漁業管理工具

在海灘的Saltfish乾燥在Gouave,其中一個在格林納達的漁社區。 照片©Marjo Aho

了解魚類種群,物種組成和生態系統狀況的變化至關重要 做出明智的決定有效的漁業管理包括一個包含兩個組成部分的管理戰略:

  • 管理工具 調節從海洋中取出的魚的數量;
  • 收穫控制規則 觸發調整管理的時間和數量。

可以設計和應用管理工具來管理漁業的許多不同方面,包括物種組成, 追趕每單位的努力 捕撈,捕撈的空間格局以及單個或多個物種種群。 在裡面 帕勞北部珊瑚礁,尺寸限制和封閉區域等管理工具已用於限制與捕撈有關的青少年死亡率,並有助於維持重要珊瑚礁魚類的健康產卵群體。

Kenidin David,Kitid市市長Nanid(esdepan Paulin),Patterson Shed,Pohnpei保護協會主任,Enipein傳統首席執行官Joseph Santiago和Enipein傳統首席執行官Epert Mikel討論了Nahtik Marine的未來保護區同時俯瞰波納佩島的航海地圖。 照片©尼克霍爾

波納佩的社區成員討論了Nahtik海洋保護區和漁業的未來。 照片©尼克霍爾

可以響應於指標的變化來實施收穫控制規則 股票 狀態(例如根據從該區域收穫的魚的大小調整封閉區域的大小)。 理想情況下,這些規則基於指示捕撈如何影響種群的數據。 收穫控制規則旨在最大限度地提高產量,同時保持漁業的可持續性。

良好的管理工具和收穫控制規則將在很大程度上取決於漁業和社區的生物,社會經濟和治理特徵。 有效的漁業管理需要明確界定的目標,將所有漁業利益相關者納入管理工具和收穫控制規則的製定,以及評估後者對所述目標的有效性的措施。

管理工具優點限制





選擇性控制
齒輪修改和限制
(見 重建全球漁業)
可用於多物種漁業,以最大限度地減少目標脆弱物種

有效減少副漁獲物

在監控和執行能力不強的情況下很有用

傾向於支持最大限度的就業政策
可能容易受到影響 努力蔓延

重點關注避免限制參考點而不是實現目標

仍然可能導致關鍵損失 生態系統服務
最小尺寸限制

最大大小限制

(見 帕勞 和/或 伯利茲 案例分析)
有用於保護青少年或 大型產卵

用於保護具有可變募集的生長緩慢的長壽物種

在監控和執行能力不強的情況下很有用
對生存不良的被拒絕魚類無效
時間關閉季節性關閉

時間限制
可以是每日,季節性或基於觸發器

如果有時間產卵場,則很有用

如果有季節性的努力,有用
除非與捕獲限製或齒輪限制等其他工具結合使用,否則不可能有效地減少工作量
空間封閉海洋保護區(海洋保護區)
(見 伯利茲, Wakatobi,和/或 加拉帕戈斯 實例探究)

禁區(NTZs:見 巴布亞新幾內亞, 伯利茲, Wakatobi 和/或 博內爾 實例探究)

漁業領土用戶權利(TURFs:見 漁業的領土使用權)

移動條款(見 制定數據貧乏物種和漁業正式收穫戰略的準則)
可以是旋轉,季節性,永久性或基於觸發器

對久坐不動的物種最有效

如果有空間產卵場或棲息地容易捕魚,這是有用的

如果有空間集中的努力,這是有用的

可以最大限度地提高旅遊市場的利益,並為漁民提供溢出和招聘方面的福利
對高度洄游物種無效

不解決 潛在的努力

可能會有很高的管理成本,可能導致漁民的衝突和流離失所
努力限制有限訪問(許可)

潛水時間

線或鉤的數量

旅行限制

淨設定時間
可以是每日,季節性或年度

限制漁業船隻或漁民數量的共同控制
如果有很多艦隊很難

不適合依賴自給性漁業的漁民

如果這些物種包括有過度捕撈風險的物種,那麼在多物種漁業中可能會出現問題
捕獲限制總允許捕獲量

配額系統和捕獲股票(見 Catch Share設計手冊)
可以是每日,季節性或年度如果有很多艦隊很難

在多物種背景下調節可能並不容易

管理人類和生態系統健康的漁業

珊瑚礁管理者在滿足漁業部門的利益和生物多樣性保護的利益之間往往面臨著艱難的權衡。 在迄今為止最成功的例子中,漁業社區從基於生態系統的漁業管理方法中獲益最多。 在基於生態系統的漁業管理(EBFM)中,為整個珊瑚礁生態系統管理多個目標,以確保珊瑚礁和魚類種群的長期健康,並維持珊瑚礁提供的其他生態系統服務,如旅遊業,海岸線保護和其他文化價值觀。 換句話說,EBFM確保除了漁業之外,社區繼續受益於珊瑚礁提供的多種優勢。

此外,保障漁民獲取,使用和控制漁場或魚類種群的基於權利的方法可保護漁民的生計和獲取食物。

基於生態系統的漁業管理

基於生態系統的漁業管理(EBFM)倡導採用整體資源管理方法,將生態系統功能和服務的維護作為漁業管理的主要目標。 它還非常注重將不確定性,可變性和預測變化納入漁業管理。 生態系統方法極大地提高了漁業與珊瑚礁保護之間管理目標的一致性,可能採取協作方式,共同致力於建立珊瑚礁恢復力。 通過將以下目標納入漁業管理,管理人員可以幫助確保珊瑚礁生態系統的恢復。

保持可持續的收穫 - 魚類種群有限,生物生產力限制了漁業的潛在產量。 在健康的未開墾的珊瑚礁中,估計魚類生物量為1,200-1,300 kg / ha。 該 多種類最大可持續產量 (BMMSY)是未消化生物量的25-50%或≈300-750 kg / ha之間。 文獻

保護功能組 - 保護關鍵功能組的重要性,例如頂級捕食者和 食草動物,已被認可。 無論是出於經濟考慮(例如保護鯊魚以支持潛水旅遊)還是生態問題(禁止捕食食草魚以降低珊瑚礁上珊瑚競爭珊瑚的風險),保護關鍵功能群是支持礁石的恢復力。 保護職能群體也是珊瑚礁管理者和漁業管理者之間重要的合作領域。

減少副漁獲物 - 捕撈作業期間偶然捕獲的非目標物種或矮小動物會對珊瑚礁生物多樣性產生重大影響。 在一些漁業中,海龜,鯊魚,海鳥,幼魚,甚至海綿和海扇等物種都可能是重要的副漁獲物。

保護產卵聚合 - 保護 產生聚合 對漁業管理和生物多樣性保護都很重要。 保持珊瑚魚的健康繁殖種群(種子來源)對珊瑚礁系統的可持續性和健康至關重要。 魚類聚集的科學和保護 有資源支持保護魚類聚集的努力。

保護關鍵領域 - 珊瑚礁物種依賴珊瑚礁和相關棲息地(如紅樹林,海草)進行食物,住所和繁殖。 除了產卵聚集外,其他需要保護的關鍵領域還包括:育苗場,緩解走廊和天然抗性/抗逆區。

管理氣候變化和海洋酸化的風險 - 全球氣候變化壓力源 (即海水變暖,海平面上升,風暴模式變化,洋流變化)和 海洋酸化 正在顯著影響珊瑚礁生態系統。 在嚴重壓力事件中,局部管理行動可以在最小化損害的嚴重性和支持恢復方面發揮重要作用。

基於權利的漁業管理

基於權利的漁業管理(RBFM)創造了可以改善魚類健康的有利條件,因為漁民被激勵成為生態系統的長期管家。 基於權利的系統可以通過漁民自願恢復漁業棲息地,建立私人海洋保護區和減少整體捕撈努力來改善生態系統健康。 文獻 RBFM的例子包括捕撈方面的地域使用權(漁業地點的權利分配給個體漁民或漁民群體)和漁業合作社(漁民群體集體行動以管理漁業的某些方面)。

除生態系統效益外,RBFM還可以提高整個漁業的經濟效益。 擁有漁業份額的權利,其動機是通過降低與捕撈相關的成本和/或通過增加捕撈的價值來最大化經濟效益。 但是,基於權利的製度可能會在專有權的分配導致財富再分配時產生衝突,這種財富具有明顯的贏家和輸家。

While understanding changes in fish populations, species composition, and ecosystem condition are critical to making informed decisions, effective fishery management includes a management strategy with two components:

  • management tools to regulate how much fish are taken from the ocean;
  • harvest control rules that trigger when and how much to adjust management.
Kenopin David, the Mayor of Kitti Municipality, Nanid (esdepan Paulin), Patterson Shed, Director of the Conservation Society of Pohnpei, Joseph Santiago, one of Enipein's traditional chief, and Epert Mikel, one of Enipein's traditional chief discuss the future of Nahtik Marine Protected Area while looking over a nautical map of the island of Pohnpei. Photo © Nick Hall

Kenopin David, the Mayor of Kitti Municipality, Nanid (Esdepan Paulin), Patterson Shed, Director of the Conservation Society of Pohnpei, Joseph Santiago and Epert Mikel, two of Enipein’s traditional chiefs discuss the future of Nahtik Marine Protected Area while looking over a nautical map of the island of Pohnpei. Photo © Nick Hall

Management tools may be designed and applied to manage a number of different aspects of a fishery, including species composition, catch-per-unit-effort of fishing, spatial patterns of harvesting, and single or multiple species populations. In the Northern Reefs of Palau, management tools such as size limits and closed areas have been used to limit fishing-related mortality of juveniles and help maintain a healthy spawning population of important coral reef fish species.

Harvest control rules may be implemented in response to changes in indicators of stock status (e.g. making adjustments to the size of a closed area based on the size of the fish being harvest from that area). Ideally, these rules are based on data indicating how fishing is affecting stocks. Harvest control rules are intended to maximize production while maintaining the sustainability of the fishery.

Good management tools and harvest control rules will depend strongly on the biological, socio-economic, and governance characteristics of the fishery and the community. Effective fishery management requires clearly defined goals, the inclusion of all fishery stakeholders in the development of management tools and harvest control rules, and measures to assess the latter’s effectiveness against the stated goals.

Management ToolsBenefitsLimitations





Selectivity Controls
Gear Modification and Restriction
(see Rebuilding Global Fisheries)
Useful in multi-species fisheries to minimize targeting vulnerable species

Effective at reducing by-catch

Useful where there is little capacity for monitoring and enforcement

Tend to favor maximum employment policies
May be susceptible to effort creep

Focuses more on avoiding limit reference points rather than achieving targets

Can still lead to losses in critical ecosystem services
Minimum Size Limit

Maximum Size Limit

(see Palau and/or Belize Case Study)
Useful for protecting juveniles or mega-spawners

Useful for protecting slow-growing, long-lived species with variable recruitment

Useful where there is little capacity for monitoring and enforcement
Not effective for rejected fish with poor survivorship
Temporal closuresSeasonal Closure

Time-of-Day Restrictions
Can be daily, seasonal, or trigger-based

Useful if there are temporal spawning grounds

Useful if there are seasonal concentrations of effort
Unlikely to be effective at reducing effort unless coupled with other tools like catch limits or gear restrictions
Spatial closuresMarine Protected Areas (MPAs)
(see Belize, Wakatobi, and/or Galapagos Case Studies)

No-Take Zones (NTZs: see Papua New Guinea, Belize, Wakatobi and/or Bonaire Case Studies)

Territorial User Rights in Fishing (TURFs: see Territorial Use Rights for Fishing)

Move-on Provisions (see Guidelines for Developing Formal Harvest Strategies for Data-poor Species and Fisheries)
Can be rotational, seasonal, permanent, or trigger-based

Most effective for sedentary species

Useful if there are spatial spawning grounds or habitat vulnerable to fishing

Useful if there are spatial concentrations of effort

May maximize benefits to tourism markets and provide benefits to fishers from spillover and recruitment
Not effective for highly migratory species

Does not address Latent effort

May have high management costs that can result in conflict and displacement of fishers
Effort limitsLimited Access (Licenses)

Dive Hours

Number of Lines or Hooks

Trip Limits

Net Setting Time
Can be daily, seasonal, or annual

Common control for restricting number of boats or fishers in a fishery
Difficult if there are many fleets

Inappropriate for fishers who rely on subsistence fishing

May be problematic in multi-species fisheries if these include species at risk of overfishing
Catch limitsTotal Allowable Catch

Quotas Systems and Catch Shares (see Catch Share Design Manual)
Can be daily, seasonal, or annualDifficult if there are many fleets

May not be easy to regulate within a multi-species context

Managing Fisheries for People and Ecosystem Health

Coral reef managers often face difficult trade-offs between meeting the interests of the fishing sector and those of biodiversity conservation. In most successful examples to date, fishing communities benefit most from an ecosystem-based approach to fishery management. In ecosystem-based fishery management (EBFM), multiple objectives are managed for the reef ecosystem as a whole, to ensure the long-term health of coral reefs and fish populations and maintain other ecosystem services that the reef provides, such as tourism, shoreline protection, and other cultural values. In other words, EBFM ensures that in addition to fisheries, communities continue to benefit from the multiple advantages that the reef provides.

Additionally, rights-based approaches that guarantee fishers’ access to, use of, and control over fishing grounds or fish stocks safeguard livelihoods and access to food for fishing communities.

Ecosystem-Based Fisheries Management

Ecosystem-based fisheries management (EBFM) advocates a holistic approach to resource management that recognizes maintenance of ecosystem functions and services as a primary objective for fisheries management. It also has a strong focus on incorporating uncertainties, variability, and predicted changes into fishery management. The ecosystem approach greatly increases the alignment in management objectives between fisheries and reef conservation, potentially allowing for a collaborative approach with a shared focus on building reef resilience. Managers may help ensure a resilient coral reef ecosystem by incorporating the following objectives into fishery management.

Maintain a sustainable harvest — Fish stocks are limited and biological productivity constrains the potential yield from a fishery. In a healthy, unfished coral reef, the fish biomass is estimated to be 1,200–1,300 kg/ha. The multispecies maximum sustainable yield (BMMSY) is between 25–50% of the unfished biomass, or ≈300–750 kg/ha. ref

Protect functional groups — The importance of protecting key functional groups, such as top predators and herbivores, has been recognized. Whether motivated by economic considerations (such as protecting sharks to support dive tourism) or ecological concerns (bans on catching herbivorous fish to reduce the risk of algae out-competing corals on reefs), protecting key functional groups is a key strategy for the support of reef resilience. Protecting functional groups also provides an important area of collaboration between coral reef managers and fishery managers.

Reduce by-catch — The incidental catch of non-target species or undersized animals during fishing operations can have significant impacts on coral reef biodiversity. Sea turtles, sharks, seabirds, juvenile fishes, and even species such as sponges and sea fans can be significant by-catch in some fisheries.

Protect spawning aggregations — Protection of spawning aggregations is important for both fishery management and biodiversity conservation. Maintaining healthy breeding populations (seed sources) of reef fish is critical for the sustainability and health of coral reef systems. Science and Conservation of Fish Aggregations has resources to support efforts to protect fish aggregations.

Protect critical areas — Reef species depend on coral reefs and associated habitats (e.g. mangroves, seagrasses) for food, shelter, and reproduction. In addition to spawning aggregations, other critical areas to protect include: nursery grounds, mitigation corridors, and naturally resistant/resilient areas.

Manage risk from climate change and ocean acidificationGlobal climate change stressors (i.e. warming seas, sea-level rise, changes in storm patterns, and changes in oceanic currents) and ocean acidification are dramatically affecting coral reef ecosystems. Management actions at the local scale during events of severe stress can play an important role in minimizing the severity of damage and supporting recovery.

 

Rights-Based Fisheries Management

Rights-based fisheries management (RBFM) creates enabling conditions that may improve the health of fish populations, because fishers are incentivized to become long-term stewards of the ecosystem. Rights-based systems can improve ecosystem health through fishers voluntarily restoring fishery habitat, establishing private marine protected areas, and reducing overall fishing effort. ref  Examples of RBFM include territorial use rights in fishing (where the rights to fishing locations are allocated to individual fishers or groups of fishers) and fishing cooperatives (where groups of fishers act collectively to manage some aspect of the fishery).

In addition to ecosystem benefits, RBFM may enhance the economic performance of the fishery as a whole. With a right to a share in a fishery, the incentive is to maximize economic benefits by reducing the costs associated with fishing and/or by increasing the value of the catch. However, rights-based systems may create conflicts when the distribution of exclusive rights results in a redistribution of wealth that has clear winners and losers.

Resources

For an extensive list of papers and reports on this and other coral reef fisheries topics, visit the Coral Reef Fisheries Resource Library on the Conservation Gateway.

 

Fishing for Solutions: A Fisheries Management Guidebook for Non-Fisheries Managers

A Fishery Manager’s Guidebook

Fisheries Solution Center – whether you are a manager, a fisherman, a practitioner or any other fishery stakeholder, the manuals and supplemental guides provided will help you chart a path to a more sustainable and profitable fishery

Community-Based Marine Resource Management in Solomon Islands: A Facilitator’s Guide

EAFnet

Return to Top

Last updated August 23, 2017

Translate »