沿海彈性工具

菲律賓。 照片©TNC

沿海恢復力是2008開發的一項計劃,旨在通過大自然保護協會,聯合國大學,國家海洋和大氣管理局(NOAA),美國地質調查局(USGS),自然界之間的公私合作,探討自然在減少沿海社區風險方面的作用。資本項目,國家洪氾區經理協會,加州大學聖克魯茲分校,南密西西比大學,Esri和發展工作聯盟。 該計劃包括氣候適應和復原力規劃的方法和決策支持工具。

該方法包括四個步驟:

  1. 評估風險和漏洞 沿海災害,包括當前和未來風暴的替代情景以及社區投入的海平面上升;
  2. 確定解決方案 減少關注社會,經濟和生態系統聯合解決方案的風險;
  3. 採取行動 在主要的保護和恢復示範點,幫助社區確定和實施基於自然的解決方案;
  4. 衡量有效性 確保減少災害風險和應用基於生態系統的適應的努力取得成功

CoastalResilience_Approach

一個創新的在線決策 支持工具 開發包括一個映射平台和一套可定制的基於Web的應用程序。 映射工具旨在滿足美國和全球的規劃需求。 該工具側重於確定基於自然的適應和減緩解決方案,但也包括支持災害響應,沿海棲息地恢復和氣候變化政策工作的信息。 工具和Web應用程序可根據特定受眾和方案規劃流程進行自定義。

在康涅狄格州,Coastal Resilience用於向社區通報可能發生沼澤發展的地方,並幫助確定適應性解決方案以提高社區的適應能力。 因此,康涅狄格州現在是美國第一個評估未來鹽沼推進區整個海岸線到達地塊規模的州。

在康涅狄格州,Coastal Resilience用於向社區通報可能發生沼澤發展的地方,並幫助確定適應性解決方案以提高社區的適應能力。 因此,康涅狄格州現在是美國第一個評估未來鹽沼推進區整個海岸線到達地塊規模的州。

Coastal Resilience工具在美國和全球範圍內運作,用於評估風險並確定降低風險的解決方案,在國家,地區和地方範圍內運作,以便在眾多社區進行更詳細的規劃。 Coastal Resilience的方法和工具一直在迅速擴展,現在包括16美國沿海州(阿拉巴馬州,加利福尼亞州,康涅狄格州,佛羅里達州,佐治亞州,夏威夷州,路易斯安那州,緬因州,密西西比州,新澤西州,紐約州,北卡羅來納州,南卡羅來納州,德克薩斯州,弗吉尼亞州) ,華盛頓),加勒比(格林納達,聖文森特和格林納丁斯,美屬維爾京群島),以及墨西哥和中美洲(伯利茲,危地馬拉,洪都拉斯)。 自100以來,大自然保護協會已經接近2008社區,大自然保護協會計劃在不久的將來將工具和自定義網絡應用程序的覆蓋範圍擴大到更多美國州,整個墨西哥和東南亞。

沿海彈性套件 網絡應用 使規劃人員,政府官員和社區能夠評估風險並確定基於自然的解決方案,以減少對沿海災害的社會經濟脆弱性。 基於自然的適應解決方案包括:保護或恢復區域鹽沼作為緩衝區; 開發將自然和建築防禦結構聯繫起來的混合方法; 消除建立高風險地區(即通常位於低窪濕地之上)的激勵措施; 並將恢復的牡蠣和珊瑚礁設計為防波堤。

在北卡羅來納州的沿海恢復研討會期間,與會者團隊合作,將Restoration Explorer App與社區規模的生態,社會和經濟數據結合起來,優先考慮海底牡蠣恢復項目,以保護海岸線。 照片©TNC

在北卡羅來納州的沿海恢復研討會期間,與會者團隊合作,將Restoration Explorer App與社區規模的生態,社會和經濟數據結合起來,優先考慮海底牡蠣恢復項目,以保護海岸線。 照片©TNC

Coastal Resilience決策支持工具允許關鍵利益相關者在易於使用的基於Web的地圖界面中比較風險,恢復和彈性方案:

  • 觀察海平面上升,風暴和颶風激增以及內陸洪水的潛在影響; 例子 紐約
  • 對不同的場景進行分類 沿海濕地 為了應對海平面上升而向陸地移動; 例如在墨西哥灣
  • 結合沿海棲息地和暴露的數據 文獻 利用社會經濟數據確定棲息地管理可以最大程度降低美國沿海風險的解決方案
  • 檢查 海防戰略 使用綠色(自然沿海棲息地),灰色(海堤,堤壩等)和混合解決方案; 例如佛羅里達州東南部
  • 比較各國的風險和脆弱性指標,並確定珊瑚礁和其他棲息地在減少災害風險方面的關鍵作用 文獻
  • 研究風險指數沿海地區的自然災害和環境退化影響的全球風險 文獻; 全球範例

沿海彈性方法和決策支持工具在全球和本地指導決策方面發揮了重要作用。 例如,關於康涅狄格州的海平面上升政策,美國海軍的合作協議將積極管理加利福尼亞州文圖拉縣海軍基地的戰略撤退,並在墨西哥灣深水地平線漏油事件後恢復沿海棲息地。 沿海恢復力也在國際上應用於格林納達等地,用於評估社會生態脆弱性以及與紅十字會合作優先進行紅樹林和珊瑚礁恢復,並在全球範圍內開髮美國國際開發署海岸風險指標和聯盟發展世界風險指數作品。 Coastal Resilience也積極與再保險行業合作使用,以確定自然基礎設施解決方案在降低風險方面的成本和收益。 該保護協會向聯邦緊急事務管理局(FEMA),環境保護局(EPA),NOAA和USGS等各種機構合作夥伴介紹並培訓了沿海彈性的使用和應用,以及洛克菲勒基金會的100彈性城市倡議其中The Conservancy是第一個環境平台合作夥伴或首選供應商。 最後,通過奧巴馬總統的氣候行動計劃,大自然保護協會和環境質量委員會一直在合作,突出展示自然資源在降低風險方面的作用的工具。 最近 實況報導 突出沿海彈性。

沿海彈性工具的優點

  • 通過分屏功能輕鬆共享和比較風險,恢復和彈性方案
  • 沿海彈性工具 平台 旨在託管一系列可由合作夥伴或開源社區開發的Web應用程序。 這使用戶可以探索特定的沿海管理問題,應對災後風險決策,或探索基於自然的適應選項
  • 該工具平台是一個全球分佈的項目站點網絡,這意味著當一個Coastal Resilience站點推進平臺本身或特定的Web應用程序時,所有其他地理位置都會利用,複製或修改它
  • 使用任何具有互聯網連接的瀏覽器,可在PC或平板電腦上使用映射平台
  • 該工具在本地,區域,國家和全球範圍內運行,可根據具體的規劃需求進行定制,並且易於共享結果和數據
  • Esri和其他GIS合作夥伴廣泛投資於Javascript應用編程接口(API),使該技術成為Web製圖工具中最前沿的解決方案
  • Coastal Resilience工具正在升級,包括西班牙語和工具中嵌入的其他語言; 重點是確保該工具真正具有全球性
  • 該方法和工具是通過公私合作夥伴關係制定的

沿海彈性工具的局限性

  • 通過高速互聯網訪問,工具和Web應用程序表現最佳
  • 工具和網絡應用程序不是為普通大眾開發的; 需要培訓以吸引利益相關者參與,以便他們充分利用工具,數據和分析。 可以找到更多信息 點擊瀏覽,獲取更多資訊
  • 由於現在網上有如此多的工具,因此很難破譯利基,因此相對於解決類似問題的其他工具而言,使用此工具是很困難的。 欲了解更多信息,請參閱揭示不同氣候適應的神秘面紗 繪圖工具
  • 該工具主要集中在當地規模的美國地區,最近的努力是在國際上擴展
  • 在互聯網瀏覽器中查看網絡應用程序; 它們不是移動設備上的“本機”應用程序,因此查看智能手機上的信息是有限的

經驗教訓

  • 目前,沿海彈性計劃的大部分投資都是關於工具開發的,並沒有充分重視跨越不同地區的方法的溝通和推廣。 這導致人們缺乏對該工具如何有效應用於關鍵目標受眾的認識。
  • 需要進行長期維護以使Coastal Resilience工具中的數據和信息保持最新,通常是為單個規劃流程或一系列利益相關方參與而構建的。 這導致缺乏維持其初始開發所提供的決策支持類型所需的當前或相關信息

當2008啟動Coastal Resilience時,只有少數基於網絡的繪圖工具提供有關海平面上升和風暴潮的信息。 由於擴大了公私合作,我們的集體沿海災害工作棚中有越來越多的工具。 現在,我們需要更加智能地了解在任何給定的規劃過程中使用什麼工具,識別這些工具是如何互補的,並進一步了解如何在解決氣候和洪水問題的過程的不同階段使用它們。

Coastal Resilience is a program developed in 2008 to examine nature’s role in reducing coastal community risk through a public-private partnership between The Nature Conservancy, United Nations University, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), United States Geological Survey (USGS), Natural Capital Project, Association of State Floodplain Managers, University of California at Santa Cruz, University of Southern Mississippi, Esri, and Alliance for Development Works. The program includes an approach and decision support tool for climate adaptation and resilience planning.

The approach consists of four steps:

  1. Assess Risk and Vulnerability to coastal hazards including alternative scenarios for current and future storms and sea level rise with community input;
  2. Identify Solutions for reducing risk focusing on joint solutions across social, economic and ecological systems;
  3. Take Action at key conservation and restoration demonstration sites to help communities identify and implement nature-based solutions;
  4. Measure Effectiveness to ensure that efforts to reduce disaster risk and apply ecosystem-based adaptation are successful

CoastalResilience_Approach

 

In Connecticut, Coastal Resilience was used to inform the community about where marsh advancement will likely occur and to help identify adaptive solutions to improve community resilience. As a result, Connecticut is now the first state in the United States to have assessed the entire coastline for future salt marsh advancement zones down to the parcel scale.

In Connecticut, Coastal Resilience was used to inform the community about where marsh advancement will likely occur and to help identify adaptive solutions to improve community resilience. As a result, Connecticut is now the first state in the United States to have assessed the entire coastline for future salt marsh advancement zones down to the parcel scale.

An innovative, online decision support tool was developed that includes a mapping platform and suite of customizable web-based apps. The mapping tool is designed to meet planning needs around the U.S. and globally. The tool is focused on identifying nature-based adaptation and mitigation solutions but also includes information for supporting disaster response, coastal habitat restoration and climate change policy efforts. The tool and web apps are customized to specific audiences and scenario planning processes.

The Coastal Resilience tool works in the U.S. and globally to assess risk and identify risk reduction solutions, operating at national, regional and local scales for more detailed planning in numerous communities. Coastal Resilience’s approach and tool has been rapidly expanding and now include 16 U.S. coastal states (Alabama, California, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, Maine, Mississippi, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas, Virginia, Washington), the Caribbean (Grenada, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, U.S. Virgin Islands), and across Mexico and Central America (Belize, Guatemala, Honduras). Having reached almost 100 communities since 2008, The Nature Conservancy intends to increase coverage of the tool and custom web apps to more U.S. states, throughout Mexico and into Southeast Asia in the near future.

During a Coastal Resilience workshop in North Carolina, attendees work in teams to use the Restoration Explorer App in combination with community-scale ecological, social, and economic data to prioritize subtidal oyster restoration projects for shoreline protection. Photo © TNC

During a Coastal Resilience workshop in North Carolina, attendees work in teams to use the Restoration Explorer App in combination with community-scale ecological, social, and economic data to prioritize subtidal oyster restoration projects for shoreline protection. Photo © TNC

The suite of Coastal Resilience web apps enable planners, government officials, and communities to assess risk and identify nature-based solutions to reduce socio-economic vulnerability to coastal hazards. Nature-based adaptation solutions include: protecting or restoring area salt marshes as buffers; developing hybrid approaches that link natural and built defense structures; removing incentives to build in high-risk areas (i.e., often on top of low-lying wetlands); and designing restored oyster and coral reefs as breakwaters.

The Coastal Resilience decision support tool allows key stakeholders to compare risk, restoration, and resilience scenarios in an easy-to-use, web-based map interface:

  • view potential impacts of sea-level rise, surge from storms and hurricanes, and inland flooding; example in New York
  • categorize different scenarios of coastal wetlands moving landward in response to sea-level rise; example in the Gulf of Mexico
  • combine data on coastal habitats and exposure ref with socio-economic data to identify solutions where habitat management may most reduce risks along U.S. coasts
  • examine coastal defense strategies using green (natural coastal habitats), gray (seawalls, levees, etc.), and hybrid solutions; example in Southeast Florida
  • compare risk and vulnerability indicators across countries and determine the critical role of coral reefs and other habitats in disaster risk reduction ref
  • examine global risks from natural disasters and effects of environmental degradation in a coasts at risk index ref; global example

The Coastal Resilience approach and decision support tool have been instrumental globally and locally in guiding decisions. For example, regarding Connecticut’s sea level rise policy, the U.S. Navy’s cooperative agreement to actively manage strategic retreat of the naval base in Ventura County, California, and in the recovery of coastal habitats following the Deepwater Horizon oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico. Coastal Resilience is also applied internationally in places such as Grenada for assessing social-ecological vulnerability as well as prioritizing mangrove and coral reef restoration in partnership with the Red Cross, and globally to develop USAID Coasts at Risk indicators and a World Risk Index with Alliance Development Works. Coastal Resilience is also actively being utilized in partnership with the reinsurance industry to determine the costs and benefits of natural infrastructure solutions in reducing risk. The Conservancy has made presentations to and trained various agency partners including Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), NOAA and USGS on the uses and applications of Coastal Resilience, as well as to the Rockefeller Foundation’s 100 Resilient Cities initiative where The Conservancy is the first environmental platform partner, or preferred vendor. Finally, through President Obama’s Climate Action Plan, The Nature Conservancy and the Council on Environmental Quality have been partnering to highlight tools that demonstrate the role of natural resources in risk reduction. A recent fact sheet highlights Coastal Resilience.

Advantages of the Coastal Resilience Tool

  • Easy to share and compare risk, restoration, and resilience scenarios through split screen functionality
  • Coastal Resilience tool platform is designed to host a series of web apps that can be developed by partners or the open source community. This allows users to explore a specific coastal management issue, respond to a disaster for post-storm decision making, or explore nature-based adaptation options
  • The tool platform is a globally distributed network of project sites, meaning that when one Coastal Resilience site advances either the platform itself, or a specific web app, all other geographies leverage, replicate or modify it
  • The mapping platform is available on a PC or tablet using any browser with internet connectivity
  • The tool operates locally, regionally, nationally and globally, customized to meet specific planning needs, and is easy to share results and data
  • Esri and other GIS partners have widely invested in the Javascript Applied Programming Interface (API) making this technology the most cutting edge solution in web mapping tools
  • The Coastal Resilience tool is in the process of being upgraded to include Spanish and other languages embedded within the tool; the focus is to ensure the tool is truly global in scope
  • The approach and tool have been developed through a public-private partnership

Limitations of the Coastal Resilience Tool

  • The tool and web apps perform best with high-speed internet access
  • The tool and web apps were not developed for the general public; training is required to engage stakeholders so they can fully utilize the tool, data, and analyses. More information can be found here
  • With so many tools now available on the web, it is hard to decipher the niche and therefore use of this tool relative to others that address similar issues. For more information see efforts to demystify the different climate adaptation mapping tools
  • The tool has focused mostly in U.S. geographies at local scales, with more recent efforts to expand internationally
  • The web apps are viewed within Internet browsers; they are not “native” apps on a mobile device so viewing information on a smart phone is limited

Lessons Learned

  • Currently, the majority of investment in the Coastal Resilience program has been on tool development, and not enough emphasis has been placed on communications and outreach of the approach across the different geographies. This has resulted in a lack of awareness of how the tool can be effectively applied to key target audiences.
  • Long-term maintenance is needed to keep the data and information in the Coastal Resilience tool up-to-date, often being built for a single planning process or series of stakeholder engagements. This has resulted in a lack of current or relevant information needed to sustain the types of decision support offered by its initial development

When Coastal Resilience was initiated in 2008 there were only a small handful of web-based mapping tools that provided information on sea level rise and storm surge. Thanks to expanding public-private collaborations, there are an increasing number of tools in our collective coastal hazards work shed. Now we need to get smarter about what tool to use in any given planning process, recognize how these tools are complimentary, and further understand how they can be used in different phases of a process that address climate and flooding issues.

Resources

Full library of relevant publications on the Climate Risk and Resilience strategy and Coastal Resilience program.

Coastal Resilience program with examples of how the approach and tool has been applied around the world

Tutorials and training materials on the approach and tool

Access the Coastal Resilience network of geographies and tools

Check out this video to hear an example of how local decision-makers and scientists are using the Coastal Resilience tool to prepare their communities for sea-level rise and storm surge

Watch this video about a community in Grenville, Grenada, that is using Coastal Resilience to design and build a coral reef breakwater from modeling efforts and tool decision support

World Bank WAVES report on nature as a first line of defense

Return to Top

Last updated August 4, 2016

Translate »