庫存評估方法

在海灘的Saltfish乾燥在Gouave,其中一個在格林納達的漁社區。 照片©Marjo Aho

漁業在數百萬人的生計中發揮著關鍵作用。 小規模漁業 (通常定義為每年小於10,000噸的收穫上岸量)在當地經濟中發揮重要作用。 在發展中國家,大部分漁獲量來自過度捕撈和管理不善的漁業,因為即使是最基本的信息如何 魚類種群 正在做什麼,他們被捕的難度是不可用的。 魚類種群數量缺乏數據, 釣魚的努力漁業可以支持的捕撈壓力水平也是全球漁業的一個問題; 60%的世界魚類捕獲量尚未被評估。 這些數據對於有效管理至關重要。

庫存評估通過允許管理人員隨時檢測魚類狀況的變化,提供指導漁業管理的信息。 這些變化可能觸發一個 管理層回應,旨在實現漁業的一個或多個目標。 例如,如果管理人員評估種群並檢測到正在捕獲太多的幼魚,使該種群具有較低的繁殖潛力,管理者可以使用此信息來設定捕獲的魚的捕獲量或大小。

作為帕勞股票評估項目的一部分測量魚的長度。 照片©Andrew Smith

作為帕勞股票評估項目的一部分測量魚的長度。 照片©Andrew Smith

存在許多評估珊瑚礁漁業的方法,包括量化生物量水平和估算的常規統計方法 最大可持續產量(MSY),適用於漁業數據有限的方法。 當漁業數據有限時, 代理 可用於估算生物量或捕撈死亡率。

傳統的庫存評估(例如年齡結構人口模型)需要大量的數據,資金和能力來進行。 傳統的庫存評估可能需要花費數十萬美元,研究船和工作人員專門用於這些評估。 因此,由於缺乏資金和當地機構收集和分析數據的機構能力有限,它們在包括珊瑚礁漁業在內的許多小規模漁業中並不常見。 文獻

此處提供的信息描述了各種庫存評估方法,重點關注那些可以用最少的數據應用的方法。

珊瑚礁漁業的種群評估方法

列出的方法按從低(PSA)到高(剩餘生產)所需的數據的數量和質量的順序排列。 數據要求,輸出和警告取決於所使用的參考方法。
評估方法的類型可能的數據要求輸出注意事項
PSA:生產力和易感性分析 文獻生活史信息

漁業的空間面積和選擇性
易感性,生產力,脆弱性指數; 不直接告知狀態需要適中的容量
RAPFISH:評估漁業可持續發展狀況的快速評估技術 文獻了解生態,經濟,道德,社會和技術屬性可持續性得分; 不直接告知狀態需要適中的容量
不採取海洋保護區的方法 文獻魚的密度(或 CPUE 來自科學調查)內外保護區

儲備內外的長度頻率

生活史信息
相對密度; 表明捕撈努力是否可持續假設儲備得到很好的執行,內部的條件代表了未完成的人口
基於長度的方法 文獻長度數據

生活史信息
相對於(代理)參考點和/或趨勢的漁業狀況; 表明漁獲量是否可持續假設漁獲物的長度數據代表種群,可以假設不斷招募和捕撈努力量; 可能會對聚集和改變性別的物種提出有偏見的估計
決策樹和交通燈 文獻經驗數據 (例如長度,著陸,努力)

生活史信息
對管理措施的建議調整(例如,±允許捕獲量); 表明捕撈努力是否可持續通常需要定期評估
視覺普查調查 文獻漁業獨立長度頻率

生活史信息
漁業狀況相對於 MSY or MMSY 參考點假設物種 - 棲息地協會是物種存在的良好指標
耗盡分析 文獻CPUE

生活史信息
相對於參考點的漁業狀況; 表明漁獲量是否可持續假設CPUE和漁獲量是漁業的代表; 魚的捕獲量保持不變
耗盡校正平均捕獲量(DCAC) 文獻

基於耗減的庫存減少分析(DB-SRA) 文獻
歷史捕獲量(> 10年)

生活史信息
可持續產量估算; 表明漁獲量是否可持續應該是自然死亡率
剩餘生產模式 文獻CPUE
相對於參考點的漁業狀況; 表明漁獲量是否可持續要求CPUE和工作量之間有足夠的對比

庫存評估指標

漁業管理者可以使用指標和閾值(即參考點)來評估漁業在當前生物量,繁殖能力和可持續性方面的狀況。

確定使用哪些績效指標和參考點需要管理者根據漁業和社區的社會,生態和經濟現實考慮可獲得或可獲得的數據。 參考點的確定還需要了解指標如何與庫存狀態相對應。

漁業指標和參考點

績效指標是衡量漁業某些屬性的指標,包括定量和定性經驗指標(如漁獲量中魚類的平均規模),使用模型的統計推斷指標(如使用庫存評估模型估算的生物量),代表指標生物量(例如,捕獲率或密度估計值)和捕撈死亡率(例如,產卵潛在比率或捕撈量的長度組成)或間接指標(例如,增加的旅行時間表明當地種群減少)。

有許多方法可以衡量漁業的社會,生物,經濟和經營業績。 漁業管理人員經常使用收穫控制規則來指示在指標變化時(無論好壞)調整管理的時間和數量。 管理者的目標是將指標保持在目標參考點(橙色)。 如果沒有達到某些閾值,例如限制參考點(紫色),則收穫控制規則通常會變得更具限制性。

有許多方法可以衡量漁業的社會,生物,經濟和經營業績。 漁業管理人員經常使用收穫控制規則來指示在指標變化時(無論好壞)調整管理的時間和數量。 管理者的目標是將指標保持在目標參考點(橙色)。 如果沒有達到某些閾值,例如限制參考點(紫色),則收穫控制規則通常會變得更具限制性。

指標必須簡單,易於理解和衡量,並應與漁民利益相關者(如漁民,資源管理者,非政府組織和科學家)合作開發。 如果可能,應選擇多個績效指標,以便更全面地了解漁業。 文獻

參考點是指標的預定水平,可用於分析績效指標與漁業目標之間的關係。 通常有兩種類型的參考點:1)目標參考點是對應於漁業處於理想水平的條件的指標值; 2)限制參考點是對應於不希望的漁業條件(例如,過度捕撈)的指標值。

Fisheries play a critical role in the livelihoods of millions of people. Small-scale fisheries (generally defined as harvesting landings smaller than 10,000 tons per year) play an important role in local economies. In the developing world, most of the catch comes from fisheries that are overfished and poorly managed, because even the most basic information on how the fish stocks are doing and how hard they are being fished is unavailable. The lack of data on fish population sizes, fishing effort, and level of fishing pressure that fisheries can support is also a problem for global fisheries; 60% of the world’s fish catch is unassessed. Such data are essential for effective management.

Measuring fish length as part of the Palau Stock Assessment Project. Photo © Andrew Smith

Measuring fish length as part of the Palau Stock Assessment Project. Photo © Andrew Smith

A  stock assessment provides information to guide fishery management by allowing managers to detect changes in the condition of fish stocks over time. These changes may trigger a management response, aimed at meeting one or more target objectives of the fishery. For example, if managers assess a stock and detect that too many juvenile fish are being harvested, leaving the stock with a low reproduction potential, managers can use this information to set limits on catch or size of the fish being caught.

Many methods exist for assessing coral reef fisheries, ranging from conventional statistical methods that quantify biomass levels and estimate maximum sustainable yield (MSY), to methods that can be applied where fishery data are limited. When fishery data are limited, proxies can be used to estimate biomass or fishing mortality.

Traditional stock assessments (such as an age structure population model) require large quantities of data, funding, and capacity to be carried out. A traditional stock assessment can cost hundreds of thousands of dollars, with research vessels and staff dedicated solely to these assessments. Therefore, they are uncommon in many small-scale fisheries, including coral reef fisheries, due to lack of funding and limited institutional capacity of local agencies to collect and analyze the data. ref

The information presented here describes a variety of stock assessment methods, focusing on those that can be applied with minimal data.

Stock Assessment Methods for Coral Reef Fisheries

Methods listed are in order of quantity and quality of data required from low (PSA) to high (Surplus Production). Data requirements, outputs, and caveats vary depending on referenced methodologies used.
Type of Assessment MethodPossible Data RequirementsOutputsCaveats
PSA: Productivity and Susceptibility Analysis refLife history information

Spatial area and selectivity of the fishery
Susceptibility, productivity, vulnerability index; does not directly inform statusRequires moderate capacity
RAPFISH: A rapid appraisal technique to evaluate the sustainability status of fisheries refKnowledge of ecological, economic, ethical, social, and technological attributesSustainability score; does not directly inform statusRequires moderate capacity
No-take marine reserve-based methods refFish density (or CPUE from scientific surveys) inside and outside reserve

Length frequency inside and outside of reserve

Life history information
Relative density; indicates whether or not fishing effort is sustainableAssumes reserves are well-enforced and conditions inside represent an unfished population
Length-based methods refLength data

Life history information
Fishery status relative to (proxy) reference points and/or trends; indicates whether or not catches are sustainableAssumes length data from the catch are representative of the stock, may assume constant recruitment and fishing effort; may present biased estimates for species that aggregate and change sex
Decision Trees and Traffic Lights refEmpirical data (e.g. lengths, landings, effort)

Life history information
Recommended adjustments to management measures (e.g., ± allowable catch); indicates whether or not fishing effort is sustainableTypically requires periodic evaluation
Visual census surveys refFishery independent length frequency

Life history information
Fishery status relative to MSY or MMSY reference pointAssumes species–habitat associations are a good indicator of species presence
Depletion analyses refCPUE

Life history information
Fishery status relative to reference points; indicates whether fishing catch is sustainableAssumes CPUE and catches are representative of the fishery; catchability of fish remains constant
Depletion-Corrected Average Catch (DCAC) ref

Depletion-Based Stock Reduction Analysis (DB-SRA) ref
Historical catch (>10 years)

Life history information
Estimates of sustainable yield; indicates whether or not catches are sustainableNatural mortality rate should be <0.2; does not work well with highly depleted stocks
Surplus production models refCPUE
Fishery status relative to reference points; indicates whether or not catches are sustainableRequires adequate contrast between CPUE and effort

Stock Assessment Indicators

Fishery managers can use indicators and thresholds (i.e., reference points) to assess the status of a fishery in terms of its current biomass, reproductive capacity, and sustainability.

Determining which performance indicators and reference points to use requires managers to consider what data are available or obtainable given the social, ecological, and economic realities of the fishery and community. The determination of reference points also requires some understanding of how indicators may correspond to stock status.

Fishery Indicators and Reference Points

Performance indicators are measures of some attribute of the fishery, including quantitative and qualitative empirical indicators (e.g., mean size of fish in the catch), statistically derived indicators using a model (e.g., biomass estimated using a stock assessment model), proxy indicators for biomass (e.g., catch rates or density estimates) and fishing mortality (e.g., spawning potential ratios or length composition of the catch), or indirect indicators (e.g., increased travel time as an indication of declining local stocks).

There are many ways to measure the social, biological, economic, and operational performance of a fishery. Fishery managers often use harvest control rules to indicate when and how much to adjust management when indicators change (for better or for worse). Managers aim to keep indicators at the Target Reference Points (orange). Harvest control rules typically become more restrictive if certain thresholds, such as Limit Reference Points (purple), are not being achieved.

There are many ways to measure the social, biological, economic, and operational performance of a fishery. Fishery managers often use harvest control rules to indicate when and how much to adjust management when indicators change (for better or for worse). Managers aim to keep indicators at the Target Reference Points (orange). Harvest control rules typically become more restrictive if certain thresholds, such as Limit Reference Points (purple), are not being achieved.

Indicators need to be simple, easy to understand and measure, and should be developed collaboratively with fishery stakeholders such as fishers, resource managers, non-governmental organizations, and scientists. If possible, multiple performance indicators should be selected to provide a more complete understanding of the fishery. ref

Reference points are predetermined levels for indicators that allow for analysis of the relationship between performance indicators and the objectives of the fishery. There are typically two types of reference points: 1) a target reference point is an indicator value that corresponds to the condition of the fishery being at a desirable level; 2) a limit reference point is an indicator value that corresponds to the condition of the fishery being undesirable (e.g., overfished).

 

Return to Top

Last updated August 22, 2016

Translate »