تغير المناخ مقدمة

الفلبين. الصورة © TNC

ما هو تغير المناخ؟

يشير تغير المناخ إلى التغيرات طويلة الأجل في المناخ التي تحدث على مدار عقود أو قرون أو أكثر. إنه ناجم عن زيادة سريعة في غازات الدفيئة في الغلاف الجوي للأرض بسبب حرق الوقود الأحفوري (مثل الفحم والنفط والغاز الطبيعي).

تعمل غازات الاحتباس الحراري هذه على ارتفاع درجة حرارة الأرض والمحيطات مما يؤدي إلى ارتفاع منسوب مياه البحر وتغيرات في أنماط العواصف وتغيير التيارات في المحيطات والتغيرات في هطول الأمطار وذوبان الثلوج والجليد وأحداث الحرارة الشديدة والحرائق والجفاف. من المتوقع أن تستمر هذه الآثار ، وفي بعض الحالات ، تكثف وتؤثر على صحة الإنسان والبنية التحتية والغابات والزراعة وإمدادات المياه العذبة والسواحل والأنظمة البحرية.

توقعات

  • درجات الحرارة في الغلاف الجوي: 2-4 ° C تزداد بمقدار 2100 ، ويرجع ذلك في الغالب إلى النشاط البشري المرجع
  • ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر: ~ 1 m ارتفاع 2100 بسبب التمدد الحراري وذوبان الجليد. ملحوظة: يمكن أن تزيد مساهمة الغطاء الجليدي في جرينلاند وغرب أنتاركتيكا من ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر المرجع
  • التغييرات في أنماط العواصف - قد يتسبب الاحترار في أن تكون العواصف المدارية على مستوى العالم أكثر كثافة في المتوسط ​​(مع زيادة شدة 2-11٪ بواسطة 2100) المرجع

لمزيد من توقعات تغير المناخ وتأثيرات محددة على الشعاب المرجانية ، انقر فوق هنا. للاطلاع على التوقعات المحلية والإقليمية في المناطق الجغرافية الرئيسية ، انظر قسم الموارد أدناه.

الفرق بين الطقس والمناخ

  • طقس يشير إلى الظروف الجوية مثل درجة الحرارة وهطول الأمطار على مدى فترة زمنية قصيرة (بضع ساعات أو بضعة أيام). الطقس هو ما تواجهه يوما بعد يوم.
  • مناخ هو نمط الطقس المتوسط ​​لمكان معين على مدار فترة زمنية طويلة ، وعادة ما يكون 30 سنوات على الأقل.

تقلب المناخ

يشار إلى التباين الطبيعي في المناخ الذي يحدث من شهر إلى شهر ، من موسم لآخر ، من عام إلى آخر ومن عقد إلى عقد باسم تقلبية المناخ (على سبيل المثال ، الدورة السنوية للمواسم الرطبة والجافة في غرب المحيط الهادئ الاستوائي).

تقلبات المناخ بين السنين ناتجة عن التغيرات الطبيعية في الغلاف الجوي والمحيط ، مثل التذبذب الجنوبي للنينيو (ENSO). لدى ENSO مرحلتان متطرفتان: النينيو والنينيا. تميل ظاهرة النينيو إلى جلب رياح تجارية أضعف وظروف محيطية أكثر دفئًا بالقرب من خط الاستواء في معظم أنحاء المحيط الهادئ ، في حين تميل ظاهرة النينيو إلى جلب رياح تجارية أقوى وظروف محيطية أكثر برودة.

تحدث تقلبات المناخ الطبيعي بالتوازي مع تغير المناخ (أي أن الجفاف والفيضانات الناجمة عن ENSO ستستمر في الظهور وقد تتفاقم بسبب تغير المناخ). لذلك ، يجب أن تؤخذ هذه التقلبات الطبيعية في الاعتبار عند التخطيط للمستقبل.

Climate Change Introduction

What is Climate Change?

Climate change refers to the long-term changes in the climate that occur over decades, centuries or longer. It is caused by rapidly increasing greenhouse gases in the Earth’s atmosphere due primarily to burning fossil fuels (e.g., coal, oil, and natural gas).

These heat-trapping gases are warming the Earth and the Oceans resulting in rising sea levels, changes in storm patterns, altered ocean currents, changes in rainfall, melting snow and ice, more extreme heat events, fires, and drought. These impacts are projected to continue and in some cases, intensify, affecting human health, infrastructure, forests, agriculture, freshwater supplies, coastlines, and marine systems.

Projections

  • Atmospheric temperatures: 2-4°C increase by 2100, mostly due to human activity ref
  • Sea level rise: ~1 m rise by 2100 due to thermal expansion and glacial melting. Note: the contribution of the Greenland and West Antarctic ice sheet could increase the extent of sea-level rise ref
  • Changes in storm patterns – warming may cause tropical storms globally to be more intense on average (with intensity increases of 2-11% by 2100) ref

For more projections of climate change and specific impacts to coral reefs, click here. For local and regional, projections in key geographies, see the Resources section below.

Difference Between Weather and Climate

  • Weather refers to atmospheric conditions such as temperature and rainfall over a short period of time (a few hours or a few days). Weather is what you experience day to day.
  • Climate is the average pattern of weather for a particular place over a long period of time, usually at least 30 years.

Climate Variability

The natural variation in climate that occurs from month to month, season to season, year to year and decade to decade is referred to as climate variability (e.g., yearly cycle of wet and dry seasons in the western tropical Pacific).

Climate variability between years is caused by natural variations in the atmosphere and ocean, such as the El Niño Southern Oscillation (ENSO). ENSO has two extreme phases: El Niño and La Niña. El Niño tends to bring weaker trade winds and warmer ocean conditions near the equator across much of the Pacific, whereas La Niña tends to bring stronger trade winds and cooler ocean conditions.

Natural climate variability occurs in parallel with climate change (i.e., droughts and floods caused by ENSO will continue to occur and may intensify due to climate change). Therefore, these natural fluctuations must also be taken into account when planning for the future.

Return to Top

Last updated August 3, 2016

Translate »