Wakatobi國家公園的管理計劃通過監測努力增加了利益相關者的參與度

 

地區

Wakatobi國家公園,東南蘇拉威西島,印度尼西亞

所面臨的挑戰

Wakatobi以Wangi-Wangi,Kaledupa,Tomia和Binongko四個主要島嶼命名,這些島嶼與35較小的島嶼一起構成了印度尼西亞蘇拉威西島東南端的Tukang Besi Archipelago。 該地區位於珊瑚三角區內,以其獨特的珊瑚礁多樣性而聞名,其海洋資源具有很高的經濟價值,特別是漁業。 Wakatobi地區的大多數100,000居民依靠海洋維持生計。 為了改善珊瑚礁和周圍水域的管理,3.4萬億島嶼和水域被宣佈為1996的Wakatobi國家公園(WNP)。

Bajo部族孩子(海吉普賽人部落)在Wakatobi國家公園,東南蘇拉威西島,印度尼西亞。 孩子們與朋友和他們的“koli-koli”(沒有引擎和屏幕的小木船)玩耍。 對於從學校回來後的bajo兒童來說,這是一項常見的日常活動以及釣魚活動。 照片©Marthen Welly / TNC-CTC

在2003中,珊瑚礁的生態調查顯示珊瑚受到廣泛破壞,主要來自破壞性捕撈活動(即爆炸捕撈和氰化物捕撈)和過度捕撈。 此外,沿海開發通過開墾和沙地和珊瑚開採威脅該地區的珊瑚礁和沿海環境。

珊瑚礁在SE蘇拉威西島,印度尼西亞Wakatobi海洋國家公園。 照片©Burt Jones和Maurine Shimlock / Secret Sea Visions打開IMAGE文件

珊瑚礁在SE蘇拉威西島,印度尼西亞Wakatobi海洋國家公園。 照片©Burt Jones和Maurine Shimlock / Secret Sea Visions

所採取的行動

為解決Wakatobi的過度捕撈和破壞性捕撈活動,大自然保護協會(TNC)和世界自然基金會(WWF)與Wakatobi國家公園管理局和廣泛的利益相關方合作,支持實施修訂後的管理計劃。 這項工作包括通過廣泛的技術建議和與合作夥伴協商修訂分區計劃。 通過讓當地社區參與,專注於協作管理並為公園的分區和執法建立強大的法律基礎,Wakatobi的保護行動旨在實現環境,社會和經濟上的可持續​​發展。

為應對氣候變化對珊瑚礁的威脅,將恢復原則納入分區計劃,包括在無採區內重要棲息地的代表和復制,以及保護魚類產卵聚集體和海龜築巢海灘等重要棲息地。 根據當地社區的意見,製作並修改了基於該地區生物,生態和社會經濟特徵的多用途分區計劃的若干方案。 在2007,林業部森林保護和自然保護局局長以及Wakatobi區負責人正式批准了Wakatobi國家公園的分區計劃。

Wakatobi打開IMAGE文件

區域類型包括:禁區和禁區的核心區,禁區海洋區,禁止旅遊區,僅允許非採掘性旅遊活動,以及專門用於遠洋漁業的傳統用途區。

管理計劃的主要方麵包括外展戰略,監督和監測。 Wakatobi的宣傳活動發生在村一級,分區一級和地區一級。 頻繁的會議反映了參與程度,確保了Wakatobi國家公園,Wakatobi地區政府和當地社區充分了解了區域劃分過程。 另外,通常通過有線電視分發媒體消息以支持環境問題。 雖然通過宣傳活動具有挑戰性,但Wakatobi的當地社區對海洋保護區的益處已經變得更有經驗和知識。

在Wakatobi國家公園監測船隻。 照片©TNC / WWF打開IMAGE文件

在Wakatobi國家公園監測船隻。 照片©TNC / WWF

Wakatobi的監視程序包括三個組成部分:WNP護林員,當地警察,當地社區,當地漁業和Wakatobi海洋與漁業局每月在Wakatobi周圍使用浮動護林員站(FRS)進行監視10天。 此外,WNP護林員和警察進行偶然的巡邏,最後,WNP護林員,印度尼西亞海軍,警察和Wakatobi海洋與漁業局每月進行幾次巡邏。

Wakatobi國家公園有許多監測計劃,用於評估管理計劃的有效性:

  • WNP遊騎兵和瓦卡托比海洋與漁業局每月在為期幾天的調查中記錄公園內資源使用者的詳細信息。
  • 在產卵旺季的滿月期間,Wakatobi國家公園管理局工作人員記錄魚類產卵聚集地的魚類數量和種類。
  • 每個1-2年,WNP護林員都會收集有關整個公園內魚類種群和珊瑚礁狀況的數據。
  • 所有調查都記錄了對大型海洋動物(鯨魚和海豚)的機會觀測。
  • 在每個月的滿月期間,WNP監測小組調查海龜築巢海灘並記錄築巢龜的種類,大小和數量。

每隔2年,WNP護林員都會監視海鳥棲息地和築巢地點,紅樹林和海草草甸。 已經開展了三項調查,以評估利益相關者對MPA管理效率的看法,並通過了解當地看法的趨勢來提高外展計劃的有效性。

它有多成功?

調查的結果有助於對MPA和分區系統提供更高的支持。 例如,Tomia島上的一個社區團體採用禁區作為他們的魚庫,然後鼓勵當地漁民遵守禁區的規則和條例。 為此,社區團體(Komunto)贏得了2010的聯合國赤道獎。 在2012,Wakatobi國家公園因其努力實現自然保護和可持續發展而獲得了人與生物圈保護區的地位。

目前,Wakatobi NP擁有印度尼西亞所有MPA中最好的生物多樣性監測團隊之一。 生物多樣性健康監測方案為Wakatobi NP提供了適應性管理。 儘管Wakatobi NP的反應並不總是足以應對各種挑戰,但令人鼓舞的是,Wakatobi NP護林員和社區的認識和知識水平顯著提高,以發現對其海洋生態系統和漁場的威脅。 為了應對這些挑戰,Wakatobi地區政府和Wakatobi NP當局同意建立一個由主要政府機構和社區代表組成的多利益相關方論壇,以改善協調並加強關鍵部門之間的合作。

經驗教訓和建議

  • 在現場工作之前,與當地社區的論壇的利益相關者意見確保當地社區成員和政府支持正在進行的工作。
  • 與當地社區的廣泛合作增強了當地對MPA福利的理解,以及他們參與Park管理的需求。
  • 與當地政府的廣泛合作對於鼓勵和推進地方政府與國家公園之間的共享管理制度至關重要。
  • 有效的項目需要有一個堅實的團隊,結構合理的工作,明確的預算分配,明確的任務和責任。
  • 需要進行廣泛的監測以納入全面的數據分析,以確保MPA的設計和規劃符合該地區的生物和生態特徵。
  • Wakatobi國家公園和區政府已同意組建一個多利益相關方論壇,以鼓勵各政府機構和社區代表之間的溝通,促進透明度,並改善協調,以確保實施保護目標以維持當地發展。

資金摘要

在新窗口中打開你說
帕卡德基金會
在新窗口中打開瑪格麗特·卡吉爾基金會
在新窗口中打開世界野生動物基金
在新窗口中打開大自然保護協會

牽頭組織

TNC-WWF聯合計劃
瓦卡托比國家公園

合作夥伴

林業部森林保護與自然保護總局
漁業和海洋事務部
Wakatobi區
在新窗口中打開TNC印尼海洋計劃
在新窗口中打開WWF印尼海洋計劃
哈洛雷洛大學
印尼科學研究所

por youjizz xmxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Indonesia – MPA Management


Management Plan of Wakatobi National Park Leads to Increased Stakeholder Engagement Through Monitoring Efforts

Location
Wakatobi National Park, Southeast Sulawesi, Indonesia

wakatobi 2 Bajo tribal children

Bajo tribal children (Sea gypsies tribe) in Wakatobi National Park, Southeast Sulawesi, Indonesia. The children play with friends and their “koli-koli” (small wooden boat without engine and screen). This is a common daily activity, along with fishing, for bajo children after returning from school. © Marthen Welly/TNC-CTC

The Challenge
Wakatobi is named after the four main islands of Wangi-Wangi, Kaledupa, Tomia, and Binongko, which together with 35 smaller islands comprise the Tukang Besi Archipelago at the southeastern tip of Sulawesi, Indonesia. Located within the Coral Triangle, the area is known for its exceptional coral reef diversity and its marine resources have high economic value, particularly for fisheries. Most of the 100,000 residents of the Wakatobi district depend on the sea for their livelihood. To improve management of the reefs and surrounding waters, 3.4 million acres of islands and waters were declared as the Wakatobi National Park (WNP) in 1996.

In 2003, ecological surveys of the reefs revealed widespread coral damage, primarily from destructive fishing practices (i.e. blast fishing and cyanide fishing) and overfishing. In addition, costal development threatened the coral reef and coastal environment of the area through reclamation and sand and coral mining.

wakatobi 3 reef

Coral reef in Wakatobi Marine National Park of SE Sulawesi, Indonesia. © Burt Jones and Maurine Shimlock/Secret Sea Visions

Actions Taken
To address overfishing and destructive fishing practices in Wakatobi, The Nature Conservancy (TNC) and World Wildlife Fund (WWF) worked with the Wakatobi National Park Authority and a broad range of stakeholders to support implementation of a revised management plan. This work included a revision of the zoning plan through extensive technical advice and consultation with partners. By involving local communities, focusing on collaborative management and building a strong legal foundation for the park’s zoning and enforcement, conservation action at Wakatobi is intended to be environmentally, socially, and economically sustainable.

To address threats to coral reefs from climate change, resilience principles were incorporated into the zoning plan including representation and replication of key habitats in no take zones, and protection of critical habitat like fish spawning aggregations and turtle nesting beaches. A number of scenarios for a multiple-use zoning plan, based upon biological, ecological, and socioeconomic features of the area, were produced and modified based on local community input. In 2007, the Director General of Forest Protection and Nature Conservation of the Ministry of Forestry and the Head of the Wakatobi District formally endorsed the Wakatobi National Park’s Zoning Plan.

Wakatobi

Zone types include: a core zone of no-take and no-entry, marine zone of no-take, a tourism zone of no-take which allows for only non-extractive tourism activities, and a traditional use zone dedicated for pelagic fisheries.

wakatobi 4 FRS Menami_01_Resize

Monitoring vessel in Wakatobi National Park. © TNC/WWF

Key aspects of the management plan include an outreach strategy, surveillance and monitoring. The communication campaign for Wakatobi occured at the village level, at the sub-district level, and at the district level. Frequent meetings reflected the level of engagement, which ensured that the Wakatobi National Park, the Wakatobi district government, and the local communities were well informed about the zoning process. Additionally, media messages are distributed through cable TV to support environmental issues, in general. Although challenging, through the communication campaign, the local communities in Wakatobi have become more experienced and knowledgeable about the benefits of MPAs.

The surveillance program of Wakatobi includes three components: WNP rangers, local police, local community, local district fisheries and Wakatobi Marine & Fisheries Agency perform surveillance 10 days/month, using Floating Ranger Stations (FRS) around Wakatobi. Additionally, WNP rangers and police perform incidental patrols, and finally, integrated patrols by WNP rangers, Indonesian Navy, police, and the Wakatobi Marine & Fisheries Agency occur several times each month.

There are many monitoring programs in Wakatobi National Park that assess the effectiveness of the management plan:

  • WNP Rangers and Wakatobi Marine & Fisheries Agency record the details of resource users in the park over several days of surveys each month.
  • During the full moon in peak spawning seasons, Wakatobi National Park Authority staff record the number and species of fish at Fish Spawning Aggregation sites.
  • Every 1-2 years, WNP rangers collect data on the condition of fish populations and coral reefs throughout the park.
  • Opportunistic observations of large marine fauna (whales and dolphins) are recorded on all surveys.
  • During the full moon each month, WNP monitoring teams survey turtle nesting beaches and record the species, size and number of nesting turtles.

Every 2 years, WNP rangers monitor seabird habitat and nesting sites, the mangrove forest, and seagrass meadow. Three surveys have been conducted to evaluate stakeholder’s perceptions on the efficiency of MPA management, and to improve the effectiveness of outreach programs by understanding trends in local perceptions.

How successful has it been?
The outcome of the surveys conduced have led to higher support for the MPA and for the zoning system. For example, one community group on Tomia Island adopted the No-take-zone as their fish bank, and then encouraged local fishers to respect the rules and regulations of the No-take-zone. For this effort the community group (Komunto) won the UN Equator Award in 2010. And in 2012, the Wakatobi National Park received the Man and Biosphere Reserve status for its efforts to embrace nature conservation and sustainable development.

Currently Wakatobi NP possesses one of the best biodiversity monitoring team among all the MPA in Indonesia. The biodiversity health monitoring program informed adaptive management for Wakatobi NP. Although Wakatobi NP’ response has not always been rapid enough to address various challenges, it is encouraging to note that the level of awareness and knowledge of Wakatobi NP rangers and the community has increased significantly to detect threats to their marine ecosystems and fishing grounds. To address these challenges, both the Wakatobi district government and Wakatobi NP authority agreed to create a multistakeholder forum comprising key government agencies, and community representatives to improve coordination and strengthen collaboration among key sectors.

Lessons Learned and Recommendations
Lessons learned and key recommendations include:

  • Stakeholder input from forums with the local community, prior to work in the field, ensures that local community members and the government support the work being done.
  • Extensive work with the local community has enhanced local understanding of MPA benefits, and their need for involvement with Park management.
  • Extensive work with the local government was essential to encourage and advance the shared management regime between the local government and the National Park.
  • Having a solid team, structured work, clear budget allocations, clear tasks and responsibilities among all team members is necessary for an effective project.
  • Extensive monitoring is needed to incorporate comprehensive data analysis, to make sure MPA design and planning align with the biological and ecological characteristics of the area.
  • The Wakatobi National Park and the district government have agreed to form a multi-stakeholder forum to encourage communication among various government agencies and community representatives, promote transparencies, and improve coordination to ensure conservation objectives are implemented to sustain local development.


Funding Summary

USAID
Packard Foundation
Margaret A. Cargill Foundation
World Wildlife Fund
The Nature Conservancy

Lead Organizations
TNC-WWF Joint Program
Wakatobi National Park

Partners
Ministry of Forestry, Directorate General of Forest Protection & Nature Conservation
Ministry Fisheries & Marine Affairs
Wakatobi District
TNC Indonesia Marine Program
WWF Indonesia Marine Program
Haluoleo University
Indonesian Institute of Science

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone