評估美屬維爾京群島聖克羅伊島珊瑚礁的相對恢復力

位置

美屬維爾京群島聖克羅伊(USVI)

所面臨的挑戰

珊瑚礁一直是動態棲息地,其中發生了偶發性干擾,並使珊瑚礁生長時鐘恢復,然後是系統恢復的時期。 在這種情況下,珊瑚礁已經發展成為有彈性的棲息地 - 它們可以在干擾後恢復和維持生態系統功能 - 但珊瑚礁的這種自然恢復能力現在正在受到破壞。 珊瑚礁面臨前所未有的壓力,因此管理者和環保主義者必須在可能的情況下支持和建立復原力。 作為一個概念框架,恢復能力在環保主義者中非常受歡迎 “實現”彈性 在管理環境中一直很困難。 管理人員可以減輕壓力,支持恢復流程,教育和提高意識,但需要有助於支持這些行動的信息。 本案例研究描述瞭如何使用相對彈性的評估來定位和定制管理操作。

這是對使用a的相對彈性的首次大規模評估之一 簡短的指標清單 低至 麥克拉納漢等人。 (2012) 並遵循一些提供的指導 梅納德和麥克勞德(2012)。 分析的結果是評估相對彈性(高,中或低)的空間變化,同時評估人為壓力(高,中或低)的相對水平。 管理者和環保主義者可以利用分析結果來支持實現保護成果的努力,例如規劃海洋保護區網絡,針對減輕壓力的行動,以及教育和與利益相關者和社區成員互動。 在美屬維爾京群島(USVI)的這個項目中,項目負責人希望使用彈性評估來實現以下目標:

  1. 確定目前尚未進入海洋保護區(MPA)的具有高彈性的場地。
  2. 評估具有高彈性和低彈性的站點的威脅,以針對保護工作。
  3. 開發材料以幫助教育和參與巴克島和東端海洋保護區的重要性。
  4. 優先考慮移植苗圃珊瑚的地點。

所採取的行動

用於完成分析的過程與彈性分析教程中解釋的過程相同(PDF格式)。 項目負責人和USVI跨國公司恢復力委員會通過諮詢程序決定將哪些彈性指標納入分析。 項目負責人開發了一個電子表格,其中包含McClanahan等人描述的所有30彈性指標。 (2012)審查。 向委員會提出的情況是,應排除那些在新西蘭人民大學中名列前茅的重要性和證據強度的指標。 第一個建議得到了一致同意; 理由是每個額外的指標都會削弱每個其他指標的相對重要性。 換句話說,對阻力屬性和彈性過程重要的較短指標列表優於包含弱指標的較長列表。 然後根據數據可用性以及對USVI中抵抗力和恢復力的重要性將其餘指標分為三個等級。 使用的最終指標是:抗性物種,珊瑚多樣性,食草動物生物量,大型藻類覆蓋,珊瑚覆蓋,溫度變化和珊瑚病。 所研究的人為壓力因素是捕撈壓力和沿海開發。

通過大陸和國家珊瑚礁監測計劃(TCRMP和NCRMP)在大自然保護協會(TNC),國家海洋和大氣管理局珊瑚礁保護計劃的工作人員進行的實地工作和桌面分析的綜合收集和彙編數據( NOAA CRCP),魚類和野生動物規劃和自然資源部(DPRN-DFW),以及NOAA的國家沿海海洋科學生物地理分支中心或本報告的作者。 一個 相對彈性得分 計算如下。 對於所有7彈性指標,所有站點的分數(n = 267)通過將指標的每個站點的值除以所有站點中的最大值來“錨定”到最大分數。 錨定值會在標準化的0-1刻度上為每個站點生成一個分數,該分數表示每個站點相對於最大值的百分比值(以百分比表示)。 在對所有指標的錨定分數進行平均之前,從1中減去大型藻類和珊瑚疾病的錨定分數,這確保標準化的0-1量表是單向的,因為高分始終是一個好分數。 然後對得分進行平均以產生彈性得分,然後將這些得分錨定到最大得分以產生最終彈性得分,該得分錶示相對於最大回彈性得分的“評估彈性”。 同樣的方法用於人為壓力的代理,其與彈性分數保持分離。 將每個代理的所有站點的值錨定到最大值,然後對值進行平均並重新錨定以產生最終壓力分數。 對於壓力,高分意味著高壓力。 對於彈性和人為壓力,基於以下數據范圍使用高,中和低規模:0.8-1.0用於高,0.6-0.79用於中等,<0.6用於低。

Figure1

站點從最高到最低彈性(從1到268)排名。 彈性分數在兩張地圖上呈現在空間上; 一個使用綠色,黃色和紅色的3-bin紅綠燈顏色系統分別為高,中和低(見 圖1),另一個將彈性分數設置為10等於(0.10)箱。 主成分分析(PCA)用於確定高,中,低彈性站點各種指標的得分之間的共性; 也就是說,一些彈性指標是否會更大程度地影響最終排名以及以何種方式(見 圖2)。 然後與管理人員和利益相關者分享結果,以確定潛在的後續行動並確定其優先順序。

Figure2

它有多成功?

所有既定目標都通過分析得到滿足,或者將在未來幾個月內通過使用分析產出與利益相關者和社區成員互動來實現。 目前預計此分析不會用於創建額外的海洋保護區。 然而,結果可能會用於審查未來的MPA安置情況,並將在未來幾年內為一系列其他管理行動提供信息,以支持聖克羅伊島珊瑚礁的恢復能力。 例如,初步數據表明,該分析的彈性評分與移植珊瑚存活率的已知空間變異之間存在正相關關係。 分析結果現在將用於確定最需要育苗珊瑚的地方,並且最有可能恢復成功。 該分析將在明年擴展到包括聖托馬斯和聖約翰附近的珊瑚礁,以更好地針對所有3島嶼的保護工作。

它有多成功?

  • 彈性評估可以使用現有數據(此處為案例)作為桌面練習完成。
  • 最關鍵的第一步是確定明確的目標。
  • 協作選擇指標的過程可確保合作夥伴和利益相關者在評估中獲得智力投入。
  • 通過用於選擇指標的磋商產生的協作增加了買入,從而最大限度地利用了分析結果。
  • 包括多個站點和指標在內的彈性評估需要在數據管理方面進行投入。 數據需要位於一個位置,指標的所有數據都需要標準化,以便可以在站點之間進行比較。
  • 描述網站和圖表相對彈性的地圖描述了每個指標對最終排名的相對影響,有助於簡單和直觀地解釋分析及其對合作夥伴和利益相關者的價值。
  • 完成基於桌面的彈性評估將確定可以修改現場監測計劃的方式,以收集關於彈性指標的更多或更好的信息。 該練習還可以幫助確定更好的存儲現場數據的方法,以便未來的彈性評估可以快速完成,而且資源密集程度低於第一次。

資金摘要

該項目由大自然保護協會通過其位於USVI聖克羅伊的辦事處以及與NOAA的珊瑚礁保護計劃合作資助。

牽頭組織

大自然保護協會

合作夥伴

NOAA珊瑚礁保護計劃
NOAA NCCOS生物地理學計劃
NOAA國家珊瑚礁監測計劃
USVI規劃和自然資源部
USVI魚類和野生動物部

資源

珊瑚礁對塞浦路斯島氣候變化的複原力,CNMI:基於實地的評估及其對脆弱性和未來管理的影響

分析相對彈性

評估和監測珊瑚礁恢復力

選擇彈性指標

北馬里亞納群島恢復力評估案例研究

進行彈性評估的操作指南

優先考慮關鍵的恢復力指標,以支持氣候變化中的珊瑚礁管理

在全球環境變化下實現適應性珊瑚礁管理的複原力

U.S. Virgin Islands – Resilience Assessment


Assessing the Relative Resilience of the Coral Reefs of St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands 

Location
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands (USVI)

The Challenge
Coral reefs have always been dynamic habitats in which episodic disturbances occur and set the reef growth clock back, followed by periods in which the system recovers. Under these conditions coral reefs have evolved to be resilient habitats – they can recover and maintain ecosystem function after disturbances – but this natural resilience of reefs is now being undermined. Reefs face unprecedented pressures so managers and conservationists have to support and build resilience when and where possible. As a conceptual framework, resilience has been hugely popular with conservationists but ‘operationalizing’ resilience in a management setting has been difficult. Managers can reduce stress, support recovery processes, and educate and raise awareness, but need information that helps to support these actions. This case study describes how assessments of relative resilience can be used to target and tailor management actions.

This is one of the first large-scale assessments of relative resilience to use a short-list of indicators from McClanahan et al. (2012) and follows some of the guidance provided by Maynard and Mcleod (2012). The output of the analysis is an assessment of spatial variation in relative resilience (high, medium or low) in combination with an assessment of relative levels of anthropogenic stress (high, medium or low). Managers and conservationists can use the analysis outputs to support efforts to achieve conservation outcomes, like planning marine protected area networks, targeting actions to reduce stress, and educating and engaging with stakeholders and community members. In this project in the U.S. Virgin Islands (USVI), the project leaders hoped to use the resilience assessment to meet the following objectives:

  1. Identify sites with high resilience that are not currently inside marine protected areas (MPAs).
  2. Assess threats at sites with high and low resilience to target conservation effort.
  3. Develop materials to aid in educating and engaging about the importance of Buck Island and east end MPAs.
  4. Prioritize sites for the transplantation of nursery-grown corals.

Actions Taken
The process used to complete the analysis is the same process explained in the Resilience Analysis Tutorial (pdf). Project leaders and the TNC Resilience Committee for USVI decided which resilience indicators to include in the analysis through a consultative process. Project leaders developed a spreadsheet containing all 30 of the resilience indicators described in the McClanahan et al. (2012) review. The case was made to the Committee that indicators not in the top 20 for perceived importance and strength of evidence should be excluded. This first suggestion was agreed upon; the rationale being that each additional indicator included dilutes the relative importance of each of the other indicators. In other words, a shorter list of indicators that are important to resistance properties and resilience processes is better than a longer list that includes weak indicators. The remaining indicators were then classified into three tiers based on data availability and perceived importance to resistance and resilience in USVI. The final indicators used were: resistant species, coral diversity, herbivore biomass, macroalgae cover, coral cover, temperature variability and coral disease. The anthropogenic stressors examined are fishing pressure and coastal development.

The data were collected and compiled via a combination of fieldwork and desktop analysis undertaken under the Territorial and National Coral Reef Monitoring Programs (TCRMP and NCRMP) by staff from The Nature Conservancy (TNC), the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s Coral Reef Conservation Program (NOAA CRCP), Department of Planning and Natural Resources Division of Fish and Wildlife (DPRN-DFW), and NOAA’s National Centers for Coastal Ocean Science Biogeography Branch or by this report’s authors. A relative resilience score is calculated as follows. For all 7 resilience indicators, the scores for all sites (n=267) are ‘anchored’ to the maximum score by dividing the value for each site for the indicator by the maximum value among all sites. Anchoring values produces a score for each site on a standardized 0-1 scale, which expresses the value for each site relative (as a percentage) to the maximum value. Before anchored scores for all indicators can be averaged, the anchored scores for macroalgae and coral disease are subtracted from 1, which ensures the standardized 0-1 scale is uni-directional in that a high score is always a good score. The scores are then averaged to produce the resilience score and then these scores are also anchored to the maximum score to produce a final resilience score that expresses the ‘assessed resilience’ as relative to the maximum resilience score. The same approach is used for the proxies of anthropogenic stress, which are kept separate to the resilience scores. The values are anchored for all sites for each proxy to the maximum value and then the values are averaged and re-anchored to produce the final stress score. For stress, high scores mean high stress. For both resilience and anthropogenic stress, a high, medium and low scale is used based on the following data ranges: 0.8-1.0 for high, 0.6-0.79 for medium and <0.6 for low.

Figure1Sites are ranked from highest to lowest resilience (from 1 through to 268).  Resilience scores are presented spatially on two maps; one that uses a 3-bin stoplight color system of green, yellow and red for high, medium and low, respectively (see Figure 1), and another that sets resilience scores into 10 equal (0.10) bins. Principle Components Analysis (PCA) is used to identify commonalities among the scores for the various indicators for high, medium, and low resilience sites; i.e., whether some resilience indicators more greatly influenced the final rankings and in what way (see Figure 2). The results were then shared with managers and stakeholders to identify and prioritize potential follow-on actions.

 

Figure2
How successful has it been?
All of the set objectives were met by the analysis or will be met over the coming months by using analysis outputs to engage with stakeholders and community members. It is not anticipated that this analysis will be used to create additional Marine Protected Areas right now. However, the results may be used to review MPA placement in the future and will inform a range of other management actions over the coming years that will support the resilience of St. Croix’s reefs. As an example, preliminary data suggests there is a positive and significant correlation between the resilience score from this analysis and known spatial variation in the survivorship of transplanted corals. The analysis results will now be used to determine where nursery-grown corals are most needed and have the greatest potential for restoration success. The analysis will be extended in the coming year to include reefs near St. Thomas and St. John to better target conservation effort across all 3 islands.

Lessons Learned and Recommendations
Lessons learned and key recommendations include:

  • Resilience assessments can be completed as a desktop-exercise using existing data (the case here).
  • The most critical first step is the identification of clear objectives.
  • The process of selecting indicators collaboratively ensures partners and stakeholders are intellectually invested in the assessment.
  • Collaboration generated through the consultations used to select indicators increases buy-in, which maximizes uptake of the analysis outputs.
  • Resilience assessments including multiple sites and indicators require investing effort in data management. Data need to be in one location and all data for indicators needs to be standardized such that comparisons can be made among sites.
  • Maps describing the relative resilience of sites and graphs describing the relative influence of each of the indicators on the final rankings help to simply and visually explain the analysis and its value to partners and stakeholders.
  • The completion of a desktop-based resilience assessment will identify ways field monitoring programs can be modified to collect more or better information on resilience indicators. The exercise may also help to identify better ways of storing field data such that future resilience assessments can be completed quickly and less resource-intensively than the first.

Funding Summary
This project was funded by The Nature Conservancy through its office in St. Croix, USVI and in partnership with NOAA’s Coral Reef Conservation Program.

Lead Organizations
The Nature Conservancy

Partners
NOAA Coral Reef Conservation Program
NOAA NCCOS Biogeography Program
NOAA National Coral Reef Monitoring Program
USVI Department of Planning and Natural Resources
USVI Division of Fish and Wildlife

Resources
Coral Reef Resilience to Climate Change in Saipan, CNMI: Field-based Assessments and Implications for Vulnerability and Future Management

Coral Reef Module pages: Analyzing Relative Resilience; Assessing and Monitoring Reef Resilience; Selecting Resilience Indicators

Saipan, Northern Mariana Islands Resilience Assessment Case Study

How-to Guide for Conducting Resilience Assessments (pdf, 1.3M)

Prioritizing Key Resilience Indicators to Support Coral Reef Management in a Changing Climate (pdf, 373k)

Operationalizing Resilience for Adaptive Coral Reef Management Under Global Environmental Change (pdf, 542k)

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone