تقييمات ميدانية لمقاومة الشعاب المرجانية لتغير المناخ في سايبان ، كومنولث جزر ماريانا الشمالية

 

الموقع:

سايبان ، كومنولث جزر ماريانا الشمالية (CNMI)

التحدي

الشعاب المرجانية في جميع أنحاء العالم مهددة بمزيج من الضغوطات العالمية والمحلية. في كومنولث جزر ماريانا الشمالية (CNMI) ، يعمل المديرون سويًا لمواجهة هذه التهديدات وتقييم مقاومة الشعاب المرجانية. يمكن أن يحدد تحديد المواقع ذات القدرة المرنة العالية مجموعة من قرارات الإدارة لدعم والحفاظ على المرونة الطبيعية للشعاب المرجانية. يعمل الكثيرون على تطوير أطر تمكن من تقييم مقاومة الشعاب المرجانية ومقارنتها بين المواقع. في الأشهر التي سبقت هذا العمل الميداني ، تم نشر إطار عمل يقترح تقييم متغيرات 11 (أو "مؤشرات المرونة") لمقارنة إمكانية المرونة لمواقع الشعاب المرجانية. هذه هي: تنوع المرجان ، ومقاومة التبييض ، والتوظيف ، والكتلة الحيوية للعاشبة ، وغطاء الطحالب الكبيرة ، وتغير درجات الحرارة ، وإدخال المغذيات ، والترسبات ، والوصول إلى الصيد ، وأمراض الشعاب المرجانية ، والتأثيرات الفيزيائية البشرية المنشأ ( يفتح في نافذة جديدةماكلانهان وآخرون. 2012يفتح ملف PDF ). تصف دراسة الحالة هذه أول تطبيق ميداني لـ McClanahan et al. (2012) إطار في سايبان ، CNMI.

الإجراءات المتخذة

طرق
تم قياس أو تقييم مؤشرات مرونة 11 في إجمالي مواقع 35 حول جزيرة سايبان في مايو ويونيو من 2012. يمكن الاطلاع على تفاصيل الطرق المستخدمة هنا. لحساب درجة المرونة النسبية ، تم استخدام الطريقة التالية. تم التعبير عن قيمة كل مؤشر لكل موقع كنسبة مئوية بالنسبة إلى الحد الأقصى لقيمة هذا المؤشر بين جميع المواقع. تسمى هذه الممارسة "ترسيخ" وتطبيع البيانات إلى مقياس قياسي من 0-1 (يتم التعبير عن النسب المئوية العشرية). درجات المرونة المحسوبة هي متوسط ​​درجات مؤشرات 9 المتضمنة في التحليل (المتغيرات المذكورة أعلاه ناقص مرض الشعاب المرجانية والتأثيرات الجسدية البشرية المنشأ ، والتي لم يتم ملاحظتها) ، وتم تصنيف المواقع من أعلى إلى أقل درجة مرونة. تم استخدام الفئات النسبية العالية والمتوسطة والمنخفضة لوصف الدرجات لجميع المؤشرات ولنتائج درجات المرونة الناتجة.

النتائج
تم العثور على مواقع 23 تتمتع بمرونة نسبية عالية ؛ مواقع 9 متوسطة ، و 3 منخفضة (انظر الجدول 1 أدناه). وكشف تحليل المكونات الرئيسية أن التصنيف كان مدفوعًا بشدة بتنوع المرجان ومقاومة التبييض وغطاء الطحالب الكبيرة. وبدون استثناء ، تتمتع المواقع التي تتمتع بأعلى مرونة ، مقارنة بالمواقع الأخرى التي شملتها الدراسة ، بتنوع كبير في الشعاب المرجانية ومقاومة تبيض عالية وغطاء طحالب كبيرة. يتميز تنوع المرجان المنخفض ومقاومة التبييض المنخفضة وغطاء الطحالب الكبيرة العالية أو المتوسطة على الأقل بمواقع منخفضة المرونة. توجد مواقع المرونة العالية والمتوسطة في جميع موائل سايبان للشعاب المرجانية في حين أن مواقع المرونة المنخفضة جميعها في بحيرة سايبان.

الجدول 1. درجات المرونة النهائية وتصنيفات مواقع المسح. يتم عرض الدرجات المثبتة (إلى القيمة القصوى) والمعيار (مقياس 0-1 أحادي الاتجاه) لجميع المتغيرات التسعة على اليمين. درجات المرونة هي متوسط ​​الدرجات لجميع المتغيرات ، ثم يتم ربطها بأعلى درجة مرونة (العمود الأيمن من الرتبة). تشمل إمكانية المرونة النسبية العالية النطاق (9-0.8) ، والمتوسط ​​(1.0-0.6) ، والمنخفض (<0.79).

الجدول 1 درجات ومرونة الترتيب

ما مدى نجاح ذلك؟

بناءً على تحليل المرونة ، قدم فريق المشروع عددًا من الاقتراحات لمديري الشعاب المرجانية ومديري المناطق الساحلية العاملين في CNMI:

  1. بالنسبة لإجراءات الإدارة التي تؤدي إلى فوائد تستغرق سنوات أو عقود عديدة لتظهر - مثل المناطق البحرية المحمية - نقترح أن المواقع التي تتمتع بقدرة أكبر على المرونة النسبية تستحق مزيدًا من الاهتمام. علاوة على ذلك ، نقترح تقليل الضغوطات البشرية المنشأ إلى أقصى حد ممكن في المواقع التي تم تقييمها على أنها تتمتع بأعلى إمكانيات مرونة.
  2. المواقع ذات التنوع المرجاني الأكبر وغطاء الطحالب الكبيرة تستحق اهتمامًا خاصًا من المديرين لأن هذه المواقع قد تكون ذات قيمة سياحية عالية.
  3. ستؤثر الإجراءات التي تؤدي إلى تحسين نوعية المياه على الشعاب المرجانية على إمكانات المرونة لأكبر عدد من المواقع (مقابل الإجراءات الأخرى).
  4. تعد حماية مجموعات الأسماك العاشبة ذات أهمية خاصة في المواقع ذات التعرض النسبي الأكبر لتبيض المرجان.

تم تحديد المواقع التي تفي بالشروط التالية: مرونة عالية ، أو تنوع أكبر للشعاب المرجانية ، أو انخفاض تغطية الطحالب الكبيرة ، أو كانت أكثر عرضة لتبيض المرجان ، أو مزيج من تلك. أدت جميع الاقتراحات المختلفة المقدمة إلى اتخاذ إجراءات من جانب وكالات الموارد الطبيعية المحلية في CNMI. تشمل الإجراءات: الاتصال والتواصل ، وتحديث خطط الإدارة ، وإعادة تقييم معالجة جودة المياه ، وتعزيز الشراكات مع مشغلي السياحة. الوكالات المكلفة بتخصيص موارد الحفظ والإدارة والجهود المبذولة حول سايبان مسؤولة أيضًا عن مناطق الشعاب المرجانية الأخرى داخل CNMI. لهذا السبب ، سيقوم فريق المشروع قريبًا بتوسيع نطاق التحليل والعمل ليشمل مواقع الشعاب المرجانية بالقرب من تينيان وروتا ، والتي تحتوي على مستويات منخفضة من الإجهاد البشري.

الدروس المستفادة والتوصيات

يعد جمع جميع البيانات المطلوبة لإجراء تقييم المرونة عملية كثيفة الاستخدام للموارد وتتطلب الكثير من الأشخاص من أنواع مختلفة من الخبرة. يوصى بشدة باستخدام مجموعات البيانات الحالية لتقليل تكلفة التقييم. في العديد من مواقع الشعاب المرجانية ، ستستفيد وكالات ومجموعات متعددة من نتائج ومخرجات التحليل بحيث يكون تقاسم التكاليف ممكنًا وينبغي استكشافه.

يمكن أن يؤدي تضمين العديد من الوكالات ووجهات النظر إلى زيادة نسبة المشاركة وزيادة الحد الأقصى لكن قد يعني أنه لن يكون من الممكن أن يكون الجميع راضين تمامًا عن الأساليب النهائية. قد يكون تقييم التباين المكاني في التعرض للضغوط البشرية المنشأ مثيرًا للجدل بشكل خاص ، لذلك يجب تطوير النهج النهائية المستخدمة في الضغوطات البشرية المنشأ بشفافية وتعاونية.

يؤدي تقييم المرونة النسبية لمواقع الشعاب إلى إنشاء معلومات يمكن استخدامها لاتخاذ قرارات الإدارة القائمة على المرونة ؛ أي القرارات التي تؤدي إلى استهداف إجراءات الإدارة أو تكييفها لدعم المرونة الطبيعية للشعاب المرجانية. ليس إكمال التقييم نقطة نهاية في حد ذاته ، والقدرة على إجراء التقييم ليست سببًا كافيًا لإجراء التقييم. من الأهمية بمكان التفكير أولاً في كيفية استخدام نتائج التقييم ونواتجه. يتم تضمين قائمة احتياجات المعلومات على تقييم ومراقبة الشعاب المرجانية الصفحة. قد يكون هناك ما يبرر التقييم عندما يلبي واحدًا أو أكثر من تلك الاحتياجات.

ملخص التمويل

قام معهد غرب المرجان المرجاني وجامعة غوام بدعم أجزاء من المشروع وكذلك مبادرة المرجان CNMI ، التي حصلت على منحة من برنامج الحفاظ على الشعاب المرجانية في NOAA والسناتور غريغوريو كيليلي سابلان.

المنظمات الرائدة

يفتح في نافذة جديدةنوا الصيد
يفتح في نافذة جديدةCNMI شعبة الجودة البيئية 
يفتح في نافذة جديدةحفظ الطبيعة
يفتح في نافذة جديدةمعهد الموارد البحرية في المحيط الهادئ

شركاؤنا

يفتح في نافذة جديدةجامعة غوام
يفتح في نافذة جديدةمعهد الشعاب المرجانية في غرب المحيط الهادئ
يفتح في نافذة جديدةبرنامج الحفاظ على الشعاب المرجانية NOAA
يفتح في نافذة جديدةCNMI إدارة الموارد الساحلية
يفتح في نافذة جديدةCNMI شعبة الأسماك والحياة البرية

مصادر

يفتح في نافذة جديدةمقاومة الشعاب المرجانية لتغير المناخ في سايبان ، CNMI: تقييمات ميدانية وآثارها على القابلية للتأثر والإدارة المستقبليةيفتح ملف PDF

تحليل المرونة النسبية

تقييم ومراقبة الشعاب المرجانية

اختيار مؤشرات المرونة

دراسة حالة تقييم جزر فيرجن الأمريكية

يفتح في نافذة جديدةدليل إرشادي لإجراء تقييمات المرونةيفتح ملف PDF

يفتح في نافذة جديدةتحديد أولويات مؤشرات المرونة الرئيسية لدعم إدارة الشعاب المرجانية في مناخ متغيريفتح ملف PDF

يفتح في نافذة جديدةتفعيل المرونة في إدارة الشعاب المرجانية التكيفية في ظل التغير البيئي العالمييفتح ملف PDF

بورنو youjizz كسكسكسكسكس المعلم الثلاثون الجنس
Translate »

Northern Mariana Islands – Monitoring Reef Resilience


Field-based Assessments of Coral Reef Resilience to Climate Change in Saipan, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands

Location
Saipan, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI)

The Challenge
Coral reefs worldwide are threatened by a combination of global and local stressors. In the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI), managers are working together to address these threats and to assess the resilience of coral reefs. Identifying sites with high resilience potential can inform a range of management decisions to support and maintain the natural resilience of coral reefs. Many have been working to develop frameworks that enable reef resilience to be assessed and compared among sites. In the months before this fieldwork, a framework was published that suggests 11 variables (or ‘resilience indicators’) be evaluated to compare the resilience potential of coral reef sites. These are: coral diversity, bleaching resistance, recruitment, herbivore biomass, macroalgae cover, temperature variability, nutrient input, sedimentation, fishing access, coral disease, and anthropogenic physical impacts (McClanahan et al. 2012). This case study describes the first field-based implementation of the McClanahan et al. (2012) framework in Saipan, CNMI.

Actions Taken

Methods
The 11 resilience indicators were measured or assessed at a total of 35 sites around the island of Saipan in May and June of 2012. Details on the methods used can be found here. To calculate a relative resilience score, the following method was used. The value for each indicator for each site was expressed as a percentage relative to the maximum value for that indicator among all sites. This practice is called ‘anchoring’ and normalizes the data to a standard scale of 0-1 (the percentages are expressed as decimals). The resilience scores calculated are the average of the scores for the 9 indicators included in the analysis (the variables above minus coral disease and anthropogenic physical impacts, which were not observed), and the sites were ranked from highest to lowest resilience score. The relative categories high, medium and low were used to describe the scores for all indicators and for the resultant resilience scores.

Results
23 sites were found to have high relative resilience; 9 sites have medium, and 3 have low (see Table 1 below). Principal Components Analysis revealed that rankings were most strongly driven by coral diversity, bleaching resistance and macroalgae cover. Without exception, sites with the highest resilience, relative to other sites surveyed, have high coral diversity, high bleaching resistance and low macroalgae cover. Low coral diversity, low bleaching resistance, and high or at least medium macroalgae cover characterize low resilience sites. High and medium resilience sites are located throughout all of Saipan’s reef habitats while the low resilience sites are all in the Saipan lagoon.

Table 1. Final resilience scores and rankings for the survey sites. Anchored (to the max value) and normalized (uni-directional 0-1 scale) scores for all 9 variables are shown to the right. Resilience scores are the average scores for all variables, then anchored to the highest resilience score (column right of rank). High relative resilience potential includes the range (0.8-1.0), medium (0.6-0.79), and low (<0.6).

Table 1 Resilience Scores and Rankings

How successful has it been?

Based on the resilience analysis, the project team made a number of suggestions to coral reef and coastal managers working in CNMI:

  1. For management actions that result in benefits that take many years or decades to manifest – like marine protected areas – we suggest that sites with higher relative resilience potential deserve greater consideration. Further, we suggest reducing anthropogenic stressors to the extent possible at the sites assessed as having the highest resilience potential.
  2. Sites with greater coral diversity and low macroalgae cover deserve special consideration from managers as these may be high tourism value sites.
  3. Actions resulting in improved water quality on reefs will affect the resilience potential of the greatest number of sites (versus other actions).
  4. Protecting herbivorous fish populations is especially important at locations with greater relative vulnerability to coral bleaching.

Sites were identified that met the following conditions: high resilience, greater coral diversity, low macroalgae cover, or were more vulnerable to coral bleaching, or some combination of those. All of the various suggestions made have resulted in action by local natural resource agencies in CNMI. Actions include: communication and outreach, updating management plans, re-assessing water quality treatment, and strengthening partnerships with tourism operators. The agencies tasked with allocating conservation and management resources and effort around Saipan are also responsible for other reef areas within CNMI. For that reason, the project team will soon extend the analysis and work to include reef sites near Tinian and Rota, which have lower levels of anthropogenic stress.

Lessons Learned and Recommendations
Collecting all of the data required to undertake a resilience assessment is a resource-intensive exercise and requires many people with different types of expertise. Using existing datasets is strongly recommended to reduce the cost of the assessment. In many coral reef locations, multiple agencies and groups will benefit from the analysis results and outputs so cost-sharing is possible and should be explored.

Including many agencies and perspectives can increase buy-in and maximize uptake but may mean it will not be possible for everyone to be entirely satisfied with the final methods. Assessing spatial variation in exposure to anthropogenic stressors can be especially controversial, so the final approaches used for anthropogenic stressors need to be developed transparently and collaboratively.

Assessing the relative resilience of reef sites generates information that can be used to make resilience-based management decisions; i.e., decisions resulting in the targeting or tailoring of management actions to support the natural resilience of coral reefs. Completing the assessment is not an endpoint in itself, and the capacity to conduct an assessment is not reason enough to undertake the assessment. It is critical to consider first how the assessment results and outputs will be used. A list of information needs is included on the Assessing and Monitoring Reef Resilience page. An assessment may be justified when it meets one or more of those needs.

Funding Summary
The Western Pacific Coral Reef Institute and the University of Guam supported parts of the project as did the CNMI Coral Reef Initiative, which had a grant from NOAA’s Coral Reef Conservation Program and Senator Gregorio Kilili Sablan.

Lead Organizations
NOAA Fisheries
CNMI Division of Environmental Quality 
The Nature Conservancy
Pacific Marine Resources Institute

Partners
University of Guam
Western Pacific Coral Reef Institute
NOAA Coral Reef Conservation Program
CNMI Coastal Resources Management
CNMI Division of Fish and Wildlife

Resources
Coral Reef Resilience to Climate Change in Saipan, CNMI: Field-based Assessments and Implications for Vulnerability and Future Management

Coral Reef Module pages: Analyzing Relative Resilience; Assessing and Monitoring Reef Resilience; Selecting Resilience Indicators

US Virgin Islands Resilience Assessment Case Study

How-to Guide for Conducting Resilience Assessments (pdf, 1.3M)

Prioritizing Key Resilience Indicators to Support Coral Reef Management in a Changing Climate (pdf, 373k)

Operationalizing Resilience for Adaptive Coral Reef Management Under Global Environmental Change (pdf, 542k)

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone