傳播氣候變化

菲律賓。 照片©TNC

珊瑚礁管理者可能面臨有關氣候變化的艱難討論。 擁有有效溝通的工具是擴大意識和鼓勵急需行動的關鍵。

在過去的幾十年中,許多研究探索瞭如何更有效地溝通氣候變化。 其中兩個最重要的建議是:1)了解您的受眾; 和2)吸引觀眾(不要講話,傾聽他們關心的事情,並在對他們重要的事情中談論氣候變化)。 由信任的信使經常重複的簡單信息是強大的。 文獻

波納佩保護協會工作人員提交的氣候變化宣傳材料。 照片©Meghan Gombos

波納佩保護協會工作人員提交的氣候變化宣傳材料。 照片©Meghan Gombos

關鍵談話要點

除了鑰匙 談話要點 在氣候變化方面,海洋管理人員也認識到製定參與性視頻的能力,以捕捉當地對氣候變化影響和反應的看法。

傳播氣候變化的基本原則 文獻

  1. 了解您的受眾 (例如,他們的價值觀,工作,關注)。 如果你可以將觀眾關心的事物與氣候變化聯繫起來,他們就更有可能傾聽。
  1. 連接常用值。 許多人通過談論氣候變化科學(即原因和後果)開始談話。 但是,如果您希望人們關心並採取行動,您需要使問題與他們相關。 要做到這一點,首先要連接到將人們聚集在一起的價值觀(例如,家庭,健康,社區)
  1. 從個人到星球的規模。 人們了解他們可以看到他們周圍的東西。 談論他們可以看到的氣候/危害影響(例如,颱風,珊瑚褪色),然後擴展到該國或地球的其他地區。 從全球災難開始導致宿命論,因為許多人無法看到他們的行為如何解決這樣一個大問題。
  1. 使用人們可以理解的詞語。 許多氣候變化術語,如“緩解”,對人們來說意義不大。 相反,使用準備或準備等詞語。 而不是談論“替代能源”,談論風能和太陽能。 而不是“生態系統崩潰”,談論我們賴以生存的植物和動物。 最有說服力的語言是生動,熟悉和描述性的。
  1. 激勵和授權。 讓人們參與氣候變化最重要的事情就是傳達一種希望和潛力。 提供行動和解決方案的具體實例; 提供比問題多的解決方案。
在Action4Climate國際電影競賽中,一部關於薩摩亞學生的當地氣候變化解決方案的電影被展示出來。 照片©針對氣候變化的行動

在Action4Climate國際電影中展示了一部關於薩摩亞學生當地氣候變化解決方案的電影 競爭。 照片©針對氣候變化的行動

  1. 至少從受信任的信使那裡獲得1強大的事實。 具有大量情感能力的一兩個事實可能會給您的信息帶來很大的影響。 高度信任的信使 - 針對不同的受眾不同 - 提供可信度和重要性。 從受眾了解和信任的人那裡找到一份精彩,相關的報價。
  1. 準備,不適應。 適應是一個失去權力的術語,導致宿命論和辭職。 你不能做任何事情,所以只需適應。 另一方面,準備工作會導致行動。 準備意味著我們可以做一些問題。
  1. 從“不確定性”轉向“風險”。 大多數人習慣於處理風險的想法。 它是保險,衛生和國家安全部門的語言。 因此,對於許多受眾(例如,政治家,商業領袖)來說,談論氣候變化的風險比談論氣候變化的不確定性更有效。
  1. 通過圖像和故事進行溝通。 大多數人通過故事和圖像來理解世界,而不是數字,概率陳述或圖表的列表,因此找到將科學報告中的技術語言翻譯和解釋為更具吸引力的方法至關重要。

以下是包含上述幾條原則的簡短陳述的示例:

世界的珊瑚礁對人們至關重要; 它們提供沿海保護,食品(漁業),旅遊收入,藥品,並且往往具有精神和文化重要性。 珊瑚礁受到氣候變化和其他人類影響的威脅。 但是我們可以做些什麼呢。 未來掌握在我們手中。 考慮氣候變化的有效珊瑚礁管理將有助於保護珊瑚礁並確保其帶來的好處。

Communicating Climate Change

Climate change communication materials presented by staff from the Conservation Society of Pohnpei. Photo © Meghan Gombos

Climate change communication materials presented by staff from the Conservation Society of Pohnpei. Photo © Meghan Gombos

Coral reef managers may be faced with difficult discussions about climate change. Having tools to communicate about it effectively is key to broadening awareness and encouraging much needed action.

Over the last several decades, many studies have explored how to more effectively communicate about climate change. Two of the most important recommendations are: 1) know your audience; and 2) engage your audience (don’t lecture, listen to what they care about and talk about climate change in the context of what matters to them). Simple messages, repeated often, by trusted messengers are powerful. ref

Key Talking Points

In addition to key talking points on climate change, marine managers are also recognizing the power of developing participatory videos to capture local perspectives on climate change impacts and responses.

Basic Principles of Communicating about Climate Change ref

  1. Know your audience (e.g., their values, work, concerns). If you can connect what your audience cares about to climate change, they are more likely to listen.
  1. Connect on common values. Many people start the conversation by talking about the science of climate change (i.e., causes and consequences). However, if you want people to care and act, you need to make the issue relevant to them. To do so, start by connecting to the values that bring people together (e.g., family, health, community)
  1. Scale from personal to planet. People understand what they can see around them. Talk about the climate/hazard impacts they can see (e.g., typhoons, coral bleaching), then scale up to other areas of the country or the planet. Starting with global catastrophe leads to fatalism, since many people can’t see how their actions could address such a big problem.
  1. Use words people can understand. A lot of climate change terms, like “mitigation,” don’t mean much to people. Instead, use words such as prepare or preparedness. Rather than talk about “alternative energy,” talk about wind and solar power. Rather than “ecosystem collapse”, talk about the plants and animals that we depend on to survive. The most persuasive language is vivid, familiar, and descriptive.
A film about local climate change solutions by students in Samoa was showcased in the Action4Climate International film competition. Photo © Action Against Climate Change

A film about local climate change solutions by students in Samoa was showcased in the Action4Climate International film competition. Photo © Action Against Climate Change

  1. Inspire and empower. The most important thing to do to get people to engage on climate change is to convey a sense of hope and potential. Provide concrete examples of actions and solutions; provide more solutions than problems.
  1. Have at least 1 powerful fact from a trusted messenger. One or two facts with a lot of emotional power can add significant weight to your message. Highly trusted messengers – different for different audiences – lend credibility and importance. Find a great, relevant quote from someone your audience knows and trusts.
  1. Prepare, don’t adapt. Adaptation is a disempowering term that leads to fatalism and resignation. You can’t do anything about it, so just adapt. Preparation, on the other hand, leads to action. Preparation implies there’s a problem that we can do something about. 
  1. Shift from “uncertainty” to “risk”. Most people are used to dealing with the idea of risk. It is the language of the insurance, health and national security sectors. So for many audiences (e.g., politicians, business leaders) talking about the risks of climate change is more effective than talking about the uncertainties of climate change. 
  1. Communicate through images and stories. Most people understand the world through stories and images, not lists of numbers, probability statements or graphs, and so it is crucial to find ways of translating and interpreting the technical language in scientific reports into something more engaging.

The following is an example of a short statement that includes several of the principles above:

The world’s reefs are critically important to people; they provide coastal protection, food (fisheries), tourism income, medicines, and often hold spiritual and cultural importance. Reefs are threatened by climate change and other human impacts. But there’s something we can do about it. The future lies in our hands. Effective coral reef management that considers climate change will help to protect coral reefs and secure the benefits they provide.

Resources

Communicating on Climate: 13 Steps and Guiding Principles (pdf)

Yale Project on Climate Change Communication

The Uncertainty Handbook (pdf)

Participatory Videos from the Pacific

Participatory Video Giving Voice to Pacific People

Return to Top

Last updated July 29, 2016

Translate »