聽聽南十字大學海洋生態研究中心主任彼得哈里森博士的新播客採訪,了解他在菲律賓和澳大利亞的大規模幼蟲繁殖和恢復項目。 我們有機會在澳大利亞凱恩斯的大堡礁恢復研討會期間與哈里森博士坐下來,詢問他用於修復的方法,導致他的項目取得成功的方法,以及對有興趣開始的管理者和從業者的建議恢復項目。

彼得哈里森博士

南十字大學海洋生態研究中心主任

採訪成績單
Reef Resilience(RR):大家好! 今天,Reef Resilience正在採訪南十字大學海洋生態研究中心主任Peter Harrison博士,了解他在印度洋 - 太平洋地區的珊瑚恢復工作。 彼得,您能否簡要描述一下您迄今為止在菲律賓所做的珊瑚修復項目 - 例如您使用過的方法以及您與之合作過的合作夥伴項目?

彼得·哈里森(PH):所以我們迄今為止所做的是8個成功的珊瑚幼蟲恢復項目,其中5個在菲律賓,3個在大堡礁。 在菲律賓,我們在過去的五年裡一直在工作,而我們正在做的是從健康的珊瑚捕獲珊瑚產卵,飼養牠,因此我們獲得了高比例的受精,大量的幼蟲發育和數百萬的養育每年的幼蟲。 然後我們將這些幼蟲直接放回珊瑚礁系統。 因此,我們在幼蟲繁殖方面的工作與世界上大多數其他研究小組有點不同,我們正專注於嘗試直接在珊瑚礁上獲得最大成功率。 關於菲律賓的有趣之處在於它們是真正高度退化的珊瑚礁系統 - 它們曾經擁有壯觀的珊瑚覆蓋物 - 並且經過數十年的爆炸捕撈,荊棘冠冕爆發,漂白,颱風,拋出的一切,礁石現在已經奄奄一息了,沒有一個自然招募的規模可以幫助珊瑚礁自然恢復。 所以我們正在做的是捕捉健康人口的最後殘餘物,繁殖數百萬隻珊瑚幼蟲,並將它們放回礁石上,我們得到了一些非常好的結果。

RR:那很好。 實際上,我的問題是關於你的結果。 您認為這些項目是否成功,您認為他們取得了哪些成功?

PH:項目成果非常好,儘管我們希望這些珊瑚礁系統有多麼糟糕,所以它為世界上其他地區可能發生的事情提供了一些希望,那裡真正高度退化的珊瑚礁系統成為真正壯觀的珊瑚礁環境的常態。 所以我們到目前為止所做的是我們使用了一系列不同的珊瑚物種,有些是快速生長的 鹿角 還有一些生長緩慢的大腦珊瑚,在快速生長的珊瑚中我們得到了驚人的效果。 我們的生長發育得如此之快,以至於我們在幼蟲定居於珊瑚礁後的3年後開始繁殖,所以它們現在已經長到半米直徑 - 真的,真正快速增長。 去年和幾年前,我們捕獲了我們已經定居為幼蟲的三種珊瑚的產卵,並且已經發育到繁殖大小,我們將這些幼蟲放回珊瑚礁的其他部分。 令人驚訝的是,我們在第二代珊瑚中的生長速度更快,而且我們現在擁有世界上增長速度最快的育種年齡。 鹿角 在世界上,所以我們有一個世界紀錄。 他們已經成為2年齡的育種年齡和規模。 因此,我們在2年內首次直接在珊瑚礁上關閉了生命週期,甚至高度退化的系統也適合這種工作。

RR:所以你在這方面有很多經驗並做了很多工作,如果你對這個領域的新人 - 經理或科學家或從業者有任何建議,我想知道我們的經理人?

PH:是的,有很好的機會。 每個珊瑚礁系統都有一點獨特,環境獨特,有什麼樣的資源,珊瑚礁處於什麼狀態,是否還有三維結構可以為珊瑚幼蟲提供棲息地,如果它已經完全由於主要的颱風/旋風影響而被摧毀並被剝光,那麼您可能需要考慮某種碎片研究中的某種三維結構,以減緩水的流動,使未來的珊瑚幼蟲增加在招聘方面。 我想另一個關鍵信息是,我們知道可能95%所謂的珊瑚修復項目依賴於碎片,我們已經看到相對較少的那些真正成功。 更大規模的苗圃加工,即使它們更昂貴,也在加勒比地區瀕臨滅絕 鹿角 物種是一個很好的例子,說明在多年計劃中考慮這個問題的大群體,非常集中,實際上可以實現生物量的顯著增加。 但是我們仍然在小範圍內運作,並且幼蟲恢復方法的一個優點是理論上你可以將其擴展到比我們目前用無性碎片和珊瑚園藝方法做得更大的尺度。 我們已經有兩塊100米方形的珊瑚礁,我們一直在大堡礁上進行處理,最近又回到了菲律賓。 我現在的目標是通過這種大規模幼蟲恢復過程建造半公頃然後1公頃的區域,並希望將來我們將以公里的規模運作。 當我們在公里範圍內操作時,你真的在​​談論礁石修復,而不是小規模的珊瑚修復。

RR:你給了我們很多想法並提供了很多很棒的信息,所以非常感謝你今天和我們坐在一起。

PH:非常歡迎你。

por youjizz xmxx 老師xxx 性別

Coral Restoration using Larval Propagation in the Philippines & Australia

Coral growth on a reef in the Philippines after four years of the project. Photo @ Peter Harrison, Southern Cross University

Coral growth on a reef in the Philippines after four years of the project. Photo @ Peter Harrison, Southern Cross University

Listen to a new podcast interview with Dr. Peter Harrison, Director of the Marine Ecology Research Center at Southern Cross University about his mass larval propagation and restoration projects in the Philippines and Australia. We got a chance to sit down with Dr. Harrison during the Great Barrier Reef Restoration Symposium in Cairns, Australia and ask about the methods he’s used for restoration, what has led to success in his projects, and advice for managers and practitioners interested in starting restoration projects.

Listen to the interview

Interview Transcript
Reef Resilience (RR): Hi everyone! Today, Reef Resilience is interviewing Dr. Peter Harrison, Director of the Marine Ecology Research Center at Southern Cross University about his coral restoration efforts in the Indo-Pacific. Peter, can you briefly describe the coral restoration projects that you’ve done to date in the Philippines – for instance the kinds of methods you’ve used and partners that you’ve worked with to do this project?

Peter Harrison (PH): So what we’ve done so far is eight successful coral larval restoration projects, five in the Philippines and three on the Great Barrier Reef. In the Philippines we’ve been working for the last five years, and what we’re doing is capturing coral spawn from healthy corals, rearing it, and so we’re getting high rates of fertilization, lots of larval development, and raising millions of larvae each year. Then we’re putting those larvae directly back on the reef systems. So our work in larval propagation is a bit different to most other research groups around the world we’re focusing on trying to get the maximum success rates directly on the reef. The interesting thing about the Philippines is these are really highly degraded reef systems – they used to have spectacular coral cover – and with blast fishing over many decades, Crown-of-Thorns outbreaks, bleaching, typhoons, everything thrown at it, the the reef is now moribund and there is no natural recruitment happening at a scale that will help that reef recover naturally. So what we’re doing is catching the last remnants of the healthy populations, breeding millions of coral larvae, and putting them back on the reef, and we’re getting some fantastic results.

RR: That’s great. Actually, my question for you is about your results. Do you think these projects have been successful and what do you think has led to their success?

PH: The project outcomes have been fantastic, as good as we would’ve hoped given how bad these reef systems are, so it offers a little bit of hope for what might do in other regions around the world where really highly degraded reef systems have become the norm on what was really spectacular coral reef environments. So what we’ve done so far is we’ve used a range of different coral species, some fast growing Acropora and some slower growing brain corals, and among the fast growing corals we are getting spectacular results. We’re getting growth that’s occurring so quickly that we’re getting breeding initially after 3 years after the larval settled on the reef, so they’ve grown now up to a half meter in diameter – so really, really fast growth. This last year and a couple of years ago, we captured the spawn from the three corals that we’ve settled as larvae and have grown to breeding size and we put those larvae back into other parts of the reef. Surprisingly, we have even faster growth rates in the second generation of corals and we now have the world’s fastest growth to breeding age of any Acropora in the world, so we’ve got a world record. They’ve become breeding age and size at 2 years. So we’ve closed the life cycle directly on the reef for the first time within 2 years, and even highly degraded systems are amenable to this sort of work.

RR: So you have a lot of experience in this area and have done a lot of work, and I was wondering for our managers if you have any advice for new people that are starting in this field – managers or scientists or practitioners?

PH: Yes, there’s great opportunities. Each reef system is a little bit unique, the circumstances are unique, what sort of resources are available, what condition the reef is in, whether or not it’s still got three-dimensional structure that can provide habitats for coral larvae, if it’s been completely wiped out by major typhoons/cyclone impacts and is stripped bare, then you might need to think about some sort of three-dimensional structure coming back in with some fragmentation studies to slow the movement of water down to allow coral larvae in the future to increase in terms of recruitment. I guess the other key message is that we know that probably 95% of the so-called coral restoration projects have relied on fragmentation, and we’ve seen relatively few of those truly successful. The larger scale nursery processes, even though they are more expensive, that are working in the Caribbean with endangered Acropora species are a good example of how large-groups, really well-focused, thinking of this over multi-year programs, can actually come up with a meaningful increase in biomass. But we are still operating at small scale, and one of the advantages of the larval restoration approach is theoretically you can scale this up to much large scales than we are currently doing with asexual fragmentation and coral gardening approaches. We’ve got to two 100 meter square patches of reefs that we’ve been dealing with on the Great Barrier Reef and more recently back in the Philippines. My aim now is to build to a half hectare and then 1 hectare areas with this mass larval restoration process and hopefully in the future we’ll be operating at kilometer scales. When we are operating at kilometer scales, you’re really talking about reef restoration as opposed to smaller scale coral restoration.

RR: Well you’ve given us a lot to think about and provided a lot of great information, so thank you so much for sitting down with us today.

PH: You’re very welcome.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone