تقييم المرونة النسبية للشعاب المرجانية في سانت كروا ، جزر فيرجن الأمريكية

 

الموقع:

سانت كروا ، جزر فيرجن الأمريكية (USVI)

التحدي

كانت الشعاب المرجانية دائمًا موائل ديناميكية تحدث فيها اضطرابات عرضية وتعيد ساعة نمو الشعاب المرجانية إلى الوراء ، تليها فترات يتعافى فيها النظام. في ظل هذه الظروف ، تطورت الشعاب المرجانية لتصبح موائل مرنة - يمكنها التعافي والحفاظ على وظيفة النظام البيئي بعد الاضطرابات - ولكن هذه المرونة الطبيعية للشعاب المرجانية تتقوض الآن. تواجه الشعاب المرجانية ضغوطًا غير مسبوقة ، لذا يتعين على المديرين والمحافظين على البيئة دعم وبناء المرونة متى وأينما أمكن ذلك. كإطار مفاهيمي ، حظيت المرونة بشعبية كبيرة لدى دعاة الحفاظ على البيئة ولكن يفتح في نافذة جديدة"تفعيل" المرونةيفتح ملف PDF في إعداد إدارة كان صعبا. يمكن للمديرين الحد من الإجهاد ودعم عمليات الاسترداد وتثقيف ورفع مستوى الوعي ، لكنهم يحتاجون إلى معلومات تساعد على دعم هذه الإجراءات. تصف دراسة الحالة هذه كيف يمكن استخدام تقييمات المرونة النسبية لاستهداف إجراءات الإدارة وتصميمها.

هذا هو واحد من أول التقييمات واسعة النطاق من المرونة النسبية لاستخدام أ قائمة قصيرة من المؤشرات تبدأ من يفتح في نافذة جديدةماكلانهان وآخرون. (2012)يفتح ملف PDF  ويتبع بعض التوجيهات المقدمة من يفتح في نافذة جديدةماينارد وماكلود (2012)يفتح ملف PDF . ناتج التحليل هو تقييم الاختلاف المكاني في المرونة النسبية (عالية أو متوسطة أو منخفضة) بالاقتران مع تقييم المستويات النسبية للإجهاد البشري المنشأ (مرتفع أو متوسط ​​أو منخفض). يمكن للمديرين وأخصائيي الحفظ استخدام مخرجات التحليل لدعم الجهود المبذولة لتحقيق نتائج الحفظ ، مثل تخطيط شبكات المناطق البحرية المحمية ، واستهداف الإجراءات للحد من التوتر ، وتثقيف أصحاب المصلحة وأعضاء المجتمع والمشاركة معهم. في هذا المشروع في جزر فيرجن الأمريكية (USVI) ، يأمل قادة المشروع في استخدام تقييم المرونة لتحقيق الأهداف التالية:

  1. حدد المواقع التي تتمتع بمرونة عالية والتي لا توجد حاليًا داخل المناطق البحرية المحمية (MPAs).
  2. تقييم التهديدات في المواقع ذات المرونة العالية والمنخفضة لاستهداف جهود الحفظ.
  3. تطوير مواد للمساعدة في تثقيف وإشراك أهمية جزيرة باك و MPAs الطرف الشرقي.
  4. إعطاء الأولوية لمواقع زراعة الشعاب المرجانية التي تزرع في الحضانة.

الإجراءات المتخذة

العملية المستخدمة لإكمال التحليل هي نفس العملية الموضحة في البرنامج التعليمي لتحليل المرونة (قوات الدفاع الشعبي). قرر قادة المشروع ولجنة مرونة الشركات عبر الوطنية من أجل USVI تحديد مؤشرات المرونة التي يجب تضمينها في التحليل من خلال عملية استشارية. طور قادة المشروع جدول بيانات يحتوي على جميع مؤشرات المرونة الثلاثين الموضحة في McClanahan et al. (30) مراجعة. وقد رُفعت القضية إلى اللجنة بأنه ينبغي استبعاد المؤشرات التي ليست ضمن أعلى 2012 مؤشرات للأهمية المتصورة وقوة الأدلة. تم الاتفاق على هذا الاقتراح الأول. الأساس المنطقي هو أن كل مؤشر إضافي متضمن يخفف من الأهمية النسبية لكل من المؤشرات الأخرى. بعبارة أخرى ، تعد القائمة الأقصر من المؤشرات المهمة لخصائص المقاومة وعمليات المرونة أفضل من القائمة الأطول التي تتضمن مؤشرات ضعيفة. ثم تم تصنيف المؤشرات المتبقية إلى ثلاث مستويات بناءً على توافر البيانات والأهمية المتصورة للمقاومة والمرونة في USVI. كانت المؤشرات النهائية المستخدمة هي: الأنواع المقاومة ، وتنوع المرجان ، والكتلة الحيوية العاشبة ، وغطاء الطحالب الكبيرة ، والغطاء المرجاني ، وتقلب درجات الحرارة ، وأمراض المرجان. تم فحص عوامل الإجهاد البشرية المنشأ التي تم فحصها هي ضغط الصيد والتنمية الساحلية.

