التواصل مع تغير المناخ

الفلبين. الصورة © TNC

قد يواجه مديرو الشعاب المرجانية مناقشات صعبة حول تغير المناخ. امتلاك الأدوات اللازمة للتواصل بشأنها بشكل فعال هو مفتاح توسيع الوعي وتشجيع الإجراءات التي تشتد الحاجة إليها.

خلال العقود القليلة الماضية ، استكشفت العديد من الدراسات كيفية التواصل بشكل أكثر فعالية حول تغير المناخ. من أهم التوصيات: 1) تعرف على جمهورك ؛ و 2) إشراك جمهورك (لا تُحاضر ، استمع إلى ما يهمهم وتحدث عن تغير المناخ في سياق ما يهمهم). الرسائل البسيطة ، التي يتكرر تكرارها من قِبل رسل موثوق به ، قوية. المرجع

مواد التواصل بشأن تغير المناخ التي قدمها موظفو جمعية الحفظ في بوهنباي. الصورة © Meghan Gombos

مواد التواصل بشأن تغير المناخ التي قدمها موظفو جمعية الحفظ في بوهنباي. الصورة © Meghan Gombos

نقاط الحوار الرئيسية

بالإضافة إلى المفتاح نقاط الحديث فيما يتعلق بتغير المناخ ، يعترف المدراء البحريون أيضًا بقوة تطوير مقاطع فيديو تشاركية لالتقاط وجهات النظر المحلية بشأن آثار تغير المناخ والاستجابات له.

المبادئ الأساسية للتواصل بشأن تغير المناخ المرجع

  1. تعرف جمهورك (على سبيل المثال ، قيمهم ، عملهم ، اهتماماتهم). إذا أمكنك توصيل ما يهتم به جمهورك بتغير المناخ ، فمن الأرجح أن يستمعوا إليه.
  1. تواصل على القيم المشتركة. يبدأ كثير من الناس المحادثة من خلال الحديث عن علم تغير المناخ (أي الأسباب والعواقب). ومع ذلك ، إذا كنت تريد أن يهتم الأشخاص ويتصرفوا ، فيجب أن تجعل القضية ذات صلة بهم. للقيام بذلك ، ابدأ بالاتصال بالقيم التي تجمع الناس معًا (على سبيل المثال ، الأسرة ، الصحة ، المجتمع)
  1. مقياس من الشخصية إلى الكوكب. يفهم الناس ما يمكنهم رؤيته من حولهم. تحدث عن التأثيرات المناخية / الخطرة التي يمكنهم رؤيتها (على سبيل المثال ، الأعاصير ، تبيض المرجان) ، ثم التوسع إلى مناطق أخرى من البلد أو الكوكب. إن البدء بالكوارث العالمية يؤدي إلى الوفاة ، لأن الكثير من الناس لا يستطيعون رؤية كيف يمكن لأفعالهم معالجة مثل هذه المشكلة الكبيرة.
  1. استخدم كلمات يستطيع الناس فهمها. الكثير من مصطلحات تغير المناخ ، مثل "التخفيف" ، لا تعني الكثير للناس. بدلاً من ذلك ، استخدم كلمات مثل الاستعداد أو الاستعداد. بدلا من الحديث عن "الطاقة البديلة" ، والحديث عن طاقة الرياح والطاقة الشمسية. بدلاً من "انهيار النظام البيئي" ، تحدث عن النباتات والحيوانات التي نعتمد عليها للبقاء على قيد الحياة. اللغة الأكثر إقناعا هي حية ، مألوفة ، وصفي.
  1. إلهام وتمكين. إن أهم شيء يجب القيام به لحمل الناس على الانخراط في تغير المناخ هو نقل الشعور بالأمل والإمكانات. تقديم أمثلة ملموسة على الإجراءات والحلول ؛ تقديم حلول أكثر من المشاكل.
تم عرض فيلم عن حلول تغير المناخ المحلية من قبل الطلاب في ساموا في مسابقة أفلام أكشن إكس أنمي إكس كليمت الدولية. الصورة © العمل ضد تغير المناخ

تم عرض فيلم عن حلول تغير المناخ المحلية من قبل الطلاب في ساموا في فيلم Action4Climate International منافسة. الصورة © العمل ضد تغير المناخ

  1. احصل على حقيقة قوية على الأقل من 1 من رسول موثوق به. يمكن لواحدة أو اثنتين من الحقائق التي تتمتع بالكثير من القوة العاطفية أن تضيف وزناً كبيراً لرسالتك. رسل موثوق به للغاية - يختلف عن مختلف الجماهير - يضفي مصداقية وأهمية. ابحث عن اقتباس رائع وملائم من شخص يعرفه جمهورك ويثق به.
  1. تحضير ، لا تكيف. التكيف هو مصطلح محبط يؤدي إلى القدرية والاستقالة. لا يمكنك أن تفعل أي شيء حيال ذلك ، لذلك مجرد التكيف. الاستعداد ، من ناحية أخرى ، يؤدي إلى العمل. يعني التحضير وجود مشكلة يمكننا القيام بها.
  1. التحول من "عدم اليقين" إلى "الخطر". معظم الناس معتادون على التعامل مع فكرة المخاطرة. إنها لغة قطاعات التأمين والصحة والأمن الوطني. لذلك بالنسبة للعديد من الجماهير (مثل السياسيين وقادة الأعمال) الذين يتحدثون عن مخاطر تغير المناخ هو أكثر فعالية من الحديث عن أوجه عدم اليقين المتعلقة بتغير المناخ.
  1. التواصل من خلال الصور والقصص. معظم الناس يفهمون العالم من خلال القصص والصور ، وليس قوائم الأرقام ، وبيانات الاحتمالات أو الرسوم البيانية ، وبالتالي من الضروري إيجاد طرق لترجمة وتفسير اللغة التقنية في التقارير العلمية إلى شيء أكثر جاذبية.

فيما يلي مثال لبيان قصير يتضمن العديد من المبادئ أعلاه:

تعد الشعاب المرجانية في العالم ذات أهمية حاسمة للناس ؛ أنها توفر الحماية الساحلية ، والغذاء (مصائد الأسماك) ، ودخل السياحة ، والأدوية ، وغالبا ما تحمل أهمية روحية وثقافية. تتهدد الشعاب المرجانية بسبب تغير المناخ والآثار البشرية الأخرى. ولكن هناك شيء يمكننا القيام به حيال ذلك. المستقبل يكمن في أيدينا. الإدارة الفعالة للشعاب المرجانية التي تأخذ بعين الاعتبار تغير المناخ ستساعد على حماية الشعاب المرجانية وتأمين الفوائد التي توفرها.

Communicating Climate Change

Climate change communication materials presented by staff from the Conservation Society of Pohnpei. Photo © Meghan Gombos

Climate change communication materials presented by staff from the Conservation Society of Pohnpei. Photo © Meghan Gombos

Coral reef managers may be faced with difficult discussions about climate change. Having tools to communicate about it effectively is key to broadening awareness and encouraging much needed action.

Over the last several decades, many studies have explored how to more effectively communicate about climate change. Two of the most important recommendations are: 1) know your audience; and 2) engage your audience (don’t lecture, listen to what they care about and talk about climate change in the context of what matters to them). Simple messages, repeated often, by trusted messengers are powerful. ref

Key Talking Points

In addition to key talking points on climate change, marine managers are also recognizing the power of developing participatory videos to capture local perspectives on climate change impacts and responses.

Basic Principles of Communicating about Climate Change ref

  1. Know your audience (e.g., their values, work, concerns). If you can connect what your audience cares about to climate change, they are more likely to listen.
  1. Connect on common values. Many people start the conversation by talking about the science of climate change (i.e., causes and consequences). However, if you want people to care and act, you need to make the issue relevant to them. To do so, start by connecting to the values that bring people together (e.g., family, health, community)
  1. Scale from personal to planet. People understand what they can see around them. Talk about the climate/hazard impacts they can see (e.g., typhoons, coral bleaching), then scale up to other areas of the country or the planet. Starting with global catastrophe leads to fatalism, since many people can’t see how their actions could address such a big problem.
  1. Use words people can understand. A lot of climate change terms, like “mitigation,” don’t mean much to people. Instead, use words such as prepare or preparedness. Rather than talk about “alternative energy,” talk about wind and solar power. Rather than “ecosystem collapse”, talk about the plants and animals that we depend on to survive. The most persuasive language is vivid, familiar, and descriptive.
A film about local climate change solutions by students in Samoa was showcased in the Action4Climate International film competition. Photo © Action Against Climate Change

A film about local climate change solutions by students in Samoa was showcased in the Action4Climate International film competition. Photo © Action Against Climate Change

  1. Inspire and empower. The most important thing to do to get people to engage on climate change is to convey a sense of hope and potential. Provide concrete examples of actions and solutions; provide more solutions than problems.
  1. Have at least 1 powerful fact from a trusted messenger. One or two facts with a lot of emotional power can add significant weight to your message. Highly trusted messengers – different for different audiences – lend credibility and importance. Find a great, relevant quote from someone your audience knows and trusts.
  1. Prepare, don’t adapt. Adaptation is a disempowering term that leads to fatalism and resignation. You can’t do anything about it, so just adapt. Preparation, on the other hand, leads to action. Preparation implies there’s a problem that we can do something about. 
  1. Shift from “uncertainty” to “risk”. Most people are used to dealing with the idea of risk. It is the language of the insurance, health and national security sectors. So for many audiences (e.g., politicians, business leaders) talking about the risks of climate change is more effective than talking about the uncertainties of climate change. 
  1. Communicate through images and stories. Most people understand the world through stories and images, not lists of numbers, probability statements or graphs, and so it is crucial to find ways of translating and interpreting the technical language in scientific reports into something more engaging.

The following is an example of a short statement that includes several of the principles above:

The world’s reefs are critically important to people; they provide coastal protection, food (fisheries), tourism income, medicines, and often hold spiritual and cultural importance. Reefs are threatened by climate change and other human impacts. But there’s something we can do about it. The future lies in our hands. Effective coral reef management that considers climate change will help to protect coral reefs and secure the benefits they provide.

Resources

Communicating on Climate: 13 Steps and Guiding Principles (pdf)

Yale Project on Climate Change Communication

The Uncertainty Handbook (pdf)

Participatory Videos from the Pacific

Participatory Video Giving Voice to Pacific People

Return to Top

Last updated July 29, 2016

Translate »