海鮮供應鏈的結構

在海灘的Saltfish乾燥在Gouave,其中一個在格林納達的漁社區。 照片©Marjo Aho

每個野生海鮮供應鏈都以生產者(漁民)開始,並以最終買家終止,並向消費者銷售。 最終買家包括零售店(從當地擁有的魚市到全國連鎖超市),餐館和餐飲服務機構,如酒店,醫院和學校。 在手工漁業中,漁民完全繞過供應鏈並將其捕獲物直接出售給海灘上的消費者或在社區內挨家挨戶銷售的情況並不少見。 然而,對於出售到更正式市場的海產品,供應鏈可以包括任何數量或組合的中間鏈運營商(例如,集合商,主要加工商,貿易商,批發商,經銷商,二級加工商,分銷商,運輸商),他們轉型,包裝,並將產品從生產點轉移到最終銷售。

新鮮的捕獲

在利馬首屈一指的海鮮市場,秘魯新鮮捕獲。 照片©Jeremy Rude / TNC

一般而言,中間鏈參與者越多,供應鏈的複雜性越大,丟失數據和故事的風險就越大,欺詐的可能性就越大。 但是,較短的供應鏈並不一定等同於更可信賴的數據。 例如,在一個非常短的供應鏈中,一個處理器聚集來自幾十個漁民的漁獲物,然後銷售給兩個零售商,如果沒有一個系統來隔離和標記每個生產者的產品,那麼追踪每個產品回到源頭的過程是不可能的。

以下部分確定了手工漁業中通常存在的共同供應鏈屬性,這些屬性涉及產品和產品級信息流的方式,中鏈供應商在某些海產品供應鏈中的運作方式,以及推動某些實踐的動機。 確定供應鏈中可能存在哪些屬性有助於製定有關如何有效促進和激勵更負責任的捕撈實踐,更好的數據捕獲和跟踪以及圍繞產品來源更好地講故事的策略。

屬性1:產品差異化

產品在供應鏈中的差異程度可能是確定在可持續性方面影響該鏈的潛力的最具信息性的屬性。

差異化光譜的一端是商品,其中 缺乏分化。 這些是從許多來源匯總的大批量產品,所有單個單位 - 無論是魚,魚片還是增值產品 - 都被認為是相同的,無論他們在何處,何地,何時或由誰生產或收穫。 採購決策首先由價格驅動,然後由質量決策驅動,很少考慮可持續性(儘管見下文中提到的例外情況)。 處理商品的供應鏈通常會移動加工產品,這些產品可以在全球多個國家/地區運營的多個參與者中進行多次冷凍和解凍和重新冷凍。 這些供應鏈中的一個步驟越來越多地涉及到中國的路線,其中在產品再出口之前經常進行加工(例如,切片,麵包屑)。

商品鏈的結構不是為了跟踪有關產品來源的信息,也不承認採用可持續管理制度或做法的源漁業。 相反,銷售到商品鏈中的可持續產品混合了不可持續的產品。 許多大批量漁業進入商品供應鏈,但最常見的一些包括鮭魚,鱈魚(和其他類型的白鮭),金槍魚,鳳尾魚和螃蟹。

然而,隨著可持續海產品認證計劃的發展,一些商品類產品現在具有差異化因素。 麥當勞獲得MSC認證的白魚產品就屬於這種情況。 這些供應鏈體積大,可互換,可以隔離產品,從而可以追溯到特定的認證漁業。

在產品譜的另一端是 差異化產品根據具體信息可以相互區分,包括收穫地點,捕撈方法,漁民或捕魚社區,認證狀態和品牌。 一般而言,供應鏈參與者的購買決策首先是質量,然後是價格,或者至少同樣由這兩個特徵驅動,而不是商品產品明顯的價格驅動決策。

在整個供應鏈中,有幾種程度的差異可以基於:

  1. 地理:單一漁業中多艘船的所有產品的匯總;
  2. 產品質量:具有或不具有原產地數據的漁業船舶的特定分級產品(基於尺寸,質量,可持續性);
  3. 船隻:批次產品,例如來自單個著陸,淨運輸或陷阱組;
  4. 單個魚類:通常是高價值物種,可以使用獨特的代碼單獨標記,包括金槍魚,龍蝦,鮭魚和鯛魚。

處理差異化產品的供應鏈需要更複雜的數據管理和可追溯系統來跟踪和驗證與差異化單元相關的信息。 差異化的產品供應鏈可以服務於本地,區域或出口市場。 一般來說,收穫與產品最終形式和標記之間的步驟越少,就越容易使故事與魚配對。

黃鰭金槍魚

黃鰭金槍魚在碼頭邊裝載並運往當地工廠進行加工和出口,印度尼西亞。 照片©Jeremy Rude / TNC

關於產品是否具有差異化或商品性,沒有固定的規則。 例如,船隻可以卸載包含具有不同特徵的單個魚的單個捕獲物。 與將整批產品發送到商品渠道相反,中間商或加工商可以根據市場願意支付溢價的尺寸,質量或一些其他屬性對產品進行分級。 因此,捕撈本身是粗略區分的,然後根據市場對區分信息的需求,個別產品可能最終成為商品或差異化產品。 當一個漁業的產品根據買方需求通過多個供應鏈時,這個過程會變得更加複雜。 例如,在龍蝦漁業中,MSC認證的產品可能會成為專門的雜貨店中的優質產品,或者可以通過將產品運送到連鎖餐廳的連鎖店作為商品出售。 在後一種情況下,曾經是差異化產品的東西會混入商品鏈中,然後會失去區別特徵。

屬性2:品牌存在

一些供應鏈由品牌驅動,這些品牌決定了產品規格以及生產商,加工商,分銷商和最終購買者必須遵循的其他協議。 這個有影響力的品牌可以影響當地,區域,國家或國際供應鏈。 在大多數情況下,影響是自上而下的,來自最終買家(例如,Whole Foods),增值處理器(例如Wild Planet),經紀人(例如,CleanFish)或認證標準制定者(例如,MSC)。 在其他情況下,由漁民創建或與漁民合作的品牌將在供應鏈中產生自下而上的影響力,如一些可追溯性公司(例如,ThisFish),非政府組織(例如,Gulf Wild),甚至漁業合作社(例如, ,阿拉斯加黃金)。 品牌要求的規格可以基於位置,質量,可持續性標准或區分市場中品牌的其他屬性。 因此,建立系統以確保品牌產品與非品牌產品不同(即,一些中鏈參與者可能參與處理和分銷多種類型的品牌和非品牌產品)是至關重要的。 品牌尋找可以擔任多個供應鏈角色的中型企業(例如,加工商/分銷商)並不少見,在某些情況下,品牌將直接從生產商處購買魚類並自行進行加工和包裝以維持密切控制並進一步保護品牌完整性。 供應鏈中的每個參與者都與品牌有直接或間接的關係,在某些情況下,品牌是特定生產者產品流動的獨家市場渠道。 根據品牌的使命和訪問關鍵決策者的能力,通過與品牌合作將可持續性標準納入其產品規格,可以影響整個供應鏈。

屬性3:關係動態

海產品行業內的關係通常是持久的,並建立在信任的基礎上,尤其是漁民與其購買者之間的關係(例如,中間商,第一接收者)。 在一些手工漁業中,這些關係往往是商業和個人的關係。 例如,從漁民那裡購買的中間商也可以提供燃料和冰的貸款,甚至可能為他的船提供資金。 通常,中間人是漁民家庭的一員。 雖然有些漁民可能對這種依賴關係感到滿意,或者可能有幸擁有慈善買家,但其他人可能會陷入困境。 甚至在供應鏈的上游,賣方 - 買方關係的權力動態也很容易傾斜,特別是如果買方開始利用賣方的弱勢倉位(持有破壞性庫存)或有限的市場准入(參見屬性5:瓶頸)。 但是,如果貿易夥伴關係健康,產品可以在一定程度上加以區分,那麼包含這種密切關係的供應鏈可能是最靈活的,可能對實施變革有利,這些變化可能有利於長期可持續性。漁業 - 無論是在資源方面還是在涉及的人員和企業方面。 在貿易夥伴關係薄弱或激烈的情況下,供應鏈將很難直接影響。

屬性4:合併(垂直整合與分散)

許多海鮮供應鍊是垂直整合的。 所有供應鏈功能都屬於單一公司所有權,其中一個參與者控制供應鏈中的大多數主要步驟,從捕撈活動到產品銷售到最終購買者,甚至消費者。 必要時,其他產品也可能來自獨立漁民。 這種垂直整合為公司提供了對船舶著陸的產品的保證,保護公司免受船舶價格波動的影響,並允許密切的質量和庫存控制。 大型企業傾向於展示這一特徵,在全球範圍內移動新鮮和冷凍產品,儘管在為較小的當地市場服務的漁業中也可以找到整合。 對於具有可持續發展意識的公司,垂直整合極大地加速了更好的管理或捕撈實踐的實施 - 所需要的只是一項自上而下的指令。 對於僅以盈利為動力或不承認可持續管理重要性的公司,垂直整合可能會對變革構成障礙。

另一方面是供應鏈,其中每個功能都由一個獨立的實體執行,每個實體都在努力賺錢。 供應鏈(2-3)或那些專注於差異化或本地產品的供應鏈可以非常有效地運作,並且可以圍繞與可持續性相關的共同和互利目標激勵。 但是,對於專注於商品或明顯更長的鏈(例如5-10節點)的鏈,這種協作水平可能更具挑戰性。 總的來說,隨著供應鏈的延長,利潤變得越來越小,玩家有動力做任何必要的事情來削減成本(包括,有時甚至是欺詐),因為他們的客戶(鏈中的每個參與者)總是希望盡可能支付最低價格。

屬性5:市場准入(瓶頸與開放存取)

許多偏遠的手工漁業涉及大量漁民向幾個持有供應鏈關係的中間商出售。 這些中間商為漁民製造了瓶頸,限制了他們直接進入市場。 根據產品的類型和漁業的位置,可能會有一系列的中間人聚合器,這些聚合器將產品混合到服務於國內或國際市場的單個處理器或分銷商; 或者可能有一個中間人 - 處理器 - 出口商從所有當地漁民那裡購買,並且是外國公司獲得手工產品的門戶。 (處理者通常持有出口許可證)。 這種瓶頸的存在限制了漁民在價格上談判的權力。 在可持續管理方面影響漁民行為的能力取決於能否利用中間人所擁有的權力,這需要說服他(或她)可持續實踐與其業務需求保持一致。 就漁業改良項目(FIPs)而言,這通常是與主要的國內或國外買家合作完成的,他們可以承諾更好的市場份額或溢價,以換取更好的管理或捕撈做法。

有些漁民在他們賣魚的地方和對象方面有更多的選擇。 他們可能更接近終端市場,可以繞過中間人並直接銷售。 或者他們可能有一個高度需求的產品,多個潛在的買家哄抬價格。 當涉及到影響捕撈實踐的可持續性時,這些漁民可能很容易被激勵,特別是有可能建立新的市場渠道。

海產品供應鍊主要屬性綜述

除了簡單描述海產品供應鏈中存在的共同特徵之外,這些屬性還開始強調如何與供應鏈參與者進行接觸以激勵與漁業管理相關的變化。 了解誰擁有權力,可持續性已經紮根,以及將新概念或實踐引入供應鏈可能相對容易,這些都是尋求影響供應鏈的重要考慮因素。

進一步了解 共同的挑戰 在漁業供應鏈中。

本節中的信息由Future of Fish提供。 獲取更多資訊,請聯繫 魚的未來.

Fresh catch

Fresh catch at Lima’s premier seafood market, Peru. Photo © Jeremy Rude/TNC

Every wild seafood supply chain begins with a producer (the fisher) and terminates with an end buyer, who sells to a consumer. End buyers include retail outlets (from locally owned fish markets to national supermarket chains), restaurants, and foodservice establishments, such as hotels, hospitals, and schools. In artisanal fisheries, it is not uncommon for fishers to bypass the supply chain completely and sell their catch directly to consumers on the beach or door-to-door within the community. However, for seafood sold into more formal markets, supply chains can consist of any number or combination of mid-chain players (e.g., aggregators, primary processors, traders, wholesalers, dealers, secondary processors, distributors, transporters), who transform, package, and move product from the point of production to the final sale.

Generally speaking, the more mid-chain players present, the greater the complexity of the supply chain, the greater the risk of losing data and story, and the greater the possibility of fraud. However, shorter supply chains don’t necessarily equate with more trustworthy data. For instance, in a very short supply chain where one processor aggregates catch from dozens of fishers and then sells to two retailers, the process of tracing each product back to the source is impossible without a system for segregating and labeling product from every producer.

The following section identifies common supply chain attributes that are typically present within artisanal fisheries, and which relate to the ways product and product-level information flow, how mid-chain players function within certain seafood supply chains, and the motivations that drive certain practices. Identifying which attributes may be present in a supply chain can help hone strategies for how to effectively promote and incentivize more responsible fishing practices, better data capture and tracking, and better storytelling around product origin.

Attribute 1: Product Differentiation

The degree to which a product is differentiated within a supply chain is, perhaps, the most informative attribute for determining the potential to influence that chain with respect to sustainability.

At one end of the differentiated spectrum are commodities, which lack differentiation. These are high-volume products aggregated from many sources, and for which all of the individual units—be they whole fish, filets, or value-add products—are considered identical, regardless of how, where, when, or by whom they were produced or harvested. Purchasing decisions are driven first by price, and then by decisions regarding quality, with little consideration about sustainability (though see noted exceptions below).  Supply chains that handle commodity products typically move processed product that can be frozen and thawed and refrozen multiple times as it travels through multiple players operating in multiple countries around the globe. Increasingly, one step within these supplies chains involves a routing through China, where processing (e.g., filleting, breading) often occurs before product is then re-exported.

Commodity chains are not structured to track information about product origin, nor do they recognize source fisheries that adopt sustainable management regimes or practices. Instead, sustainable product sold into a commodity chain is comingled with unsustainable product. Many high-volume fisheries feed into commodity supply chains, but some of the most common include salmon, cod (and other types of whitefish), tuna, anchovies, and crab.

With the growth of sustainable seafood certification programs, however, some commodity-type products now have an element of differentiation. Such is the case with McDonald’s MSC-certified white fish products. High volume and interchangeable, these supply chains provide segregation of the product so that it can be traced back to specific certified fisheries.

At the other end of the product spectrum are differentiated products, which are distinguishable from one another based on specific information, including harvest location, fishing method, fisher or fishing community, certification status, and brand. In general, purchasing decisions by supply chain actors are driven either first by quality and then price, or at least equally by these two features, as opposed to the clearly price-driven decision-making that occurs with commodity products.

Across supply chains there are several degrees of differentiation that can be based on:

  1. Geography: aggregation of all products from multiple vessels in a single fishery;
  2. Product qualities: specifically graded products (based on size, quality, sustainability) from vessels in a fishery with or without origin data;
  3. Vessel: batches of product, such as from a single landing, net haul, or trap set;
  4. Individual fish: typically high-value species that may be individually tagged with unique codes, and include tuna, lobster, salmon, and snapper.

The supply chains that handle differentiated products need more sophisticated data management and traceability systems to track and verify the information associated with the unit of differentiation. Differentiated product supply chains can serve local, regional, or export markets. In general, the fewer the steps between harvest and when the product is in its final form and labeled, the easier it is to keep the story paired with the fish.

yellow fin tuna

Yellowfin tuna is loaded at dockside and transported to a local plant for processing and export, Indonesia. Photo © Jeremy Rude/TNC

There are no set rules regarding whether a product qualifies as differentiated or commodity.  For example, a vessel may unload a single catch that contains individual fish with different features. As opposed to sending the entire lot into a commodity channel, a middleman or processor may grade the product according to size, quality, or some other attribute for which the market is willing to pay a premium. Thus, the catch itself is coarsely differentiated, and then individual products may end up as commodities or differentiated products, depending on the market’s demand for distinguishing information. The process can become even more complicated when product from one fishery travels through multiple supply chains based on buyer demand. In a lobster fishery, for example, MSC certified product might wind up as a premium good in a specialized grocery store, or can be sold as a commodity through a chain that delivers product to a chain restaurant. In the latter case, what was once a differentiated product becomes mixed into a commodity chain, where distinguishing features are then lost.

Attribute 2: Brand Presence

Some supply chains are driven by brands that dictate product specifications and other protocols that producers, processors, distributors, and end-buyers must follow. This influential brand can affect local, regional, national, or international supply chains. In most cases, the influence is top-down, coming from an end-buyer (e.g., Whole Foods), a value-added processor (e.g., Wild Planet), a broker (e.g., CleanFish), or a certification standards setter (e.g., MSC). In other instances a brand created by or in collaboration with fishers will create bottom-up influence over the supply chain, as is seen with some traceability companies (e.g., ThisFish), NGOs (e.g., Gulf Wild), or even fishing cooperatives (e.g., Alaska Gold). The specifications required by the brand may be based on location, quality, sustainability criteria, or other attributes that distinguish the brand in the marketplace. As such, establishing systems to ensure that the branded product is differentiated from unbranded product (i.e., some mid-chain players may be involved with processing and distributing multiple types of branded and unbranded products) is of utmost importance. It is not uncommon for brands to look to mid-chain players that can serve multiple supply chain roles (e.g., processor/distributor), and in some cases brands will purchase fish directly from producers and perform the processing and packaging themselves in order to maintain close control and further protect brand integrity. Each player within the supply chain has a direct or indirect relationship with the brand and in some cases the brand is the exclusive market channel through which product from specific producers flows. Depending on the mission of the brand and ability to access key decision makers, it is possible to influence an entire supply chain by working with a brand to incorporate sustainability criteria into their product specifications.

Attribute 3: Relationship Dynamics

Relationships within the seafood industry typically are long lasting and built on trust, especially relationships between fishers and their buyers (e.g., middlemen, first-receivers). Within some artisanal fisheries, those relationships tend to be both business and personal in nature. For example, a middleman that buys from a fisher may also provide loans for fuel and ice, and may even have financed his boat. Often, the middleman is a member of the fisher’s family. And while some fishers may feel comfortable with that type of dependent relationship or may be fortunate to have a charitable buyer, others can become trapped. Even further up the supply chain, the power dynamics of the seller-buyer relationship can skew quite easily, especially if the buyer begins to exploit the seller’s vulnerable position (holding spoiling inventory) or limited market access (see Attribute 5: Bottleneck). However, to the extent that trading partner relationships are healthy, and the product can be differentiated to some degree, supply chains containing such close ties might be among the most flexible and potentially open to implementing changes that could benefit the long-term sustainability of a fishery—both in terms of the resource and the people and businesses involved. In situations where trading-partner relationships are weak or acrimonious, the supply chain will be very difficult to influence directly.

Attribute 4: Consolidation (Vertically Integrated vs. Dispersed)

Many seafood supply chains are vertically integrated. All supply chain functions fall under single company ownership, with one actor controlling most major steps in the supply chain, from fishing activities until the product is sold to the end buyer, or even to the consumer. When necessary, additional product may also be sourced from independent fishers. Such vertical integration provides a company with guaranteed access to product landed by its vessels, protects the company from ex-vessel price volatility, and allows for close quality and inventory control. Large corporations tend to exhibit this feature most, moving fresh and frozen products around the globe, although consolidation can be found in fisheries serving smaller local markets as well. For sustainably minded companies, vertical integration greatly expedites the implementation of better management or fishing practices—all that is needed is a top-down directive. For companies motivated solely by profit or that do not recognize the importance of sustainable management, vertical integration can create a barrier to change.

On the other end of the spectrum are supply chains in which every function is performed by an independent entity, each working to make a profit. Short supply chains (2-3 players) or those focused on differentiated or local product can work quite efficiently and may be able to be motivated around a common and mutually beneficial goal related to sustainability. However, for chains focused on commodity products or for those that are significantly longer (5-10 nodes, for example), that level of collaboration may prove more challenging. In general, as a supply chain lengthens, the margins get slimmer, and players become motivated to do whatever is necessary to cut costs (including, at times, committing fraud), as their customer (each player down the chain) is always looking to pay the lowest price possible.

Attribute 5: Market Access (Bottleneck vs. Open Access)

Many remote, artisanal fisheries involve a large number of fishermen selling to a few middlemen who hold the supply-chain relationships. These middlemen create a bottleneck for fishers, restricting direct access to the market. Depending on the type of product and location of the fishery, there may be a series of middleman-aggregators that comingle product for a single processor or distributor serving a domestic or international market; or there may be a single middleman-processor-exporter that buys from all local fishermen and is the gateway for foreign companies to gain access to artisanal product. (Often the processors hold the export licenses). The existence of such bottlenecks limits the power fishers have to negotiate on price. The ability to influence fisher behavior with respect to sustainable management hinges on being able to leverage the power held by the middleman, which requires convincing him (or her) that sustainable practices are aligned with his business needs. In the case of Fishery Improvement Projects (FIPs), that is often done in partnership with a major domestic or foreign buyer who can promise better market share or premium prices in return for better management or fishing practices.

Some fishers have more choice when it comes to where and to whom they sell their fish. They may be nearer to the end market, with options of bypassing the middleman and selling direct. Or they may have a highly demanded product, with multiple potential buyers bidding up the price. When it comes to influencing fishing practices toward sustainability, these fishers may be easily motivated, especially with the possibility of a new market channel.

Summary of Major Attributes of Seafood Supply Chains

Beyond simply describing the common characteristics that exist within seafood supply chains, these attributes also begin to highlight how engagements with supply chain actors may be struck in order to incentivize fishery management-relevant changes. Understanding who holds the power, where sustainability has already taken root, and how relatively easy it might be to introduce new concepts or practices into the supply chain are all important considerations when looking for inroads to influence supply chains.

Learn more about common challenges in fishery supply chains.

 

The information in this section was provided by Future of Fish. For more information please contact Future of Fish.

Resources

For an extensive list of papers and reports on this and other coral reef fisheries topics, visit the Coral Reef Fisheries Resource Library on the Conservation Gateway.

 

Making Sense of Wild Seafood Supply Chains

Return to Top

Last updated August 1, 2017

Translate »