加勒比聖馬丁島Shoals海洋公園人的建立

 

地區

Sint Maarten / Saint Martin,西印度群島

所面臨的挑戰

位於西印度群島的聖馬丁島/聖馬丁島,分佈在北方的法國聖馬丁(53 km)2)和南部的荷蘭聖馬丁島(34 km2)。 聖馬丁島是荷蘭王國的一部分。 該島周圍約有20公里2 珊瑚礁。

在聖馬丁島的珊瑚礁。 照片©Nature Foundation St. Maarten

當古巴首次關閉旅遊業時,聖馬丁在1960開始了第一次旅遊熱潮。 聖馬丁現在是西印度群島最大的旅遊中心之一,約有85%的勞動力從事旅遊或旅遊相關行業。 沒有大規模的商業漁業,只有10-15手工漁民和休閒釣魚用於馬林魚(Makaira spp。)和mahi-mahi(Coryphaena 屬)。

直到最近,聖馬丁島的海洋環境幾乎沒有政府管理。 在1997,聖馬丁自然基金會的成立是為了根據聖馬丁政府的合同在聖馬丁建立和管理一個海洋公園。 聖馬丁島是荷蘭加勒比地區唯一沒有海洋公園的國家,因此該提案旨在實現聖馬丁與荷蘭加勒比其他州之間的平等。 擬議公園的設計基於博內爾島海洋保護區的設計。 然而,這種設計過於廣泛(它可能包括聖馬丁島的所有領海)並且過於復雜而無法獲得政治支持。 遊輪業,漁民和潛水商店運營商的利益使這對聖馬丁的政治家們產生了挑戰。 此外,雖然博內爾島的保護區有54的工作人員,但聖馬丁自然基金會只有三名工作人員。 在2010之前,公園只是紙上的實體。

由於旅遊業的快速增長,糟糕的城市規劃和基礎設施以及缺乏流域管理,聖馬丁島的珊瑚礁已長期退化。 颶風和大規模的珊瑚白化事件使近岸環境的珊瑚覆蓋率降低了80%。

所採取的行動

在2010,聖馬丁自然基金會正式重新啟動,以建立一個管理良好的海洋公園,並有一個嚴格的禁區,以應對不斷增加的威脅。 基金會採取三管齊下的方法,以獲得決策者對海洋公園建立的支持。 首先,基金會對聖馬丁島的珊瑚礁進行了生態評估。 該基線研究將特定區域 - 該國剩餘的健康珊瑚礁 - 作為保護的重中之重。 他們重新設計了擬建的公園,以便保護這些區域 - 佔該國領海的25%,並覆蓋10,000公頃。

Man of Shoals海洋公園的工作人員監控。 照片©Mauricio Handler / DCNA / NPL

接下來,使用a完成了對海洋生態系統的經濟評估研究 在新窗口中打開世界資源研究所的方法。 這種快速而骯髒的方法旨在讓管理人員易於使用。 通過採訪潛水店老闆,漁民,遊客和其他旅遊業利益相關者,該研究能夠描繪健康的海洋生態系統對聖馬丁經濟的重要性。

最後,聖馬丁自然基金會將生態評估和經濟評估研究的結果帶到了社區,為海洋公園提供了理由。 基金會在社區會議上做了演講,與漁民和潛水運營商進行了交談,並向議會提交。 十二月30,Shoals海洋公園的2010成立。

海洋公園的最初步驟之一是為潛水船設計繫泊系統,以防止直接錨定在礁石上的進一步損壞。 在建立海洋公園之前和期間,該基金會進行了廣泛的外展活動,以解釋為什麼錨點會破壞珊瑚礁。 公園建成後,聖馬丁的小企業支付了在基板上鑽孔的繫泊系統的建設費用。

黿。 照片©Nature Foundation St. Maarten

在不久的將來,該基金會希望將公園擴大到35,000公頃,這將使其連續在島上的法國一側的公園。 因為公園目前的邊界包括最適合捕魚和潛水的珊瑚礁部分,那些擁有最平靜的水域和最健康的珊瑚礁的地區,擴建是一個更容易的情況,因為它將包括使用的更加陡峭的水域少釣魚和潛水。

它有多成功?

基金會通過年度調查記錄了某些魚類種群數量的增加。 在2013中,他們發現石斑魚和鯛魚種群已經反彈,顯示10-15%增加,漁民報告捕撈量增加。 該基金會已經開始使用鹿角鹿角(Acropora cervicornis)和elkhorn珊瑚(Acropora palmata)苗圃,他們希望將這些種群移植到水質較高的地區,以加快珊瑚礁的恢復。

經驗教訓和建議

  • 利益相關者的參與是關鍵。 讓利益相關者和當地社區參與是實現保護目標的關鍵。 該基金會參加了社區團體和社區理事會會議,並做了簡短而簡單的介紹。 基金會人員不是通過傳統的問答環節跟踪這些演講,而是徵求每個人的反饋意見。 通過使這些會議非正式,他們能夠與人們交談和傾聽,因此能夠以更舒適的方式與社區成員進行更有效的溝通。
  • 生態系統的經濟價值評估是一種強有力的,有說服力的工具。 雖然它可能引起爭議,但它通過展示生態系統服務的經濟效益來幫助提出保護,這是一種有效的方式來達到關鍵決策者。
  • 有效溝通應該是一個優先事項。 傳播保護的重要性可能具有挑戰性,但要獲得政治和民眾對保護的支持,科學家必須通過所有可用的手段(Facebook,Twitter,Instagram和傳統媒體)這樣做。

資金摘要

在新窗口中打開伯恩哈德親王自然基金會
在新窗口中打開美國國家魚類和野生動物基金會
在新窗口中打開加勒比環境方案,聯合國環境規劃署
在新窗口中打開荷蘭世界自然基金會
實施荷屬安的列斯群島發展基金會組織(USONA)
MINA基金會荷屬安的列斯群島
KNAP基金荷屬安的列斯群島
INNO基金
Bunchies車庫與卡車NV
朱莉安娜公主國際機場(PJIA)
聖馬丁港口控股公司(SHHC)
在新窗口中打開聖馬丁旅遊局
荷蘭國家郵政彩票
SOL安的列斯群島

牽頭組織

在新窗口中打開自然基金會聖馬丁

合作夥伴

在新窗口中打開荷蘭加勒比自然聯盟

資源

在新窗口中打開聖馬丁政府

在新窗口中打開沿海資本:加勒比地區決策的生態系統評估,世界資源研究所

 

撰文: Tadzio Bervoets,自然基金會聖馬丁,聖馬丁島

本案例研究改編自: Cullman,G。(編輯)2014。 在新窗口中打開彈性資料手冊:島嶼系統中社會生態恢復力的案例研究。 美國紐約自然歷史博物館生物多樣性與保護中心。

por youjizz xmxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Sint Maarten – MPA Design


The Establishment of Man of Shoals Marine Park in Sint Maarten, Caribbean

Location
Sint Maarten/Saint Martin, West Indies

Coral reef in St. Maarten. © Nature Foundation St. Maarten

Coral reef in St. Maarten. © Nature Foundation St. Maarten

The Challenge
The island of Sint Maarten/Saint Martin, in the West Indies, is divided between the French Saint Martin in the North (53 km2) and the Dutch Sint Maarten in the South (34 km2). St. Maarten is part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The island is surrounded by about 20 km2 of coral reefs.

St. Maarten experienced its first tourism boom starting in the 1960s, when Cuba was first closed to tourism. St. Maarten is now one of the largest tourism hubs in the West Indies with about 85% of its workforce employed in tourism or tourism-related industries. There is no large-scale commercial fishery, only 10-15 artisanal fishers and recreational fishing for marlin (Makaira spp.) and mahi-mahi (Coryphaena spp.). 

Until recently, there was little government management of the marine environment in St. Maarten. In 1997, the Nature Foundation St. Maarten was established in order to set up and manage a marine park in St. Maarten, under contract from the St. Maarten government. St. Maarten was the only country in the Dutch Caribbean that did not have a marine park, therefore the proposal aimed to achieve parity between St. Maarten and the other states of the Dutch Caribbean. The proposed park’s design was based on the design of a marine protected area in Bonaire. However, this design was too extensive (it would have included all of St. Maarten’s territorial waters) and too complicated to gain political support. The interests of the cruise ship industry, fishers, and dive shop operators made this challenging for politicians in St. Maarten. Furthermore, while Bonaire’s protected area had a staff of 54, the Nature Foundation St. Maarten had only three people on staff. The park remained an entity only on paper until 2010.

St. Maarten’s reefs have incurred long-term degradation due to the rapid growth of tourism and poor urban planning and infrastructure and lack of watershed management. Hurricanes and mass coral bleaching events have led to an 80% reduction in coral cover in the near-shore environment. 

Staff monitoring in Man of Shoals Marine Park. © Mauricio Handler/ DCNA/ NPL

Staff monitoring in Man of Shoals Marine Park. © Mauricio Handler/ DCNA/ NPL

Actions Taken
In 2010, the Nature Foundation St. Maarten was officially reactivated to create a well-managed marine park, with a strict no-take area to address increasing threats. The Foundation took a three-pronged approach to get support from decision makers on marine park establishment. First, the Foundation did an ecological assessment of St. Maarten’s reefs. This baseline study pinpointed specific areas – the country’s remaining healthy reefs – as a high priority for conservation. They redesigned the proposed park so that it would protect just those areas – representing 25% of the country’s territorial waters, and covering 10,000 hectares.

Next, an economic valuation study of the marine ecosystem was completed using a method from the World Resources Institute. This quick-and-dirty method was designed to be easy-to-use by managers. By interviewing dive shop owners, fishers, tourists and other tourism industry stakeholders, the study was able to paint a compelling picture of the importance of a healthy marine ecosystem to St. Maarten’s economy.

Finally, the Nature Foundation St. Maarten took the results from both the ecological assessment and economic valuation study to the community to make their case for the marine park. The Foundation made presentations at community meetings, talked with fishermen and dive operators, and presented to Parliament. On December 30, 2010, the Man of Shoals Marine Park was established.

One of the first steps for the marine park was the design of a mooring system for dive boats to prevent further damage from anchoring directly on the reef. Prior to and during the establishment of the marine park, the foundation conducted wide-scale outreach to explain why anchors damage the reef. Following the establishment of the park, small businesses in St. Maarten paid for the construction of a mooring system drilled into the substrate.

CS_StMaarten_Hawksbill2

Hawksbill turtle. © Nature Foundation St. Maarten

In the near future, the Foundation hopes to expand the park to 35,000 hectares, which will make it continuous with a park on the French side of the island. Because the current boundaries of the park include the parts of the reef that were best for fishing and diving, those areas with the calmest waters and the healthiest reefs, the expansion is an easier case to make, since it will include choppier waters that are used less for fishing and diving.

How successful has it been?
The Foundation has documented an increase in the populations in certain species of fish through yearly surveys. In 2013, they found that grouper and snapper populations have rebounded, showing a 10-15% increase and fishers are reporting increased catch. The Foundation has begun staghorn (Acropora cervicornis) and elkhorn coral (Acropora palmata) nurseries and they hope to transplant these stocks to areas with high water quality to quicken the reef’s recovery.

Lessons Learned and Recommendations

  • Stakeholder involvement is key. Involving stakeholders and the local community is key to achieving conservation goals. The Foundation went to community groups and community council meetings and gave short and simple presentations. Instead of following these presentations with a traditional question-and-answer session, the Foundation personnel solicited feedback from everyone. By making these sessions informal, they were able to talk and listen to people, and therefore more effectively communicate with community members in a manner that was more comfortable for them.
  • Economic valuation of ecosystems is a powerful, persuasive tool. While it can be controversial, it helped make the case for conservation by showing the economic benefits of ecosystem services which was an effective way to reach key decision makers.
  • Effective communication should be a priority. Communicating the importance of conservation can be challenging, but to get political and popular support for conservation, scientists must do so through all the means available (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and traditional media). 

Lead Organization
Nature Foundation St. Maarten

Partner Organization
Dutch Caribbean Nature Alliance

Funding Summary
Prince Bernhard Nature Fund
U.S. National Fish and Wildlife Foundation
Caribbean Environment Program, United Nations Environment Program
World Wildlife Fund Netherlands
Implementing Organization of the Foundation for the Development of the Netherlands Antilles (USONA)
MINA Fund Netherlands Antilles
KNAP Fund Netherlands Antilles
The INNO Fund
Bunchies Garage & Trucking NV
Princess Juliana International Airport (PJIA)
St. Maarten Harbour Holding Company (SHHC)
St. Maarten Tourist Office
Dutch National Postcode Lottery
SOL Antilles

Resources
The Government of Sint Maarten
Coastal Capital: Ecosystem Valuation for Decision Making in the Caribbean, World Resources Institute

Written by: Tadzio Bervoets, Nature Foundation St. Maarten, Sint Maarten

This case study was adapted from: Cullman, G. (ed.) 2014. Resilience Sourcebook: Case studies of social-ecological resilience in island systems. Center for Biodiversity and Conservation, American Museum of Natural History, New York, NY.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone