أدوات إدارة المصايد

الأسماك المالحة تجفيف على الشاطئ في Gouave ، واحدة من مجتمعات الصيد في غرينادا. الصورة © Marjo Aho

في حين أن فهم التغيرات في أعداد الأسماك ، فإن تكوين الأنواع وحالة النظام الإيكولوجي أمر بالغ الأهمية اتخاذ قرارات مستنيرةتشمل الإدارة الفعالة لمصايد الأسماك استراتيجية للإدارة تتضمن عنصرين:

  • أدوات الإدارة لتنظيم كمية الأسماك المأخوذة من المحيط ؛
  • قواعد مراقبة الحصاد هذا الزناد متى وكيف لضبط الإدارة.

قد يتم تصميم أدوات الإدارة وتطبيقها لإدارة عدد من الجوانب المختلفة لمصايد الأسماك ، بما في ذلك تكوين الأنواع ، قبض لكل وحدة جهد الصيد ، وأنماط الحصاد المكانية ، والأنواع الفردية أو متعددة الأنواع. في ال الشعاب الشمالية من بالاو، تم استخدام أدوات إدارة مثل حدود الحجم والمناطق المغلقة للحد من وفيات الأحداث المتعلقة بصيد الأسماك والمساعدة في الحفاظ على تفرخ صحي لأنواع الأسماك المرجانية الهامة.

كينوبين دافيد ، عمدة بلدية كيتي ، نانيد (إسديبان بولين) ، باترسون شيد ، مدير جمعية الحفظ في بوهنباي ، وجوزيف سانتياغو ، أحد القادة التقليديين في إنيبين ، وإيبيرت ميكيل ، أحد كبار المسؤولين في إنيبين ، يناقشان مستقبل نيتك مارين المنطقة المحمية أثناء النظر فوق خريطة بحرية لجزيرة بوهنباي. الصورة © نيك هول

أعضاء المجتمع المحلي في بوهنباي يناقشون مستقبل منطقة ناهتيك البحرية المحمية ومصائد الأسماك. الصورة © نيك هول

يمكن تطبيق قواعد مراقبة الحصاد استجابة للتغيرات في مؤشرات مخزون الحالة (مثل إجراء تعديلات على حجم منطقة مغلقة بناءً على حجم الأسماك التي يتم حصادها من تلك المنطقة). من الناحية المثالية ، تستند هذه القواعد إلى بيانات تشير إلى كيفية تأثير الصيد على المخزونات. تهدف قواعد التحكم في الحصاد إلى زيادة الإنتاج مع الحفاظ على استدامة المصايد.

سوف تعتمد أدوات الإدارة الجيدة وقواعد التحكم في الحصاد بشدة على الخصائص البيولوجية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية والحكم لمصايد الأسماك والمجتمع. تتطلب الإدارة الفعالة لمصايد الأسماك أهدافاً محددة بوضوح ، وإشراك جميع أصحاب المصلحة في مصايد الأسماك في تطوير أدوات الإدارة وقواعد مراقبة الحصاد ، وإجراءات لتقييم فعالية هذه الأخيرة مقارنة بالأهداف المذكورة.

أدوات إدارةالفوائدالقيود





ضوابط الانتقائية
تعديل والعتاد والقيود
(انظر إعادة بناء مصايد الأسماك العالمية)
مفيدة في مصائد الأسماك متعددة الأنواع لتقليل استهداف الأنواع المعرضة للخطر

فعالة في الحد من الصيد العرضي

مفيد عندما يكون هناك القليل من القدرة على المراقبة والإنفاذ

تميل لصالح سياسات العمالة القصوى
قد يكون عرضة ل زحف الجهد

يركز أكثر على تجنب النقاط المرجعية المحددة بدلاً من تحقيق الأهداف

لا يزال يمكن أن يؤدي إلى خسائر في الحرجة خدمات النظام البيئي
الحد الأدنى للحجم

الحد الأقصى للحجم

(انظر بالاو و / أو بليز دراسة الحالة)
مفيدة لحماية الأحداث أو تضع بيضها الضخمة

مفيد لحماية الأنواع البطيئة النمو التي تعيش لفترة طويلة مع تجنيد متغير

مفيد عندما يكون هناك القليل من القدرة على المراقبة والإنفاذ
ليست فعالة للأسماك المرفوضة مع بقائها على قيد الحياة
الإغلاقات الزمنيةإغلاق موسمي

قيود وقت اليوم
يمكن أن تكون يومية أو موسمية أو قائمة على الزناد

مفيدة إذا كان هناك أسباب التفريخ الزمني

مفيد إذا كان هناك تركيز موسمي للجهد
من غير المحتمل أن تكون فعالة في الحد من الجهد ما لم يقترن أدوات أخرى مثل حدود الصيد أو قيود العتاد
الإغلاق المكانيالمناطق البحرية المحمية (MPAs)
(انظر بليز, Wakatobi، و / أو غالاباغوس دراسات الحالة)

المناطق المحظورة (NTZs: see بابوا غينيا الجديدة, بليز, Wakatobi و / أو بونير دراسات الحالة)

حقوق المستخدم الإقليمية في صيد الأسماك (TURFs: see حقوق الاستخدام الإقليمي لصيد الأسماك)

أحكام التحرك (انظر مبادئ توجيهية لتطوير استراتيجيات الحصاد الرسمية للأنواع التي تفتقر إلى البيانات ومصايد الأسماك)
يمكن أن يكون التناوب ، الموسمية ، دائم ، أو القائم على الزناد

الأكثر فعالية للأنواع المستقرة

مفيد إذا كانت هناك أسباب تفرخ مكاني أو موائل معرضة للصيد

مفيد إذا كان هناك تركيز مكاني للجهد

قد تعظيم الفوائد لأسواق السياحة وتوفر فوائد للصيادين من الآثار غير المباشرة والتوظيف
ليست فعالة بالنسبة للأنواع الكثيرة الارتحال

لا عنوان جهد كامن

قد يكون لها تكاليف إدارة عالية يمكن أن تؤدي إلى نزاع وتهجير الصيادين
حدود الجهدالوصول المحدود (التراخيص)

ساعات الغطس

عدد الخطوط أو السنانير

حدود الرحلة

صافي وقت الإعداد
يمكن أن يكون يوميا ، الموسمية ، أو السنوية

مراقبة مشتركة لتقييد عدد القوارب أو الصيادين في مصايد الأسماك
من الصعب إذا كان هناك العديد من الأساطيل

غير مناسب للصيادين الذين يعتمدون على صيد الكفاف

قد يكون مشكلة في المصايد متعددة الأنواع إذا كانت تشمل الأنواع المعرضة لخطر الصيد الجائر
حدود الصيدمجموع الصيد المسموح

أنظمة الحصص وأسهم الصيد (انظر قبض دليل تصميم حصة)
يمكن أن يكون يوميا ، الموسمية ، أو السنويةمن الصعب إذا كان هناك العديد من الأساطيل

قد لا يكون من السهل التنظيم داخل سياق متعدد الأنواع

إدارة مصايد الأسماك للناس وصحة النظم الإيكولوجية

يواجه مديرو الشعاب المرجانية غالبًا مفاضلات صعبة بين تلبية مصالح قطاع الصيد ومصالح حفظ التنوع البيولوجي. في معظم الأمثلة الناجحة حتى الآن ، تستفيد مجتمعات الصيد أكثر من نهج قائم على النظام الإيكولوجي لإدارة مصايد الأسماك. في إدارة المصايد القائمة على النظام الإيكولوجي (EBFM) ، تتم إدارة أهداف متعددة للنظام البيئي للشعاب المرجانية ككل ، لضمان الصحة طويلة الأجل للشعاب المرجانية ومجموعات الأسماك والحفاظ على خدمات النظام البيئي الأخرى التي توفرها الشعاب المرجانية ، مثل السياحة والشواطئ الحماية والقيم الثقافية الأخرى. بمعنى آخر ، يضمن EBFM أنه بالإضافة إلى مصائد الأسماك ، تواصل المجتمعات الاستفادة من المزايا المتعددة التي توفرها الشعاب المرجانية.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن النهج القائمة على الحقوق التي تضمن وصول الصيادين إلى مناطق الصيد أو الأرصدة السمكية واستخدامها والتحكم فيها تحمي سبل العيش والوصول إلى الغذاء لمجتمعات الصيد.

إدارة مصايد الأسماك القائمة على النظم الإيكولوجية

تدعو إدارة مصايد الأسماك المستندة إلى النظام الإيكولوجي (EBFM) إلى اتباع نهج كلي لإدارة الموارد يعترف بصيانة وظائف وخدمات النظام الإيكولوجي كهدف رئيسي لإدارة مصايد الأسماك. كما أن لديها تركيزًا قويًا على دمج أوجه عدم اليقين والتقلب والتغيرات المتوقعة في إدارة المصايد. يزيد نهج النظام الإيكولوجي بشكل كبير من التوافق في أهداف الإدارة بين مصايد الأسماك وحفظ الشعاب المرجانية ، مما قد يسمح بنهج تعاوني مع تركيز مشترك على بناء قدرة الشعاب المرجانية. قد يساعد المدراء في ضمان وجود نظام بيئي جيد للشعاب المرجانية من خلال دمج الأهداف التالية في إدارة المصايد.

الحفاظ على الحصاد المستدام - مخزونات الأسماك محدودة والإنتاجية البيولوجية تقيد العائد المحتمل من المصايد. في الشعاب المرجانية الصحية غير المكتملة ، تقدر الكتلة الحيوية للأسماك بـ 1,200-1,300 kg / ha. ال multispecies أقصى الغلة المستدامة (BMMSY) ما بين 25 - 50٪ من الكتلة الحيوية غير المكتملة ، أو ≈300 - 750 كجم / هكتار. المرجع

حماية المجموعات الوظيفية - أهمية حماية المجموعات الوظيفية الرئيسية ، مثل كبار الحيوانات المفترسة و آكلة الأعشاب، وقد تم الاعتراف. سواء كان ذلك بدافع من الاعتبارات الاقتصادية (مثل حماية أسماك القرش لدعم سياحة الغوص) أو المخاوف البيئية (حظر صيد الأسماك العاشبة لتقليل مخاطر الطحالب المتنافسة على الشعاب المرجانية) ، فإن حماية المجموعات الوظيفية الرئيسية هي استراتيجية رئيسية لدعم الشعاب المرجانية. كما توفر حماية المجموعات الوظيفية مجالًا مهمًا للتعاون بين مديري الشعاب المرجانية ومديري المصايد.

تقليل الصيد العرضي - يمكن أن يكون للصيد العرضي للأنواع غير المستهدفة أو الحيوانات الصغيرة الحجم أثناء عمليات الصيد آثار كبيرة على التنوع البيولوجي للشعاب المرجانية. يمكن أن تكون السلاحف البحرية وأسماك القرش والطيور البحرية والأسماك الأحداث وحتى الأنواع مثل الإسفنج ومراوح البحر من أهم المصيد في بعض المصايد.

حماية تجمعات التفريخ - الحماية من تجمعات التفريخ مهم لكل من إدارة مصايد الأسماك وحفظ التنوع البيولوجي. يعد الحفاظ على التكاثر الصحي (مصادر البذور) لأسماك الشعاب أمرًا مهمًا لاستدامة وصحة أنظمة الشعاب المرجانية. علوم وصون تجمعات الأسماك لديها موارد لدعم الجهود المبذولة لحماية تجمعات الأسماك.

حماية المناطق الحرجة - تعتمد أنواع الشعاب المرجانية على الشعاب المرجانية والموائل المرتبطة بها (مثل غابات المانغروف والأعشاب البحرية) في الغذاء والمأوى والتكاثر. بالإضافة إلى تجمعات التفريخ ، تشمل المناطق المهمة الأخرى التي يجب حمايتها: أماكن الحضانة ، وممرات التخفيف ، والمناطق المقاومة / الطبيعية بشكل طبيعي.

إدارة المخاطر الناجمة عن تغير المناخ وتحمض المحيطات- تغير المناخ العالمي الضغوطات (أي البحار الحارة ، وارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر ، والتغيرات في أنماط العواصف ، والتغيرات في التيارات المحيطية) و تحمض المحيطات تؤثر بشكل كبير على النظم البيئية للشعاب المرجانية. يمكن أن تلعب إجراءات الإدارة على المستوى المحلي أثناء أحداث الضغط الشديد دورًا مهمًا في تقليل شدة الضرر ودعم الشفاء.

إدارة المصايد القائمة على الحقوق

تعمل إدارة المصايد القائمة على الحقوق (RBFM) على تهيئة الظروف المواتية التي قد تحسن من صحة مجموعات الأسماك ، لأن الصيادين يتم تحفيزهم ليصبحوا حكام طويل الأجل للنظام البيئي. يمكن للنظم القائمة على الحقوق تحسين صحة النظام الإيكولوجي من خلال الصيادين الذين يستعيدون طواعية الموائل السمكية ، وإنشاء مناطق بحرية محمية خاصة ، وتقليل مجمل جهد الصيد. المرجع تشمل الأمثلة على الإدارة القائمة على النتائج حقوق استخدام الأراضي في صيد الأسماك (حيث يتم تخصيص الحقوق في مواقع الصيد لصيادي الأسماك أو مجموعات من الصيادين) وتعاونيات الصيد (حيث تعمل مجموعات الصيادين بشكل جماعي لإدارة بعض جوانب المصايد).

بالإضافة إلى فوائد النظام الإيكولوجي ، قد تعزز الإدارة القائمة على النتائج الأداء الاقتصادي لمصايد الأسماك ككل. مع الحق في الحصول على حصة في مصايد الأسماك ، فإن الحافز هو زيادة الفوائد الاقتصادية إلى الحد الأقصى عن طريق خفض التكاليف المرتبطة بصيد الأسماك و / أو عن طريق زيادة قيمة المصيد. ومع ذلك ، قد تخلق النظم القائمة على الحقوق تعارضًا عندما يؤدي توزيع الحقوق الحصرية إلى إعادة توزيع الثروة التي يكون فيها رابحون وخاسرون واضحون.

While understanding changes in fish populations, species composition, and ecosystem condition are critical to making informed decisions, effective fishery management includes a management strategy with two components:

  • management tools to regulate how much fish are taken from the ocean;
  • harvest control rules that trigger when and how much to adjust management.
Kenopin David, the Mayor of Kitti Municipality, Nanid (esdepan Paulin), Patterson Shed, Director of the Conservation Society of Pohnpei, Joseph Santiago, one of Enipein's traditional chief, and Epert Mikel, one of Enipein's traditional chief discuss the future of Nahtik Marine Protected Area while looking over a nautical map of the island of Pohnpei. Photo © Nick Hall

Kenopin David, the Mayor of Kitti Municipality, Nanid (Esdepan Paulin), Patterson Shed, Director of the Conservation Society of Pohnpei, Joseph Santiago and Epert Mikel, two of Enipein’s traditional chiefs discuss the future of Nahtik Marine Protected Area while looking over a nautical map of the island of Pohnpei. Photo © Nick Hall

Management tools may be designed and applied to manage a number of different aspects of a fishery, including species composition, catch-per-unit-effort of fishing, spatial patterns of harvesting, and single or multiple species populations. In the Northern Reefs of Palau, management tools such as size limits and closed areas have been used to limit fishing-related mortality of juveniles and help maintain a healthy spawning population of important coral reef fish species.

Harvest control rules may be implemented in response to changes in indicators of stock status (e.g. making adjustments to the size of a closed area based on the size of the fish being harvest from that area). Ideally, these rules are based on data indicating how fishing is affecting stocks. Harvest control rules are intended to maximize production while maintaining the sustainability of the fishery.

Good management tools and harvest control rules will depend strongly on the biological, socio-economic, and governance characteristics of the fishery and the community. Effective fishery management requires clearly defined goals, the inclusion of all fishery stakeholders in the development of management tools and harvest control rules, and measures to assess the latter’s effectiveness against the stated goals.

Management ToolsBenefitsLimitations





Selectivity Controls
Gear Modification and Restriction
(see Rebuilding Global Fisheries)
Useful in multi-species fisheries to minimize targeting vulnerable species

Effective at reducing by-catch

Useful where there is little capacity for monitoring and enforcement

Tend to favor maximum employment policies
May be susceptible to effort creep

Focuses more on avoiding limit reference points rather than achieving targets

Can still lead to losses in critical ecosystem services
Minimum Size Limit

Maximum Size Limit

(see Palau and/or Belize Case Study)
Useful for protecting juveniles or mega-spawners

Useful for protecting slow-growing, long-lived species with variable recruitment

Useful where there is little capacity for monitoring and enforcement
Not effective for rejected fish with poor survivorship
Temporal closuresSeasonal Closure

Time-of-Day Restrictions
Can be daily, seasonal, or trigger-based

Useful if there are temporal spawning grounds

Useful if there are seasonal concentrations of effort
Unlikely to be effective at reducing effort unless coupled with other tools like catch limits or gear restrictions
Spatial closuresMarine Protected Areas (MPAs)
(see Belize, Wakatobi, and/or Galapagos Case Studies)

No-Take Zones (NTZs: see Papua New Guinea, Belize, Wakatobi and/or Bonaire Case Studies)

Territorial User Rights in Fishing (TURFs: see Territorial Use Rights for Fishing)

Move-on Provisions (see Guidelines for Developing Formal Harvest Strategies for Data-poor Species and Fisheries)
Can be rotational, seasonal, permanent, or trigger-based

Most effective for sedentary species

Useful if there are spatial spawning grounds or habitat vulnerable to fishing

Useful if there are spatial concentrations of effort

May maximize benefits to tourism markets and provide benefits to fishers from spillover and recruitment
Not effective for highly migratory species

Does not address Latent effort

May have high management costs that can result in conflict and displacement of fishers
Effort limitsLimited Access (Licenses)

Dive Hours

Number of Lines or Hooks

Trip Limits

Net Setting Time
Can be daily, seasonal, or annual

Common control for restricting number of boats or fishers in a fishery
Difficult if there are many fleets

Inappropriate for fishers who rely on subsistence fishing

May be problematic in multi-species fisheries if these include species at risk of overfishing
Catch limitsTotal Allowable Catch

Quotas Systems and Catch Shares (see Catch Share Design Manual)
Can be daily, seasonal, or annualDifficult if there are many fleets

May not be easy to regulate within a multi-species context

Managing Fisheries for People and Ecosystem Health

Coral reef managers often face difficult trade-offs between meeting the interests of the fishing sector and those of biodiversity conservation. In most successful examples to date, fishing communities benefit most from an ecosystem-based approach to fishery management. In ecosystem-based fishery management (EBFM), multiple objectives are managed for the reef ecosystem as a whole, to ensure the long-term health of coral reefs and fish populations and maintain other ecosystem services that the reef provides, such as tourism, shoreline protection, and other cultural values. In other words, EBFM ensures that in addition to fisheries, communities continue to benefit from the multiple advantages that the reef provides.

Additionally, rights-based approaches that guarantee fishers’ access to, use of, and control over fishing grounds or fish stocks safeguard livelihoods and access to food for fishing communities.

Ecosystem-Based Fisheries Management

Ecosystem-based fisheries management (EBFM) advocates a holistic approach to resource management that recognizes maintenance of ecosystem functions and services as a primary objective for fisheries management. It also has a strong focus on incorporating uncertainties, variability, and predicted changes into fishery management. The ecosystem approach greatly increases the alignment in management objectives between fisheries and reef conservation, potentially allowing for a collaborative approach with a shared focus on building reef resilience. Managers may help ensure a resilient coral reef ecosystem by incorporating the following objectives into fishery management.

Maintain a sustainable harvest — Fish stocks are limited and biological productivity constrains the potential yield from a fishery. In a healthy, unfished coral reef, the fish biomass is estimated to be 1,200–1,300 kg/ha. The multispecies maximum sustainable yield (BMMSY) is between 25–50% of the unfished biomass, or ≈300–750 kg/ha. ref

Protect functional groups — The importance of protecting key functional groups, such as top predators and herbivores, has been recognized. Whether motivated by economic considerations (such as protecting sharks to support dive tourism) or ecological concerns (bans on catching herbivorous fish to reduce the risk of algae out-competing corals on reefs), protecting key functional groups is a key strategy for the support of reef resilience. Protecting functional groups also provides an important area of collaboration between coral reef managers and fishery managers.

Reduce by-catch — The incidental catch of non-target species or undersized animals during fishing operations can have significant impacts on coral reef biodiversity. Sea turtles, sharks, seabirds, juvenile fishes, and even species such as sponges and sea fans can be significant by-catch in some fisheries.

Protect spawning aggregations — Protection of spawning aggregations is important for both fishery management and biodiversity conservation. Maintaining healthy breeding populations (seed sources) of reef fish is critical for the sustainability and health of coral reef systems. Science and Conservation of Fish Aggregations has resources to support efforts to protect fish aggregations.

Protect critical areas — Reef species depend on coral reefs and associated habitats (e.g. mangroves, seagrasses) for food, shelter, and reproduction. In addition to spawning aggregations, other critical areas to protect include: nursery grounds, mitigation corridors, and naturally resistant/resilient areas.

Manage risk from climate change and ocean acidificationGlobal climate change stressors (i.e. warming seas, sea-level rise, changes in storm patterns, and changes in oceanic currents) and ocean acidification are dramatically affecting coral reef ecosystems. Management actions at the local scale during events of severe stress can play an important role in minimizing the severity of damage and supporting recovery.

 

Rights-Based Fisheries Management

Rights-based fisheries management (RBFM) creates enabling conditions that may improve the health of fish populations, because fishers are incentivized to become long-term stewards of the ecosystem. Rights-based systems can improve ecosystem health through fishers voluntarily restoring fishery habitat, establishing private marine protected areas, and reducing overall fishing effort. ref  Examples of RBFM include territorial use rights in fishing (where the rights to fishing locations are allocated to individual fishers or groups of fishers) and fishing cooperatives (where groups of fishers act collectively to manage some aspect of the fishery).

In addition to ecosystem benefits, RBFM may enhance the economic performance of the fishery as a whole. With a right to a share in a fishery, the incentive is to maximize economic benefits by reducing the costs associated with fishing and/or by increasing the value of the catch. However, rights-based systems may create conflicts when the distribution of exclusive rights results in a redistribution of wealth that has clear winners and losers.

Resources

For an extensive list of papers and reports on this and other coral reef fisheries topics, visit the Coral Reef Fisheries Resource Library on the Conservation Gateway.

 

Fishing for Solutions: A Fisheries Management Guidebook for Non-Fisheries Managers

A Fishery Manager’s Guidebook

Fisheries Solution Center – whether you are a manager, a fisherman, a practitioner or any other fishery stakeholder, the manuals and supplemental guides provided will help you chart a path to a more sustainable and profitable fishery

Community-Based Marine Resource Management in Solomon Islands: A Facilitator’s Guide

EAFnet

Return to Top

Last updated August 23, 2017

Translate »