消息

照片©Resilient Reefs Initiative,大堡礁基金會/ Gary Cranitch,昆士蘭博物館

步驟4:讓您的信息更重要

下一步是開發關鍵信息,其中包括目標受眾所需的行動(也稱為“號召性用語”)。 如果有效地製作,這些將影響態度並影響行為,或僅僅增加目標受眾的知識。

觀看有關使您的信息更重要的簡短演示:

請遵循以下8指南來製作有效的消息:

  1. 建立情感聯繫
  2. 提供採取行動的理由
  3. 明確你想讓別人做什麼(行動呼籲)
  4. 讓你的信息具體化
  5. 讓你的信息簡單,避免使用行話
  6. 突出優點
  7. 要可信
  8. 講一個故事

“即使你身邊有大量的數字,請記住:數字麻木,行話瓶,沒有人因為餅圖而在華盛頓遊行。 如果你想與觀眾聯繫,請告訴他們一個故事。“

安迪古德曼(講故事作為最佳實踐)

1。 建立情感聯繫

由Ka'ūpūlehu海洋生物諮詢委員會創建的海報,用於建立對十年海洋保護區的支持。 個人積極信息的例子。

由Ka'ūpūlehu海洋生物諮詢委員會創建的海報,用於建立對十年海洋保護區的支持。 個人正面消息的示例(單擊圖像放大)。

情緒比理性/邏輯更有可能刺激行動

人類大腦以經驗或分析方式處理信息。 體驗處理系統控制著你的生存行為,是你情感和本能的源泉。 您的分析處理系統是您分析科學信息的地方。 體驗處理系統是更強大的行動動力,但創建適用於這兩種處理類型的消息是個好主意。

積極的信息激發了行為

為了吸引人們的體驗處理系統,我們需要建立情感聯繫。 但不同的情緒會激發不同的行為。 例如,恐懼或悲傷,或恐嚇戰術,是強大的注意力吸收者,可以有效地進行短期籌資活動,但不能改變行為。 事實上,他們可能會導致冷漠。 激發和賦予權力,提供更多解決方案而不是問題的信息是行為改變的更強大驅動力。

讓它變得個性化

與我們的觀眾關心的 - 與他們的核心關注點和價值觀 - 相關的情感聯繫更有可能激發傾聽,行動和行為改變。 明確您的行為如何影響並使您的受眾個人受益。

2。 提供採取行動的理由

關鍵信息必須解釋為什麼您的受眾應該改變他們的行為或支持您的事業。 它必須清楚它們中的內容以及它們現在採取行動的緊迫性。 這些指南將幫助您為關鍵受眾提取技術和科學信息。

提供科學,但保持簡單和視覺

大多數人通過圖像而不是數字或圖表列表來查看和理解世界,因此最好通過圖像,簡單圖形或一兩個深思熟慮的陳述進行交流。 將科學報告中的技術語言翻譯成簡單,引人入勝的簡要陳述。

示例: “在過去的40年中,我們失去了一半以上的珊瑚礁。”

保持視覺效果和圖形簡單,因此您的受眾可以清楚地了解您希望他們關注哪些信息。

例子:

inforgraphic 13信息

信息圖表1:海洋保護區內未受保護的區域與海洋保護區域。 信息圖表2:一個簡單的視覺示例,說明4FJ運動中石斑魚(魚)種群數量的減少,該運動是斐濟在產卵期間保護石斑魚的一項舉措(點擊圖片放大)。

從Kaupulehu海洋生物諮詢委員會手冊分享個人觀察的例子。

從Kaupulehu海洋生物諮詢委員會手冊分享個人觀察的例子(點擊圖片放大)。

分享個人觀察

個人觀察是分享“為什麼”人們應該關心或採取行動的有效方式。 沒有什麼比直接從源獲取信息更好的了,特別是當消息來自您的觀眾尊重的人時。 一個或兩個具有情感力量的事實來自可靠的信使可以為你的信息增加顯著的重量。 (當我們稍後談論使者時,我們會回到這個想法。)這些與西方科學配對的觀察有助於為觀眾描繪出真實情況的更完整畫面。

3。 清楚你想讓人們做什麼

請記住在您的關鍵信息中包含您的號召性用語。 您嘗試更改或推廣的行為是什麼? 您希望觀眾採取什麼行動? 清楚地了解您希望人們採取什麼行動,以便您可以有效地與他們溝通。

說明明確的“行動呼籲”的示例以及如果觀眾採取行動將會發生什麼。 來自4FJ運動的網站圖片,這是斐濟在產卵期間保護石斑魚的一項舉措。

4FJ活動的另一個例子是在斐濟產卵季節保護石斑魚的倡議。 此圖顯示了明確的“號召性用語”以及受眾可以獲得的好處(點擊圖片放大)。

4。 讓你的消息具體化,以便它可以很容易理解並堅持下去

幫助您的受眾記住您的信息的一個好方法是根據他們已經知道,看到和感受的事物來解釋它,並且具體而不是抽象。 為了使您的信息更具體,將無形概念與有形或具體的事物聯繫起來。

    • 無形的東西(概念,信仰,情感,價值觀,態度)
    • 有形的東西(五感 - 我們看到的,聞到的,聽到的,觸摸的,味道的)
例如:石斑魚(有形)是我們作為太平洋島民(無形資產)的遺產和生活方式的重要組成部分。

分享有形概念和建立人們已經知道的事物的一種方法是使用類比或隱喻。

示例:什麼聽起來更好? A)灰鯨的長度可達45英尺,重量可達40噸。 B)灰鯨和校車一樣長嗎?

使數字相關且令人難忘比列出統計數據更有效。

示例:哪些更具影響力? A)美國有65,000槍支商店。 B)美國有比星巴克,麥當勞和超市更多的槍支商店。

5。 讓你的消息變得簡單,避免使用行話

每個職業都有行話,這是業內人士所熟知的,但卻讓其他人感到困惑。 為了讓您的信息簡單易記,請避免使用行話。 保護術語包括物種豐富度,生物量和主要產卵者等詞彙。

如果你必須使用行話,請務必用簡單的語言解釋它的含義。

例如:“溢出”是指海洋休息區內的利益,例如更多的魚類和更多的幼蟲,溢出到海洋保護區以外的區域或延伸到海洋保護區以外的區域。

使用熟悉的字詞與您的受眾群體建立聯繫,並幫助您發布消息:

  • 使用與利用
  • 海洋與海洋環境
  • 人為因素與人為因素
  • 方法與方法論
  • 健康與健康

6。 突出優點

為了激勵您的受眾支持您的事業並採取您希望他們採取的行動,重要的是讓他們知道他們將從中獲得什麼 - 為他們帶來短期,中期和長期利益。 試著把自己放在自己的位置 - 他們關心什麼? 它是珊瑚礁還是經濟,宗教,兒童,健康或島嶼的驕傲?

出於前面提到的相同原因,將重點放在積極的利益上。 例如,如果您正在談論海洋保護區,請關注人們可以做些什麼,例如游泳,呼吸管,潛水等。附近地區或將來可能會有更多魚類受益。 或者,根據受眾的不同,可能會改善旅遊業,從而增加小企業的收入。

選擇充當解決方案的字詞,避免與您的受眾群體產生負面關聯或觸發的字詞。 例如,漁民可能更有可能支持:“魚類補給區“比”禁區“。

從測繪海洋項目中突出保護魚類棲息地的益處的例子。

突出保護魚類棲息地的好處的例子 繪製海洋財富項目 (點擊圖片放大)。

7。 確保你的信息是可信的

可靠的信息簡單明了,並且可以預先解決問題。 它不會過度戲劇化,提供過早,誇大,過度承諾或妖魔化其他人的事實。

8。 講一個故事

人類通過故事了解世界。 講故事一直是人類經歷的重要組成部分 - 從幾千年前的洞穴居民的蝕刻到21st世紀基於互聯網的講故事。 研究表明,人類在一個連貫的故事中進行交流的需要在我們的大腦中是硬連線的。 要講述與問題有關的有效故事,您應該首先解釋問題的原因(價值觀),然後提出與該問題相關的問題,最後是觀眾可以對此做些什麼(如下圖所示)。 學習更多關於 講述社會變革的故事 來自Frameworks Institute。 請記住確保您的故事清楚地表達您希望人們做什麼,並幫助為您的任務建立支持。

圖形基於框架研究所的社會事業故事。

圖形基於故事拱的社會原因來自 框架研究所。

編寫您的消息 - 如何創建與您的觀眾共鳴的有意義,簡潔,有形的消息

認識消息框,這是一個工具,可以幫助您將有關您的工作/項目的信息壓縮成四到五個句子,解釋總體問題,由於問題而發生的問題,您的工作與您的受眾的關係,解決方案(和您的受眾的角色),以及(對您的受眾)的好處。

此工作表基於Spitfire Strategies和COMPASS的Message Box中的SmartCatra®戰略溝通規劃工具。

此工作表基於Spitfire Strategies和COMPASS的Message Box中的SmartCatra®戰略溝通規劃工具。

首先,確定您的核心問題和目標受眾。 然後通過回答以下問題將您的故事簡化為簡潔的消息:

  • 與首要問題相關的問題/衝突是什麼?
  • 為什麼這些信息對我的觀眾很重要?
  • 這個問題有哪些可能的解決方案? 您希望觀眾採取什麼行動?
  • 解決這個問題有哪些潛在的短期,中期和長期利益?

消息框可用於許多不同的通信需求。 這裡僅僅是少數:

  • 編寫戰略溝通計劃,故事或新聞稿
  • 準備媒體採訪,社區會議或與關鍵決策者進行一對一的討論
  • 設計宣傳材料,如小冊子和海報

使用消息框開發消息是一個持續的過程。 它需要至少兩次,可能多達五次或六次迭代來完善它。 來自同事和同事的反饋,以及測試受眾以及來自研究和評估的輸入可能會導致您的消息框的新版本。

溝通提示

我們建議您在與目標受眾交談時大聲朗讀消息框。 說話與閱讀時,消息聽起來不同,練習的消息聽起來更自然。

測試你的理解

參加測驗,測試您對本節信息的理解。

輪到你了(推薦> 45分鐘)

使用 消息框工作表 開發 消息框,worksheet2關於你工作的核心信息。 我們建議至少填寫兩次以開始 - 草案一將捕獲您最初的頭腦風暴的結果。 第二稿是幫助您編輯並為受眾群體決定最重要的消息。

草案1 (建議至少30分鐘用於初稿):

  1. 首先確定您的目標受眾 - 誰將成為什麼樣的信息? 從上一個工作表中選擇一個受眾並將其寫在工作表上。 這是您正在為其開發消息的人。
  2. 然後確定您的首要問題。 您的項目/解決方案試圖解決的問題是什麼? 提示:因為以前的活動沒有讓您確定“問題”,所以此步驟可能會有點混亂。 要確定您的問題,請考慮您的解決方案將解決的根本原因,例如過度捕撈,沿海開發,污染的徑流等。這是一個重要的步驟,因為如果您過於關注問題,例如海灣中的魚越來越少那麼如果魚的減少是由於水質不好而不是過度捕撈造成的,那麼就很難說服你的觀眾認為海洋保護區是解決方案。 可以啟動多個問題,您將在第二稿中進行優化。
  3. 接下來,填寫消息框的其他部分,即“問題,那麼什麼,解決方案和好處。”以子彈格式記下您的想法。

草案2 (建議至少15分鐘用於第二稿):

在您的第二個消息框工作表中,通過您的觀眾鏡頭來優化您的消息。 此步驟的目標是將每個消息框部分的內容壓縮為一個或兩個句子。

請考慮以下問題:

  • 您的觀眾真正需要知道什麼?
  • 你的觀眾會問“那又怎麼樣?”
  • 您的受眾在解決方案中的角色是否清晰,即他們是否知道您要求他們做什麼?
  • 您的信息是否強調獎勵並傳達成功的希望?
  • 您是否使用了清晰,簡潔的語言來表達您的信息?
消息框第二稿的示例。

消息框第二稿的示例。

前測

一旦開發了關鍵消息和號召性用語,就必須考慮為特定目標受眾預先測試關鍵消息和策略。 預測試有助於確定是否可以理解或有效地實現預期目標。 它還用於了解目標受眾對各種溝通策略的信任以及他們對提議的行為變化的反應。 可以通過電話或郵件調查對目標受眾的代表性樣本進行預測試。 通過從目標受眾中組建一個小組,並與他們一起展示和討論消息和通信工具,也可以更簡單地完成它。 例如,經理可以收集一小群漁民,向他們展示演示文稿或小冊子,然後記錄小組的反饋。 通過預測試,經理可以根據需要調整消息和策略,避免溝通中的錯誤和意外影響。

步驟5:識別用於傳達消息的信使和策略

Step 4: Make Your Message Matter

The next step is developing key messages, which include the action(s) desired (also referred to as “call to action”) from the target audience. If effectively crafted, these will influence the attitudes and affect the behaviors, or simply increase the knowledge, of your target audiences.

Follow these 8 guidelines to craft effective messages:

  1. Make an emotional connection
  2. Provide the rationale for taking action
  3. Be clear about what you want people to do (the call to action)
  4. Make your message concrete
  5. Make your message simple, avoid jargon
  6. Highlight the benefits
  7. Be credible
  8. Tell a story

1. Make an Emotional Connection

Poster created by the Kaʻūpūlehu Marine Life Advisory Committee to build support for a ten year marine reserve. Example of a personal positive message.

Poster created by the Kaʻūpūlehu Marine Life Advisory Committee to build support for a ten year marine reserve. Example of a personal positive message (click image to enlarge).

Emotions are more likely to spur action than reason/logic

The human brain processes information either experientially or analytically. The experiential processing system controls your survival behavior, and is your source of emotions and instincts. Your analytical processing system is where you analyze scientific information. The experiential processing system is the stronger motivator for action, but it’s a good idea to create messages that apply to both types of processing.

Positive messages motivate behavior

To appeal to peoples’ experiential processing systems, we need to make an emotional connection. But different emotions motivate different behaviors. For example, fear or sadness, or scare tactics, are powerful attention getters and can be effective for short term fund raising efforts, but not for behavior change. In fact, they can lead to apathy. Messages that inspire and empower, and present more solutions than problems are more powerful drivers of behavior change.

Make it personal

Emotional connections that connect to what our audience cares about – to their core concerns and values – are more likely to motivate listening, action, and behavior change. Make it clear how your action affects and benefits your audience personally.

2. Provide the Rationale for Taking Action

Key messages must explain why your audience should change their behavior or support your cause. It must be clear both what’s in it for them and that it’s urgent for them to act now. These guidelines will help you distill technical and scientific information for your key audiences.

Offer science, but keep it simple and visual

Most people see and understand the world through images, not lists of numbers or graphs, and so it’s best to communicate through images, simple graphics, or one or two thoughtful statements. Translate and interpret technical language in scientific reports into simple, engaging summary statements.

Example: “In the last 40 years, we’ve lost over half of our reef.”

 

Keep visuals and graphics simple, so it’s clear to your audience what information you want them to focus on.

Examples:

inforgraphic 1info 3

Infographic 1: Unprotected area versus marine protected area from the Ocean Conservancy. Infographic 2: Example of a simple visual illustrating the decline in grouper (fish) populations from the 4FJ Campaign, an initiative in Fiji to protect grouper during spawning months (click images to enlarge).

 

Example of sharing personal observations from the Kaupulehu Marine Life Advisory Council brochure.

Example of sharing personal observations from the Kaupulehu Marine Life Advisory Council brochure (click image to enlarge).

Share personal observations

Personal observations are a powerful way to share “why” people should care or act. There’s nothing quite like getting information directly from the source, especially when messages are coming from someone your audience respects. One or two facts with emotional power from a trusted messenger can add significant weight to your message. (We’ll come back to this idea when we talk about messengers later.) These observations paired with western science help paint a more complete picture for your audience of what’s really happening.

3. Be Clear About What You Want People To Do

Remember to include your call to action in your key messages. What is the behavior you are trying to change or promote?  What action do your want your audience to take?  Have a clear understanding of what action you’d like people to take so you can effectively communicate this to them.

Example of illustrating a clear ‘call to action’ and what will happen if the audience takes action. Website graphics from the 4FJ Campaign, an initiative in Fiji to protect grouper during spawning months.

Another example from the 4FJ campaign, an initiative to protect grouper during their spawning season in Fiji. This graphic illustrates a clear ‘call to action’ and the benefit the audience can expect (click image to enlarge).

4. Make your Message Concrete So It Can Be Easily Understood and Will Stick

A good way to help your audience remember your message is to explain it in terms of things they already know, see, and feel and by being concrete rather than abstract. To make your message more concrete, link intangible concepts to something tangible or concrete.

    • Intangible things (concepts, beliefs, emotions, values, attitudes)
    • Tangible things (five senses – what we see, smell, hear, touch, taste)
Example: Grouper (tangible) are an important part of our heritage and lifestyle as Pacific Islanders (intangible).

 

One way to share tangible concepts and build off things people already know is to use analogies or metaphors.

Example: What sounds better? A) A grey whale can reach a length of 45 feet and weigh up to 40 tons. B) A grey whale is as long as a school bus?

 

Making numbers relatable and memorable is more effective than listing statistics.

Example: What has more of an impact? A) There are 65,000 gun shops in the United States. B) There are more gun shops in the U.S. than Starbucks, McDonald’s, and supermarkets put together.

5. Make your Message Simple, Avoid Jargon

Every profession has jargon that is well known to insiders, but confusing to others. To help keep your message simple and memorable, avoid jargon. Conservation jargon includes words like species richness, biomass, and prime spawners.

If you must use jargon, make sure you explain what it means in simple language.

Example: “Spillover” is when the benefits inside a marine rest area, such as more fish and more larvae, spill into – or extend to – areas outside a marine reserve.

 

Use familiar words to connect with your audience and help make your message stick:

  • Use vs. Utilize
  • Ocean vs. Marine Environment
  • Human-caused vs. Anthropogenic
  • Approach vs. Methodology
  • Healthy vs. Robust

6. Highlight the Benefits

To motivate your audience to support your cause and take the action you want them to take, it’s important to let them know what they will get out of it – the short, medium, and long-term benefits to them. Try to put yourself in their shoes – what do they care about it?  Is it coral reefs or is it the economy, religion, children, health, or island pride?

For the same reasons mentioned earlier, keep the focus on positive benefits. For example, if you are talking about a marine reserve, focus on what people can do, such as swim, snorkel, dive, etc. A benefit might be more fish in a nearby area, or in the future. Or, depending on the audience, a benefit might be improved tourism which increase revenue for small businesses.

Select words that serve as solutions and avoid words that may have negative association or triggers with your audience. For example, a fisherman may be more likely to support: “Fish replenishment area” than a “no-take area.”

 

Example of highlighting the benefits of protecting fish habitats from the Mapping Ocean Project.

Example of highlighting the benefits of protecting fish habitats from the Mapping Ocean Wealth Project (click image to enlarge).

7. Make Sure Your Message Is Credible

A credible message is simple, clear, and addresses issues up front. It doesn’t over-dramatize, offer facts that are premature, exaggerate, over-promise, or demonize others.

8. Tell a Story

Humans understand the world through stories. Storytelling has been an important part of the human experience—from the etchings of cave dwellers millennia ago to 21st century internet-based storytelling. Research has shown that the human need to communicate in a coherent story is hardwired in our brains. To tell an effective issue-related story, you should begin with why the issue matters (values), then present the problems associated with that issue, ending with what the audience can do about it (illustrated below). Learn more about Storytelling for Social Change from Frameworks Institute. Remember to make sure your story clearly articulates what you want people to do and helps build support for your mission.

Graphic based on the story arch for social causes from Frameworks Institute.

Graphic based on the story arch for social causes from Frameworks Institute.

 

Writing your Messages – How to Create a Meaningful, Concise, Tangible Message that Resonates with Your Audience

Meet the Message Box, a tool to help you condense information about your work/project into four or five sentences that explain the overarching issue(s), problems that have occurred because of the issue, how your work relates to your audience, the solution (and your audience’s role), and the benefits (to your audience).

This worksheet is based on the Smart Chart® strategic communications planning tool from Spitfire Strategies and COMPASS’s Message Box.

This worksheet is based on the Smart Chart® strategic communications planning tool from Spitfire Strategies and COMPASS’s Message Box.

You begin by identifying your central issue and your target audience. Then streamline your story into concise messages by answering the following questions:

  • What are the problems/conflicts associated with the overarching issue?
  • Why does this information matter to my audience?
  • What are some of the possible solutions to this problem? What action would you like the audience to take?
  • What are the potential short, medium, and long term benefits of resolving this problem?

The Message Box can be used for many different communication needs. Here are just a few:

  • Writing your strategic communication plan, a story, or a press release
  • Preparing for a media interview, community meetings, or one-on-one discussions with key decision-makers
  • Designing outreach materials such as brochures and posters

Developing a message using the Message Box is a continuous process. It takes at least two, and possibly as many as five or six iterations to refine it. Feedback from colleagues and peers, as well as test audiences, and input from research and evaluation, may lead to new versions of your Message Box.

COMMUNICATION TIP

We recommend practicing reading your Message Box out loud pretending you are talking to your target audience. Messages sound different when spoken versus read, and a practiced message can sound more natural.

Test Your Understanding

Test your understanding of the information in this section by taking the quiz.

Your Turn (> 45 minutes recommended)

Use the Message Box Worksheet to develop MessageBox-worksheet2core messaging about your work. We recommend filling it out at least two times to start – draft one will capture the results of your initial brainstorm. Draft two is to help you edit down and decide on the most important messages for your audience.

Draft 1 (recommend at least 30 minutes for first draft):

  1. Begin by identifying your target audience – who is the message going to be for? Pick one audience from your previous worksheet and write it down on your worksheet. This is who you’re developing your messages for.
  2. Then identify your overarching issue. What is the issue your project/solution is trying to address? Tip: Because previous activities did not have you identify an “issue,” this step can be a little confusing. To identify your issue, think about the root cause your solution will address, e.g. overfishing, coastal development, polluted runoff, etc. This is an important step, because if you are too focused on the problems, e.g. less and smaller fish in a bay, then it’s harder to convince your audience that a marine reserve is the solution if the decline in fish is due to poor water quality rather than overfishing. It’s ok to have more than one issue to start, you’ll refine in the second draft.
  3. Next, fill out the other sections of the Message Box, i.e. “Problems, So What, Solution, and Benefits.” Jot down your ideas in bullet format.

Draft 2 (recommend at least 15 minutes for second draft):

On your second Message Box worksheet, refine your messages through the lens of your audience. The goal for this step is to condense the contents of each Message Box section into one or two sentences.

Consider the following questions:

  • What does your audience really need to know?
  • Will your audience ask “so what?”
  • Is your audience’s role in the solution clear, i.e. do they know what you are asking them to do?
  • Does your message emphasize reward and convey hope toward success?
  • Did you phrase your message using clear, concise language that your audience will understand?
Example of Message Box second draft.

Example of Message Box second draft.

Pretesting

Once key messages and calls to action have been developed, it is important to consider pre-testing key messages and tactics for specific target audiences. Pretesting helps determine whether a message will be understood or effective in achieving the desired objective. It is also used to understand the target audience’s trust in various communication tactics and their response to proposed behavior change. Pre-testing can be done on a representative sample of the target audience through telephone or mail surveys. It can also be accomplished more simply by assembling a small group from the target audience and showing and discussing messages and the communication tools with them. For example, a manager could gather a small group of fishers, show them a presentation or brochure, then take notes on the feedback from the group. By pretesting, the manager can adapt messages and tactics if needed, and avoid mistakes and unexpected effects from communication.

 

Go to Step 5: Identify Messengers and Tactics for Communicating Your Messages

Resources

A Guide to Making Your Science Matter

Psychology of Climate Change

Biodiversity Branding and Messages (pdf, 829k)

Why Bad Ads Happen to Good Causes (pdf, 3.8M) – Andy Goodman is a communications guru who has produced a number of publications that help nonprofits communicate more effectively,

Making Your Message Stick

Mindful Messaging™

COMPASS Message Box Workbook

Storytelling as Best Practice (book for purchase)

Return to Top

Last updated September 7, 2017

Translate »