Conception d'AMP résistante

Projet de restauration des récifs coralliens dans le parc national marin de Curieuse, dans l'île de Curieuse, aux Seychelles. Photo © Jason Houston

Bien conçu et AMP gérées efficacement jouer un rôle important dans la réalisation de l’utilisation durable des ressources marines à plusieurs niveaux. ref De plus en plus, des réseaux résilients d’AMP sont mis en place pour accroître les avantages de la conservation dans des zones plus vastes et pour répartir les risques de perte potentielle de biodiversité dans une zone donnée. Le passage d'une AMP individuelle à une résilience des réseaux d'AMP permet la protection des espèces et des habitats en plus du maintien des processus, de la structure et de la fonction écologiques.

Cette section présente aux gestionnaires de récifs coralliens les principes et recommandations clés en matière de résilience afin de soutenir le développement de réseaux d'aires protégées résistantes. Ces principes peuvent aider les réseaux d'AMP à atteindre plusieurs objectifs, notamment la durabilité des pêches, la conservation de la biodiversité et la résilience des écosystèmes face aux changements climatiques et à d'autres facteurs de stress. Ces principes et recommandations peuvent être appliqués aux AMP existantes ou pour la planification de futurs réseaux d'AMP, et à n'importe quelle échelle. L'incorporation de ces recommandations offre les meilleures chances pour qu'une AMP survive à des perturbations et continue à fournir des biens et des services essentiels aux communautés.

Quels sont les principes de conception d'un réseau d'AMP?

Les principes de conception de MPA résiliente indiquent comment concevoir un réseau de MPA ou un réseau de MPA résilient. Les principes biophysiques et socioéconomiques sont couramment utilisés pour orienter la conception et la gestion des AMP. Les principes biophysiques visent à atteindre des objectifs biologiques en tenant compte des processus biologiques et physiques clés; considérant que les principes socio-économiques visent à maximiser les avantages et à minimiser les coûts pour les communautés locales et les industries durables.

Les sections ci-dessous décrivent les principes d'une conception d'AMP résistante intégrant les objectifs en matière de pêche, de biodiversité et de climat.

Recommandations de conception

Il est recommandé aux gestionnaires de mettre en œuvre les principes de résilience de manière aussi complète que possible et d'accorder la priorité à l'interdiction des activités destructrices et de la propagation des risques par la représentation et la réplication des types d'habitat. Recommandations concernant la taille minimale et l'espacement des AMP et protéger les zones critiques peut souvent être mis en œuvre avec moins d'informations.

Il existe souvent des lacunes en matière d’information et des facteurs culturels et politiques qui empêchent la pleine application de toutes les recommandations de conception. Cependant, l'application de ces principes réalisables augmente la probabilité de protéger toute la gamme des habitats d'espèces inconnues et des processus d'importance; et donc, soutenir la résilience en réponse aux perturbations.

Des recommandations de conception spécifiques figurent dans les sections suivantes.

Well-designed and effectively managed MPAs play a significant role in achieving sustainable use of marine resources at multiple scales. ref Increasingly, resilient networks of MPAs are being implemented to increase conservation benefits across broader areas and to spread the risks of potential loss of biodiversity in any one area. The scaling up from individual MPAs to resilient MPA networks allows for the protection of species and habitats in addition to the maintenance of ecological processes, structure, and function.

This section introduces coral reef managers to key resilience principles and recommendations to support the development of resilient MPA networks. These principles can help MPA networks achieve multiple objectives, including fisheries sustainability, biodiversity conservation, and ecosystem resilience in the face of climate change and other stressors. These principles and recommendations can be applied to existing MPAs or used for planning future MPA networks, and can be applied at any scale. Incorporation of these recommendations provides the best chance that an MPA will survive disturbances and continue to provide essential goods and services to communities.

What are MPA Network Design Principles?

Principles of resilient MPA design provide guidance on how to design a resilient MPA or MPA network. Biophysical and socioeconomic principles are commonly used to inform MPA design and management. Biophysical principles are aimed at achieving biological objectives by taking key biological and physical processes into account; whereas socioeconomic principles are aimed at maximizing benefits and minimizing costs to local communities and sustainable industries.

The sections below describe principles of resilient MPA design that integrate fisheries, biodiversity and climate objectives.

Design Recommendations

It is recommended that managers aim to implement resilience principles as comprehensively as possible, and prioritize the prohibition of destructive activities and risk spreading through representation and replication of habitat types. Recommendations regarding minimum size and spacing of MPAs and protecting critical areas can often be implemented with less information.

There are often information gaps, cultural and political factors that prevent full application of all design recommendations. However, the application of those principles that are feasible increases the likelihood of protecting the entire range of unknown species habitats, and processes of importance; and thus, supporting resilience in response to disturbances.

Specific design recommendations are found in the following sections:

The design of a resilient MPA network can support and maintain healthy, diverse coral reef ecosystems. Photo © S. Summerhays

Well designed and effectively managed MPAs play a significant role in achieving sustainable use of marine resources at multiple scales.

Last updated December 22, 2015

Effective MPA Management

Effective management, including providing community benefits and reducing threats, is the core of resilience-based strategies. Learn more.

Representation and Replication

Climate change and other stressors will not impact marine species and habitats equally everywhere; therefore, strategies for spreading the risk must be built into MPA network design. Learn more.

Critical Areas

Full protection of critical areas that can serve as reliable sources of seed for replenishment and preservation of ecological function. Learn more.

Connectivity

Connectivity within and between protected areas is important for maintaining diversity, fish stocks, and especially important for maintaining ecological resilience. Learn more.

Socioeconomic Criteria

Social and economic considerations should be taken into account when designing and managing a resilient MPA or MPA network. Learn more.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone
Translate »