珊瑚礁漁業狀況

在海灘的Saltfish乾燥在Gouave,其中一個在格林納達的漁社區。 照片©Marjo Aho

漁業在預防貧困和減貧方面發揮著重要作用。 文獻 當其他就業來源不可用或遭受自然災害時,它們為人們提供了重要的安全網。 在全球範圍內,超過6百萬漁民和 拾穗者 受僱於珊瑚礁漁業。 文獻

幾乎3十億人(佔世界人口的40%)居住在距離海岸100公里的範圍內 文獻 2025預計全球沿海人口將增加一倍。 文獻 隨著人口在珊瑚礁附近沿海岸線穩步增加, 對珊瑚礁生態系統施加了額外的壓力 世界各地的珊瑚礁魚類數量正在減少,這也是商業漁業的趨勢。

許多捕魚船隊在世界各地的珊瑚礁附近生長,捕獲的魚類比珊瑚礁生態系統所能捕獲的更多。 照片來源:Elle Wibisono

許多捕魚船隊在世界各地的珊瑚礁附近生長,捕獲的魚類比珊瑚礁生態系統所能捕獲的更多。 照片©Elle Wibisono

魚類數量下降有幾個原因,包括(但不限於)疾病,污染,不可持續的捕撈方法,特別是過度捕撈。

捲筒紙

從1974到2009的海洋魚類種群全球趨勢。 的數量 過度開發 自1970s以來股市飆升,而非充分利用 股票下跌。 過度捕撈的漁業數量可能會繼續增加。 文獻 資源: 聯合國糧食及農業組織.

珊瑚礁是支持珊瑚礁漁業的重要棲息地,但是世界上超過60%的珊瑚礁是直接和直接的 來自人類活動的威脅 包括過度捕撈。 文獻 過度捕撈被定義為捕獲比系統可支持的魚更多的魚。 過度捕撈會產生嚴重後果,特別是珊瑚礁,如某些魚類(例如, 食草動物)對維持珊瑚礁生態系統過程至關重要。 諸如使用炸藥和氰化物的破壞性捕撈方法是非常不可持續的,因為它們通常不針對特定的魚類物種並且經常導致幼魚在該過程中被殺死。 珊瑚礁結構的破壞進一步降低了該地區的生產力,從而對依賴珊瑚礁的魚類種群以及漁民和附近社區的生計產生了不利影響。

捲筒紙

全球海洋魚類從1950到2010。 超過90%的世界評估漁業已達到或超過其生物限度(FAO,2014)。 雖然自1990早期以來全球報告的捕撈量已經趨於平穩, 釣魚的努力 自1970s以來穩步增長,表明大多數漁業的庫存量下降。 儘管船隊花費更多的努力(橙線)來捕魚,但近年來全球魚類捕撈量(紫色線)已經下降。 資源: 我們周圍的海域項目.

過度捕撈的原因

對魚類和海鮮產品的需求增加

在過去的50年中,全球魚類產量穩步增長。 海產品供應量年均增長率為3.2%,是世界人口增長率的兩倍,達到1.6%。 全球人均魚類消費量從9.9的平均1960 kg增加到19.2的2012 kg。 人口增長,收入增加和城市化的結合推動了這一令人印象深刻的發展,並通過淡水和海水養殖以及更有效的分銷渠道實現了魚類生產的強勁擴張。 文獻

更有效的捕撈方法/技術,可以在繁殖之前吸收更多魚類

更有效的捕撈方法和技術導致在繁殖之前捕獲更多的魚。 捕撈能力和效率的技術改進降低了捕撈魚的成本。 捕撈能力的增加部分歸功於能夠運輸更大船隻的更強大的發動機,以及增加的漁具的可負擔性和選擇。 文獻 漁具和導航設備設計方面的技術進步提高了捕魚效率。 通過鼓勵新人加入漁業,這大大增加了捕撈能力,從而導致庫存進一步枯竭。 反過來,庫存枯竭會刺激技術創新和技術效率的提高,從而導致創新,人口壓力,稀缺等惡性循環。 文獻

與浮游物的漁網在海灘放置在Isla Espiritu Santo岸的一個小土產漁陣營在墨西哥的科爾特斯海。 照片來源:Mark Godfrey

與浮游物的漁網在海灘放置在Isla Espiritu Santo岸的一個小土產漁陣營在墨西哥的科爾特斯海。 照片©Mark Godfrey

漁業管理和執法不力

在發達國家,許多大型商業漁業都是健康或重建的,並且處於某種形式的管理之下。 文獻 然而,大多數小規模珊瑚礁漁業通常沒有經過評估和管理。 庫存通常低於最佳生物量水平,捕撈努力量仍然太高,無法維持健康的漁業。 亞洲,非洲,南美洲和中美洲的大多數(儘管不是全部)漁業管理能力不足。 這些地區的許多漁業缺乏管理能力和資源,在某些情況下還缺乏防止過度捕撈所需的管理機構。 此外,珊瑚礁漁業通常有多種捕撈物種,多種漁具類型,以及許多登陸港口,使監測和執法變得複雜。 了解有關漁業執法的更多信息.

缺乏管理可導致捕撈過度捕撈和魚類減少。 Paulino家族的成員(密克羅尼西亞聯邦波納佩的Enipein村)檢查他們的漁獲物,其中一些將出售給他們村莊社區的其他成員。 漁民經常捕獲額外的魚,以便他們可以出售他們不能吃的東西,為他們的家庭帶來額外的收入。 Pohnpeian政府和保護界越來越關注波納佩珊瑚礁漁業的日益商業化導致不可持續的資源利用和魚類數量的減少。 照片來源:Nick Hall

缺乏管理可導致捕撈過度捕撈和魚類減少。 Paulino家族的成員(密克羅尼西亞聯邦波納佩的Enipein村)檢查他們的捕獲物,其中一些將出售給他們村莊社區的其他成員。 漁民經常捕獲額外的魚,以便他們可以出售他們不能吃的東西,為他們的家庭帶來額外的收入。 Pohnpeian政府和保護界越來越關注波納佩珊瑚礁漁業的日益商業化導致不可持續的資源利用和魚類數量的減少。 照片©尼克霍爾

許多沿海社區缺乏替代生計選擇

許多 小規模捕魚 直接依賴漁業的社區幾乎沒有其他生計選擇,導致對漁業資源的壓力過大。 “在非洲的許多地方,小規模漁業和相關活動(貿易,加工)為農村社區提供收入,而農村社區的替代性就業機會很少甚至根本不存在。 在這些情況下,小規模漁業,魚類加工和貿易為人們提供了一種重要的,有時至關重要的安全網形式,有助於保護他們免受農產品價格波動,宏觀經濟危機,結構改革,收穫的影響。失敗,政治動盪以及威脅農村穩定和糧食安全的其他因素。“ - 世界魚類中心

當地的'bagan',一個吸引人的電梯網漁民,在印度尼西亞科莫多國家公園的納閩巴霍港口。 照片來源:Peter Mous

當地的'bagan',一個吸引人的電梯網漁民,在印度尼西亞科莫多國家公園的納閩巴霍港口。 照片©Peter Mous

過度捕撈的影響

過度捕撈會導致兩者都減少 目標 - 非目標 魚類種群,甚至到了滅絕的程度。 它還可能對整個生態系統產生影響(例如,由於捕食者或獵物種群的減少/消除而引起的物種組合的變化)。 此外,一些魚類(例如, 食草動物)對珊瑚礁生態系統的功能很重要。 如果這些物種枯竭,珊瑚礁系統可能會從珊瑚變為藻類。

過度捕撈也對依賴的人類社區產生重大影響。 例如,超過275的人口居住在靠近珊瑚礁的地方,那裡的生計可能依賴於珊瑚礁。 一個健康,管理良好的珊瑚礁每年每平方公里可以產生0.2和40噸海產品。 文獻 對魚類和珊瑚礁生態系統的威脅可直接影響沿海社區的生計。

Fisheries play an important role in both poverty prevention and poverty reduction. ref  They provide an important safety net for people when other sources of employment are unavailable or following natural disasters. Globally, over 6 million fishers and gleaners are employed in coral reef fisheries. ref

Many fishing fleets have grown near coral reefs all around the world, catching more fish than coral reef ecosystems can support. Photo credit: Elle Wibisono

Many fishing fleets have grown near coral reefs all around the world, catching more fish than coral reef ecosystems can support. Photo © Elle Wibisono

Almost 3 billion people (40% of the world’s population) live within 100 kilometers of the coast ref and global coastal populations are expected to double by 2025. ref  As populations steadily increase along coastlines near coral reefs, additional stress is put on coral reef ecosystems and coral reef fish are decreasing in number all over the world, a trend also seen in commercial fisheries.

There are several reasons for the decline in fish numbers, including (but not limited to) diseases, pollution, unsustainable fishing practices, and particularly overfishing.

Web

Global Trends in Marine Fish Stock Status from 1974 to 2009. The number of overexploited stocks has soared since the 1970s, while the number of non-fully exploited stocks has decreased. The number of overexploited fisheries is likely to continue to increase. ref Source: The Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations.

Coral reefs are essential habitat that support coral reef fisheries, and yet more than 60% of the world’s coral reefs are under immediate and direct threat from human activities including overfishing. ref  Overfishing is defined as catching more fish than the system can support. Overfishing has serious consequences, particularly for coral reefs, as some fish species (e.g., herbivores) are critical in maintaining coral reef ecosystem processes. Destructive fishing methods such as using dynamite and cyanide are highly unsustainable because they typically do not target particular fish species and often result in juveniles being killed in the process. Damage to the coral reef structure further reduces the productivity of the area, thus adversely affecting both the reef-dependent fish populations and also the livelihoods of fishers and nearby communities.

Web

Global Marine Fish Catch from 1950 to 2010. Over 90% of the world’s assessed fisheries have met or exceeded their biological limits (FAO, 2014). While the global reported catch has leveled out since the early 1990s, fishing effort has steadily increased since the 1970s, suggesting stock declines in most fisheries. The global fish catch (purple line) has declined in recent years, even though fleets are spending more effort (orange line) to catch fish. Source: Sea Around Us Project.

 

Causes of Overfishing

Increased Demand for Fish and Seafood Products

Global fish production has grown steadily in the last 50 years. The seafood supply is increasing at an average annual rate of 3.2%, double the world population growth at 1.6%. Per capita fish consumption increased globally from an average of 9.9 kg in the 1960s to 19.2 kg in 2012. This impressive development has been driven by a combination of population growth, rising incomes, and urbanization, and made possible by the strong expansion of fish production through freshwater and marine aquaculture and more efficient distribution channels. ref

Saltfish drying on the beach at Gouave, one of the fishing communities on Grenada. Photo credit: Marjo Aho

Saltfish drying on the beach at Gouave, one of the fishing communities on Grenada. Photo © Marjo Aho

More Efficient Fishing Methods/Technologies that Take More Fish Before They Can Reproduce

More efficient fishing methods and technologies have resulted in taking more fish before they can reproduce. Technological improvements in fishing power and efficiency reduce the cost of catching fish. Fishing power has increased due, in part, to more powerful engines capable of transporting larger vessels, and increased affordability and options of fishing gear. ref

Technological advances in the design of fishing gear and navigation equipment have increased the efficiency of fishing. This significantly increases fishing capacity by encouraging new people to join the fishery, which results in further depletion of stocks. Stock depletion in turn spurs technical innovation and improvements in technological efficiency, which leads to a vicious circle of innovation, demographic pressure, scarcity, and so on. ref

Fishing net with floats lays on the beach at a small indigenous fishing camp on the shore of Isla Espiritu Santo in Mexico's Sea of Cortez. Photo credit: Mark Godfrey

Fishing net with floats lays on the beach at a small indigenous fishing camp on the shore of Isla Espiritu Santo in Mexico’s Sea of Cortez. Photo © Mark Godfrey

Inadequate Management and Enforcement of Fishing Practices

In the developed world, many large commercial fisheries are healthy or rebuilding, and are under some form of management. ref  Most small-scale coral reef fisheries, however, are typically unassessed and unmanaged. Stocks are generally below optimal biomass levels and fishing effort remains too high to maintain healthy fisheries. The fishery management capacity is inadequate throughout most, though not all, of Asia, Africa, and South and Central America. Many fisheries in these areas lack the management capacity and resources, and in some cases the management institutions necessary to prevent overfishing. Additionally, coral reef fisheries often have multiple harvested species, multiple gear types, and numerous landing ports that complicate monitoring and enforcement. Read more about Fisheries Enforcement.

Lack of management can lead to overfishing and smaller fish in the catch. Members of the Paulino family (Enipein Village in Pohnpei, Federated States of Micronesia) examine their catch, some of which they will sell to other members of their village community. Fishermen will often catch extra fish so that they can sell what they can't eat to generate additional income for their families. There is growing concern among the Pohnpeian government and conservation community that the increasing commercialization of Pohnpei's reef fisheries is leading to unsustainable resource utilisation and a declining fish population. Photo credit: Nick Hall

Lack of management can lead to overfishing and smaller fish in the catch. Members of the Paulino family (Enipein Village in Pohnpei, Federated States of Micronesia) examine their catch some of which they will sell to other members of their village community. Fishermen will often catch extra fish so that they can sell what they can’t eat to generate additional income for their families. There is growing concern among the Pohnpeian government and conservation community that the increasing commercialization of Pohnpei’s reef fisheries is leading to unsustainable resource utilisation and a declining fish population. Photo © Nick Hall

Lack of Alternative Livelihood Options in Many Coastal Communities

Many small-scale fishing communities that directly depend on fisheries have few alternative livelihood options, leading to excessive pressure on fishery resources.

“In many parts of Africa, small-scale fisheries and related activities (trade, processing) provide income to rural communities where alternative employment opportunities are scarce or even non-existent. In these situations, small-scale fisheries, fish processing, and trade provide people with an important, and sometimes crucial, form of safety net that helps protect them against the effects of agricultural product price volatility, macro-economic crises, structural reforms, harvest failures, political turmoil, and other factors that threaten rural stability and food security.” – CGIAR, WorldFish Center

Local 'bagan', a light-attraction lift net fisher, in the Labuan Bajo harbour of Komodo National Park in Indonesia. Photo credit: Peter Mous

Local ‘bagan’, a light-attraction lift net fisher, in the Labuan Bajo harbour of Komodo National Park in Indonesia. Photo © Peter Mous

Impact of Overfishing

Overfishing can lead to decreases in both target and non-target fish populations, even to the point of extinction. It can also have an ecosystem-wide impact (e.g., changes in species assemblages due to reduction in/elimination of predators or prey populations). Additionally, some fish species (e.g., herbivores) are important for the function of coral reef ecosystems. If these species are depleted, the reef system may change from coral to algal dominance.

Overfishing also has a significant impact on dependent human communities. For example, over 275 million people live in close proximity to coral reefs, where livelihoods are likely to depend on reefs. A healthy, well-managed reef can yield between 0.2 and 40 tons of seafood per square kilometer annually globally. ref  Threats to fish stocks and coral reef ecosystems can directly affect the livelihoods of coastal communities.

Resources

For an extensive list of papers and reports on this and other coral reef fisheries topics, visit the Coral Reef Fisheries Resource Library on the Conservation Gateway.

 

Report of the FAO/UNEP Expert Meeting on Impacts of Destructive Fishing Practices, Unsustainable Fishing, and Illegal, Unreported and Unregulated (IUU) Fishing on Marine Biodiversity and Habitats

The State of the World Fisheries and Aquaculture

Status and Trends of Caribbean Coral Reefs: 1970–2012

The Sea Around Us Project – website that presents fisheries and fisheries-related data at spatial scales that have ecologically and policy relevance, such as Exclusive Economic Zones, High Seas, or Large Marine Ecosystems

Return to Top

Last updated August 23, 2017

Translate »