觀眾

照片©Resilient Reefs Initiative,大堡礁基金會/ Gary Cranitch,昆士蘭博物館

步驟3:確定您的目標受眾

制定溝通計劃時,確定目標和目標後最重要的一步是確定目標受眾。 為了溝通 戰略,需要針對特定受眾。

觀看有關識別目標受眾的簡短演示:

本部分包含三個步驟:定義目標受眾,確定其核心價值觀和關注點,並列出您可能與之建立的任何關係。

目標受眾

公眾不是目標受眾
不公開
如果我們試圖瞄準每個人,我們就無法瞄準任何人。 目標受眾越小,越具體,就越容易創建有針對性的溝通,將觀眾轉移到行動中。 嘗試描繪您的受眾並描​​述他們是誰,他們的樣子以及他們做了什麼。 使用與您的工作最相關的類別(例如人口統計,地理位置,生活方式)細分您的受眾群體。 示例:擁有卡車的25下的城市男性; 經常前往坦桑尼亞的商人; 或帕勞的自給農民。

決策者和影響者

您最重要的受眾是能夠實現目標的人 - 決策者。 這個人的行為將直接影響您的目標。 有可能直接或通過他們最傾聽的人 - 有影響力的人間接地接觸他們。

示例:如果您的目標是通過2025阻止您所在城鎮的青少年吸煙,那麼決策者就是該鎮的青少年,一個有影響力的受眾可能是其他青少年。

專注於你可以說服的人

針對那些反對你的目標的人可能會導致沮喪和失敗。 改變某人的思想是非常困難的,但當有人成為圍欄時,就有可能在一個方向或另一個方向上影響他們。 一個良好的第一步是識別那些關注並對您的目標感興趣的志同道合的人。 他們可以幫助影響那些可能稍微感興趣或支持但不知情,或者可能沒有下定決心的圍欄保持者。

核心問題和價值觀

了解您的受眾關注的內容,以便了解項目與他們的關係

從您的受眾開始 is。 你必須在他們所在的地方遇見他們,而不是你想要的地方。 當人們以與他們的價值觀,關注點和信仰一致的方式打包時,人們更關心一個問題。 問問自己,我的觀眾關心和重視什麼? 他們想要什麼,享受什麼? 人們的價值觀來自個人經歷,歷史,態度,需求和信仰。 圍繞觀眾的價值觀制定策略,並展示如何與他們已經關心的事物聯繫起來,這將有助於獲得他們的關注和支持。

示例:漁民可能將魚視為食物,而SCUBA潛水員可能會將魚視為美學或娛樂。

人們如何根據他們的價值以不同的方式看待同一件事的例子。

人們如何根據他們的價值以不同的方式看待同一件事的例子(點擊圖片放大)。

考慮阻礙受眾採取行動的潛在障礙
障礙圖形
如果您的目標涉及一項行動 - 並且在大多數情況下會涉及 - 而不是您需要確定可能阻止或延遲您的觀眾採取行動的潛在障礙,以便您可以克服它們。 例如,如果您要求某人正確處理汽車電池,但所需的處理方法對他們來說不方便,那就是要克服的障礙。 您的工作是找出潛在的障礙,找出創造性的方法來盡量減少障礙或提供激勵措施,使他們採取行動是值得的,即使這樣做不方便。

如何了解您的受眾群體

如果您的“受眾”是個人或小組,您/合作夥伴/同事/社區聯繫人都很清楚,您可以根據您的個人知識和基本在線搜索回答有關其核心問題和價值觀的一些問題。

如果您的“受眾”是一個更大或更不熟悉的群體,您可能會發現有關性別,年齡,教育程度,信仰等特徵的現有研究,可在線免費獲取。

如果您選擇投資進行可能很昂貴的新研究,請務必仔細評估研究方法,以便選擇最能滿足您需求的方法。 此外,請考慮在流程結束時進行的任何評估。 這樣,您可以在預測試中包含可以建立評估基準的問題。

有兩大類研究 - 定性(例如,不是數字形式)和定量(例如,數字形式)。 定性工具,例如焦點小組和訪談,對於較小的目標受眾可以更有效,而民意調查和電話調查等定量工具對更大的受眾更有效。 有關定性和定量研究的詳細概述,包括何時使用這些技術,它們如何工作以及潛在的缺點,請參閱定性與定量研究概述(PDF格式,229k)。

連接

一切都與關係有關
連接
一旦確定了您需要訪問的受眾,下一步就是確定您是否與他們有任何联系。 如果您在一個小型社區或相對較少的受眾群體中工作,您可能是直接聯繫他們或通過與他們有更直接聯繫的人(例如朋友,家人,熟人或同事)分享您的消息。 您的工作是確定受眾最受影響的人是誰? 如果您在更大的社區或城市或更多的受眾中工作,這些直接聯繫可能不適用,您可能需要招募媒體或備受尊重/名人信使,我們將詳細介紹戰術部分。

測試你的理解

參加測驗,測試您對本節信息的理解。

輪到你了(推薦> 25分鐘)

使用 受眾工作表 寫下特定的受眾,他們的價值觀和關注點,以及他們與他們的聯繫。

  1. 確定你的 決策者) - 通過採取特定行動或改變特定行為,使您的目標成為現實的個人或團體。 (如果你了解它們,請寫下人們的名字。)考慮以下問題:
    • 誰是受問題和/或項目影響最大的人?
    • 特定群體/個人是否會導致問題?
    • 哪些受眾具有最大的政治或社會影響力?
  1. 然後想想這個人或團體 他們在乎什麼 (他們的核心問題)回答以下問題:
    • 他們最大的(核心)關注/生活中的優先事項是什麼?
    • 他們對您的問題/項目有什麼看法?
    • 誰/他們尊重和享受什麼?
  1. 接下來考慮一下 潛在的障礙 這可能會阻止您的觀眾採取行動/支持您的事業。 他們會有什麼藉口,例如駕駛太遠,太貴,沒有足夠的時間? 注意:列出具有核心問題的同一部分中的那些。
  1. 最後,考慮一下 連接 你有這個人/人。 您會直接與他們聯繫還是通過其他人聯繫他們? 請考慮以下問題:
    • 他們的背景是什麼?
    • 誰是他們信任的朋友,同事,家人?
    • 他們依靠誰來尋求建議? 他們信任和傾聽誰?
    • 如果你無法影響這個人,誰可以?

此工作表基於Spitfire Strategies的SmartCatform®戰略溝通規劃工具。 Smart Chart是Spitfire Strategies的註冊商標。 要了解更多信息,請訪問: spitfirestrategies.com.

步驟4:讓您的消息更重要

Step 3: Identify Your Target Audience(s)

Start where your audience is. People care more about an issue when it’s presented in a way that aligns with their values and beliefs. Photo © TNC

Start where your audience is. People care more about an issue when it’s presented in a way that aligns with their values and beliefs. Photo © TNC

When developing a communication plan, the most important step after determining the goal and objectives is identifying your target audience. In order for communication to be strategic, a specific audience needs to be targeted.

There are three steps in this section: defining your target audience(s), identifying their core values and concerns, and listing any connections you may have with them.

Target Audience

The public is not a target audience
not public
If we try to target everyone, we fail to target anyone. The smaller and more specific the target audience, the easier it is to create focused communication that will move your audience to action. Try to picture your audience and describe who they are, what they look like, and what they do. Segment your audience using categories most relevant to your work, such as demography, geography, lifestyle. Examples: urban males under 25 who own a truck; businessmen who travel frequently to Tanzania; or subsistence farmers in Palau.

Decision-makers and influencers

Your most important audience is the one who can make your goal a reality – the decision maker. This is the person whose behavior will directly impact your goal. It’s possible to reach them directly, or indirectly through the people they listen to the most – the influencers.

Example: If your goal is to stop teenage smoking in your town by 2025, then the decision makers are the teenagers in the town, and one influential audience might be other teenagers.

 

Focus on those you can persuade

Targeting those who oppose your goal is likely to result in frustration and failure. It’s extremely hard to change someone’s mind, but when someone is one the fence it’s possible to influence them in one direction or the other. A good first step is to identify like-minded people who are paying attention and interested in your goal. They can help influence the fence sitters who may be slightly interested or supportive but not informed, or who may not have made up their mind.

Core Concerns and Values

Learn what your audience cares about so you can show how your project relates to them

Start where your audience is. You have to meet them where they are, not where you want them to be. People care more about an issue when it’s packaged in a way that aligns with their values, concerns, and beliefs. Ask yourself what does my audience care about and value? What do they want and enjoy? People’s values come from personal experience, history, attitudes, needs, and beliefs. Shaping your strategy around your audience’s values and showing how it is connected to the things they already care about will help gain their attention and support.

Example:  A fisher likely values fish as food, whereas a SCUBA diver might value fish for aesthetics or recreation.

 

Example of how people can see the same thing in different ways based on what they value.

Example of how people can see the same thing in different ways based on what they value (click image to enlarge).

Consider potential barriers getting in the way of your audience taking action
barriers graphic
If your objective involves an action – and in most cases it will – than you need to identify potential barriers that may stop or delay your audience from taking action so you can overcome them. For example, if you ask someone to properly dispose of a car battery, but the desired disposal method is inconvenient for them, that is a barrier to overcome. Your job is to identify potential barriers and figure out creative ways to minimize barriers or provide incentives that make it worth it for them to take the action, even if it’s inconvenient.

How to learn about your audience

If your ‘audience’ is an individual or small group you/partners/colleagues/community contacts know well, you may be able to answer some of the questions about their core concerns and values based on your personal knowledge and basic online searches.

If your ‘audience’ is a larger or less familiar group, you can likely find existing research on characteristics such as gender, age, education level, beliefs, etc., available for free online.

Should you choose to invest in conducting new research, which can be expensive, be sure to assess research methods carefully so you choose the method(s) that will best meet your needs. In addition, consider any evaluations that will be done at the end of your process. That way, you can include questions in pre-testing that will establish a baseline for evaluation.

There are two broad categories of research – qualitative (e.g., not in numerical form) and quantitative (e.g., in numerical form). Qualitative tools, such as focus groups and interviews, can be more effective with smaller target audiences, while quantitative tools like opinion polls and phone surveys are more effective for larger audiences. For a detailed overview of qualitative and quantitative research including when to use these techniques, how they work, and potential drawbacks, see Qualitative vs. Quantitative Research Overview (pdf, 229k).

Connections

It’s all about connections
connections
Once you’ve identified the audience you need to reach, the next step is to determine if you have any connections to them. If you are working in a small community or with a relatively small audience, you may be you reach them directly or share your messages through someone with a more direct connection to them, such as a friend, family member, acquaintance, or colleague. Your job is to identify who your audience will be most influenced by? If you are working in a larger community or city or with a larger audience, these kinds of direct connections may not apply, and you may have to recruit the media or a well-respected/celebrity messenger, which we’ll elaborate on more in the Tactics section.

Test Your Understanding

Test your understanding of the information in this section by taking the quiz.

Your Turn (> 25 minutes recommended)

Use the Audience Worksheet to write down specific audiences, their values and concerns, and your connections to them.

  1. Identify your decision maker(s) – individual(s) or group(s) who can make your objective a reality by taking a specific action or changing a specific behavior. (Actually write down peoples’ names if you know them.) Consider the following questions:
    • Who are the people most affected by the problem and/or your project?
    • Are specific groups/individuals causing the problem?
    • Which audiences have the most political or social influence?
  1. Then think about this person or group and what they care about (their core concerns) by answering the following questions:
    • What is their greatest (core) concern/priority in life?
    • What do they believe about your issue/project?
    • Who/what do they respect and enjoy?
  1. Next, consider potential barriers that might stop your audience from taking action/supporting your cause. What excuses will they have, e.g., it’s too far to drive, too expensive, not enough time? Note: list those in the same section with core concerns.
  1. Finally, consider what connections you have with this person/people. Will you reach out to them directly or reach them through someone else? Consider the following questions:
    • What is their background?
    • Who are their trusted friends, associates, family members?
    • Who do they count on for advice? Who do they trust and listen to?
    • If you can’t influence this person, who can?

This worksheet is based on Spitfire Strategies’ Smart Chart® strategic communications planning tool. The Smart Chart is a registered trademark of Spitfire Strategies. To learn more, visit: spitfirestrategies.com.
 

Go to Step 4: Make Your Message(s) Matter

Resources

Escape from the Ivory Tower: A Guide to Making your Science Matter (book for purchase)

Discovering the Activation Point® (pdf, 776k)

Smart Chart® – an interactive tool to guide smart communication choices

Return to Top

Last updated September 7, 2017

Translate »