氣候變化簡介

菲律賓。 照片©TNC

什麼是氣候變化?

氣候變化是指幾十年,幾百年或更長時間內氣候的長期變化。 這主要是由於燃燒化石燃料(如煤,石油和天然氣)導致地球大氣中溫室氣體迅速增加。

這些吸熱氣體使地球和海洋變暖,導致海平面上升,風暴模式變化,海流變化,降雨變化,冰雪融化,極端高溫事件,火災和乾旱。 預計這些影響將繼續,並在某些情況下會加劇,影響人類健康,基礎設施,森林,農業,淡水供應,海岸線和海洋系統。

預測

  • 大氣溫度:2-4°C增加2100,主要是由於人類活動 文獻
  • 海平面上升:由於熱膨脹和冰川融化,1上升~2100 m。 注意:格陵蘭和南極西部冰蓋的貢獻可能會增加海平面上升的程度 文獻
  • 風暴模式的變化 - 變暖可能導致全球熱帶風暴平均更加強烈(2強度增加11-2100%) 文獻

有關氣候變化和珊瑚礁特定影響的更多預測,請單擊 點擊瀏覽,獲取更多資訊。 對於關鍵地理區域的本地和區域預測,請參閱下面的參考資料部分。

天氣與氣候的區別

  • 天氣 是指在短時間內(幾小時或幾天)的大氣條件,如溫度和降雨量。 天氣是您日常體驗的。
  • 氣候 是長期特定地區的平均天氣模式,通常至少為30年。

氣候變化

每個月,季節,年份和十年到十年的氣候自然變化被稱為氣候變率(例如,熱帶西太平洋濕季和旱季的年周期)。

多年之間的氣候變化是由大氣和海洋的自然變化引起的,例如厄爾尼諾南方濤動(ENSO)。 ENSO有兩個極端階段:厄爾尼諾和拉尼娜。 厄爾尼諾現象往往會在太平洋大部分地區的赤道附近帶來較弱的信風和較溫暖的海洋條件,而拉尼娜往往會帶來更強的信風和更涼爽的海洋條件。

自然氣候變化與氣候變化同時發生(即ENSO引起的干旱和洪水將繼續發生,並可能因氣候變化而加劇)。 因此,在規劃未來時也必須考慮這些自然波動。

Climate Change Introduction

What is Climate Change?

Climate change refers to the long-term changes in the climate that occur over decades, centuries or longer. It is caused by rapidly increasing greenhouse gases in the Earth’s atmosphere due primarily to burning fossil fuels (e.g., coal, oil, and natural gas).

These heat-trapping gases are warming the Earth and the Oceans resulting in rising sea levels, changes in storm patterns, altered ocean currents, changes in rainfall, melting snow and ice, more extreme heat events, fires, and drought. These impacts are projected to continue and in some cases, intensify, affecting human health, infrastructure, forests, agriculture, freshwater supplies, coastlines, and marine systems.

Projections

  • Atmospheric temperatures: 2-4°C increase by 2100, mostly due to human activity ref
  • Sea level rise: ~1 m rise by 2100 due to thermal expansion and glacial melting. Note: the contribution of the Greenland and West Antarctic ice sheet could increase the extent of sea-level rise ref
  • Changes in storm patterns – warming may cause tropical storms globally to be more intense on average (with intensity increases of 2-11% by 2100) ref

For more projections of climate change and specific impacts to coral reefs, click here. For local and regional, projections in key geographies, see the Resources section below.

Difference Between Weather and Climate

  • Weather refers to atmospheric conditions such as temperature and rainfall over a short period of time (a few hours or a few days). Weather is what you experience day to day.
  • Climate is the average pattern of weather for a particular place over a long period of time, usually at least 30 years.

Climate Variability

The natural variation in climate that occurs from month to month, season to season, year to year and decade to decade is referred to as climate variability (e.g., yearly cycle of wet and dry seasons in the western tropical Pacific).

Climate variability between years is caused by natural variations in the atmosphere and ocean, such as the El Niño Southern Oscillation (ENSO). ENSO has two extreme phases: El Niño and La Niña. El Niño tends to bring weaker trade winds and warmer ocean conditions near the equator across much of the Pacific, whereas La Niña tends to bring stronger trade winds and cooler ocean conditions.

Natural climate variability occurs in parallel with climate change (i.e., droughts and floods caused by ENSO will continue to occur and may intensify due to climate change). Therefore, these natural fluctuations must also be taken into account when planning for the future.

Return to Top

Last updated August 3, 2016

Translate »