حملة التسويق الاجتماعي تشارك قرى الصيد في مدغشقر في ممارسات الصيد المستدامة

الموقع:

Andavadoaka Coast، مدغشقر

التحدي

يمتد ما يقرب من 350 كم على طول الساحل الجنوبي الغربي لمدغشقر هو نظام الحاجز المرجاني Grand Recif ، الذي يتألف من حاجز مرجاني وشعاب مرجانية وشعاب بحيرة داخلية. تتميز المياه الساحلية في Andavadoaka بمجموعة متنوعة من الأسماك والشعاب المرجانية وتجذب الصيادين وبشكل متزايد السياح. في منطقة Velondriake ، تهدد بعض ممارسات الصيد المدمرة مثل تسمم الأسماك واستخدام الشباك غير القانونية صحة الشعاب المرجانية ومصائد الأسماك وطريقة الحياة المحلية. مع التنفيذ الناجح لإغلاق المصايد للأخطبوط ، نفذ المجتمع إدارة أكبر للموارد البحرية. جنبا إلى جنب مع الشركاء المحليين ، تم إنشاء المنطقة البحرية المدارة محليا Velondriake (LMMA) في 2006. على الرغم من أن LMMA يحظر ممارسات الصيد المدمرة ، إلا أن الامتثال والإنفاذ كانا غير متاحين. لجنة Velondriake للممثلين المنتخبين من كل قرية من قرى 25 المشاركة هي المسؤولة عن الإدارة العامة وتطبيق القوانين المحلية. يعتمد السكان المحليون على الشعاب المرجانية للحصول على الغذاء وسبل عيشهم. مع تزايد عدد السكان ، وصحة هذه الموارد في المستقبل أمر بالغ الأهمية.

الشعاب المرجانية في Velondriake. صور © بلو فنتشرز

الشعاب المرجانية في Velondriake. صور © بلو فنتشرز

الإجراءات المتخذة

لمواجهة هذا التهديد ، أطلقت Rare و Blue Ventures حملة تسويق اجتماعي من 2009 إلى 2011 لزيادة الوعي حول الحظر المفروض على الصيد غير المشروع وتحسين الامتثال. تستخدم الحملات النادرة التسويق والرسائل المبتكرة لتحقيق أهداف الحفاظ على المشروع.

وراء الحملات النادرة الكبرياء
تهدف حملات Rare الخاصة بـ Rare إلى تغيير المعرفة والمواقف والسلوك من خلال استخدام أساليب العلوم الاجتماعية المجربة وطرق تقديمها المبتكرة. يتم تنفيذ الحملات بنجاح على المستوى المحلي من خلال التخطيط الأول لأهداف الحملة واختيار الأنواع الرئيسية والبحث بعناية عن الجماهير المستهدفة. يتبع Rare Fellows ، الذي يدير الحملات ، نموذج "نظرية التغيير" للمشروع المصمم خصيصًا للمجتمع المستهدف. يحدد هذا النموذج فوائد وحواجز السلوك المستدام. جزء كبير من المشروع يحدث في وقت مبكر مع عملية تقييم الموقع. من خلال العمل عن كثب مع المجتمع ، يقوم الموظفون المحليون بجمع معلومات أساسية من خلال ورش عمل واستبيانات أصحاب المصلحة. يساعد ذلك في تصميم حملة خاصة بالمجتمع ووضع أهداف محددة قابلة للقياس للمشروع.

نظرية نادرة التغيير. صورة © نادر

نظرية نادرة التغيير. صورة © نادر

حملات نادرة تحدد أهداف الحفظ لمشاريعها. بالنسبة للحملة من أجل الإدارة المستدامة لمصايد الأسماك ، كان الهدف هو زيادة الكتلة الحيوية للأسماك وتنوع الأسماك و CPUE (المصيد لكل وحدة جهد) من الموقع إلى داخل 5٪ من القيم من موقع تحكم باستخدام ممارسات صيد أكثر أمانًا واتباع قواعد LMMA. تهدف الحملة إلى تغيير المواقف المحلية بشأن مسؤولية المجتمع عن إنفاذ اللوائح وزيادة الوعي بممارسات الصيد غير المستدامة مثل استخدام شبكات صغيرة وصيد السموم التي تقتل أسماك الأحداث وتدمير الموائل البحرية القريبة من الشاطئ. كان الجمهور المستهدف هو القادة المحليين ، وأصحاب القوارب ، وأصحاب الشواطئ ، والمجتمعات التي تعيش على طول الساحل. تم تصميم هذه الحملات بالاشتراك مع Rare وشريكهم على أرض الواقع الذي يتلقى التدريب قبل الحملة والدعم المستمر طوال الحملة من مشرف حملة Rare.

لفهم المشكلة بشكل أفضل ، عقد موظفو Blue Ventures المحليون ، بقيادة زميل نادر Gildas Andriamalala ، سلسلة من اجتماعات مجموعات التركيز ومناقشات فردية مع الصيادين. كما تم إجراء مسح ما قبل الحملة (راجع قسم الموارد) لجمع معلومات أساسية حول معرفة المجتمع ومواقفه وتصوراته حول استخدام الموارد البحرية والقوانين البحرية المحلية وحواجز الجمهور المستهدف أمام تغيير السلوك. أيضًا ، تم جمع المعلومات لتحديد أنواع الاتصالات التي ستكون أكثر فاعلية في المجتمع.

تم استخدام عدد من أدوات الاتصال ، بما في ذلك الرسائل على الراديو ، واللافتات ، والملصقات ، والقمصان ، وكذلك الأحداث مثل المهرجانات. فيزو اهو، "أنا فيزو" هي رسالة بسيطة ومهمة للحملة ، والتي تحتفل بتصور الصيادين المحليين كحراس بحريين يتمتعون بمهارات ومعرفة كبيرة في مجال الملاحة البحرية. كان عنوان الحملة هو "التوقف عن الصيد على الشاطئ والصيد السام في منطقة Velondriake" ، والخط المباشر هو "البحر هو تراثي وتراث أحفادي". للوصول إلى الصيادين وأفراد المجتمع المحلي بشكل فعال ، تم نقل الرسالة خارج الى البحر. ال فيزو اهو يعمل الشعار الذي تم رسمه على أكثر من أشرعة 150 على طيور بيروج المحلية (قوارب التجديف) بمثابة لوحات إعلانية متنقلة لنشر رسالة الصيد غير المستدام وما الذي يمكن فعله لتقليل هذا التهديد. تميزت المواقع الإذاعية بالصيادين المحليين الذين وصفوا أهمية الموارد البحرية لسبل عيشهم. كما تم توزيع ما مجموعه 900 تي شيرت وملصقات 600.

شعار الحملة مطلي على القوارب المحلية. صور © بلو فنتشرز

شعار الحملة مطلي على القوارب المحلية. صور © بلو فنتشرز

ما مدى نجاح ذلك؟

تُجري حملات Rare Pride تقنيات مراقبة خاصة بالمشروع استنادًا إلى نوع المعلومات اللازمة لتقييم الأهداف في كل موقع وضمن حدود التمويل. تم جمع ثلاثة أنواع من البيانات:

  1. البيانات البيئية ، لتوفير بيانات خط الأساس للشعاب المرجانية وبيانات ما بعد المشروع للمقارنة ؛
  2. مؤشرات الوكيل ، على سبيل المثال ، استخدام فرض كقياس لتقليل تهديد الموارد ؛
  3. المسوحات الاجتماعية ، لقياس التغيرات في المعرفة والمواقف والسلوكيات المبلغ عنها ذاتيا. تم استخدام استبيان لما بعد الحملة باستخدام أداة الاستقصاء نفسها التي استخدمها الاستطلاع السابق للحملة لقياس تعرض الرسائل والتغيرات في المعرفة والمواقف والسلوك.

بعد سنة واحدة من تنفيذ الحملة ، أظهرت النتائج:

  • تحسين المعرفة بالقوانين المحلية بين القادة والصيادين
  • مواقف إيجابية حول القوانين المحلية بين القادة والصيادين
  • زيادة معتدلة في تطبيق القوانين المحلية
  • انخفاض معتدل في استخدام ممارسات الصيد المدمرة
الأخطبوط الأزرق (الأخطبوط سماوي) الحصاد. صور © بلو فنتشرز

الأخطبوط الأزرق (الأخطبوط سماوي) الحصاد. صور © بلو فنتشرز

وعموما ، وجد تقييم للحملة أن أدوات التسويق الاجتماعي تعزز السلوك المستدام في مجتمعات الصيد. عندما تقترن باستراتيجيات الحكم والإنفاذ ، تساعد الحملة في تعزيز السلوك المستدام وتقليل ممارسات الصيد المدمرة. يعتقد الموظفون النادرون أن الرسائل الموجهة إلى جمهور رئيسي كانت ضرورية لنجاح الحملة. تستمر الدروس المستفادة من الحملة في توجيه الأنشطة المتعلقة بـ LMMA.

الدروس المستفادة والتوصيات

  • جعل العديد من الجماهير المستهدفة الحملة صعبة الإدارة.
  • كان الفشل في معالجة الحواجز التي تحول دون تغيير سلوك الصيادين المهاجرين قصوراً في الحملة. كان من الصعب القيام بمعالجة الحاجة إلى طرق بديلة لصيد الأسماك وسبل عيشها لأسباب مالية ولوجستية.
  • لم يتم استهداف مالكي بيروج على وجه التحديد في الحملة من خلال الرسائل الفردية. كانت هذه فرصة ضائعة كان يمكن أن تسمح بمزيد من الاستفادة من سلطتهم في صنع القرار وأدوارهم القيادية الثقافية بوصفهم واضعي اتجاه.
  • لم يتم دمج المسؤولين الحكوميين بشكل صحيح في الحملة. هذه الفرصة الضائعة كان يمكن أن تؤدي إلى مزيد من الدعم المؤسسي لإنفاذ القانون المحلي.
  • ساهم السياق المكاني لمنطقة Velondriake في ارتفاع تكاليف الحملة. تم تصميم الطبيعة المتفرقة للقرى المستهدفة 25 بسبب ارتفاع تكاليف النقل.
  • لقد نجحت حملة الكبرياء بشكل كبير في بناء القدرات مع Blue Ventures وأعضاء لجنة Velondriake. كان تعلم استراتيجية Rare للتسويق الاجتماعي وتطبيقها في هذا المجال ، بتوجيه من مستشار حملة Rare ، ثوريًا. يجري تدريب فريق Blue Ventures الميداني بأكمله على منهجية التسويق الاجتماعي.
  • كان إشراك أعضاء المجتمع من مرحلة التخطيط إلى مرحلة التنفيذ بمثابة نجاح رئيسي للحملة من حيث استراتيجيات المراسلة.
  • كانت حملة التسويق الاجتماعي التي تم تجريبها في فيلوندرياك قابلة للتكرار بالتأكيد إلى مواقع أخرى في الساحل الغربي لمدغشقر بسبب أوجه التشابه في قرى الصيد.

ملخص التمويل

التكاليف المباشرة لتشغيل الحملة كانت بتمويل مشترك بقيمة 40,000 US من قبل Blue Ventures و Rare.

المنظمات الرائدة

نادر
المشاريع الزرقاء

المصادر

نادر مبادئ الكبرياء

استخدام التسويق الاجتماعي لتعزيز السلوك المستدام في مجتمعات الصيد التقليدية في جنوب غرب مدغشقر

مسح ما قبل الحملة

بورنو youjizz كسكسكسكسكس المعلم الثلاثون الجنس

Madagascar – Communication


Social Marketing Campaign Engages Madagascar Fishing Villages in Sustainable Fishing Practices

Location
Andavadoaka Coast, Madagascar

Coral reef in Velondriake. © Blue Ventures

Coral reef in Velondriake. © Blue Ventures

The Challenge
Stretching almost 350 km along the southwestern coastline of Madagascar is the Grand Recif barrier reef system, consisting of a barrier reef and fringing and inner lagoon reefs. Andavadoaka’s coastal waters boast a diversity of fish and coral species and draw fishers and increasingly, tourists. In the Velondriake area, some destructive fishing practices such as fish poisoning and the use of illegal nets, threaten the health of coral reefs and fisheries and the local way of life. With the successful implementation of fishery closures for octopus, the community implemented greater marine resource management. Along with local partners, the Velondriake locally managed marine area (LMMA) was established in 2006. Although the LMMA bans destructive fishing practices, compliance and enforcement were lacking. The Velondriake Committee of elected representatives from each of the participating 25 villages is responsible for the overall management and enforcement of the local laws. The local people depend on reefs for food and their livelihoods. With a growing population, the future health of these resources is critical.

Actions Taken
To address this threat, Rare and Blue Ventures launched a social marketing campaign from 2009 to 2011 to raise awareness about the ban on illegal fishing and improve compliance. Rare campaigns use innovative marketing and messaging to achieve the conservation goals of the project.

Behind Rare Pride Campaigns
Rare’s signature Pride campaigns aim to change knowledge, attitudes and behavior by using proven social science methods and innovative delivery methods. The campaigns are successfully implemented at the local level by first planning campaign objectives, selecting a flagship species and carefully researching the target audiences. Rare Fellows, who run the campaigns, follow a “theory of change” model for the project that is tailored for the target community. This model identifies the benefits of, and barriers to sustainable behavior. A substantial portion of the project takes place early on in with the site assessment process. Working closely with the community, local staff collect baseline information through stakeholder workshops and surveys. This helps design a community-specific campaign and set specific measurable objectives for the project.

Rare’s Theory of Change Model © Rare

Rare’s Theory of Change Model. © Rare

Rare campaigns set conservation targets for their projects. For the Campaign for Sustainable Fisheries Management Andavadoaka Coast, the target was to increase fish biomass, fish diversity and CPUE (catch per unit of effort) from the site to within 5% of values from a control site by using safer fishing practices and following the rules of the LMMA. The campaign aimed to change local attitudes about community responsibility for enforcing regulations and to raise awareness about unsustainable fishing practices such as using small mesh nets and poison fishing which kill juvenile fish and destroy nearshore marine habitats. The target audience was local leaders, boat owners, beach seiners, and the communities living along the coast. The campaigns are designed jointly by Rare and their on-the-ground partner who receives training before the campaign and continuing support throughout the campaign from a Rare campaign supervisor.

