保護魚類產卵聚集的共同利益導致合作管理

 

地區

巴布亞新幾內亞馬努斯省

所面臨的挑戰

巴布亞新幾內亞(PNG)的珊瑚礁是世界上物種最多樣化的珊瑚礁之一,也是社區的重要食物和收入來源。 40,000公里2 珊瑚礁形成了一種廣泛的資源,幾乎完全由小規模的手工和生存漁民開發。 在國家層面,收成被認為遠低於最大可持續產量。 儘管巴布亞新幾內亞漁業總體健康,但已經註意​​到當地的過度開發,特別是在可以進入現金市場的漁業中。 即使是輕度捕撈壓力,魚類產卵聚集也特別脆弱,這可能在短期內對生殖種群產生深遠影響,並大大降低繁殖產量。

健康的硬珊瑚礁與Anthias和珊瑚石斑魚位於巴布亞新幾內亞金貝灣的Killibob旋鈕潛水點。 珊瑚三角區包含所有已知珊瑚物種的75百分比,為世界珊瑚魚物種的40百分比提供棲息地,並為126百萬人提供。 照片©Jeff Yonover

在巴布亞新幾內亞金貝灣的基利博布的旋鈕潛水點,與Anthias和Coral石斑魚共處健康堅硬的珊瑚礁。 珊瑚三角地區包含所有已知珊瑚物種的75%,庇護著世界40%的珊瑚魚,為126億人提供了生活。 照片©Jeff Yonover

與許多其他熱帶國家一樣,巴布亞新幾內亞的漁業管理需要以社區為基礎的方法,因為小的習慣海洋保有權(CMT)區域定義了管理的空間規模。 然而,源自社區CMT區域的魚類產卵聚集的幼蟲的命運是未知的,因此社區可以期望其管理行動在其CMT內補充漁業的程度尚不清楚。 因此,關於幼蟲分散的信息很重要:如果幼蟲在任期區域大量分散,這可以為相鄰社區之間的合作管理提供強有力的推動力。

所採取的行動

為了更好地了解魚類幼體的分散動態,澳大利亞研究委員會(ARC)和大自然保護協會(TNC)進行了一項遺傳分析,以測量方尾珊瑚魚的單一魚類產卵聚集體(FSA)的幼蟲傳播(Plectropomus areolatus)在巴布亞新幾內亞的馬努斯。 在2004,為補充當地魚類資源,單一CMT區域內的漁民建立了海洋保護區(MPA),保護其漁場的13%,包括研究的FSA。 研究人員和當地漁民在5月2的2010週內對此FSA進行了抽樣,並收集了416成人珊瑚群的組織樣本,並對其進行了外部標記,這代表了FSA人口的43%。

保護海洋科學家,艾莉森格林在巴布亞新幾內亞北俾斯麥海馬努斯省地區的快速生態評估(REA)期間測量珊瑚。 巴布亞新幾內亞(PNG)的珊瑚礁是世界上物種最多樣化的珊瑚礁之一,也是社區的重要食物和收入來源。 照片©Louise Goggin

在6週(11月至12月2010),782珊瑚礁的66幼魚珊瑚群從CMT區域和其他四個CMT區域收集,距離採樣的FSA最多33 km。 該分析鑑定了來自76珊瑚礁的25幼魚,這些幼蟲是在FSA取樣的成蟲的後代。

研究人員量化了從珊瑚群FSA分散的幼蟲如何促進周圍CMT區域和四個相鄰CMT區域的募集。 他們發現,包含採樣FSA的CMT區域的17-25%招募來自相同的FSA,並且在四個相鄰CMT區域的每一個中,6-17%的招募也來自採樣的FSA。 最後,基於這些數據的分散模型預測,幼蟲的50%將在13 km內穩定,95%在FSA的33 km內。

抽樣和分配青少年的位置和數量:珊瑚石斑魚的空間格局(A)幼年樣本收集和(B)青少年親子分配。 綠色(A)和黃色(B)圓圈按比例縮放到幼魚數量。 從單一魚類產卵聚集體(紅十字)中取樣成蟲,並從66個體珊瑚礁(A中的綠色圓圈)收集幼體。 白色虛線表示五個社區的習慣海洋保有權邊界,每個社區的名稱為白色(A)。 土地是黑色的,珊瑚礁是灰色的,水是藍色的(Almany等人,2013)。

它有多成功?

本研究的最終結果和建議於11月2011向參與該研究的所有五個社區以及研究區南部近海島嶼中最大的社區Mbuke提出。 這項工作的三個主要結論是:

  • 保護FSA的小型管理區域可以幫助重建和維持社區的珊瑚礁漁業,因為許多幼蟲靠近FSA。
  • 珊瑚礁漁業代表了一種大型種群,可以更好地管理,因為一些幼蟲和魚類穿越CMT邊界。
  • 珊瑚魚群研究的結果與漁業和非漁業物種的其他研究結果相似,所有這些研究都表明,一些幼蟲只能從父母那里短途旅行。

這些結果表明,基於社區的管理肯定能為一些漁業物種提供當地利益,並可能為各種漁業物種提供當地利益。

在研究期間,沒有正式的框架來支持集體管理。 傳統上,社區對其CMT區域內的漁業做出了獨立決策。 然而,在本研究結果出爐後,許多社區成員立即看到了集體社區漁業管理的價​​值。 那些支持集體管理的社區,包括八個泰坦部落地區,包括參與珊瑚礁研究的五個CMT地區,已派遣70領導人參加6月2013的聚會,正式建立Manus Endras Asi資源開發網絡。

該網絡的八個部落區域包含的10,000人數超過馬努斯省約三分之一(~73,000 km)2 海洋)。 該網絡圍繞現有的社會文化邊界建立,所有成員共享共同語言(泰坦),共同宗教(風國)和海洋文化。 網絡用於實現其使命的一些戰略包括:倡導和支持公平和可持續發展以改善生計; 保護文化遺產; 開發一個學習論壇,分享網絡成員之間的經驗,以建立當地的能力; 通過社區項目提高社區對氣候變化的抵禦能力; 支持使社區受益的社區和科學家之間的研究夥 建立管理和保護區網絡。

島嶼漁船和兒童在馬努斯省,北俾斯麥海,巴布亞新幾內亞地區。 照片©Louise Goggin

自6月2013成立以來,該網絡已經制定並簽署了一份官方章程,將自己定位為註冊企業,制定並商定了戰略計劃,並與巴布亞新幾內亞國家漁業局(NFA)建立了正式關係,以協調漁業管理活動。 最近與NFA建立聯繫的結果是NFA承諾向網絡中的每個社區提供淺水魚聚集裝置(FAD),以減少對珊瑚礁的捕撈壓力。

在9月2014網絡會議上,作為其部落地區代表的部落酋長委員會批准在該網絡管轄範圍內的整個地區建立一個管理和保護區域的綜合系統。 這一管理和保護區系統的兩個主要目標是確保一系列漁業資源的可持續性並保護文化遺產地。 接下來的步驟包括參與式規劃研討會,將社區優先事項和保護目標,當地知識和科學數據納入該地區的綜合空間管理計劃。

經驗教訓和建議

  • 加強社區之間在漁業管理方面的合作有利於魚類種群和社區。
  • 一個社區採取的行動將影響其鄰國,社區之間在管理漁業方面的合作可能會提高漁業可持續性和魚類元群的長期持續性。
  • 隨著它們之間的距離增加,珊瑚礁之間連通性的強度將下降,並且珊瑚礁魚類中常見的幼蟲分散是常見的。
  • 解決幼蟲傳播模式及其與招募的關係可能​​為合作管理提供了令人信服的理由。
  • 關於海洋保護區大小和間距的漁業管理決定可同時為一系列物種帶來益處。

資金摘要

在新窗口中打開澳大利亞研究理事會珊瑚礁研究卓越中心
在新窗口中打開大衛和露西爾帕卡德基金會
大自然保護協會的Rodney Johnson / Katherine Ordway管家捐贈基金會
在新窗口中打開國家魚類和野生動物基金會

牽頭組織

澳大利亞研究理事會珊瑚礁研究卓越中心
在新窗口中打開大自然保護協會

合作夥伴

在新窗口中打開詹姆斯庫克大學
在新窗口中打開阿卜杜拉國王科技大學
在新窗口中打開希洛夏威夷大學
在新窗口中打開伍茲霍爾海洋學研究所

資源

在新窗口中打開視頻:幼蟲傳播及其對漁業管理的影響

在新窗口中打開社區管理的地方利益:利用小型管理區域重建和維持一些沿海漁​​業打開PDF文件

在新窗口中打開石斑魚幼蟲的分散推動了珊瑚礁漁業的本地資源共享打開PDF文件

por youjizz xmxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Papua New Guinea – Fisheries Management


Shared Benefits of Protecting Fish Spawning Aggregations Lead to Cooperative Management

Location
Manus Province, Papua New Guinea

Healthy Hard Coral Reef with Anthias and Coral Grouper at Killibob's Knob dive site in Kimbe Bay of Papua New Guinea. The Coral Triangle contains 75 percent of all known coral species, shelters 40 percent of the world’s reef fish species and provides for 126 million people. © Jeff Yonover

Healthy Hard Coral Reef with Anthias and Coral Grouper at Killibob’s Knob dive site in Kimbe Bay of Papua New Guinea. The Coral Triangle contains 75 percent of all known coral species, shelters 40 percent of the world’s reef fish species and provides for 126 million people. © Jeff Yonover

The Challenge
The coral reefs of Papua New Guinea (PNG) are among the most species-diverse in the world and an important source of food and income for communities. The 40,000 km2 of coral reefs form an extensive resource that is exploited almost exclusively by small-scale artisanal and subsistence fishers. On a national level, harvests are thought to be well below the maximum sustainable yield. Despite the overall health of the PNG fishery, local over-exploitation has been noted, particularly in fisheries with access to cash markets. Fish spawning aggregations are particularly vulnerable even to light fishing pressure, which can have a profound impact on the reproductive population over a brief period and substantially reduce reproductive output.

As in many other tropical nations, fishery management in Papua New Guinea requires a community-based approach because small customary marine tenure (CMT) areas define the spatial scale of management. However, the fate of larvae originating from a fish spawning aggregation in a community’s CMT area is unknown, and thus the degree to which a community can expect their management actions to replenish the fisheries within their CMT is unclear. Therefore, information on larval dispersion is important: if larvae disperse in large numbers across tenure areas, this can provide a strong impetus for cooperative management between adjacent communities.

Conservancy marine scientist, Alison Green surveying coral during a rapid ecological assessment (REA) in the area of Manus Province, North Bismarck Sea, Papua New Guinea. The coral reefs of Papua New Guinea (PNG) are among the most species-diverse in the world and an important source of food and income for communities. © Louise Goggin

Conservancy marine scientist, Alison Green surveying coral during a rapid ecological assessment (REA) in the area of Manus Province, North Bismarck Sea, Papua New Guinea. The coral reefs of Papua New Guinea (PNG) are among the most species-diverse in the world and an important source of food and income for communities. © Louise Goggin

Actions Taken
To better understand the dispersal dynamics of fish larvae, The Australian Research Council (ARC) and The Nature Conservancy (TNC) conducted a genetic analysis to measure larval dispersal from a single fish spawning aggregation (FSA) of squaretail coralgrouper (Plectropomus areolatus) at Manus, Papua New Guinea. In 2004, to replenish local fish stocks, fishers within a single CMT area established a marine protected area (MPA) protecting 13% of their fishing grounds, including the studied FSA. Researchers and local fishers sampled this FSA over 2 weeks in May 2010 and collected tissue samples from, and externally tagged, 416 adult coralgroupers, which represented an estimated 43% of the FSA population.

Over 6 weeks (November–December 2010), 782 juvenile coralgroupers from 66 reefs were collected from within the CMT area and four other surrounding CMT areas up to 33 km from the sampled FSA. The analysis identified 76 juveniles from 25 reefs that were the offspring of adults sampled at the FSA.

Researchers quantified how larvae dispersing from the coralgrouper FSA contribute to recruitment in the surrounding CMT area and four adjacent CMT areas. They found that 17–25% of recruitment to the CMT area that contains the sampled FSA came from that same FSA and that in each of the four adjacent CMT areas, 6–17% of recruitment was also from the sampled FSA. Finally, the dispersal models based on these data predict that 50% of larvae will settle within 13 km and 95% within 33 km of the FSA.

Location and abundance of sampled and assigned juveniles: spatial patterns of coral grouper (A) juvenile sample collection and (B) juvenile parentage assignments. Green (A) and yellow (B) circles are scaled to the number of juveniles. Adults were sampled from a single fish spawning aggregation (red cross), and juveniles were collected from 66 individual reefs (green circles in A). White dashed lines show the customary marine tenure boundaries of the five communities, with the name of each community in white (A). Land is black, coral reefs are gray, and water is blue (Almany et al. 2013).

Location and abundance of sampled and assigned juveniles: spatial patterns of coral grouper (A) juvenile sample collection and (B) juvenile parentage assignments. Green (A) and yellow (B) circles are scaled to the number of juveniles. Adults were sampled from a single fish spawning aggregation (red cross), and juveniles were collected from 66 individual reefs (green circles in A). White dashed lines show the customary marine tenure boundaries of the five communities, with the name of each community in white (A). Land is black, coral reefs are gray, and water is blue (Almany et al. 2013).

How Successful Has It Been?
The final results and recommendations of this study were presented in November 2011 to all five communities that participated in the research as well as in Mbuke, the largest community among the offshore islands to the south of the study area. The three main conclusions from this work are:

  • Small, managed areas that protect FSAs can help rebuild and sustain a community’s coralgrouper fishery because many larvae stay close to the FSA.
  • The coralgrouper fishery represents one large stock that would be better managed collectively because some larvae and fish travel across CMT boundaries.
  • The results of the coralgrouper study are similar to results from other studies on both fishery and non-fishery species, all of which suggest that some larvae only travel short distances from their parents.

These results suggest that community-based management can definitely provide local benefits for some fishery species, and possibly for a wide range of fishery species.

At the time of the study, there was no formal framework in place to support collective management. Communities had traditionally made independent decisions about the fisheries within their CMT area. However, many community members immediately saw the value in collective community-based fisheries management after the results of this study were presented. Those communities in support of collective management, which consisted of eight Titan tribal areas including the five CMT areas that participated in the coralgrouper study, sent 70 leaders to a gathering in June 2013 to officially establish the Manus Endras Asi Resource Development Network.

Island fishing boats and children in the area of Manus Province, North Bismarck Sea, Papua New Guinea. © Louise Goggin

Island fishing boats and children in the area of Manus Province, North Bismarck Sea, Papua New Guinea. © Louise Goggin

The eight tribal areas of the network contain more than 10,000 people spread across approximately a third of Manus province (~73,000 km2 of ocean). The network was established around existing sociocultural boundaries, with all members sharing a common language (Titan), common religion (Wind Nation), and a maritime culture. Some strategies the network used for achieving its mission include: advocating for and supporting equitable and sustainable development to improve livelihoods; preservation of cultural heritage; developing a learning forum to share experiences among network members to build local capacity; improving communities’ resilience to climate change through community-based projects; supporting research partnerships between communities and scientists that benefit communities; and establishing a network of managed and protected areas.

Since its inception in June 2013, the network has crafted and signed an official charter establishing itself as a registered business, developed and agreed on a strategic plan, and established a formal relationship with the Papua New Guinea National Fisheries Authority (NFA) to coordinate fisheries management activities. A recent outcome of this link with NFA has been a pledge from NFA to provide shallow water fish aggregating devices (FADs) to each community in the network to reduce fishing pressure on reefs.

At the September 2014 network meeting, the Tribal Council of Chiefs, acting as representatives of their tribal areas, approved the establishment of a comprehensive system of managed and protected areas across the entire area under the network’s jurisdiction. The two main goals of this system of managed and protected areas are to ensure the sustainability of a range of fishery resources and to protect cultural heritage sites. Next steps include a participatory planning workshop to integrate community priorities and conservation targets, local knowledge, and scientific data into a comprehensive spatial management plan for the area.

Lessons Learned and Recommendations

  • Increased cooperation between communities in managing their fisheries benefits both fish populations and communities.
  • Actions taken by one community will influence its neighbors, and cooperation among communities in managing a fishery is likely to enhance both fisheries sustainability and the long-term persistence of fish meta-populations.
  • The strength of connectivity between coral reefs will decline as the distance between them increases, and localized larvae dispersal is common in coral reef fishes.
  • Resolving larval dispersal patterns and their relationship to recruitment may provide a compelling argument for cooperative management.
  • Fisheries management decisions on the size and spacing of marine protected areas may provide benefits to a range of species simultaneously.

Funding Summary
Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for Coral Reef Studies
The David and Lucile Packard Foundation
The Nature Conservancy’s Rodney Johnson/Katherine Ordway Stewardship Endowment
National Fish and Wildlife Foundation

Lead Organizations
Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for Coral Reef Studies
The Nature Conservancy

Partners
James Cook University
King Abdullah University of Science and Technology
The University of Hawaii at Hilo
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Resources
Video: Larval dispersal and its influence on fisheries management

Local Benefits of Community-based Management: Using Small Managed Areas to Rebuild and Sustain Some Coastal Fisheries (pdf)

Dispersal of Grouper Larvae Drives Local Resource Sharing in a Coral Reef Fishery (pdf)

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone