目標和目標

照片©Resilient Reefs Initiative,大堡礁基金會/ Gary Cranitch,昆士蘭博物館

步驟1:確定您的目標和目標

戰略規劃過程的第一步是建立一個強大,明確的目標,定義您的願景,以便您知道自己想去的地方。 然後你定義目標 - 你將如何到達那裡的步驟。 確定明確的目標和具體目標是良好戰略的最重要部分,並將指導您的其餘工作。

觀看有關確定目標和目標的簡短演示:

目標

為了幫助闡明您的目標,請考慮全局。 描述當你到達世界時的世界。 會有什麼不同? 我們的許多保護目標都是長期目標,可以使5,10,20年或更長時間達到。 對於有效且相關的溝通策略,請考慮更短期 - 關注可在3-5年中實現的目標以及可在下一個12-18月份實現的目標。

你的目標應該具體。 它應該準確說明需要發生什麼,在哪裡,何時,以及與誰一起。 精心設計的目標為規劃過程提供了明確的方向,並以可衡量的方式縮小了項目的重點,例如按地理位置,受眾和時間線。 換句話說,它是SMART:具體,可衡量,可實現,現實和有時限。 編寫SMART目標可能需要幾次嘗試。

示例:阻止海洋入侵物種向夏威夷蔓延。

這是一個很好的目標,但它可能是“聰明的”。

SMARTer示例:通過80 2030%降低海洋入侵物種在夏威夷近岸海域的發生率。 不是SMART的目標示例:

  • 阻止溫室效應
  • 停止非法捕魚
  • 讓立法機關為更多“綠色計劃”提供資金

溝通提示

定期提醒自己(和您的團隊)您的目標可以幫助確定您的日常活動的優先順序,以確保您正在做的工作有助於讓您更接近它。

目標

確定目標後,下一步就是將其劃分為“一口大小”目標,以及實現目標的步驟。 目標也應該是SMART,可以根據您嘗試訪問的受眾,您嘗試執行的操作或規劃過程中的各個階段來創建。

示例:如果您的目標是 “通過80 2030%降低海洋入侵物種在夏威夷近海水域的發生率”,一個示例目標可能是:讓州立法機構通過2020的入侵物種政策,為入侵物種邊境控制創造更多資金。

目標
提高公眾意識不是SMART的目標。 公眾對觀眾的影響太大,而意識通常只是邁向實際影響目標的行為的一步。 為了更具體,請問我為什麼要提高認識? 我想用什麼樣的觀眾改變什麼行為? 我需要將政策或法案簽署為法律? 如果您發現自己的目標是提高意識,我們鼓勵您深入挖掘,以實現您想要實現的真正行動。 需要更多意識的根本原因是什麼?

示例:如果您的目標是在一個有大量徑流的地區改善珊瑚健康,那麼初步目標可能是“提高珊瑚礁附近山區農民對珊瑚重要性的認識”。 但減少徑流將對珊瑚礁產生積極影響,因此更好的目標是:'通過2020,說服山區的40農民停止有助於徑流的土地清理實踐,而是一次清理並重新種植小部分'或“通過2018,簽署了30山區農民的激勵計劃,以便他們承諾避免導致徑流的園林綠化活動。”

測試你的理解

參加測驗,測試您對本節信息的理解。

輪到你了(推薦> 30分鐘)

使用 目標和目標工作表 寫下你的目標和目標。

目標

為編寫目標指導問題:

  • 您要解決的問題是什麼? 這個問題最常見或最嚴重的後果是什麼?
  • 您想要在長期和短期內實現的變化是什麼?
  • 在達到目標後,您所在的地方(社區,組織等)會有什麼不同?
  • 你的目標是SMART嗎? (SMART =具體,可衡量,可實現(可行),在資源/組織能力和時間限制方面是現實的)

目標

目標是實現目標所需的步驟。 目標應相互補充,但可能不必按順序發生。

獲得目標列表後,您需要優先考慮它們。 批判性地思考什麼將幫助您實現目標並使用該目標來完成整個規劃過程的其餘部分。 為了有效,戰略溝通計劃應該一次關註一個目標,因為每個目標可以有不同的受眾,可能需要不同的信息和策略。 這並不意味著您無法將所有這些信息整合到一個總體規劃中。 這只意味著您需要為每個目標完成戰略溝通規劃流程。

選擇和確定目標優先順序的指導性問題:

  • 有時間依賴嗎?
  • 是否必須以特定順序發生? 有可能同時發生嗎?
  • 我的目標與哪些受眾相關?
  • 哪個目標對主要受眾影響最大?
  • 哪個目標最具成本效益?
  • 如果沒有完成,哪個目標可能會產生最大的負面影響?
  • 有些人比其他人更容易執行嗎?

此工作表基於Spitfire Strategies的SmartCatform®戰略溝通規劃工具。 Smart Chart是Spitfire Strategies的註冊商標。 要了解更多信息,請訪問: spitfirestrategies.com.

步驟2:為您的努力評估上下文

Step 1: Establish Your Goal & Objectives

The first step in the strategic planning process is to establish a strong, clear goal that defines your vision so you know where you want to go. Then you define the objectives – the steps for how you are going to get there. Identifying a clear goal and specific objectives is the most important part of a good strategy and will guide the rest of your efforts.

Goal

To help articulate your goal, think big picture. Describe what the world will look like when you reach it. What will be different? Many of our conservation goals are long-term and can take 5, 10, 20 years or more to reach. For an effective and relevant communications strategy, think shorter term – focus on a goal that can be achieved in 3-5 years and objectives that can be achieved in the next 12-18 months.

Your goal should be specific. It should state exactly what needs to happen, where, and when, and with whom. A well crafted goal gives clear direction to the planning process and narrows the focus of your project in measurable ways, such as by geography, audience, and timeline. In other words, it’s SMART: specific, measurable, achievable, realistic, and time bound. It is likely to take a few tries to write a SMART goal.

Example: Stop the spread of marine invasive species to Hawai‘i.

That’s a good goal, but it could be “SMARTer.”

SMARTer example: Reduce incidence of marine invasive species to Hawai‘i’s nearshore waters by 80% by 2030. Examples of goals that aren’t SMART:

  • Stop global warming
  • Stop illegal fishing
  • Get the legislature to fund more “green programs”

 

COMMUNICATION TIP

Regularly reminding yourself (and your team) of your goal can help prioritize your day-to-day activities to make sure the work you are doing is helping to move you closer to it.

Objectives

Once you have identified your goal, your next step is to divide it into “bite-size” objectives, the steps for how you reach your goal. Objectives should also be SMART and can be created based on the audience you’re trying to reach, action you’re trying to make happen, or the stages in your planning process.

Example: If your goal is to “reduce incidence of marine invasive species to Hawai‘i’s nearshore waters by 80% by 2030,” an example objective could be to: Get state legislature to pass invasive species policy by 2020 to create more funding for invasive species border control.

objectives
Raising public awareness is not a SMART goal. The public is too large an audience, and awareness is usually only a step toward a behavior that will actually affect a goal. To get more specific, ask why do I want to raise awareness? What behavior do I want to change with what audience? Who do I need to sign a policy or bill into law? If you find yourself saying your goal is to raise awareness, we encourage you to dig deeper to get at the true action you’d like to achieve. What is the underlying reason more awareness is needed?

Example: If your goal is about improving coral health in an area with a lot of runoff, a first draft objective might be ‘raise awareness of mountain farmers near reefs about the importance of corals.’  But reducing runoff will have a positive impact on coral reefs, so a better objective is: ‘by 2020, convince 40 farmers in the mountains to stop a land clearing practice that contributes to runoff and instead clear and replant small sections at a time’ or ‘by 2018, sign up 30 mountain farmers to an incentive program so they commit to avoiding a landscaping practice that contributes to runoff.’

Test Your Understanding

Test your understanding of the information in this section by taking the quiz.

Your Turn (>30 minutes recommended)

Use the Goal and Objectives Worksheet to write down your goal and objectives.

Goal

Guiding questions for writing your goal:

  • What is the issue or problem you are trying to solve? What are the most common or serious consequences of the issue?
  • What is the change you are trying to achieve over the long-term and the short-term?
  • What will be different in your place (community, organization, etc.) after you have achieved your goal?
  • Is your goal SMART? (SMART = Specific, measureable, attainable (doable), realistic in terms of resources/organizational capacity, and time-bound)

Objectives

Objectives are the steps needed to achieve your goal. Objectives should be complementary to one another, but may not have to occur sequentially.

Once you have a list of objectives, you’ll need to prioritize them. Think critically about what will help you accomplish your goal and use that objective to work through the rest of this planning process. To be effective, a strategic communication plan should focus on one objective at a time, since each objective can have a different audience which could require different messages and tactics. This doesn’t mean you can’t tie all of this information together into one master plan. It just means that your need to walk through the strategic communication planning process for each objective.

Guiding questions for selecting and prioritizing objectives:

  • Are any time-dependent?
  • Do any have to happen in a specific order? Can any happen simultaneously?
  • Which audiences are my objectives tied to?
  • Which objective will have the most impact on key audiences?
  • Which objective is most cost-effective?
  • Which objective could cause the most negative impact if it’s not completed?
  • Are some easier than others to execute?

This worksheet is based on Spitfire Strategies’ Smart Chart® strategic communications planning tool. The Smart Chart is a registered trademark of Spitfire Strategies. To learn more, visit: spitfirestrategies.com.
 

Go to Step 2: Assess the Context for Your Efforts

Resources

Communications Planning Workbook (pdf, 5.1M)

Smart Chart® – an interactive tool to guide smart communication choices

Planning to Win® – roadmap to creating a successful campaign

Return to Top

Last updated September 7, 2017

Translate »