تم جمع البيانات وتجميعها من خلال مجموعة من العمل الميداني وتحليل سطح المكتب الذي تم إجراؤه في إطار البرنامجين الإقليمي والوطني لرصد الشعاب المرجانية (TCRMP و NCRMP) من قبل موظفين من The Nature Conservancy (TNC) والبرنامج الوطني للمحافظة على الشعاب المرجانية في الإدارة الوطنية للمحيطات والغلاف الجوي ( NOAA CRCP) ، قسم التخطيط والموارد الطبيعية ، قسم الأسماك والحياة البرية (DPRN-DFW) ، والمراكز الوطنية التابعة لـ NOAA لفرع الجغرافيا الحيوية لعلوم المحيطات الساحلية أو بواسطة مؤلفي هذا التقرير. ا درجة المرونة النسبية يحسب على النحو التالي. بالنسبة لجميع مؤشرات المرونة السبعة ، فإن الدرجات لجميع المواقع (ن = 7) "مثبتة" إلى الحد الأقصى من النقاط عن طريق قسمة قيمة كل موقع للمؤشر على القيمة القصوى بين جميع المواقع. تنتج قيم التثبيت درجة لكل موقع على مقياس موحد من 267-0 ، والذي يعبر عن القيمة لكل موقع قريب (كنسبة مئوية) إلى الحد الأقصى للقيمة. قبل أن يتم حساب متوسط ​​الدرجات الثابتة لجميع المؤشرات ، يتم طرح الدرجات المثبتة للطحالب الكبيرة والأمراض المرجانية من 1 ، مما يضمن أن المقياس القياسي 1-0 أحادي الاتجاه حيث أن الدرجة العالية دائمًا ما تكون درجة جيدة. يتم بعد ذلك حساب متوسط ​​الدرجات لإنتاج درجة المرونة ثم يتم ربط هذه الدرجات أيضًا إلى الحد الأقصى للدرجة لإنتاج درجة المرونة النهائية التي تعبر عن "المرونة المقدرة" بالنسبة إلى درجة المرونة القصوى. يتم استخدام نفس النهج مع وكلاء الإجهاد البشري ، والتي يتم فصلها عن درجات المرونة. يتم ربط القيم لجميع المواقع لكل وكيل إلى القيمة القصوى ثم يتم حساب متوسط ​​القيم وإعادة تثبيتها لإنتاج درجة الإجهاد النهائية. بالنسبة للتوتر ، فإن الدرجات العالية تعني ضغطًا مرتفعًا. لكل من المرونة والإجهاد البشري ، يتم استخدام مقياس مرتفع ومتوسط ​​ومنخفض بناءً على نطاقات البيانات التالية: 1-0.8 للارتفاع ، 1.0-0.6 للمتوسط ​​و <0.79 للمنخفض.

Figure1

يتم تصنيف المواقع من الأعلى إلى الأقل مرونة (من 1 إلى 268). يتم عرض درجات المرونة مكانيًا على خريطتين ؛ واحد يستخدم نظام ألوان لإضاءة التوقف مكون من 3 وحدات تخزين للأخضر والأصفر والأحمر للارتفاع والمتوسط ​​والمنخفض على التوالي (انظر الرقم 1) ، وآخر يعين درجات المرونة في صناديق 10 متساوية (0.10). يستخدم تحليل مكونات المبدأ (PCA) لتحديد القواسم المشتركة بين الدرجات للمؤشرات المختلفة لمواقع المرونة العالية والمتوسطة والمنخفضة. أي ما إذا كانت بعض مؤشرات المرونة قد أثرت بدرجة أكبر على التصنيف النهائي وبأي طريقة (انظر الرقم 2). ثم تم تقاسم النتائج مع المديرين وأصحاب المصلحة لتحديد وترتيب أولويات إجراءات المتابعة المحتملة.

Figure2

ما مدى نجاح ذلك؟

تم تحقيق جميع الأهداف المحددة من خلال التحليل أو سيتم تحقيقها خلال الأشهر المقبلة باستخدام مخرجات التحليل للتفاعل مع أصحاب المصلحة وأعضاء المجتمع. ليس من المتوقع أن يتم استخدام هذا التحليل لإنشاء مناطق بحرية محمية إضافية في الوقت الحالي. ومع ذلك ، يمكن استخدام النتائج لمراجعة وضع MPA في المستقبل وستُبلغ مجموعة من الإجراءات الإدارية الأخرى على مدار السنوات القادمة التي ستدعم مرونة شعاب سانت كروا. على سبيل المثال ، تشير البيانات الأولية إلى وجود علاقة إيجابية وهامة بين درجة المرونة من هذا التحليل والاختلاف المكاني المعروف في البقاء على قيد الحياة للشعاب المرجانية المزروعة. سيتم الآن استخدام نتائج التحليل لتحديد الأماكن الأكثر حاجة إلى الشعاب المرجانية المزروعة في الحضانة ولديها أكبر إمكانات لنجاح الاستعادة. سيتم تمديد التحليل في العام المقبل ليشمل الشعاب المرجانية بالقرب من سانت توماس وسانت جون لتحسين جهود الحفظ في جميع جزر 3.

ما مدى نجاح ذلك؟

  • يمكن إكمال تقييمات المرونة كتمرين على سطح المكتب باستخدام البيانات الموجودة (الحالة هنا).
  • الخطوة الأولى الأكثر أهمية هي تحديد أهداف واضحة.
  • تضمن عملية اختيار المؤشرات بشكل تعاوني أن يتم استثمار الشركاء وأصحاب المصلحة بشكل فكري في التقييم.
  • يزيد التعاون الذي تم إنشاؤه من خلال المشاورات المستخدمة لتحديد المؤشرات من عملية الشراء ، مما يزيد من استيعاب مخرجات التحليل.
  • تتطلب تقييمات المرونة ، بما في ذلك المواقع والمؤشرات المتعددة ، بذل جهد في إدارة البيانات. يجب أن تكون البيانات في مكان واحد ، ويجب توحيد جميع البيانات الخاصة بالمؤشرات بحيث يمكن إجراء مقارنات بين المواقع.
  • تساعد الخرائط التي تصف المرونة النسبية للمواقع والرسوم البيانية التي تصف التأثير النسبي لكل مؤشر من المؤشرات على التصنيفات النهائية على توضيح التحليل وقيمته ببساطة وبصورة ملحوظة للشركاء وأصحاب المصلحة.
  • سيحدد إكمال تقييم المرونة على سطح المكتب الطرق التي يمكن بها تعديل برامج المراقبة الميدانية لجمع معلومات أكثر أو أفضل حول مؤشرات المرونة. قد يساعد التمرين أيضًا في تحديد طرق أفضل لتخزين البيانات الميدانية ، بحيث يمكن إكمال تقييمات المرونة المستقبلية بسرعة وأقل كثافة من حيث الموارد عن الأولى.

ملخص التمويل

تم تمويل هذا المشروع من قبل The Nature Conservancy من خلال مكتبها في سانت كروا ، USVI وبالشراكة مع برنامج الحفاظ على الشعاب المرجانية في NOAA.

المنظمات الرائدة

حفظ الطبيعة

شركاؤنا

يفتح في نافذة جديدةبرنامج الحفاظ على الشعاب المرجانية NOAA
يفتح في نافذة جديدةNOAA NCCOS برنامج الجغرافيا الحيوية
يفتح في نافذة جديدةNOAA البرنامج الوطني لرصد الشعاب المرجانية
USVI وزارة التخطيط والموارد الطبيعية
USVI شعبة الأسماك والحياة البرية

مصادر

يفتح في نافذة جديدةمقاومة الشعاب المرجانية لتغير المناخ في سايبان ، CNMI: تقييمات ميدانية وآثارها على القابلية للتأثر والإدارة المستقبليةيفتح ملف PDF

تحليل المرونة النسبية

تقييم ومراقبة الشعاب المرجانية

اختيار مؤشرات المرونة

دراسة حالة تقييم جزر ماريانا الشمالية

يفتح في نافذة جديدةدليل إرشادي لإجراء تقييمات المرونةيفتح ملف PDF

يفتح في نافذة جديدةتحديد أولويات مؤشرات المرونة الرئيسية لدعم إدارة الشعاب المرجانية في مناخ متغيريفتح ملف PDF

يفتح في نافذة جديدةتفعيل المرونة في إدارة الشعاب المرجانية التكيفية في ظل التغير البيئي العالمييفتح ملف PDF

بورنو youjizz كسكسكسكسكس المعلم الثلاثون الجنس
Translate »

U.S. Virgin Islands – Resilience Assessment


Assessing the Relative Resilience of the Coral Reefs of St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands 

Location
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands (USVI)

The Challenge
Coral reefs have always been dynamic habitats in which episodic disturbances occur and set the reef growth clock back, followed by periods in which the system recovers. Under these conditions coral reefs have evolved to be resilient habitats – they can recover and maintain ecosystem function after disturbances – but this natural resilience of reefs is now being undermined. Reefs face unprecedented pressures so managers and conservationists have to support and build resilience when and where possible. As a conceptual framework, resilience has been hugely popular with conservationists but ‘operationalizing’ resilience in a management setting has been difficult. Managers can reduce stress, support recovery processes, and educate and raise awareness, but need information that helps to support these actions. This case study describes how assessments of relative resilience can be used to target and tailor management actions.

This is one of the first large-scale assessments of relative resilience to use a short-list of indicators from McClanahan et al. (2012) and follows some of the guidance provided by Maynard and Mcleod (2012). The output of the analysis is an assessment of spatial variation in relative resilience (high, medium or low) in combination with an assessment of relative levels of anthropogenic stress (high, medium or low). Managers and conservationists can use the analysis outputs to support efforts to achieve conservation outcomes, like planning marine protected area networks, targeting actions to reduce stress, and educating and engaging with stakeholders and community members. In this project in the U.S. Virgin Islands (USVI), the project leaders hoped to use the resilience assessment to meet the following objectives:

  1. Identify sites with high resilience that are not currently inside marine protected areas (MPAs).
  2. Assess threats at sites with high and low resilience to target conservation effort.
  3. Develop materials to aid in educating and engaging about the importance of Buck Island and east end MPAs.
  4. Prioritize sites for the transplantation of nursery-grown corals.

Actions Taken
The process used to complete the analysis is the same process explained in the Resilience Analysis Tutorial (pdf). Project leaders and the TNC Resilience Committee for USVI decided which resilience indicators to include in the analysis through a consultative process. Project leaders developed a spreadsheet containing all 30 of the resilience indicators described in the McClanahan et al. (2012) review. The case was made to the Committee that indicators not in the top 20 for perceived importance and strength of evidence should be excluded. This first suggestion was agreed upon; the rationale being that each additional indicator included dilutes the relative importance of each of the other indicators. In other words, a shorter list of indicators that are important to resistance properties and resilience processes is better than a longer list that includes weak indicators. The remaining indicators were then classified into three tiers based on data availability and perceived importance to resistance and resilience in USVI. The final indicators used were: resistant species, coral diversity, herbivore biomass, macroalgae cover, coral cover, temperature variability and coral disease. The anthropogenic stressors examined are fishing pressure and coastal development.

The data were collected and compiled via a combination of fieldwork and desktop analysis undertaken under the Territorial and National Coral Reef Monitoring Programs (TCRMP and NCRMP) by staff from The Nature Conservancy (TNC), the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s Coral Reef Conservation Program (NOAA CRCP), Department of Planning and Natural Resources Division of Fish and Wildlife (DPRN-DFW), and NOAA’s National Centers for Coastal Ocean Science Biogeography Branch or by this report’s authors. A relative resilience score is calculated as follows. For all 7 resilience indicators, the scores for all sites (n=267) are ‘anchored’ to the maximum score by dividing the value for each site for the indicator by the maximum value among all sites. Anchoring values produces a score for each site on a standardized 0-1 scale, which expresses the value for each site relative (as a percentage) to the maximum value. Before anchored scores for all indicators can be averaged, the anchored scores for macroalgae and coral disease are subtracted from 1, which ensures the standardized 0-1 scale is uni-directional in that a high score is always a good score. The scores are then averaged to produce the resilience score and then these scores are also anchored to the maximum score to produce a final resilience score that expresses the ‘assessed resilience’ as relative to the maximum resilience score. The same approach is used for the proxies of anthropogenic stress, which are kept separate to the resilience scores. The values are anchored for all sites for each proxy to the maximum value and then the values are averaged and re-anchored to produce the final stress score. For stress, high scores mean high stress. For both resilience and anthropogenic stress, a high, medium and low scale is used based on the following data ranges: 0.8-1.0 for high, 0.6-0.79 for medium and <0.6 for low.

Figure1Sites are ranked from highest to lowest resilience (from 1 through to 268).  Resilience scores are presented spatially on two maps; one that uses a 3-bin stoplight color system of green, yellow and red for high, medium and low, respectively (see Figure 1), and another that sets resilience scores into 10 equal (0.10) bins. Principle Components Analysis (PCA) is used to identify commonalities among the scores for the various indicators for high, medium, and low resilience sites; i.e., whether some resilience indicators more greatly influenced the final rankings and in what way (see Figure 2). The results were then shared with managers and stakeholders to identify and prioritize potential follow-on actions.

 

Figure2
How successful has it been?
All of the set objectives were met by the analysis or will be met over the coming months by using analysis outputs to engage with stakeholders and community members. It is not anticipated that this analysis will be used to create additional Marine Protected Areas right now. However, the results may be used to review MPA placement in the future and will inform a range of other management actions over the coming years that will support the resilience of St. Croix’s reefs. As an example, preliminary data suggests there is a positive and significant correlation between the resilience score from this analysis and known spatial variation in the survivorship of transplanted corals. The analysis results will now be used to determine where nursery-grown corals are most needed and have the greatest potential for restoration success. The analysis will be extended in the coming year to include reefs near St. Thomas and St. John to better target conservation effort across all 3 islands.

Lessons Learned and Recommendations
Lessons learned and key recommendations include:

  • Resilience assessments can be completed as a desktop-exercise using existing data (the case here).
  • The most critical first step is the identification of clear objectives.
  • The process of selecting indicators collaboratively ensures partners and stakeholders are intellectually invested in the assessment.
  • Collaboration generated through the consultations used to select indicators increases buy-in, which maximizes uptake of the analysis outputs.
  • Resilience assessments including multiple sites and indicators require investing effort in data management. Data need to be in one location and all data for indicators needs to be standardized such that comparisons can be made among sites.
  • Maps describing the relative resilience of sites and graphs describing the relative influence of each of the indicators on the final rankings help to simply and visually explain the analysis and its value to partners and stakeholders.
  • The completion of a desktop-based resilience assessment will identify ways field monitoring programs can be modified to collect more or better information on resilience indicators. The exercise may also help to identify better ways of storing field data such that future resilience assessments can be completed quickly and less resource-intensively than the first.

Funding Summary
This project was funded by The Nature Conservancy through its office in St. Croix, USVI and in partnership with NOAA’s Coral Reef Conservation Program.

Lead Organizations
The Nature Conservancy

Partners
NOAA Coral Reef Conservation Program
NOAA NCCOS Biogeography Program
NOAA National Coral Reef Monitoring Program
USVI Department of Planning and Natural Resources
USVI Division of Fish and Wildlife

Resources
Coral Reef Resilience to Climate Change in Saipan, CNMI: Field-based Assessments and Implications for Vulnerability and Future Management

Coral Reef Module pages: Analyzing Relative Resilience; Assessing and Monitoring Reef Resilience; Selecting Resilience Indicators

Saipan, Northern Mariana Islands Resilience Assessment Case Study

How-to Guide for Conducting Resilience Assessments (pdf, 1.3M)

Prioritizing Key Resilience Indicators to Support Coral Reef Management in a Changing Climate (pdf, 373k)

Operationalizing Resilience for Adaptive Coral Reef Management Under Global Environmental Change (pdf, 542k)

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone