الفوائد المشتركة لحماية تجمعات التفريخ السمكية تؤدي إلى الإدارة التعاونية

 

الموقع:

مقاطعة مانوس ، بابوا غينيا الجديدة

التحدي

تعد الشعاب المرجانية في بابوا غينيا الجديدة (PNG) من بين أكثر الأنواع تنوعًا في العالم ومصدر مهم للغذاء والدخل للمجتمعات. كم 40,0002 من الشعاب المرجانية تشكل موردا واسع النطاق يتم استغلاله بشكل شبه حصري من قبل صغار الحرفيين وصيادي الكفاف. على المستوى الوطني ، يعتقد أن المحاصيل أقل بكثير من الحد الأقصى المستدام للغلة. على الرغم من الصحة العامة لمصايد الأسماك في بابوا غينيا الجديدة ، فقد لوحظ الإفراط في الاستغلال المحلي ، لا سيما في مصائد الأسماك التي لديها إمكانية الوصول إلى أسواق النقد. تتعرض مجموعات تبيض الأسماك بشكل خاص حتى لضغط الصيد الخفيف ، الذي يمكن أن يكون له تأثير عميق على السكان الإنجابيين خلال فترة وجيزة ويقلل إلى حد كبير من الإنتاج التناسلي.

الشعاب المرجانية الصلبة الصحية مع أنثياس وكورال جروبر في موقع Killibob's Knob للغوص في خليج كيمبي في بابوا غينيا الجديدة. يحتوي مثلث المرجان على 75 في المئة من جميع الأنواع المرجانية المعروفة ، الملاجئ 40 في المئة من أنواع أسماك الشعاب المرجانية في العالم ، ويوفر 126 مليون شخص. الصورة © جيف يونوفر

شعاب مرجانية صلبة صحية مع Anthias و Coral Grouper في موقع الغوص Killibob's Knob في خليج Kimbe في بابوا غينيا الجديدة. يحتوي المثلث المرجاني على 75 في المائة من جميع أنواع الشعاب المرجانية المعروفة ، ويؤوي 40 في المائة من أنواع أسماك الشعاب المرجانية في العالم ويوفر احتياجات 126 مليون شخص. الصورة © جيف يونوفر

كما هو الحال في العديد من الدول المدارية الأخرى ، تتطلب إدارة مصايد الأسماك في بابوا غينيا الجديدة اتباع نهج مجتمعي لأن المناطق البحرية العرفية الصغيرة تحدد النطاق المكاني للإدارة. ومع ذلك ، فإن مصير اليرقات التي تنشأ من تجمع التفريخ السمكي في منطقة CMT في مجتمع ما غير معروف ، وبالتالي فإن الدرجة التي يمكن أن يتوقع المجتمع من إجراءات إدارتها لتجديد المصايد ضمن CMT الخاصة بهم غير واضحة. لذلك ، تعد المعلومات المتعلقة بتشتت اليرقات مهمة: إذا كانت اليرقات تشتت بأعداد كبيرة عبر مناطق الحيازة ، يمكن أن يوفر ذلك حافزًا قويًا للإدارة التعاونية بين المجتمعات المجاورة.

الإجراءات المتخذة

لفهم ديناميات تشتت يرقات الأسماك بشكل أفضل ، أجرى المجلس الأسترالي للأبحاث (ARC) و The Nature Conservancy (TNC) تحليلًا وراثيًا لقياس تشتت اليرقات من مجموعة واحدة من تفرخ الأسماك (FSA) لسمك المرجان (squaretail coralgrouper) (Plectropomus areolatus) في مانوس ، بابوا غينيا الجديدة. في 2004 ، لتجديد الأرصدة السمكية المحلية ، أنشأ الصيادون في منطقة CMT واحدة منطقة بحرية محمية (MPA) تحمي 13٪ من أراضي الصيد الخاصة بهم ، بما في ذلك FSA المدروسة. قام الباحثون والصيادون المحليون بأخذ عينات من هذا FSA على مدار أسابيع 2 في مايو 2010 وقاموا بجمع عينات من الأنسجة من 416 coralgroupers الكبار والموسومة خارجياً ، والتي مثلت 43٪ تقديريًا من سكان FSA.

عالِم بحري للحفظ ، أليسون جرين ، يقوم بمسح المرجان خلال تقييم بيئي سريع (REA) في منطقة مقاطعة مانوس ، بحر بسمارك الشمالي ، بابوا غينيا الجديدة. تعد الشعاب المرجانية في بابوا غينيا الجديدة (PNG) من بين أكثر الأنواع تنوعًا في العالم ومصدر مهم للغذاء والدخل للمجتمعات. الصورة © لويز غوغين

على مدار أسابيع 6 (نوفمبر - ديسمبر 2010) ، تم جمع صانعي المرجان للأحداث من 782 من الشعاب المرجانية 66 من داخل منطقة CMT وأربعة مناطق أخرى حول CMT حتى 33 من عينات FSA. حدد التحليل أحداث 76 من الشعاب 25 التي كانت ذرية البالغين الذين تم أخذ عينات منهم في هيئة الرقابة المالية.

حدد الباحثون كيف تساهم اليرقات المنتشرة من المرجان FSA في التوظيف في منطقة CMT المحيطة وأربعة مناطق CMT مجاورة. وجدوا أن 17-25٪ من التوظيف في منطقة CMT التي تحتوي على عينات FSA جاءت من نفس FSA وأنه في كل من مناطق CMT الأربعة المجاورة ، كانت 6 - 17٪ من التوظيف أيضًا من FSA المعيّنة. أخيرًا ، تتوقع نماذج التشتت المستندة إلى هذه البيانات أن 50٪ من اليرقات ستستقر ضمن 13 km و 95٪ داخل 33 km من FSA.

موقع ووفرة الأحداث التي تم أخذ عينات منها والمخصصين لها: الأنماط المكانية لمجموعة الهامور المرجانية (A) وجمع عينات الأحداث (B). يتم تحجيم الدوائر الخضراء (A) والأصفر (B) إلى عدد الأحداث. تم أخذ عينات من البالغين من خلال تجمع واحد لإنتاج الأسماك (الصليب الأحمر) ، وتم جمع الأحداث من الشعاب الفردية 66 (الدوائر الخضراء في A). تظهر الخطوط المتقطعة البيضاء حدود الحيازة البحرية المعتادة للمجتمعات الخمسة ، مع اسم كل مجتمع باللون الأبيض (أ). الأرض سوداء ، والشعاب المرجانية رمادية اللون ، والماء أزرق (الماني وآخرون 2013).

ما مدى نجاح ذلك؟

تم تقديم النتائج والتوصيات النهائية لهذه الدراسة في نوفمبر 2011 إلى جميع المجتمعات الخمس التي شاركت في البحث وكذلك في Mbuke ، أكبر مجتمع بين الجزر البحرية إلى الجنوب من منطقة الدراسة. الاستنتاجات الرئيسية الثلاثة لهذا العمل هي:

  • يمكن أن تساعد المناطق الصغيرة المدارة التي تحمي مضادات الميكروبات على إعادة بناء مصايد أسماك الكورغر في المجتمع والمحافظة عليها لأن العديد من اليرقات تبقى قريبة من هذه المنطقة.
  • تمثل مصايد أسماك المرجان مخزونة كبيرة واحدة يمكن إدارتها بشكل جماعي لأن بعض اليرقات والأسماك تنتقل عبر حدود CMT.
  • تتشابه نتائج دراسة المرجان مع نتائج الدراسات الأخرى التي أجريت على كل من الأنواع السمكية وغير السمكية ، والتي تشير جميعها إلى أن بعض اليرقات لا تسافر إلا مسافة قصيرة من والديها.

تشير هذه النتائج إلى أن الإدارة المجتمعية يمكن أن توفر بالتأكيد فوائد محلية لبعض الأنواع السمكية ، وربما لمجموعة واسعة من الأنواع السمكية.

في وقت الدراسة ، لم يكن هناك إطار عمل رسمي لدعم الإدارة الجماعية. اتخذت المجتمعات تقليديًا قرارات مستقلة حول مصايد الأسماك في منطقة CMT. ومع ذلك ، رأى العديد من أفراد المجتمع على الفور القيمة في الإدارة الجماعية لمصايد الأسماك المجتمعية بعد تقديم نتائج هذه الدراسة. هذه المجتمعات التي تدعم الإدارة الجماعية ، والتي تتألف من ثمانية مناطق تيتان قبلية بما في ذلك مناطق CMT الخمسة التي شاركت في دراسة coralgrouper ، أرسلت قادة 70 إلى تجمع في يونيو 2013 لتأسيس شبكة تنمية موارد Manus Endras Asi رسميًا.

تحتوي المناطق القبلية الثمانية في الشبكة على أكثر من 10,000 من الأشخاص المنتشرين في حوالي ثلث مقاطعة Manus (~ 73,000 km2 المحيط). أُنشئت الشبكة حول الحدود الاجتماعية والثقافية الحالية ، حيث يشارك جميع الأعضاء لغة مشتركة (تيتان) ، ودين مشترك (ريح الأمة) ، وثقافة بحرية. تتضمن بعض الاستراتيجيات التي تستخدمها الشبكة لتحقيق مهمتها: الدعوة إلى التنمية العادلة والمستدامة ودعمها لتحسين سبل العيش ؛ الحفاظ على التراث الثقافي ؛ تطوير منتدى تعليمي لتبادل الخبرات بين أعضاء الشبكة لبناء القدرات المحلية ؛ تحسين قدرة المجتمعات على مواجهة تغير المناخ من خلال مشاريع مجتمعية ؛ دعم الشراكات البحثية بين المجتمعات والعلماء الذين يستفيدون منها ؛ وإنشاء شبكة من المناطق المدارة والمحمية.

زورق الصيد للجزيرة والأطفال في منطقة مقاطعة مانوس ، بحر بسمارك الشمالي ، بابوا غينيا الجديدة. الصورة © لويز غوغين

منذ إنشائها في يونيو 2013 ، وضعت الشبكة ووقعت ميثاقًا رسميًا يؤسس نفسه كشركة تجارية مسجلة ، ووضع خطة استراتيجية ووافق عليها ، وأقام علاقة رسمية مع الهيئة الوطنية لمصايد الأسماك في بابوا غينيا الجديدة لتنسيق المصايد نشاطات الادارة. وكانت النتيجة الأخيرة لهذا الرابط مع NFA هي تعهد من NFA لتوفير أجهزة تجميع أسماك المياه الضحلة (FADs) لكل مجتمع في الشبكة لتقليل ضغط الصيد على الشعاب المرجانية.

في اجتماع شبكة 2014 لشهر سبتمبر ، وافق مجلس رؤساء القبائل ، بصفته ممثلين لمناطقهم القبلية ، على إنشاء نظام شامل للمناطق المدارة والمحمية في جميع أنحاء المنطقة الواقعة تحت ولاية الشبكة. يتمثل الهدفان الرئيسيان لهذا النظام في المناطق المدارة والمحمية في ضمان استدامة مجموعة من الموارد السمكية وحماية مواقع التراث الثقافي. تشمل الخطوات التالية ورشة عمل للتخطيط التشاركي لدمج أولويات المجتمع وأهداف الحفظ والمعارف المحلية والبيانات العلمية في خطة شاملة للإدارة المكانية للمنطقة.

الدروس المستفادة والتوصيات

  • إن زيادة التعاون بين المجتمعات في إدارة مصايد الأسماك تعود بالفائدة على مجتمعات الأسماك والمجتمعات.
  • ستؤثر الإجراءات التي يتخذها أحد المجتمعات على جيرانه ، ومن المرجح أن يعزز التعاون بين المجتمعات المحلية في إدارة مصايد الأسماك من استدامة مصايد الأسماك واستمرار تجمعات الأسماك على المدى الطويل.
  • ستنخفض قوة الاتصال بين الشعاب المرجانية مع زيادة المسافة بينهما ، وانتشار اليرقات المترجمة أمر شائع في أسماك الشعاب المرجانية.
  • قد يوفر حل أنماط تشتت اليرقات وعلاقتها بالتوظيف حجة مقنعة للإدارة التعاونية.
  • قد توفر قرارات إدارة مصايد الأسماك بشأن حجم وتباعد المناطق البحرية المحمية فوائد لمجموعة من الأنواع في وقت واحد.

ملخص التمويل

يفتح في نافذة جديدةمركز التميز التابع لمجلس البحوث الأسترالي لدراسات الشعاب المرجانية
يفتح في نافذة جديدةمؤسسة ديفيد ولوسيل باكارد
رودني جونسون / كاثرين أوردواي
يفتح في نافذة جديدةالمؤسسة الوطنية للأسماك والحياة البرية

المنظمات الرائدة

مركز التميز التابع لمجلس البحوث الأسترالي لدراسات الشعاب المرجانية
يفتح في نافذة جديدةحفظ الطبيعة

شركاؤنا

يفتح في نافذة جديدةجامعة جيمس كوك
يفتح في نافذة جديدةجامعة الملك عبدالله للعلوم والتقنية
يفتح في نافذة جديدةجامعة هاواي في هيلو
يفتح في نافذة جديدةمؤسسة وودز هول لعلوم المحيطات

المصادر

يفتح في نافذة جديدةفيديو: تشتت اليرقات وتأثيرها على إدارة المصايد

يفتح في نافذة جديدةالفوائد المحلية للإدارة المجتمعية: استخدام المناطق الصغيرة المدارة لإعادة بناء بعض المصايد الساحلية والحفاظ عليهايفتح ملف PDF

يفتح في نافذة جديدةتشتت يرقات الهامور في تقاسم الموارد المحلية في مصايد أسماك الشعاب المرجانيةيفتح ملف PDF

بورنو youjizz كسكسكسكسكس المعلم الثلاثون الجنس
Translate »

Papua New Guinea – Fisheries Management


Shared Benefits of Protecting Fish Spawning Aggregations Lead to Cooperative Management

Location
Manus Province, Papua New Guinea

Healthy Hard Coral Reef with Anthias and Coral Grouper at Killibob's Knob dive site in Kimbe Bay of Papua New Guinea. The Coral Triangle contains 75 percent of all known coral species, shelters 40 percent of the world’s reef fish species and provides for 126 million people. © Jeff Yonover

Healthy Hard Coral Reef with Anthias and Coral Grouper at Killibob’s Knob dive site in Kimbe Bay of Papua New Guinea. The Coral Triangle contains 75 percent of all known coral species, shelters 40 percent of the world’s reef fish species and provides for 126 million people. © Jeff Yonover

The Challenge
The coral reefs of Papua New Guinea (PNG) are among the most species-diverse in the world and an important source of food and income for communities. The 40,000 km2 of coral reefs form an extensive resource that is exploited almost exclusively by small-scale artisanal and subsistence fishers. On a national level, harvests are thought to be well below the maximum sustainable yield. Despite the overall health of the PNG fishery, local over-exploitation has been noted, particularly in fisheries with access to cash markets. Fish spawning aggregations are particularly vulnerable even to light fishing pressure, which can have a profound impact on the reproductive population over a brief period and substantially reduce reproductive output.

As in many other tropical nations, fishery management in Papua New Guinea requires a community-based approach because small customary marine tenure (CMT) areas define the spatial scale of management. However, the fate of larvae originating from a fish spawning aggregation in a community’s CMT area is unknown, and thus the degree to which a community can expect their management actions to replenish the fisheries within their CMT is unclear. Therefore, information on larval dispersion is important: if larvae disperse in large numbers across tenure areas, this can provide a strong impetus for cooperative management between adjacent communities.

Conservancy marine scientist, Alison Green surveying coral during a rapid ecological assessment (REA) in the area of Manus Province, North Bismarck Sea, Papua New Guinea. The coral reefs of Papua New Guinea (PNG) are among the most species-diverse in the world and an important source of food and income for communities. © Louise Goggin

Conservancy marine scientist, Alison Green surveying coral during a rapid ecological assessment (REA) in the area of Manus Province, North Bismarck Sea, Papua New Guinea. The coral reefs of Papua New Guinea (PNG) are among the most species-diverse in the world and an important source of food and income for communities. © Louise Goggin

Actions Taken
To better understand the dispersal dynamics of fish larvae, The Australian Research Council (ARC) and The Nature Conservancy (TNC) conducted a genetic analysis to measure larval dispersal from a single fish spawning aggregation (FSA) of squaretail coralgrouper (Plectropomus areolatus) at Manus, Papua New Guinea. In 2004, to replenish local fish stocks, fishers within a single CMT area established a marine protected area (MPA) protecting 13% of their fishing grounds, including the studied FSA. Researchers and local fishers sampled this FSA over 2 weeks in May 2010 and collected tissue samples from, and externally tagged, 416 adult coralgroupers, which represented an estimated 43% of the FSA population.

Over 6 weeks (November–December 2010), 782 juvenile coralgroupers from 66 reefs were collected from within the CMT area and four other surrounding CMT areas up to 33 km from the sampled FSA. The analysis identified 76 juveniles from 25 reefs that were the offspring of adults sampled at the FSA.

Researchers quantified how larvae dispersing from the coralgrouper FSA contribute to recruitment in the surrounding CMT area and four adjacent CMT areas. They found that 17–25% of recruitment to the CMT area that contains the sampled FSA came from that same FSA and that in each of the four adjacent CMT areas, 6–17% of recruitment was also from the sampled FSA. Finally, the dispersal models based on these data predict that 50% of larvae will settle within 13 km and 95% within 33 km of the FSA.

Location and abundance of sampled and assigned juveniles: spatial patterns of coral grouper (A) juvenile sample collection and (B) juvenile parentage assignments. Green (A) and yellow (B) circles are scaled to the number of juveniles. Adults were sampled from a single fish spawning aggregation (red cross), and juveniles were collected from 66 individual reefs (green circles in A). White dashed lines show the customary marine tenure boundaries of the five communities, with the name of each community in white (A). Land is black, coral reefs are gray, and water is blue (Almany et al. 2013).

Location and abundance of sampled and assigned juveniles: spatial patterns of coral grouper (A) juvenile sample collection and (B) juvenile parentage assignments. Green (A) and yellow (B) circles are scaled to the number of juveniles. Adults were sampled from a single fish spawning aggregation (red cross), and juveniles were collected from 66 individual reefs (green circles in A). White dashed lines show the customary marine tenure boundaries of the five communities, with the name of each community in white (A). Land is black, coral reefs are gray, and water is blue (Almany et al. 2013).

How Successful Has It Been?
The final results and recommendations of this study were presented in November 2011 to all five communities that participated in the research as well as in Mbuke, the largest community among the offshore islands to the south of the study area. The three main conclusions from this work are:

  • Small, managed areas that protect FSAs can help rebuild and sustain a community’s coralgrouper fishery because many larvae stay close to the FSA.
  • The coralgrouper fishery represents one large stock that would be better managed collectively because some larvae and fish travel across CMT boundaries.
  • The results of the coralgrouper study are similar to results from other studies on both fishery and non-fishery species, all of which suggest that some larvae only travel short distances from their parents.

These results suggest that community-based management can definitely provide local benefits for some fishery species, and possibly for a wide range of fishery species.

At the time of the study, there was no formal framework in place to support collective management. Communities had traditionally made independent decisions about the fisheries within their CMT area. However, many community members immediately saw the value in collective community-based fisheries management after the results of this study were presented. Those communities in support of collective management, which consisted of eight Titan tribal areas including the five CMT areas that participated in the coralgrouper study, sent 70 leaders to a gathering in June 2013 to officially establish the Manus Endras Asi Resource Development Network.

Island fishing boats and children in the area of Manus Province, North Bismarck Sea, Papua New Guinea. © Louise Goggin

Island fishing boats and children in the area of Manus Province, North Bismarck Sea, Papua New Guinea. © Louise Goggin

The eight tribal areas of the network contain more than 10,000 people spread across approximately a third of Manus province (~73,000 km2 of ocean). The network was established around existing sociocultural boundaries, with all members sharing a common language (Titan), common religion (Wind Nation), and a maritime culture. Some strategies the network used for achieving its mission include: advocating for and supporting equitable and sustainable development to improve livelihoods; preservation of cultural heritage; developing a learning forum to share experiences among network members to build local capacity; improving communities’ resilience to climate change through community-based projects; supporting research partnerships between communities and scientists that benefit communities; and establishing a network of managed and protected areas.

Since its inception in June 2013, the network has crafted and signed an official charter establishing itself as a registered business, developed and agreed on a strategic plan, and established a formal relationship with the Papua New Guinea National Fisheries Authority (NFA) to coordinate fisheries management activities. A recent outcome of this link with NFA has been a pledge from NFA to provide shallow water fish aggregating devices (FADs) to each community in the network to reduce fishing pressure on reefs.

At the September 2014 network meeting, the Tribal Council of Chiefs, acting as representatives of their tribal areas, approved the establishment of a comprehensive system of managed and protected areas across the entire area under the network’s jurisdiction. The two main goals of this system of managed and protected areas are to ensure the sustainability of a range of fishery resources and to protect cultural heritage sites. Next steps include a participatory planning workshop to integrate community priorities and conservation targets, local knowledge, and scientific data into a comprehensive spatial management plan for the area.

Lessons Learned and Recommendations

  • Increased cooperation between communities in managing their fisheries benefits both fish populations and communities.
  • Actions taken by one community will influence its neighbors, and cooperation among communities in managing a fishery is likely to enhance both fisheries sustainability and the long-term persistence of fish meta-populations.
  • The strength of connectivity between coral reefs will decline as the distance between them increases, and localized larvae dispersal is common in coral reef fishes.
  • Resolving larval dispersal patterns and their relationship to recruitment may provide a compelling argument for cooperative management.
  • Fisheries management decisions on the size and spacing of marine protected areas may provide benefits to a range of species simultaneously.

Funding Summary
Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for Coral Reef Studies
The David and Lucile Packard Foundation
The Nature Conservancy’s Rodney Johnson/Katherine Ordway Stewardship Endowment
National Fish and Wildlife Foundation

Lead Organizations
Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for Coral Reef Studies
The Nature Conservancy

Partners
James Cook University
King Abdullah University of Science and Technology
The University of Hawaii at Hilo
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Resources
Video: Larval dispersal and its influence on fisheries management

Local Benefits of Community-based Management: Using Small Managed Areas to Rebuild and Sustain Some Coastal Fisheries (pdf)

Dispersal of Grouper Larvae Drives Local Resource Sharing in a Coral Reef Fishery (pdf)

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone