談話要點

照片©TNC

在與利益相關者討論珊瑚礁的未來時,許多管理人員面臨著諸如“如果珊瑚礁無論如何正在死亡,是不是試圖保護他們徒勞無功?”或“氣候變化不會扼殺”等難題。珊瑚礁無論如何?“有些人可能會爭辯說珊瑚研究和保護的現有資源應該重新編程以保護其他棲息地。 對“厄運和憂鬱”問題的回應經常突出 保護珊瑚礁的價值 由於他們支持的生活多樣化,以及他們在沿海保護,醫藥,食品,生計和旅遊收入方面給人們帶來的巨大利益。 與利益攸關方分享迅速發展的科學研究至關重要,該研究表明珊瑚礁對不斷變化的條件具有恢復力和適應潛力。 重要的是要傳達可以通過特定的方式支持彈性 管理策略.

專家說什麼?

伊麗莎白麥克勞德

Elizabeth McLeod,TNC珊瑚礁系統負責人

“從理論上講,你可以將這個論點(我們不應該因為珊瑚礁正在死亡和氣候變化而煩惱)應用於每個生態系統。 根據最近的一份報告, 文獻 世界上許多自然棲息地正在出現嚴重下降,包括:淡水濕地,海冰棲息地,鹽沼,珊瑚礁,海草床和貝類珊瑚礁。 那麼,為什麼要這麼麻煩? 我們很煩心,因為有成功的故事,人類的行為已經對珊瑚礁的恢復產生了影響。 我們也很煩,因為世界各地的人類社區直接依靠珊瑚礁生存。“

伊麗莎白麥克勞德

斯蒂芬妮穿

Stephanie Wear,TNC高級科學家和戰略顧問

“我們正在了解珊瑚礁對壓力源的反應如何告訴我們不要失敗。 事實上,最近關於珊瑚礁的科學揭示了新的複雜層面 - 特別是對於我們最關心的一些氣候壓力因素的高度變化,例如變暖的海洋和不斷變化的海洋化學。 例如,在2007,McClanahan 等。 文獻 發現經歷過先前溫度變化的人群更有可能抵抗未來的溫度壓力。 這一趨勢得到了保護科學家們在東南亞發生的2010漂白事件中對漂白反應的分析的證實。 今年,在一篇論文中 “當代生物學”,休斯 等。 文獻 表明海洋環境的變化更有可能導致物種的重新分類,而不是整個珊瑚礁生態系統的大規模流失。“

斯蒂芬妮穿 珊瑚礁:活死人還是複出的孩子?

Ove Hoegh-Goldberg

Ove Hoegh-Goldberg,全球變化研究所所長,澳大利亞昆士蘭大學海洋科學教授

“用工程系統取代珊瑚礁並不符合成本效益。 當您將根據2 IPCC 2th評估得出的估算值直接修復(主動恢復)對大堡礁造成的預測損害的成本與將全球溫度變化保持在+ 450°C和CO2007濃度至4 ppm的成本進行比較時報告。 這兩項成本具有可比性。 恢復 只是大堡礁 與總體上應對全球氣候變化的成本相同。“

Ove Hoegh-Goldberg ICRS 2012全體會議演講


常見問題的談話要點

氣候變化不會只是殺死珊瑚礁嗎?

  • 確實,珊瑚礁對溫度和pH的變化很敏感,氣候變化正在提高海洋溫度並使海洋變得更加酸性。 然而,許多珊瑚物種能夠應對這些變化。
  • 全世界的珊瑚一直生活在波動的環境中。 例如,在美屬薩摩亞,一些珊瑚在92-93°F之間的溫度下茁壯成長,通常被認為對珊瑚來說太熱了。
  • 珊瑚通過重大氣候事件和海平面變化表現出顯著的恢復力,為其持續生存提供了希望。
  • 氣候變化不會導致珊瑚礁消失,但珊瑚的豐度和分佈將會發生變化。 將會有贏家和輸家,導致珊瑚礁社區可能與現有的珊瑚礁群落截然不同。

我們為什麼要保護珊瑚礁?

  • 珊瑚礁生態系統支持各種人類需求。 它們對於維持生計,漁業,旅遊業,海岸線保護以及在新藥開發中具有重要作用的產量化合物非常重要。
  • 全世界至少有十億人口直接受益於珊瑚礁; 近十億分之一的人從珊瑚礁魚中獲取蛋白質,而五億人依靠珊瑚礁來維持生計。 文獻
  • 珊瑚礁是世界海洋生物25%的家園,儘管珊瑚礁僅佔1 / 10th的1%海洋環境。
  • 據估計,珊瑚礁每年為數百萬人提供價值約10億至10億美元的經濟產品和生態系統服務。 文獻
  • 研究表明,平均而言,擁有珊瑚礁產業的國家的國民生產總值的一半以上來自它們。 加勒比海小島博內爾島就是一個很好的例子。 博內爾島每年從珊瑚礁活動中獲得約10億美元的收入,但管理其海洋公園的費用每年不到1000萬美元。 文獻
  • 世界上超過100的國家受益於珊瑚礁旅遊業。 文獻
  • 對於生活在珊瑚礁附近地區的人來說,珊瑚礁是他們生活中重要的一部分。 珊瑚礁與其傳統,精神和文化價值觀直接相關。
  • 珊瑚礁可作為緩衝區,保護岸邊區域免受海浪侵襲。 如果沒有珊瑚礁,許多海灘和建築物將更容易受到波浪作用和風暴的破壞。
  • 珊瑚礁拯救生命。 已經從珊瑚礁生物中發現的化學物質開發了幾種重要的藥物,包括治療心血管疾病,潰瘍,白血病和皮膚癌。

我的社區依靠珊瑚礁的食物。 當我們現在需要吃魚時,為什麼要擔心珊瑚健康的未來呢?

  • 珊瑚礁為包括幼魚在內的許多魚類物種提供了不可替代的食物和住所。
  • 珊瑚是珊瑚礁不可分割的一部分; 它們是提供珊瑚礁結構的基礎物種,珊瑚礁結構是支持當地社區的魚類棲息地。 為了確保現在和將來健康的魚類種群,重要的是保護他們的家園和苗圃。
  • 珊瑚礁含有超過4,000種類的魚類以及其他可食用的無脊椎動物,佔發展中國家海洋捕撈總量的四分之一。

由於工業化國家的氣候變化,珊瑚礁正在死亡。 作為珊瑚礁管理者,我們能做些什麼才能在氣候變化面前有所作為?

  • 通過解決珊瑚礁的局部壓力因素並在海洋保護區的設計和管理行動中建立抵禦能力,管理人員可以採取措施減少氣候相關影響的預期損害。
  • 保持健康的珊瑚礁群落是抵禦任何重大或輕微干擾的第一道防線。 當面臨額外的壓力條件時,例如海水溫度升高,已經處於壓力下的珊瑚處於更大的劣勢。 因此,如果管理人員在面對海平面上升的情況下面臨著有限的選擇,那麼減少所有其他威脅將是一個優先事項。
  • 減少可能影響珊瑚群落狀況的壓力(例如,過度捕撈,污染,農業和城市垃圾,淤泥和污水等)將為社區提供更大的機會來應對漂白壓力或其他主要干擾。

When speaking with stakeholders about the future of coral reefs, many managers have been faced with difficult questions such as “If coral reefs are dying anyway, isn’t trying to protect them futile?” or “Isn’t climate change just going to kill coral reefs anyway?” Some people may argue that current resources in coral research and protection should be reprogrammed to protect other habitats. Responses to “doom and gloom” questions often highlight the value of protecting reefs due to the incredible diversity of life they support and their tremendous benefits to people in terms of coastal protection, medicine, food, livelihoods, and tourism revenue. It is critically important to share with stakeholders the rapidly developing scientific research which demonstrates the resilience and adaptation potential of coral reefs to changing conditions. It is always important to communicate that resilience can be supported by specific management strategiesTalking points on additional topics coming soon.

What do experts say?

Elizabeth McLeod

Elizabeth McLeod, Climate Adaptation Scientist, TNC

“Theoretically you could apply this argument (that we should not bother because reefs are dying and climate change) to every ecosystem. According to a recent report, ref many natural habitats worldwide are showing serious declines including: freshwater wetlands, sea ice habitats, salt marshes, coral reefs, seagrass beds, and shellfish reefs. So, why bother? We bother because there are success stories where human actions have made a difference in coral reef recovery. We also bother because human communities around the world depend directly on coral reefs for survival.”

Elizabeth McLeod

Stephanie Wear

Stephanie Wear, Lead Scientist Coral Reef Conservation, TNC

“What we are learning about how reefs respond to stressors is telling us not to throw our hands up in defeat. In fact, recent science on reefs has revealed new layers of complexity — specifically, high variability in response to some of the climate stressors we are most concerned about such as warming seas and changing ocean chemistry. For example, in 2007, McClanahan et al. ref found that populations that have experienced previous temperature variability are more likely to be resistant to future temperature stress. This trend was confirmed by Conservancy scientists in their analysis of bleaching response in the 2010 bleaching event that occurred across Southeast Asia. This year, in a paper in Current Biology, Hughes et al. ref showed that changes in ocean conditions are more likely to result in re-assortment of species rather than wholesale loss of entire reef ecosystems.”

Stephanie Wear Coral Reefs:The Living Dead or a Comeback Kid?

Ove Hoegh-Goldberg

Ove Hoegh-Goldberg, Director of the Global Change Institute and Professor of Marine Science, University of Queensland, Australia

“Replacing reefs with engineered systems is NOT cost-effective. When you compare the cost of directly repairing (actively restoring) the predicted damage done to the Great Barrier Reef with the cost of holding global temperature change to +2°C and CO2 concentrations to 450 ppm as per estimates derived from the 2007 IPCC 4th Assessment Report. The two costs were comparable. Restoring just the Great Barrier Reef would cost as much as dealing with global climate change in the aggregate.”

Ove Hoegh-Goldberg ICRS 2012 Plenary Presentation


Talking Points for Common Questions

Won’t climate change just kill the reefs anyway?

  • It is true that coral reefs are sensitive to changes in temperature and pH, and climate change is raising ocean temperatures and making oceans more acidic. However, many coral species are able to cope with these changes.
  • Corals worldwide have been living in fluctuating environments. For example, in American Samoa, some corals thrive in temperatures between 92-93°F, generally considered too hot for corals.
  • Corals have shown remarkable resilience through major climate events and sea level changes, giving hope for their continued survival.
  • Climate change won’t cause coral reefs to disappear, however, the abundance and distribution of corals will change. There will be winners and losers, resulting in reef communities that may look very different from those that exist today.

 

Why should we protect coral reefs?

  • Coral reef ecosystems support a variety of human needs. They are important for subsistence, fisheries, tourism, shoreline protection, and yield compounds that are important in the development of new medicines.
  • At least 1 billion people worldwide directly benefit from coral reefs; nearly 1 billion get protein from coral reef fish, while a half a billion people depend on coral reefs for their livelihoods. ref
  • Coral reefs are home to 25% of the world’s ocean marine life, even though coral reefs only comprise 1/10th of 1% of the marine environment.
  • By one estimate, coral reefs provide economic goods and ecosystem services worth about $375 billion each year to millions of people. ref
  • Studies show that on average, countries with coral reef industries derive more than half of their gross national product from them. A good example can be found in Bonaire, a small Caribbean island. Bonaire earns about USD $23 million annually from coral reef activities, yet managing its marine park costs less than $1 million per year. ref
  • More than 100 countries in the world benefit from coral reef tourism. ref
  • For people who live in areas near coral reefs, coral reefs are an important part of their lives. Reefs are directly linked with their traditional, spiritual, and cultural values.
  • Reefs serve as a buffer, protecting in-shore areas from ocean waves. Without coral reefs, many beaches and buildings would become more vulnerable to wave action and storm damage.
  • Coral reefs save lives. Several important drugs have already been developed from chemicals found in coral reef organisms including treatments for cardiovascular diseases, ulcers, leukemia, and skin cancer.

 

My community depends on food from the reef. Why should we worry about the future of our coral’s health when we need fish to eat now?

  • Coral reefs provide irreplaceable sources of food and shelter to many fish species, including juvenile fish.
  • Corals are an integral part of the reef; they are the foundational species that provide reef structure, the home for fish species that support local communities. To ensure healthy fish populations now and in the future, it is important to protect their homes and nursery grounds.
  • Coral reefs contain over 4,000 species of fish as well as other edible invertebrates and contribute about one-quarter of the total marine catch in developing countries.

 

Coral reefs are dying because of climate change from industrialized countries. What can we, as coral reef managers, do that will make a difference in the face of climate change?

  • By addressing local stressors to coral reefs and building resilience into the design of MPAs and management actions, managers can do something to reduce the expected damage from climate-related impacts.
  • Maintaining healthy coral reef communities is the first line of defense against any major or minor disturbance. Corals that are already under stress are at a greater disadvantage when facing additional stressful conditions, such as elevated sea temperatures. Therefore, if managers are faced with limited choices in terms of steps to take in the face of rising sea temperatures, reducing all other threats will be a priority.
  • Reducing stresses that may affect coral community condition (e.g., overfishing, pollution, agricultural and urban waste, silt, and sewage, etc.) will provide communities a greater chance to survive bleaching stress or other major disturbance.

Resources

Communicating Resilience – annotated presentation (pdf, 2M)

Generic Resilience Introduction – presentation that introduces resilience-based management, in a PowerPoint file that can be customized with local images and information (ppt, 1.7M)

Example Resilience Introduction – sample annotated “Introduction to Resilience” presentation (pdf, 1.2M)

The Coralax video

Return to Top

Last updated October 2, 2017

Translate »