أداة المرونة الساحلية

الفلبين. الصورة © TNC

Coastal Resilience هو برنامج تم تطويره في 2008 لدراسة دور الطبيعة في الحد من مخاطر المجتمع الساحلي من خلال شراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص بين الحفاظ على الطبيعة ، جامعة الأمم المتحدة ، الإدارة الوطنية للمحيطات والغلاف الجوي (NOAA) ، الولايات المتحدة للمسح الجيولوجي (USGS) ، الطبيعية مشروع رأس المال ، ورابطة مديري الدولة للفيضان ، جامعة كاليفورنيا في سانتا كروز ، وجامعة جنوب المسيسيبي ، وإسري ، والتحالف من أجل أعمال التنمية. يشتمل البرنامج على أداة دعم النهج والقرار للتكيف مع المناخ والتخطيط للمرونة.

يتكون النهج من أربع خطوات:

  1. تقييم المخاطر والضعف للأخطار الساحلية بما في ذلك السيناريوهات البديلة للعواصف الحالية والمستقبلية وارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر مع مدخلات المجتمع ؛
  2. تحديد الحلول للحد من المخاطر التي تركز على الحلول المشتركة عبر النظم الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والبيئية ؛
  3. اتخاذ إجراءات في مواقع العرض التوضيحي الرئيسية للحفظ والاستعادة لمساعدة المجتمعات على تحديد وتنفيذ الحلول القائمة على الطبيعة ؛
  4. قياس الفعالية لضمان نجاح الجهود المبذولة للحد من مخاطر الكوارث وتطبيق التكيف القائم على النظم الإيكولوجية

CoastalResilience_Approach

قرار مبتكر على الإنترنت أداة الدعم تم تطويره ويتضمن نظامًا لرسم الخرائط ومجموعة من التطبيقات المستندة إلى الويب القابلة للتخصيص. تم تصميم أداة التعيين لتلبية احتياجات التخطيط في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة والعالم. تركز الأداة على تحديد حلول التكيف والتخفيف القائمة على الطبيعة ، ولكنها تتضمن أيضًا معلومات لدعم الاستجابة للكوارث واستعادة الموائل الساحلية وجهود سياسة تغير المناخ. يتم تخصيص الأداة وتطبيقات الويب لجماهير محددة وعمليات تخطيط السيناريو.

في ولاية كونيتيكت ، تم استخدام Coastal Resilience لإبلاغ المجتمع بالمكان المحتمل لتقدم الأهوار وللمساعدة في تحديد حلول تكيفية لتحسين مرونة المجتمع. ونتيجة لذلك ، تعد ولاية كونيتيكت الآن أول ولاية في الولايات المتحدة تقوم بتقييم الخط الساحلي بأكمله لمناطق تقدم مستنقعات الملح المستقبلية وصولاً إلى نطاق الطرود.

في ولاية كونيتيكت ، تم استخدام Coastal Resilience لإبلاغ المجتمع بالمكان المحتمل لتقدم الأهوار وللمساعدة في تحديد حلول تكيفية لتحسين مرونة المجتمع. ونتيجة لذلك ، تعد ولاية كونيتيكت الآن أول ولاية في الولايات المتحدة تقوم بتقييم الخط الساحلي بأكمله لمناطق تقدم مستنقعات الملح المستقبلية وصولاً إلى نطاق الطرود.

تعمل أداة Coastal Resilience في الولايات المتحدة وعالمياً لتقييم المخاطر وتحديد حلول الحد من المخاطر ، التي تعمل على المستويات الوطنية والإقليمية والمحلية من أجل تخطيط أكثر تفصيلاً في العديد من المجتمعات. تتوسع مقاربة وأدوات Coastal Resilience بشكل سريع وتشمل الآن 16 US الدول الساحلية (ألاباما ، كاليفورنيا ، كونيتيكت ، فلوريدا ، جورجيا ، هاواي ، لويزيانا ، مين ، ميسيسيبي ، نيو جيرسي ، نيو جيرسي ، نيويورك ، كارولاينا الجنوبية ، ساوث كارولينا ، تكساس ، فيرجينيا ، واشنطن) ، الكاريبي (غرينادا ، سانت فنسنت وجزر غرينادين ، جزر فيرجن الأمريكية) ، وعبر المكسيك وأمريكا الوسطى (بليز ، غواتيمالا ، هندوراس). بعد الوصول إلى مجتمعات 100 تقريبًا منذ 2008 ، تعتزم The Nature Conservancy زيادة تغطية الأداة وتطبيقات الويب المخصصة لمزيد من الولايات الأمريكية ، في جميع أنحاء المكسيك وفي جنوب شرق آسيا في المستقبل القريب.

جناح المرونة الساحلية تطبيقات الويب تمكين المخططين والمسؤولين الحكوميين والمجتمعات من تقييم المخاطر وتحديد الحلول القائمة على الطبيعة لتقليل التعرض الاجتماعي والاقتصادي للمخاطر الساحلية. تتضمن حلول التكيف القائمة على الطبيعة ما يلي: حماية أو استعادة مستنقعات الملح في المنطقة كحواجز مؤقتة ؛ تطوير الأساليب الهجينة التي تربط الهياكل الدفاعية الطبيعية والمبنية ؛ إزالة الحوافز للبناء في المناطق الشديدة الخطورة (أي في كثير من الأحيان فوق الأراضي الرطبة المنخفضة) ؛ وتصميم المحار والشعاب المرجانية المستعادة كما حواجز الأمواج.

خلال ورشة عمل Coastal Resilience في ولاية كارولينا الشمالية ، يعمل الحاضرون في فرق لاستخدام تطبيق Restoration Explorer بالاقتران مع البيانات الإيكولوجية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية على نطاق المجتمع لتحديد أولويات مشاريع ترميم المحار المد والجزر من أجل حماية الخط الساحلي. الصورة © TNC

خلال ورشة عمل Coastal Resilience في ولاية كارولينا الشمالية ، يعمل الحاضرون في فرق لاستخدام تطبيق Restoration Explorer بالاقتران مع البيانات الإيكولوجية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية على نطاق المجتمع لتحديد أولويات مشاريع ترميم المحار المد والجزر من أجل حماية الخط الساحلي. الصورة © TNC

تسمح أداة دعم اتخاذ القرارات في Coastal Resilience لأصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين بمقارنة سيناريوهات المخاطر والاستعادة والمرونة في واجهة خريطة سهلة الاستخدام وقائمة على الويب:

  • عرض التأثيرات المحتملة لارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر والاندفاع من العواصف والأعاصير والفيضانات الداخلية ؛ مثال في نيويورك
  • تصنيف سيناريوهات مختلفة من الأراضي الرطبة الساحلية التحرك نحو الأرض استجابةً لارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر ؛ مثال في خليج المكسيك
  • الجمع بين البيانات عن الموائل الساحلية والتعرض المرجع مع البيانات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية لتحديد الحلول التي قد تؤدي فيها إدارة الموائل إلى الحد من المخاطر على طول السواحل الأمريكية
  • بحث استراتيجيات الدفاع الساحلي استخدام الأخضر (الموائل الساحلية الطبيعية) ، والرمادي (الجدران البحرية ، السدود ، وما إلى ذلك) ، والحلول الهجينة ؛ مثال في جنوب شرق فلوريدا
  • مقارنة مؤشرات المخاطر والضعف في جميع البلدان وتحديد الدور الحاسم للشعاب المرجانية والموائل الأخرى في الحد من مخاطر الكوارث المرجع
  • دراسة المخاطر العالمية الناجمة عن الكوارث الطبيعية وآثار التدهور البيئي في السواحل المعرضة للخطر المرجع; مثال عالمي

لقد كان لنهج Coastal Resilience وأداة دعم القرارات دورًا فعالًا على الصعيدين العالمي والمحلي في توجيه القرارات. على سبيل المثال ، فيما يتعلق بسياسة ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر في ولاية كونيتيكت ، اتفاقية التعاون بين البحرية الأمريكية والإدارة الفعالة للتراجع الاستراتيجي للقاعدة البحرية في مقاطعة فينتورا ، كاليفورنيا ، وفي استعادة الموائل الساحلية في أعقاب تسرب النفط في ديب ووتر هورايزون في خليج المكسيك. يتم تطبيق Coastal Resilience أيضًا على المستوى الدولي في أماكن مثل غرينادا لتقييم الضعف الاجتماعي - البيئي وكذلك إعطاء الأولوية لاستعادة المنغروف والشعاب المرجانية بالشراكة مع الصليب الأحمر ، وعلى الصعيد العالمي لتطوير مؤشرات USAID Coast at Risk ومؤشر World Risk with Alliance Development يعمل. يتم أيضًا استخدام Coastal Resilience بالشراكة مع صناعة إعادة التأمين لتحديد تكاليف وفوائد حلول البنية التحتية الطبيعية في تقليل المخاطر. قدمت هيئة تقديم العروض التقديمية إلى العديد من شركاء الوكالة ، بما في ذلك الوكالة الفيدرالية لإدارة الطوارئ (FEMA) ووكالة حماية البيئة (EPA) و NOAA و USGS وتطبيقاتهم ، بالإضافة إلى مبادرة 100 Resilient الخاصة بمؤسسة Rockefeller ومؤسسة Rockefeller Foundation حيث The Conservancy هو أول شريك لمنصة بيئية أو بائع مفضل. أخيرًا ، من خلال خطة عمل الرئيس أوباما بشأن المناخ ، تشارك منظمة الحفاظ على الطبيعة ومجلس الجودة البيئية في إبراز الأدوات التي تُظهر دور الموارد الطبيعية في الحد من المخاطر. حديثا صحيفة وقائع يسلط الضوء على المرونة الساحلية.

مزايا أداة المرونة الساحلية

  • من السهل مشاركة سيناريوهات المخاطرة والاستعادة والمرونة ومقارنتها من خلال وظيفة تقسيم الشاشة
  • أداة المرونة الساحلية منصة مصمم لاستضافة سلسلة من تطبيقات الويب التي يمكن تطويرها من قبل الشركاء أو مجتمع المصادر المفتوحة. يتيح ذلك للمستخدمين استكشاف مشكلة إدارة ساحلية معينة ، أو الاستجابة لكارثة لاتخاذ قرارات ما بعد العاصفة ، أو استكشاف خيارات التكيف القائمة على الطبيعة
  • منصة الأدوات عبارة عن شبكة موزعة عالميًا لمواقع المشاريع ، مما يعني أنه عندما يتقدم أحد مواقع Coastal Resilience إما بالنظام الأساسي نفسه ، أو تطبيق ويب معين ، فإن كل المناطق الجغرافية الأخرى تعمل على الاستفادة منها أو تكرارها أو تعديلها.
  • تتوفر منصة التعيين على كمبيوتر شخصي أو كمبيوتر لوحي باستخدام أي متصفح متصل بالإنترنت
  • تعمل الأداة محليا وإقليميا ووطنيا وعالميا ، ومخصصة لتلبية احتياجات التخطيط المحددة ، وسهلة لتبادل النتائج والبيانات
  • استثمرت Esri وشركاء GIS الآخرون على نطاق واسع في واجهة برمجة تطبيقات جافا سكريبت (API) ، مما يجعل هذه التكنولوجيا الحل الأكثر حداثة في أدوات تعيين الويب
  • تجري ترقية أداة Coastal Resilience لتشمل اللغات الإسبانية وغيرها من اللغات المدمجة في الأداة ؛ التركيز هو التأكد من أن الأداة عالمية حقًا في نطاقها
  • تم تطوير النهج والأداة من خلال شراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص

حدود أداة المرونة الساحلية

  • تعمل الأداة وتطبيقات الويب بشكل أفضل مع الوصول إلى الإنترنت عالي السرعة
  • لم يتم تطوير الأداة وتطبيقات الويب لعامة الناس ؛ التدريب مطلوب لإشراك أصحاب المصلحة حتى يتمكنوا من الاستفادة الكاملة من الأداة والبيانات والتحليلات. مزيد من المعلومات يمكن العثور عليها هنا
  • مع وجود الكثير من الأدوات المتاحة الآن على الويب ، من الصعب فك الشفرة وبالتالي استخدام هذه الأداة بالنسبة إلى الأدوات الأخرى التي تعالج مشكلات مماثلة. لمزيد من المعلومات ، انظر الجهود المبذولة لإزالة الغموض عن التكيف مع المناخ المختلفة أدوات رسم الخرائط
  • ركزت الأداة في معظمها على المناطق الجغرافية للولايات المتحدة على المستويات المحلية ، مع بذل المزيد من الجهود للتوسع على المستوى الدولي
  • يتم عرض تطبيقات الويب ضمن متصفحات الإنترنت ؛ ليست تطبيقات "أصلية" على جهاز محمول ، لذا فإن مشاهدة المعلومات على الهاتف الذكي محدودة

الدروس المستفادة

  • في الوقت الحالي ، تركزت غالبية الاستثمارات في برنامج Coastal Resilience على تطوير الأدوات ، ولم يتم التركيز بشكل كاف على الاتصالات والتواصل مع النهج عبر المناطق الجغرافية المختلفة. وقد أدى ذلك إلى قلة الوعي بكيفية تطبيق الأداة بفعالية على الجماهير المستهدفة الرئيسية.
  • هناك حاجة إلى صيانة طويلة الأجل للحفاظ على البيانات والمعلومات الموجودة في أداة Coastal Resilience محدثة ، وغالبًا ما يتم بناؤها من أجل عملية تخطيط واحدة أو سلسلة من ارتباطات أصحاب المصلحة. وقد نتج عن ذلك نقص المعلومات الحالية أو ذات الصلة اللازمة للحفاظ على أنواع دعم القرارات التي يقدمها التطوير الأولي

عندما تم إنشاء Coastal Resilience في 2008 ، لم يكن هناك سوى عدد قليل من أدوات رسم الخرائط على الويب التي قدمت معلومات عن ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر وعرام العواصف. بفضل توسيع التعاون بين القطاعين العام والخاص ، هناك عدد متزايد من الأدوات في عملنا الخاص بالمخاطر الساحلية الجماعية. نحن الآن بحاجة إلى أن نكون أكثر ذكاءً بشأن الأداة التي يجب استخدامها في أي عملية تخطيط معينة ، وأن ندرك كيف تكون هذه الأدوات مجانية ، ونفهم كذلك كيف يمكن استخدامها في مراحل مختلفة من العملية التي تعالج قضايا المناخ والفيضانات.

Coastal Resilience is a program developed in 2008 to examine nature’s role in reducing coastal community risk through a public-private partnership between The Nature Conservancy, United Nations University, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), United States Geological Survey (USGS), Natural Capital Project, Association of State Floodplain Managers, University of California at Santa Cruz, University of Southern Mississippi, Esri, and Alliance for Development Works. The program includes an approach and decision support tool for climate adaptation and resilience planning.

The approach consists of four steps:

  1. Assess Risk and Vulnerability to coastal hazards including alternative scenarios for current and future storms and sea level rise with community input;
  2. Identify Solutions for reducing risk focusing on joint solutions across social, economic and ecological systems;
  3. Take Action at key conservation and restoration demonstration sites to help communities identify and implement nature-based solutions;
  4. Measure Effectiveness to ensure that efforts to reduce disaster risk and apply ecosystem-based adaptation are successful

CoastalResilience_Approach

 

In Connecticut, Coastal Resilience was used to inform the community about where marsh advancement will likely occur and to help identify adaptive solutions to improve community resilience. As a result, Connecticut is now the first state in the United States to have assessed the entire coastline for future salt marsh advancement zones down to the parcel scale.

In Connecticut, Coastal Resilience was used to inform the community about where marsh advancement will likely occur and to help identify adaptive solutions to improve community resilience. As a result, Connecticut is now the first state in the United States to have assessed the entire coastline for future salt marsh advancement zones down to the parcel scale.

An innovative, online decision support tool was developed that includes a mapping platform and suite of customizable web-based apps. The mapping tool is designed to meet planning needs around the U.S. and globally. The tool is focused on identifying nature-based adaptation and mitigation solutions but also includes information for supporting disaster response, coastal habitat restoration and climate change policy efforts. The tool and web apps are customized to specific audiences and scenario planning processes.

The Coastal Resilience tool works in the U.S. and globally to assess risk and identify risk reduction solutions, operating at national, regional and local scales for more detailed planning in numerous communities. Coastal Resilience’s approach and tool has been rapidly expanding and now include 16 U.S. coastal states (Alabama, California, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, Maine, Mississippi, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas, Virginia, Washington), the Caribbean (Grenada, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, U.S. Virgin Islands), and across Mexico and Central America (Belize, Guatemala, Honduras). Having reached almost 100 communities since 2008, The Nature Conservancy intends to increase coverage of the tool and custom web apps to more U.S. states, throughout Mexico and into Southeast Asia in the near future.

During a Coastal Resilience workshop in North Carolina, attendees work in teams to use the Restoration Explorer App in combination with community-scale ecological, social, and economic data to prioritize subtidal oyster restoration projects for shoreline protection. Photo © TNC

During a Coastal Resilience workshop in North Carolina, attendees work in teams to use the Restoration Explorer App in combination with community-scale ecological, social, and economic data to prioritize subtidal oyster restoration projects for shoreline protection. Photo © TNC

The suite of Coastal Resilience web apps enable planners, government officials, and communities to assess risk and identify nature-based solutions to reduce socio-economic vulnerability to coastal hazards. Nature-based adaptation solutions include: protecting or restoring area salt marshes as buffers; developing hybrid approaches that link natural and built defense structures; removing incentives to build in high-risk areas (i.e., often on top of low-lying wetlands); and designing restored oyster and coral reefs as breakwaters.

The Coastal Resilience decision support tool allows key stakeholders to compare risk, restoration, and resilience scenarios in an easy-to-use, web-based map interface:

  • view potential impacts of sea-level rise, surge from storms and hurricanes, and inland flooding; example in New York
  • categorize different scenarios of coastal wetlands moving landward in response to sea-level rise; example in the Gulf of Mexico
  • combine data on coastal habitats and exposure ref with socio-economic data to identify solutions where habitat management may most reduce risks along U.S. coasts
  • examine coastal defense strategies using green (natural coastal habitats), gray (seawalls, levees, etc.), and hybrid solutions; example in Southeast Florida
  • compare risk and vulnerability indicators across countries and determine the critical role of coral reefs and other habitats in disaster risk reduction ref
  • examine global risks from natural disasters and effects of environmental degradation in a coasts at risk index ref; global example

The Coastal Resilience approach and decision support tool have been instrumental globally and locally in guiding decisions. For example, regarding Connecticut’s sea level rise policy, the U.S. Navy’s cooperative agreement to actively manage strategic retreat of the naval base in Ventura County, California, and in the recovery of coastal habitats following the Deepwater Horizon oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico. Coastal Resilience is also applied internationally in places such as Grenada for assessing social-ecological vulnerability as well as prioritizing mangrove and coral reef restoration in partnership with the Red Cross, and globally to develop USAID Coasts at Risk indicators and a World Risk Index with Alliance Development Works. Coastal Resilience is also actively being utilized in partnership with the reinsurance industry to determine the costs and benefits of natural infrastructure solutions in reducing risk. The Conservancy has made presentations to and trained various agency partners including Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), NOAA and USGS on the uses and applications of Coastal Resilience, as well as to the Rockefeller Foundation’s 100 Resilient Cities initiative where The Conservancy is the first environmental platform partner, or preferred vendor. Finally, through President Obama’s Climate Action Plan, The Nature Conservancy and the Council on Environmental Quality have been partnering to highlight tools that demonstrate the role of natural resources in risk reduction. A recent fact sheet highlights Coastal Resilience.

Advantages of the Coastal Resilience Tool

  • Easy to share and compare risk, restoration, and resilience scenarios through split screen functionality
  • Coastal Resilience tool platform is designed to host a series of web apps that can be developed by partners or the open source community. This allows users to explore a specific coastal management issue, respond to a disaster for post-storm decision making, or explore nature-based adaptation options
  • The tool platform is a globally distributed network of project sites, meaning that when one Coastal Resilience site advances either the platform itself, or a specific web app, all other geographies leverage, replicate or modify it
  • The mapping platform is available on a PC or tablet using any browser with internet connectivity
  • The tool operates locally, regionally, nationally and globally, customized to meet specific planning needs, and is easy to share results and data
  • Esri and other GIS partners have widely invested in the Javascript Applied Programming Interface (API) making this technology the most cutting edge solution in web mapping tools
  • The Coastal Resilience tool is in the process of being upgraded to include Spanish and other languages embedded within the tool; the focus is to ensure the tool is truly global in scope
  • The approach and tool have been developed through a public-private partnership

Limitations of the Coastal Resilience Tool

  • The tool and web apps perform best with high-speed internet access
  • The tool and web apps were not developed for the general public; training is required to engage stakeholders so they can fully utilize the tool, data, and analyses. More information can be found here
  • With so many tools now available on the web, it is hard to decipher the niche and therefore use of this tool relative to others that address similar issues. For more information see efforts to demystify the different climate adaptation mapping tools
  • The tool has focused mostly in U.S. geographies at local scales, with more recent efforts to expand internationally
  • The web apps are viewed within Internet browsers; they are not “native” apps on a mobile device so viewing information on a smart phone is limited

Lessons Learned

  • Currently, the majority of investment in the Coastal Resilience program has been on tool development, and not enough emphasis has been placed on communications and outreach of the approach across the different geographies. This has resulted in a lack of awareness of how the tool can be effectively applied to key target audiences.
  • Long-term maintenance is needed to keep the data and information in the Coastal Resilience tool up-to-date, often being built for a single planning process or series of stakeholder engagements. This has resulted in a lack of current or relevant information needed to sustain the types of decision support offered by its initial development

When Coastal Resilience was initiated in 2008 there were only a small handful of web-based mapping tools that provided information on sea level rise and storm surge. Thanks to expanding public-private collaborations, there are an increasing number of tools in our collective coastal hazards work shed. Now we need to get smarter about what tool to use in any given planning process, recognize how these tools are complimentary, and further understand how they can be used in different phases of a process that address climate and flooding issues.

Resources

Full library of relevant publications on the Climate Risk and Resilience strategy and Coastal Resilience program.

Coastal Resilience program with examples of how the approach and tool has been applied around the world

Tutorials and training materials on the approach and tool

Access the Coastal Resilience network of geographies and tools

Check out this video to hear an example of how local decision-makers and scientists are using the Coastal Resilience tool to prepare their communities for sea-level rise and storm surge

Watch this video about a community in Grenville, Grenada, that is using Coastal Resilience to design and build a coral reef breakwater from modeling efforts and tool decision support

World Bank WAVES report on nature as a first line of defense

Return to Top

Last updated August 4, 2016

Translate »