To better understand the issue, local Blue Ventures staff, led by Rare Fellow Gildas Andriamalala held a series of focus group meetings and one-on-one discussions with fishers. A pre-campaign survey (see Resources section) was also conducted to collect baseline information about the community’s knowledge, attitudes, perceptions about marine resource use and local marine laws and the target audiences’ barriers to behavior change. Also, information was collected to determine the types of communication that would be most effective in the community.

Campaign logo painted on local boats. © Blue Ventures

Campaign logo painted on local boats. © Blue Ventures

A number of communication tools were used, including messages on the radio, banners, posters, t-shirts, as well as events such as festivals. Vezo Aho, “I am Vezo” is a simple, key message of the campaign, which celebrates local fishers’ self-perception as sea stewards with significant seamanship skills and knowledge. The campaign title was “stop beach seining and poison fishing in the Velondriake area”, and the by-line is “the sea is my heritage and that of my descendants.” To effectively reach the fishers and local community members, the message was taken out to sea. The Vezo Aho logo painted on more than 150 sails on local pirogues (dugout canoes) serve as traveling billboards to spread the message of unsustainable fishing and what can be done to lessen this threat. Radio spots featured local fishers who described the importance of marine resources to their livelihoods. A total of 900 t-shirts and 600 posters were also distributed.

How successful has it been?
Rare Pride campaigns conduct project-specific monitoring techniques based on the type of information that is needed to assess objectives at each site and within funding limitations. Three types of data were collected:

  1. Ecological data, to provide reef baseline data and post-project data for comparison;
  2. Proxy indicators, for example, using enforcement as a measurement for a decrease in the resources threat;
  3. Social surveys, to measure changes in knowledge, attitudes, and self-reported behaviors. A post-campaign survey using the same survey instrument as the pre-campaign survey was used to measure messages exposure, changes in knowledge, attitudes, and behavior.

After one year of implementation of the campaign, results showed:

  • Improved knowledge about the local laws among leaders and fishers
  • Positive attitudes about the local laws among leaders and fishers
  • Moderate increases in enforcement of the local laws
  • Moderate decreases in the use of destructive fishing practices
Octopus cyanea - Blue octopus- Rare

Blue octopus (Octopus cyanea) harvest. © Blue Ventures

Overall, an evaluation of the campaign found that social marketing tools were fostering sustainable behavior in fishing communities. When combined with governance and enforcement strategies, the campaign is helping to foster sustainable behavior and decrease destructive fishing practices. Rare staff believe that messages targeted at a key audience were critical to the success of the campaign. Lessons learned from the campaign continue to be used to guide activities related to the LMMA.

Lessons Learned and Recommendations
Lessons learned and key recommendations include:

  • Many target audiences made the campaign difficult to manage.
  • Failure to address barriers of behavior change for migrant fishers was a shortcoming of the campaign. Addressing the need for alternative fishing methods and livelihoods was difficult to do due to financial and logistical reasons.
  • Pirogue owners were not specifically targeted in the campaign with individual messages. This was a missed opportunity that could have allowed for more leveraging of their decision-making power and cultural leadership roles as trend-setters.
  • Government officials were not properly incorporated into the campaign. This missed opportunity could have led to a more institutional support for local law enforcement.
  • The spatial context of the Velondriake area contributed to high campaign costs. The dispersed nature of the 25 target villages made for high transportation costs.
  • The Pride campaign has been massively successful in building capacity with Blue Ventures and the Velondriake committee members. Learning the Rare social marketing strategy and applying it in the field, with the guidance of a Rare campaign advisor, was revolutionary. Blue Ventures entire field team is now being trained in the social marketing methodology.
  • Engaging community members from the planning to the implementation phase was a key success to the campaign in terms of messaging strategies.
  • The social marketing campaign piloted in Velondriake was definitely replicable to other sites in the west coast of Madagascar due to the similarities of the fishing villages.

Funding Summary
Direct costs to run the campaign were $40,000 US co-funded by Blue Ventures and Rare.

Lead Organizations
Rare
Blue Ventures

Resources
Rare’s The Principles of Pride (pdf)
Watch Gildas Andriamalala talk about developing the campaign with the local community Gildas’ video (video)
Rare Blog
Using social marketing to foster sustainable behaviour in traditional fishing communities of southwest Madagascar
Pre-campaign survey (pdf)

 

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone