尺寸

照片©Resilient Reefs Initiative,大堡礁基金會/ Gary Cranitch,昆士蘭博物館

步驟6:衡量您的影響力

評估將向您顯示是否需要進行更改或調整以實現目標以及何時(或是否)達到目標。

觀看有關衡量影響力的簡短演示:

何時測量

測量應在您的通信策略實施之前開始。 好消息是,當您評估上下文並開始檢查您的受眾時,您在步驟2和3中開始了一些初步測量。 初始數據可以作為您的起點 - 這一點非常重要,因為您無法在不知道自己從哪裡開始的情況下衡量您的目標。

不要等到項目結束才能收集和查看統計信息。 隨時收集數據將幫助您了解哪些有效,哪些無效,因此您可以根據需要修改方法。 如果您通過郵件聯繫特定受眾並讓他們採取行動的策略不起作用,您知道的越快,您就能越早做出更改,以便達到目標。

至少,您應至少評估一次,大約在項目時間表的中間,然後在最後再次評估。 臨時測量還可以激勵與周圍的人分享,例如員工和志願者,與目標受眾,支持者,經理,資助者或其他重要盟友。 即使您沒有實現目標,衡量項目的效果也有助於改進未來的項目,並使您能夠在下次更有效地使用有限的資源。

測量什麼

在考慮測量什麼時考慮:

  • 您的郵件是否覆蓋了目標受眾? 您達到了多少目標受眾?
  • 您的目標受眾是否回復了您的消息? 如果沒有,您的消息是否需要更改?
  • 觀眾的行為有何變化?
  • 你有沒有轉換新的支持者或建立新的關係?
  • 你實現了目標嗎?你怎麼知道的?
  • 你花了多少錢,結果是什麼?
  • 如果你是第一次使用戰術,它是如何表現的? 你會再次使用它嗎? 修改它?
  • 如果你對策略進行了大量投資,它的表現如何? 你能評估投資是否值得嗎?

措施類型

輸出 你做的事情 - 你採取的行動 - 推動你的戰略前進。 例如,如果您鼓勵人們購買和使用對海洋危害較小的庭院產品,並且您購買了產品以提醒客戶購買哪種產品,那麼一個項目產量可能會被“標記為1,000瓶肥料'Ocean Preferred'。”如果您舉辦活動,您可以跟踪參加活動的人數或分發的小冊子數量。

結果 是因為您的努力而發生的變化,例如意識,態度或行為的變化,或新的政策或法律。 例如,“出售1,000瓶肥料'Ocean Preferred'。”

大多數產出相對容易衡量,而且往往很容易 量化 - 可以計算的東西。 結果可能是可數的,也可能是不可數的,但可以 傳聞,例如個人觀察或故事。 一個例子是來自五金店客戶的報價,分享海洋首選貼紙如何影響他們的行為:“我正在討論購買什麼肥料,我注意到一個貼有”海洋首選“的貼紙。 這是我購買的決定性因素。“

軼事信息在講述故事時非常有用,當與數字和統計數據結合使用時,會使您的項目結果變得個性化,顯示數字背後的面孔。

衡量結果比較棘手。 您可以通過從目標向後工作來衡量結果。 例如,如果您的目標是讓人們不要亂扔垃圾,您可以在項目開始前每月測量海灘上的垃圾量,然後測量垃圾中和之後的垃圾量,看看垃圾量是否減少。

具有產量和結果指標(可量化和傳聞)的混合策略可以產生更準確和更有說服力的評估。

測試你的理解

參加測驗,測試您對本節信息的理解。

輪到你了(推薦> 20分鐘)

策略,工作表

  1. 使用 戰術工作表寫下你將用來評估你的策略的各種措施。 如果你無法衡量一個策略,請記下這一點。
  2. 填寫完工作表後,請查看您的度量列表。 對於無法衡量的策略,它們對達到目標有多重要? 如果它們不重要且無法衡量,那麼它們應該從計劃中刪除。 (盡可能節省資源!)
  3. 決定是否可以削減任何策略。

指導性問題:

  • 您的產出和結果是否表明您是否在實現目標方面取得了進展? 你有可以計算的措施嗎?
  • 數據是否可用於跟踪這些測量?
  • 您是否考慮過Facebook跟踪或Google Analytics等免費在線工具?
  • 您是否包含了收集非線性結果的措施,例如非正式訪談?
  • 您的測量結果是產出和結果的組合,可以量化還是傳聞?

您是否包含了可以在整個通信工作中進行審核的測量結果,而不僅僅是最終結果?

此工作表基於Spitfire Strategies的SmartCatform®戰略溝通規劃工具。 Smart Chart是Spitfire Strategies的註冊商標。 要了解更多信息,請訪問: spitfirestrategies.com.

步驟7:創建計劃摘要

Step 6: Measure Your Impact

Evaluation will show you whether you need to make changes or adjustments to achieve your  goal and when (or if) you’ve reached your objective.

When to Measure

Mahdi Arsyad (right, Ratni Sulasmi Pello (left) measuing fish on the beach. With the help of the Nature Conservancy and other partners, fisherman have learned the best practices for fishing sustainably. The Conservancy works with many local community members to protect marine habitats to benefit biodiversity and coastal communities. Photo credit: © Kevin Arnold

Measuring fish on the beach. Photo © Kevin Arnold

Measurement should begin before your communications strategy is implemented. The good news is, you started some preliminary measurement in Steps 2 and 3 when you assessed your context and started examining your audiences. That initial data can serve as your starting point – which is important because you can’t measure where you end without knowing where you started.

Don’t wait until the end of your project to collect and review statistics. Collecting data as you go will help you learn what works and what doesn’t, so you can revise your approach as needed. If your strategy of reaching a specific audience with a message and getting them to take action is not working, the sooner you know, the sooner you can make changes so you can reach your goal.

At a minimum, you should evaluate at least once, approximately midway through your project timeline, and then again at the end. Interim measurements can also be motivating to share with people around you such as staff and volunteers, with your target audiences who are supporters, and with managers, funders, or other important allies. Measuring the effect of your project, even if you didn’t achieve your goal, will help improve future projects, and enable you to use limited resources more effectively next time.

What to Measure

When thinking about what to measure consider:

  • Did your message reach your target audience? How much of your target audience did you reach?
  • Did your target audience respond to your message? If not, does your message need to be changed?
  • How has the behavior of your audience changed?
  • Did you convert new supporters or develop new relationships?
  • Did you achieve your goal and how do you know?
  • How much money did you spend, and what were the results?
  • If you used a tactic for the first time, how did it perform? Would you use it again? Modify it?
  • If you made a significant investment in a tactic, how did it perform? Can you assess if the investment was worth it?

Types of Measures

Outputs are the things you do – actions you take – to move your strategy forward. For example, if you are encouraging people to buy and use yard products that are less harmful to the ocean and you stickered products to alert customers which products to buy, one project output could be “labeled 1,000 bottles of fertilizer ‘Ocean Preferred’.” If you host events, you can track the number of people who attend or the number of brochures handed out.

Outcomes are the changes that occur because of your efforts, such as a change in awareness, attitude, or behavior, or a new policy or law. For example, “sold 1,000 bottles of fertilizer ‘Ocean Preferred’.”

Most outputs are relatively easy to measure and are often quantifiablesomething that can be counted. Outcomes may or may not be countable, but can be anecdotal, such as a personal observation or story. One example is a quote from a hardware store customer sharing how the ocean-preferred stickers influenced their behavior: “I was debating about what fertilizer to buy and I noticed a sticker that read ‘Ocean Preferred.’ It was the deciding factor in my purchase.”

Anecdotal information is powerful in telling a story, and when used in conjunction with numbers and stats makes your project results personable, showing the faces behind the numbers.

Measuring outcomes is trickier. You can measure outcomes by working backwards from your objective. For example, if your goal was to get people not to litter, you could measure the amount of litter on a beach monthly before your project started, then measure the amount of litter during and afterwards to see if the amount of litter decreased.

A strategy that has a mix of output and outcome measures, both quantifiable and anecdotal, can result in a more accurate and compelling evaluation.

Test Your Understanding

Test your understanding of the information in this section by taking the quiz.

Your Turn (> 20 minutes recommended)

Tactics-worksheet

  1. Using the Tactics Worksheet, write down the kinds of measures you will use to assess your tactics. If you can’t measure a tactic, make note of this.
  2. Once you have filled out the worksheet, review your list of measures. For the tactics that can’t be measured, how important are they to reaching your objective? If they aren’t important and can’t be measured, they should probably be cut from the plan. (Conserve resources when possible!)
  3. Decide if any tactics can be cut.

 Guiding questions:

  • Will your outputs and outcomes show whether you have made progress towards achieving your objective? Do you have measures you can count?
  • Is data available to track these measurements?
  • Have you considered free online tools such as Facebook tracking or Google Analytics?
  • Have you included a measure to collect anectodal results, such as informal interviews?
  • Are your measurements a mix of outputs and outcomes, both quantifiable and anecdotal?

Have you included measurements that can be reviewed throughout your communications effort, and not just at the end?

This worksheet is based on Spitfire Strategies’ Smart Chart® strategic communications planning tool. The Smart Chart is a registered trademark of Spitfire Strategies. To learn more, visit: spitfirestrategies.com.
 

Go to Step 7: Create a Summary of Your Plan

Resources

A Communications Evaluation Guide

When to Use Qualitative vs. Quantitative Research in Communications Campaign (pdf, 221k)

Return to Top

Last updated September 7, 2017

Translate »