以社區為基礎改革帕勞數據貧乏的珊瑚礁漁業

所在地

Babeldaob,Ollei,帕勞

所面臨的挑戰

帕勞由12居住的島嶼和700小島組成,延伸超過700 km。 它有許多島嶼和礁石類型,包括火山和凸起的石灰岩島嶼,環礁,主要島嶼群的大部分周圍的堡礁和南部的邊緣礁。 帕勞擁有密克羅尼西亞最多樣化的珊瑚群,包括大約400種硬珊瑚,300種軟珊瑚,1400種珊瑚魚,數千種無脊椎動物和密克羅尼西亞唯一的鹹水鱷魚。

被稱為“70 Mile Islands”的帕勞鳥瞰圖以及周圍豐富的珊瑚礁。 照片©Ian Shive

被稱為“70 Mile Islands”的帕勞鳥瞰圖以及周圍豐富的珊瑚礁。 照片©Ian Shive

幾個世紀以來,帕勞的水域都提供了食物。 北部珊瑚礁 - 帕勞的第二大漁場 - 依賴於漁民和周圍社區的食物,生計和收入。 事實上,與太平洋其他地區相比,帕勞人的人均魚類消費量最高。 但現代捕魚方式和不斷發展的旅遊業增加了捕撈壓力。 儘管帕勞擁有根深蒂固的保護道德和龐大的海洋保護區網絡(海洋保護區),但捕撈壓力的增加並未能使魚類保持可持續發展,人們越來越意識到保護區本身不足以維持生存魚類種群。

為了可持續地管理漁業,有必要獲得有關種群的信息:魚的數量,種類,種植和繁殖的速度,以及在不使漁業面臨崩潰危險的情況下可以收穫多少魚。 但是傳統的庫存評估是如此昂貴和資源密集,需要由經過培訓的專家收集數年,每個庫存花費數十萬美元或更多,這使得它們對大多數漁業,特別是發展中國家的漁業來說是禁止的。 如果沒有庫存數據來為管理決策提供信息,像帕勞北部珊瑚礁那樣的數據貧乏的漁業很容易被過度捕撈,威脅到依賴它們的人們的生計和糧食安全。

所採取的行動

在2012,大自然保護協會在北方珊瑚礁建立了一個試點項目,利用數據有限的種群評估技術評估種群狀況,通過社區驅動的方法改善漁業管理,並重建魚類資源。 從8月2012到6月2013,訓練有素的漁民幫助科學家們收集了關於帕勞水域捕獲的2,800魚的種類,大小和成熟度的數據。 他們在全國唯一的魚市場 - 快樂魚市場測量了他們自己的捕撈量和魚類。 帕勞人喜歡整條購買他們的魚,因此在快樂魚市場與魚類賣家一起開始銷售市場魚以評估性腺並不是一個受歡迎的想法,但與當地女性賣家協商的300“租賃”費用讓研究人員可以訪問600用於數據收集的大量魚類 - 這是一個極好的資源,也提供了一個機會,與廣泛的魚類銷售商和買家社區討論帕勞的過度捕撈問題。

為帕勞股票評估項目捕獲的皇帝魚的成熟性腺。 照片©Andrew Smith

為帕勞股票評估項目捕獲的皇帝魚的成熟性腺。 照片©Andrew Smith

數據不足的技術依賴於樣本大小比率來評估產生的產卵量以及產量。 從最基本的角度來看,該技術使用兩個本地數據,魚的大小和魚的成熟度,結合現有的生物信息,產生產卵潛力的比例。 作為一般規則,如果魚類能夠達到其自然壽命產卵量的至少20%,那麼漁業就可以維持生計。 不到那個,漁業將下降。 雖然20%是最小數量,但科學家們希望看到漁業實現30-50%的自然產卵。 帕勞的研究結果令人擔憂,表明60%的魚類捕撈量為少年,僅達到其一生產卵量的3-5%。 這樣做的後果很清楚:如果大多數魚沒有繁殖,在短時間內就不會有魚。

漁業管理人員和科學家一直在帕勞各地的社區會議上介紹該試點項目的結果。 利用數據提供的新知識,帕勞的北方漁業社區迅速採取行動,制定可以恢復魚類種群的管理戰略。

它有多成功?

參與該項目的每個人,從科學家到漁民,都樂觀地認為帕勞的珊瑚礁將很快走上復甦的道路,但仍需要進行管理和政策改革。 帕勞正朝著這個方向前進,制定政策,將漁業准入從現代開放獲取轉向以權利為基礎的系統,如珊瑚礁分配。 漁業管理人員正在努力整合漁業管理工具,例如最小和最大規模限制,保護關鍵產卵集合,以及將全國保護區網絡的設計改進其漁業管理戰略。 利益相關者正在努力在關鍵市場地點建立國家授權的漁業數據收集,以及使用改進的水下魚類監測方法的長期漁業監測計劃,該方法將提供數據有限的種群評估所需的數據。

作為帕勞股票評估項目的一部分測量魚的長度。 照片©Andrew Smith

作為帕勞股票評估項目的一部分測量魚的長度。 照片©Andrew Smith

最後,任何自然資源管理的成功在很大程度上取決於執法和合規性。 3月2014,大自然保護協會和WildAid合作為帕勞北礁設計了一個實用,實惠,可行的實施系統,在四年的時間內實施。 該系統為關鍵捕魚區,海洋保護區和通道提供戰略傳感器覆蓋。 該戰略將高功率攝像機和強大的VHF海洋無線電網絡與浮標,巡邏艦和浮動駁船的戰略佈局相結合,在整個海洋管理區域(MMA)中提供持續存在和快速響應能力。

經驗教訓和建議

  • 解決過度捕撈問題絕非易事 - 需要權衡和犧牲。
  • 管理選項範圍從施加大小限製到關閉區域一段時間,直到魚群可以反彈。 但是,當漁民參與評估問題並參與討論解決方案時,這些選擇往往會引起爭議並且難以解決,這些選擇更容易採用和應用。
  • 科學家和漁民之間的合作努力是該項目成功的關鍵。 帛源漁民豐富的知識和經驗有助於為科學進程提供信息,並提高社區對這一問題的認識。

資金摘要

大衛和露西爾帕卡德基金會
帕勞保護區網絡基金

牽頭組織

大自然保護協會
野生救援協會

合作夥伴

帕勞國際珊瑚礁中心
帕勞保護協會
海洋資源局
帕勞保護區網絡辦公室
默多克大學

資源

視頻:數據貧乏的漁業突破始於帕勞

por youjizz xmxx 老師xxx 性別

Palau – Fisheries Management


Reforming Palau’s Data-Poor Reef Fisheries through Community-Based Approaches

Location
Babeldaob, Ollei, Palau

Aerial view of Palau known as "70 Mile Islands" as well as the rich coral reef surrounding them. © Ian Shive

Aerial view of Palau known as “70 Mile Islands” as well as the rich coral reef surrounding them. © Ian Shive

The Challenge
Palau is composed of 12 inhabited islands and over 700 islets stretching over 700 km. It has numerous island and reef types, including volcanic and raised limestone islands, atolls, barrier reefs around much of the main island cluster, and fringing reefs in the south. Palau has the most diverse coral fauna of Micronesia, including approximately 400 species of hard corals, 300 species of soft corals, 1400 species of reef fishes, thousands of invertebrates, and Micronesia’s only saltwater crocodiles.

For centuries, Palau’s waters have provided sustenance. The Northern Reefs – the second largest fishing ground in Palau – are depended on by fishers and the surrounding communities for food, livelihoods, and income. In fact, Palauans have some of the highest per capita fish consumption compared to other regions in the Pacific. But modern fishing practices and a growing tourism industry have increased fishing pressures here. Even though Palau has a deeply-rooted conservation ethic and a large network of marine protected areas (MPAs), the increased fishing pressure has not been able to keep stocks sustainable, and there is a growing awareness that protected areas alone are insufficient to maintain viable fish populations.

To manage a fishery sustainably, it is necessary to have information about the stock: how many fish, what species, how quickly they grow and reproduce, and how many can be harvested without putting the fishery in danger of collapse. But traditional stock assessments are so expensive and resource intensive, requiring years of data collected by trained experts at a cost of hundreds of thousands of dollars or more per stock, that they are prohibitive for most fisheries, especially those in developing countries. And without the stock data to inform management decisions, data-poor fisheries like those in Palau’s Northern Reefs can easily become overfished, threatening the livelihoods and food security of the people who depend on them.

Mature gonads of an emperor fish caught for the Palau Stock Assessment Project. © Andrew Smith

Mature gonads of an emperor fish caught for the Palau Stock Assessment Project. © Andrew Smith

Actions Taken
In 2012, The Nature Conservancy established a pilot project in the Northern Reefs to assess stock status using data-limited stock assessment techniques, to improve fisheries management through a community-driven approach, and to rebuild fish stocks. From August 2012 to June 2013, trained fishers helped scientists collect data on species, size, and maturity for about 2,800 fish caught in Palau’s waters. They measured their own catch as well as fish for sale at the country’s only fish market, Happy Fish Market. Palauans like to buy their fish whole, so gutting market fish to assess gonads was not initially a welcome idea with the fish sellers at the Happy Fish Market, but a $300 ‘rental’ fee negotiated with the local women sellers gave researchers access to 600 pounds of fish for data collection – a fantastic resource that also provided an opportunity to discuss Palau’s overfishing problem with a broad community of fish sellers and buyers.

The data-poor technique relies on sample size ratios to assess how much spawning is happening and how much is enough. At its most basic, the technique uses two pieces of local data, size of fish and maturity of fish, combined with existing biological information, to produce a ratio of spawning potential. As a general rule, if fish can achieve at least 20% of their natural lifetime spawning, a fishery can sustain itself. Less than that and the fishery will decline. While 20% is the minimum number, scientists hope to see fisheries achieving 30–50% of natural spawning. The findings in Palau were worrisome, showing that 60% of fish catch were juvenile, achieving just 3–5% of their lifetime spawning. The consequences of this were clear: if most fish are not reproducing, in a short time there will be no more fish.

Fishery managers and scientists have been presenting the findings of the pilot project at community meetings across Palau. With the new knowledge provided by the data, Palau’s northern fishing communities have moved quickly toward developing management strategies that could restore fish populations.

Measuring fish length as part of the Palau Stock Assessment Project. © Andrew Smith

Measuring fish length as part of the Palau Stock Assessment Project. © Andrew Smith

How Successful Has It Been?
Everyone involved in the project, from scientists to fishers, are optimistic that Palau’s reefs will soon be on the road to recovery, but management and policy reforms are still needed. Palau is moving in this direction by developing policies that shift fishing access from modern open access to rights-based systems, such as reef assignment. Fishery managers are working to integrate fishery management tools, such as minimum and maximum size limits, protection of key spawning aggregations, and improvements in the design of the nationwide network of protected areas into their fishery management strategy. Stakeholders are striving to establish nationally mandated fishery data collection at key market locations as well as a long-term fishery monitoring program using improved underwater fish monitoring methods that will provide the data needed for data-limited stock assessments.

Finally, the success of any natural resource management depends greatly on enforcement and compliance. In March 2014, The Nature Conservancy and WildAid partnered to design an enforcement system for Palau’s Northern Reefs that is practical, affordable, and feasible to implement over a four-year time frame. The system provides strategic sensor coverage to key fishing areas, MPAs, and access ways. The strategy combines high-power video cameras and a robust VHF marine radio network with the strategic placement of buoys, patrol vessels, and a floating barge to provide a constant presence and fast response capacity throughout both Marine Managed Areas (MMAs).

Lessons Learned and Recommendations

  • Solving the overfishing problem is never easy – there are trade-offs and sacrifices.
  • Management options range from imposing size limits to closing areas for a certain length of time until fish populations can rebound. But these choices, which tend to be contentious and complicated to work out, are much easier to adopt and apply when fishers are part of assessing the problem and are engaged in discussing the solutions.
  • Cooperative effort between scientists and fishers has been key to the success of the project. Palauan fishers’ extensive knowledge and experience helped inform the scientific process and increase community awareness of the problem.

Funding Summary
The David and Lucile Packard Foundation
Palau Protected Areas Network Fund

Lead Organizations
The Nature Conservancy
WildAid

Partners
Palau International Coral Reef Center
Palau Conservation Society
Bureau of Marine Resources
Palau Protected Areas Network Office
Murdoch University

Resources
Video: A Breakthrough for Data-Poor Fisheries Starts in Palau

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone