我們最近啟動了新的基於社區的氣候適應模塊,該模塊符合最新的科學指導和工具,幫助管理人員評估社會和生態對氣候變化和其他壓力因素的脆弱性。 我們採訪了我們的主要氣候適應科學家Lizzie McLeod,了解基於社區的氣候適應的重要性以及一些相關的好處。 看看下面的對話吧!

RR:為什麼以社區為基礎的氣候適應對珊瑚礁管理者很重要?

EM: 基於社區的適應對於珊瑚礁管理者來說非常重要,因為在許多情況下,社區對氣候變化的反應涉及旨在保護珊瑚礁的管理行動。 珊瑚礁可以幫助緩衝海岸線免受風暴影響和海平面上升,保護珊瑚礁漁業以保持糧食安全,因此它們的保護可以幫助社區更好地應對氣候變化。 不易受氣候變化影響的社區開發自然資源的可能性較小。 珊瑚礁管理者可以幫助突出氣候變化對珊瑚礁生態系統的影響以及保護珊瑚礁生態系統的優先管理行動。 他們也可能獲得氣候適應基金,這對於支持有助於建立沿海社區和珊瑚礁系統復原力的項目具有重要意義。

RR:與社區適應相關的一些好處是什麼?

EM: 基於社區的適應是應對氣候變化的重要組成部分。 社區,特別是珊瑚礁地區的社區,往往處於氣候變化的前沿(例如,遭受海平面上升和風暴,珊瑚褪色,海洋化學變化,海水入侵水源以及海水變化的洪水和侵蝕)食用樹木和花園的生產力)。 與自上而下的適應行動相比,社區驅動的適應行動更有可能解決當地的問題,價值觀和優先事項,並使社區能夠規劃和應對氣候影響。 它們通常利用處理氣候變率和變化的當地知識和經驗,提供具有成本效益的戰略來應對氣候變化。 如果有效實施,那麼還可以確保社區參與各級適應規劃和實施。

RR:如果管理者應該了解氣候適應問題,那會是什麼?

EM: 無論採取何種行動應對氣候變化,即使今天溫室氣體排放穩定,社區仍將面臨氣候變化的影響。 科學家預測,由於熱膨脹,海平面將繼續上升,並且根據大氣和海洋中目前的二氧化碳含量,大氣層將持續至少一個世紀(如果不是更長時間)變暖。 因此,隨著我們努力實現“巴黎協定”規定的目標,即將全球氣溫保持在工業化前水平以上的2°C以及努力將溫度上升限制在1.5°C以下,適應工作的重要性將會增加。

深入了解我們的 基於社區的氣候適應模塊 了解更多信息!

por youjizz xmxx 老師xxx 性別

New Resource on Community-Based Climate Adaptation

EY7A1285

We recently launched our new Community-Based Climate Adaptation module which complies the latest scientific guidance and tools to help managers assess social and ecological vulnerability to climate change and other stressors. We interviewed Lizzie McLeod, our lead climate adaptation scientist, to learn about the importance of community-based climate adaptation and some of the associated benefits. Check out our conversation below!

RR: Why is community-based climate adaptation important for coral reef managers?

EM: Community-based adaptation is important for reef managers because in many cases, community responses to climate change involve management actions that aim to protect coral reefs. Reefs can help to buffer coastlines from storm impacts and sea-level rise and protect reef fisheries to maintain food security, thus their protection can help communities to be more resilient to climate change. Communities who are less vulnerable to climate change are less likely to exploit their natural resources. Coral reef managers can help to highlight the impacts of climate change on coral reef ecosystems and priority management actions to protect them. They may also be able to access climate adaptation funds which can be significant to support projects which help to build the resilience of coastal communities and reef systems.

RR: What are some of the benefits associated with community-based adaptation? 

EM: Community-based adaptation is a vital part of responding to climate change. Communities, especially those in coral reef areas, are often on the front lines of climate change (e.g., experiencing flooding and erosion from sea-level rise and storms, coral bleaching, changes in ocean chemistry, saltwater intrusion into water sources, and changes in the productivity of food trees and gardens). Community-driven adaptation actions are more likely to address local concerns, values, and priorities than top-down adaptation actions and can empower communities to plan for and cope with climate impacts. They often provide cost-effective strategies to address climate change by building on local knowledge and experiences dealing with climate variability and change. If implemented effectively, then can also ensure that communities are engaged in all levels of adaptation planning and implementation.

RR: If there is one thing managers should know about climate adaptation what would it be? 

EM: No matter what actions are taken globally to address climate change, even if greenhouse gas emissions were stabilized today, communities will still face impacts of climate change. Scientists project that sea levels will continue to rise due to thermal expansion and the atmosphere will continue to warm for at least a century, if not longer, based on the current amount of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and ocean. Therefore, adaptation efforts will only increase in importance as we work towards implementation of the goals set forth by the Paris Agreement to keep global temperatures below 2°C above pre-industrial levels and to pursue efforts to limit temperature increase to 1.5°C.

Take a deeper dive into our Community-Based Climate Adaptation Module to learn more!

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone