基於實地的珊瑚礁對北馬里亞納群島聯邦塞班島氣候變化的抵禦能力評估

所在地

塞班島,北馬里亞納群島聯邦(CNMI)

所面臨的挑戰

全球和當地壓力源的共同威脅著全球的珊瑚礁。 在北馬里亞納群島聯邦(CNMI),管理人員正在共同努力應對這些威脅並評估珊瑚礁的複原力。 確定具有高複原力潛力的地點可以為一系列管理決策提供依據,以支持和維護珊瑚礁的自然復原力。 許多人一直在努力開發框架,以評估和比較站點之間的珊瑚礁復原力。 在這項實地調查之前的幾個月中,發布了一個框架,該框架建議對11變量(或“彈性指標”)進行評估,以比較珊瑚礁場址的彈性潛力。 它們是:珊瑚多樣性,抗漂白性,補充,草食動物生物量,大型藻類覆蓋,溫度變化,養分輸入,沉積,捕撈,珊瑚病和人為物理影響(McClanahan等。 2012)。 此案例研究描述了McClanahan等人的第一個基於現場的實現。 CNMI塞班島(2012)框架。

所採取的行動

方法
在11的5月和6月,在塞班島周圍的35站點測量或評估了2012彈性指標。 可以找到所用方法的詳細信息 請點擊此處。。 為了計算相對彈性分數,使用以下方法。 每個站點的每個指標的值表示為相對於所有站點中該指標的最大值的百分比。 這種做法稱為“錨定”,並將數據標準化為0-1的標準比例(百分比表示為小數)。 計算的彈性分數是分析中包含的9指標的分數的平均值(上述變量減去珊瑚病和人為物理影響,未觀察到),並且站點從最高到最低彈性分數排名。 高,中,低的相對類別用於描述所有指標的分數以及由此產生的彈性分數。

效果見證
發現23站點具有較高的相對彈性; 9站點具有中等,3具有較低值(參見下面的表1)。 主成分分析顯示,排名受珊瑚多樣性,抗褪色和大型藻類覆蓋的影響最大。 無論如何,相對於其他受調查的地點,具有最高恢復力的地點具有高珊瑚多樣性,高抗漂白性和低藻類覆蓋率。 低珊瑚多樣性,低抗漂白性和高或至少中等的大型藻類覆蓋表徵低迴彈性位點。 在塞班島的所有珊瑚礁棲息地都有高中和中等恢復力的地點,而低迴彈地點都在塞班島潟湖中。

表1。 調查網站的最終彈性分數和排名。 所有0變量的錨定(最大值)和標準化(單向1-9標度)分數顯示在右側。 彈性分數是所有變量的平均分數,然後錨定到最高彈性分數(排名右列)。 高相對彈性潛力包括範圍(0.8-1.0),中等(0.6-0.79)和低(<0.6)。

表1彈性分數和排名

它有多成功?

根據彈性分析,項目組向在CNMI工作的珊瑚礁和沿海管理人員提出了一些建議:

  1. 對於導致需要花費許多年或數十年的利益的管理行動 - 如海洋保護區 - 我們建議具有較高相對彈性潛力的地點值得更多考慮。 此外,我們建議在被評估為具有最高恢復潛力的地點盡可能減少人為壓力源。
  2. 具有更大珊瑚多樣性和低藻類覆蓋率的場地值得管理者特別考慮,因為這些場所可能是高旅遊價值場所。
  3. 導致珊瑚礁水質改善的行動將影響最大數量地點的恢復潛力(與其他行動相比)。
  4. 保護食草魚群在珊瑚褪色相對易受傷害的地方尤為重要。

確定的場地符合以下條件:高彈性,更大的珊瑚多樣性,低大型藻類覆蓋,或更容易受到珊瑚褪色,或某些組合。 所有提出的各種建議都促成了當地自然資源機構在CNMI的行動。 行動包括:溝通和外聯,更新管理計劃,重新評估水質處理,以及加強與旅遊運營商的伙伴關係。 負責在塞班島周圍分配保護和管理資源和努力的機構也負責CNMI內的其他珊瑚礁區域。 因此,項目組將很快擴展分析並將工作納入天寧島和羅塔附近的珊瑚礁場地,這些場地的人為壓力較低。

經驗教訓和建議

收集進行彈性評估所需的所有數據是一項資源密集型工作,需要許多具有不同類型專業知識的人員。 強烈建議使用現有數據集來降低評估成本。 在許多珊瑚礁地區,多個機構和團體將從分析結果和產出中受益,因此可以分攤費用並進行探索。

包括許多代理商和觀點可以增加買入和最大化吸收,但可能意味著每個人都不可能對最終方法完全滿意。 評估人為壓力源暴露的空間變異可能尤其引起爭議,因此用於人為壓力源的最終方法需要透明和協作地開發。

評估珊瑚礁場地的相對彈性可以產生可用於製定基於復原力的管理決策的信息; 即,決定導致管理行動的目標或定制,以支持珊瑚礁的自然恢復力。 完成評估本身並不是一個終點,進行評估的能力不足以進行評估。 首先考慮如何使用評估結果和產出至關重要。 信息需求列表包含在 評估和監測珊瑚礁恢復力 頁。 當滿足一個或多個需求時,評估可能是合理的。

資金摘要

西太平洋珊瑚礁研究所和關島大學支持該項目的部分內容,CNMI珊瑚礁計劃也得到了該計劃,該計劃得到了NOAA珊瑚礁保護計劃和參議員Gregorio Kilili Sablan的資助。

牽頭組織

NOAA漁業
CNMI環境質量部
大自然保護協會
太平洋海洋資源研究所

合作夥伴

關島大學
西太平洋珊瑚礁研究所
NOAA珊瑚礁保護計劃
CNMI沿海資源管理
CNMI魚類和野生動物部

資源

珊瑚礁對塞浦路斯島氣候變化的複原力,CNMI:基於實地的評估及其對脆弱性和未來管理的影響

分析相對彈性

評估和監測珊瑚礁恢復力

選擇彈性指標

美屬維爾京群島復原力評估案例研究

進行彈性評估的操作指南

優先考慮關鍵的恢復力指標,以支持氣候變化中的珊瑚礁管理

在全球環境變化下實現適應性珊瑚礁管理的複原力

por youjizz xmxx 老師xxx 性別

Northern Mariana Islands – Monitoring Reef Resilience


Field-based Assessments of Coral Reef Resilience to Climate Change in Saipan, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands

Location
Saipan, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI)

The Challenge
Coral reefs worldwide are threatened by a combination of global and local stressors. In the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI), managers are working together to address these threats and to assess the resilience of coral reefs. Identifying sites with high resilience potential can inform a range of management decisions to support and maintain the natural resilience of coral reefs. Many have been working to develop frameworks that enable reef resilience to be assessed and compared among sites. In the months before this fieldwork, a framework was published that suggests 11 variables (or ‘resilience indicators’) be evaluated to compare the resilience potential of coral reef sites. These are: coral diversity, bleaching resistance, recruitment, herbivore biomass, macroalgae cover, temperature variability, nutrient input, sedimentation, fishing access, coral disease, and anthropogenic physical impacts (McClanahan et al. 2012). This case study describes the first field-based implementation of the McClanahan et al. (2012) framework in Saipan, CNMI.

Actions Taken

Methods
The 11 resilience indicators were measured or assessed at a total of 35 sites around the island of Saipan in May and June of 2012. Details on the methods used can be found here. To calculate a relative resilience score, the following method was used. The value for each indicator for each site was expressed as a percentage relative to the maximum value for that indicator among all sites. This practice is called ‘anchoring’ and normalizes the data to a standard scale of 0-1 (the percentages are expressed as decimals). The resilience scores calculated are the average of the scores for the 9 indicators included in the analysis (the variables above minus coral disease and anthropogenic physical impacts, which were not observed), and the sites were ranked from highest to lowest resilience score. The relative categories high, medium and low were used to describe the scores for all indicators and for the resultant resilience scores.

Results
23 sites were found to have high relative resilience; 9 sites have medium, and 3 have low (see Table 1 below). Principal Components Analysis revealed that rankings were most strongly driven by coral diversity, bleaching resistance and macroalgae cover. Without exception, sites with the highest resilience, relative to other sites surveyed, have high coral diversity, high bleaching resistance and low macroalgae cover. Low coral diversity, low bleaching resistance, and high or at least medium macroalgae cover characterize low resilience sites. High and medium resilience sites are located throughout all of Saipan’s reef habitats while the low resilience sites are all in the Saipan lagoon.

Table 1. Final resilience scores and rankings for the survey sites. Anchored (to the max value) and normalized (uni-directional 0-1 scale) scores for all 9 variables are shown to the right. Resilience scores are the average scores for all variables, then anchored to the highest resilience score (column right of rank). High relative resilience potential includes the range (0.8-1.0), medium (0.6-0.79), and low (<0.6).

Table 1 Resilience Scores and Rankings

How successful has it been?

Based on the resilience analysis, the project team made a number of suggestions to coral reef and coastal managers working in CNMI:

  1. For management actions that result in benefits that take many years or decades to manifest – like marine protected areas – we suggest that sites with higher relative resilience potential deserve greater consideration. Further, we suggest reducing anthropogenic stressors to the extent possible at the sites assessed as having the highest resilience potential.
  2. Sites with greater coral diversity and low macroalgae cover deserve special consideration from managers as these may be high tourism value sites.
  3. Actions resulting in improved water quality on reefs will affect the resilience potential of the greatest number of sites (versus other actions).
  4. Protecting herbivorous fish populations is especially important at locations with greater relative vulnerability to coral bleaching.

Sites were identified that met the following conditions: high resilience, greater coral diversity, low macroalgae cover, or were more vulnerable to coral bleaching, or some combination of those. All of the various suggestions made have resulted in action by local natural resource agencies in CNMI. Actions include: communication and outreach, updating management plans, re-assessing water quality treatment, and strengthening partnerships with tourism operators. The agencies tasked with allocating conservation and management resources and effort around Saipan are also responsible for other reef areas within CNMI. For that reason, the project team will soon extend the analysis and work to include reef sites near Tinian and Rota, which have lower levels of anthropogenic stress.

Lessons Learned and Recommendations
Collecting all of the data required to undertake a resilience assessment is a resource-intensive exercise and requires many people with different types of expertise. Using existing datasets is strongly recommended to reduce the cost of the assessment. In many coral reef locations, multiple agencies and groups will benefit from the analysis results and outputs so cost-sharing is possible and should be explored.

Including many agencies and perspectives can increase buy-in and maximize uptake but may mean it will not be possible for everyone to be entirely satisfied with the final methods. Assessing spatial variation in exposure to anthropogenic stressors can be especially controversial, so the final approaches used for anthropogenic stressors need to be developed transparently and collaboratively.

Assessing the relative resilience of reef sites generates information that can be used to make resilience-based management decisions; i.e., decisions resulting in the targeting or tailoring of management actions to support the natural resilience of coral reefs. Completing the assessment is not an endpoint in itself, and the capacity to conduct an assessment is not reason enough to undertake the assessment. It is critical to consider first how the assessment results and outputs will be used. A list of information needs is included on the Assessing and Monitoring Reef Resilience page. An assessment may be justified when it meets one or more of those needs.

Funding Summary
The Western Pacific Coral Reef Institute and the University of Guam supported parts of the project as did the CNMI Coral Reef Initiative, which had a grant from NOAA’s Coral Reef Conservation Program and Senator Gregorio Kilili Sablan.

Lead Organizations
NOAA Fisheries
CNMI Division of Environmental Quality 
The Nature Conservancy
Pacific Marine Resources Institute

Partners
University of Guam
Western Pacific Coral Reef Institute
NOAA Coral Reef Conservation Program
CNMI Coastal Resources Management
CNMI Division of Fish and Wildlife

Resources
Coral Reef Resilience to Climate Change in Saipan, CNMI: Field-based Assessments and Implications for Vulnerability and Future Management

Coral Reef Module pages: Analyzing Relative Resilience; Assessing and Monitoring Reef Resilience; Selecting Resilience Indicators

US Virgin Islands Resilience Assessment Case Study

How-to Guide for Conducting Resilience Assessments (pdf, 1.3M)

Prioritizing Key Resilience Indicators to Support Coral Reef Management in a Changing Climate (pdf, 373k)

Operationalizing Resilience for Adaptive Coral Reef Management Under Global Environmental Change (pdf, 542k)

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone