تأسيس منتزه مان أوف شولز البحري في سينت مارتن ، الكاريبي

 

الموقع:

سانت مارتن / سانت مارتن ، جزر الهند الغربية

التحدي

تنقسم جزيرة سانت مارتن / سانت مارتن ، في جزر الهند الغربية ، بين سانت مارتن الفرنسية في الشمال (53 km2) و Sint Maarten الهولندية في الجنوب (34 km2). سانت مارتن هو جزء من مملكة هولندا. يحيط بالجزيرة حوالي 20 كم2 من الشعاب المرجانية.

الشعاب المرجانية في سانت مارتن. الصورة © مؤسسة الطبيعة سانت مارتن

شهدت سانت مارتن أول طفرة سياحية بدأت في 1960s ، عندما تم إغلاق كوبا لأول مرة للسياحة. تعد St. Maarten الآن واحدة من أكبر المراكز السياحية في جزر الهند الغربية بحوالي 85٪ من القوى العاملة العاملة في السياحة أو الصناعات المرتبطة بالسياحة. لا يوجد مصايد تجارية واسعة النطاق ، فقط الصيادون الحرفيون 10-15 والصيد الترفيهي لمارلين (Makaira spp.) وماهي ماهي (Coryphaena النيابة.).

حتى وقت قريب ، كان هناك القليل من الإدارة الحكومية للبيئة البحرية في سانت مارتن. في 1997 ، تم إنشاء Nature Foundation St. Maarten من أجل إنشاء وإدارة حديقة بحرية في St. Maarten ، بموجب عقد من حكومة St. Maarten. كانت سانت مارتن هي الدولة الوحيدة في منطقة البحر الكاريبي الهولندية التي لم يكن بها منتزه بحري ، ولذلك كان الاقتراح يهدف إلى تحقيق التكافؤ بين سانت مارتن وغيرها من دول منطقة البحر الكاريبي الهولندية. اعتمد تصميم المنتزه المقترح على تصميم منطقة محمية بحرية في بونير. ومع ذلك ، كان هذا التصميم واسعًا جدًا (كان سيشمل جميع المياه الإقليمية لسانت مارتن) ومعقدًا جدًا بحيث لا يمكن الحصول على دعم سياسي. جعلت مصالح صناعة السفن السياحية ، والصيادين ، ومشغلي متجر الغوص هذا التحدي للسياسيين في سانت مارتن. علاوة على ذلك ، في حين أن موظفي بونير المحميين في 54 ، فإن Nature Foundation St. Maarten تضم ثلاثة موظفين فقط. ظلت الحديقة كيانًا على الورق فقط حتى 2010.

تعرضت الشعاب المرجانية في سانت مارتن لتدهور طويل الأجل بسبب النمو السريع للسياحة وضعف التخطيط الحضري والبنية التحتية ونقص إدارة مستجمعات المياه. أدت الأعاصير وأحداث التبييض الجماعي للشعاب المرجانية إلى انخفاض بنسبة 80٪ في الغطاء المرجاني في البيئة القريبة من الشاطئ.

الإجراءات المتخذة

في 2010 ، تم إعادة تنشيط Nature Foundation St. Maarten رسميًا لإنشاء متنزه بحري مُدار جيدًا ، مع وجود منطقة حظر صارمة لمواجهة التهديدات المتزايدة. اتبعت المؤسسة نهجًا ثلاثي الجوانب للحصول على الدعم من صناع القرار في إنشاء المنتزهات البحرية. أولاً ، أجرت المؤسسة تقييماً بيئياً للشعاب المرجانية في سانت مارتن. حددت هذه الدراسة الأساسية مناطق محددة - الشعاب المرجانية الصحية المتبقية في البلاد - كأولوية قصوى للحفظ. لقد قاموا بإعادة تصميم الحديقة المقترحة بحيث تحمي فقط تلك المناطق - التي تمثل 25٪ من المياه الإقليمية للبلد ، وتغطي مساحة 10,000 هكتار.

رصد الموظفين في مان أوف شولز مارين بارك. صورة © Mauricio Handler / DCNA / NPL

بعد ذلك ، تم الانتهاء من دراسة التقييم الاقتصادي للنظام البيئي البحري باستخدام يفتح في نافذة جديدةطريقة من معهد الموارد العالمية. تم تصميم هذه الطريقة سريعة وقذرة لتكون سهلة الاستخدام من قبل المديرين. من خلال إجراء مقابلات مع أصحاب محلات الغوص والصيادين والسائحين وأصحاب المصلحة الآخرين في صناعة السياحة ، تمكنت الدراسة من رسم صورة مقنعة لأهمية النظام البيئي البحري الصحي لاقتصاد سانت مارتن.

أخيرًا ، قامت مؤسسة Nature Foundation St. Maarten بأخذ النتائج من كل من التقييم البيئي ودراسة التقييم الاقتصادي إلى المجتمع لتقديم حججهم للحديقة البحرية. قدمت المؤسسة عروضاً في اجتماعات المجتمع ، وتحدثت مع الصيادين ومشغلي الغوص ، وقدمت إلى البرلمان. في ديسمبر 30 ، 2010 ، تم إنشاء Man of Shoals Marine Park.

كانت إحدى الخطوات الأولى للحديقة البحرية تصميم نظام رباط لقوارب الغوص لمنع المزيد من الأضرار من ترسيخ مباشرة على الشعاب المرجانية. قبل وأثناء إنشاء الحديقة البحرية ، أجرت المؤسسة توعية على نطاق واسع لشرح سبب إتلاف المراسي للشعاب المرجانية. بعد إنشاء الحديقة ، دفعت الشركات الصغيرة في سانت مارتن ثمن بناء نظام رباط حفر في الركيزة.

سلحفاة منقار الصقر. الصورة © مؤسسة الطبيعة سانت مارتن

في المستقبل القريب ، تأمل المؤسسة في توسيع الحديقة لتشمل 35,000 هكتار ، مما يجعلها مستمرة مع حديقة على الجانب الفرنسي من الجزيرة. لأن الحدود الحالية للحديقة تشمل أجزاء من الشعاب المرجانية التي كانت أفضل لصيد الأسماك والغوص ، تلك المناطق ذات المياه الأكثر هدوءًا والشعاب المرجانية الأكثر صحة ، فإن التوسعة هي الحالة الأسهل التي يمكن القيام بها ، لأنها ستشمل مياه أكثر تقلبًا تستخدم أقل لصيد الأسماك والغوص.

ما مدى نجاح ذلك؟

وقد وثقت المؤسسة زيادة في عدد السكان في أنواع معينة من الأسماك من خلال المسوحات السنوية. في 2013 ، وجدوا أن مجموعات الهامور والنهاش قد انتعشت ، مما يدل على زيادة 10-15٪ والصيادين يبلغون عن زيادة الصيد. بدأت المؤسسة دور الحضانة (Acropora cervicornis) و elkhorn coral (Acropora palmata) وهي تأمل في نقل هذه المخزونات إلى مناطق ذات جودة مياه عالية لتسريع عملية الشعاب المرجانية.

الدروس المستفادة والتوصيات

  • إشراك أصحاب المصلحة هو المفتاح. إشراك أصحاب المصلحة والمجتمع المحلي هو مفتاح تحقيق أهداف الحفظ. ذهبت المؤسسة إلى مجموعات المجتمع واجتماعات مجلس المجتمع وقدمت عروضًا قصيرة وبسيطة. بدلاً من متابعة هذه العروض التقديمية بجلسة أسئلة وأجوبة تقليدية ، طلب موظفو المؤسسة تعليقات من الجميع. من خلال جعل هذه الجلسات غير رسمية ، تمكنوا من التحدث والاستماع إلى الناس ، وبالتالي التواصل بشكل أكثر فعالية مع أفراد المجتمع بطريقة أكثر راحة لهم.
  • التقييم الاقتصادي للنظم الإيكولوجية هو أداة قوية ومقنعة. في حين أنه قد يكون مثيرًا للجدل ، إلا أنه ساعد في إثبات الحفظ من خلال إظهار الفوائد الاقتصادية لخدمات النظام البيئي التي كانت وسيلة فعالة للوصول إلى صانعي القرار الرئيسيين.
  • يجب أن يكون التواصل الفعال أولوية. قد يكون توصيل أهمية الحفظ أمرًا صعبًا ، ولكن للحصول على الدعم السياسي والشعبي للحفظ ، يجب على العلماء القيام بذلك من خلال جميع الوسائل المتاحة (Facebook و Twitter و Instagram ووسائل الإعلام التقليدية).

ملخص التمويل

يفتح في نافذة جديدةصندوق الأمير برنهارد للطبيعة
يفتح في نافذة جديدةالمؤسسة الوطنية الأمريكية للأسماك والحياة البرية
يفتح في نافذة جديدةبرنامج البيئة الكاريبي ، برنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة
يفتح في نافذة جديدةالصندوق العالمي للحياة البرية في هولندا
المنظمة المنفذة لمؤسسة تطوير جزر الأنتيل الهولندية (USONA)
MINA Fund جزر الأنتيل الهولندية
صندوق KNAP جزر الأنتيل الهولندية
صندوق INNO
كراج بانشيز والنقل بالشاحنات NV
مطار الأميرة جوليانا الدولي (PJIA)
شركة سانت مارتن هاربر القابضة (SHHC)
يفتح في نافذة جديدةمكتب سانت مارتن السياحي
الوطنية الهولندية الرمز البريدي اليانصيب
سول جزر الأنتيل

المنظمات الرائدة

يفتح في نافذة جديدةمؤسسة الطبيعة ش مارتن

شركاؤنا

يفتح في نافذة جديدةتحالف الطبيعة الهولندية الكاريبي

المصادر

يفتح في نافذة جديدةحكومة سانت مارتن

يفتح في نافذة جديدةرأس المال الساحلي: تقييم النظام الإيكولوجي لاتخاذ القرارات في منطقة البحر الكاريبي ، معهد الموارد العالمية

 

كتب بواسطة: Tadzio Bervoets ، مؤسسة الطبيعة سانت مارتن ، سينت مارتن

تم تكييف دراسة الحالة هذه من: Cullman، G. (ed.) 2014. يفتح في نافذة جديدةكتاب مرجعي المرونة: دراسات حالة عن المرونة الاجتماعية والبيئية في نظم الجزيرة. مركز التنوع البيولوجي والحفظ ، المتحف الأمريكي للتاريخ الطبيعي ، نيويورك ، نيويورك.

بورنو youjizz كسكسكسكسكس المعلم الثلاثون الجنس
Translate »

Sint Maarten – MPA Design


The Establishment of Man of Shoals Marine Park in Sint Maarten, Caribbean

Location
Sint Maarten/Saint Martin, West Indies

Coral reef in St. Maarten. © Nature Foundation St. Maarten

Coral reef in St. Maarten. © Nature Foundation St. Maarten

The Challenge
The island of Sint Maarten/Saint Martin, in the West Indies, is divided between the French Saint Martin in the North (53 km2) and the Dutch Sint Maarten in the South (34 km2). St. Maarten is part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The island is surrounded by about 20 km2 of coral reefs.

St. Maarten experienced its first tourism boom starting in the 1960s, when Cuba was first closed to tourism. St. Maarten is now one of the largest tourism hubs in the West Indies with about 85% of its workforce employed in tourism or tourism-related industries. There is no large-scale commercial fishery, only 10-15 artisanal fishers and recreational fishing for marlin (Makaira spp.) and mahi-mahi (Coryphaena spp.). 

Until recently, there was little government management of the marine environment in St. Maarten. In 1997, the Nature Foundation St. Maarten was established in order to set up and manage a marine park in St. Maarten, under contract from the St. Maarten government. St. Maarten was the only country in the Dutch Caribbean that did not have a marine park, therefore the proposal aimed to achieve parity between St. Maarten and the other states of the Dutch Caribbean. The proposed park’s design was based on the design of a marine protected area in Bonaire. However, this design was too extensive (it would have included all of St. Maarten’s territorial waters) and too complicated to gain political support. The interests of the cruise ship industry, fishers, and dive shop operators made this challenging for politicians in St. Maarten. Furthermore, while Bonaire’s protected area had a staff of 54, the Nature Foundation St. Maarten had only three people on staff. The park remained an entity only on paper until 2010.

St. Maarten’s reefs have incurred long-term degradation due to the rapid growth of tourism and poor urban planning and infrastructure and lack of watershed management. Hurricanes and mass coral bleaching events have led to an 80% reduction in coral cover in the near-shore environment. 

Staff monitoring in Man of Shoals Marine Park. © Mauricio Handler/ DCNA/ NPL

Staff monitoring in Man of Shoals Marine Park. © Mauricio Handler/ DCNA/ NPL

Actions Taken
In 2010, the Nature Foundation St. Maarten was officially reactivated to create a well-managed marine park, with a strict no-take area to address increasing threats. The Foundation took a three-pronged approach to get support from decision makers on marine park establishment. First, the Foundation did an ecological assessment of St. Maarten’s reefs. This baseline study pinpointed specific areas – the country’s remaining healthy reefs – as a high priority for conservation. They redesigned the proposed park so that it would protect just those areas – representing 25% of the country’s territorial waters, and covering 10,000 hectares.

Next, an economic valuation study of the marine ecosystem was completed using a method from the World Resources Institute. This quick-and-dirty method was designed to be easy-to-use by managers. By interviewing dive shop owners, fishers, tourists and other tourism industry stakeholders, the study was able to paint a compelling picture of the importance of a healthy marine ecosystem to St. Maarten’s economy.

Finally, the Nature Foundation St. Maarten took the results from both the ecological assessment and economic valuation study to the community to make their case for the marine park. The Foundation made presentations at community meetings, talked with fishermen and dive operators, and presented to Parliament. On December 30, 2010, the Man of Shoals Marine Park was established.

One of the first steps for the marine park was the design of a mooring system for dive boats to prevent further damage from anchoring directly on the reef. Prior to and during the establishment of the marine park, the foundation conducted wide-scale outreach to explain why anchors damage the reef. Following the establishment of the park, small businesses in St. Maarten paid for the construction of a mooring system drilled into the substrate.

CS_StMaarten_Hawksbill2

Hawksbill turtle. © Nature Foundation St. Maarten

In the near future, the Foundation hopes to expand the park to 35,000 hectares, which will make it continuous with a park on the French side of the island. Because the current boundaries of the park include the parts of the reef that were best for fishing and diving, those areas with the calmest waters and the healthiest reefs, the expansion is an easier case to make, since it will include choppier waters that are used less for fishing and diving.

How successful has it been?
The Foundation has documented an increase in the populations in certain species of fish through yearly surveys. In 2013, they found that grouper and snapper populations have rebounded, showing a 10-15% increase and fishers are reporting increased catch. The Foundation has begun staghorn (Acropora cervicornis) and elkhorn coral (Acropora palmata) nurseries and they hope to transplant these stocks to areas with high water quality to quicken the reef’s recovery.

Lessons Learned and Recommendations

  • Stakeholder involvement is key. Involving stakeholders and the local community is key to achieving conservation goals. The Foundation went to community groups and community council meetings and gave short and simple presentations. Instead of following these presentations with a traditional question-and-answer session, the Foundation personnel solicited feedback from everyone. By making these sessions informal, they were able to talk and listen to people, and therefore more effectively communicate with community members in a manner that was more comfortable for them.
  • Economic valuation of ecosystems is a powerful, persuasive tool. While it can be controversial, it helped make the case for conservation by showing the economic benefits of ecosystem services which was an effective way to reach key decision makers.
  • Effective communication should be a priority. Communicating the importance of conservation can be challenging, but to get political and popular support for conservation, scientists must do so through all the means available (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and traditional media). 

Lead Organization
Nature Foundation St. Maarten

Partner Organization
Dutch Caribbean Nature Alliance

Funding Summary
Prince Bernhard Nature Fund
U.S. National Fish and Wildlife Foundation
Caribbean Environment Program, United Nations Environment Program
World Wildlife Fund Netherlands
Implementing Organization of the Foundation for the Development of the Netherlands Antilles (USONA)
MINA Fund Netherlands Antilles
KNAP Fund Netherlands Antilles
The INNO Fund
Bunchies Garage & Trucking NV
Princess Juliana International Airport (PJIA)
St. Maarten Harbour Holding Company (SHHC)
St. Maarten Tourist Office
Dutch National Postcode Lottery
SOL Antilles

Resources
The Government of Sint Maarten
Coastal Capital: Ecosystem Valuation for Decision Making in the Caribbean, World Resources Institute

Written by: Tadzio Bervoets, Nature Foundation St. Maarten, Sint Maarten

This case study was adapted from: Cullman, G. (ed.) 2014. Resilience Sourcebook: Case studies of social-ecological resilience in island systems. Center for Biodiversity and Conservation, American Museum of Natural History, New York, NY.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone