Graduate students with funding

Lead Organization
Hawai‘i Division of Aquatic Resources, Department of Land and Natural Resources

Partners
Hawai‘i Coral Reef Initiative Research Program
NOAA Coral Reef Conservation Program
NOAA Pacific Islands Fisheries Science Center, Coral Reef Ecosystem Division
The Nature Conservancy
Hawai‘i Institute of Marine Biology
University of Hawai‘i at Manoa, Department of Botany

Resources

Hawaii Coral Reef Strategy, State of Hawaii (pdf)
Responses of Herbivorous Fishes and Benthos to 6 Years of Protection at the Kahekili Herbivore Fisheries Management Area, Maui (pdf)
Kahekili Herbivore Fishery Management – Interim Monitoring Results (pdf)
Kahekili Herbivore Fisheries Management Area Rules
Status and Trends of Maui’s Coral Reefs, Hawai‘i Division of Aquatic Resources (pdf)
The Kahekili Herbivore Fisheries Management Area, Herbivore Management in an Effort to Improve Coral Reef Resilience (pdf)

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone