有效海洋保護區的五大特徵

格雷厄姆·埃德加博士和他的24合著者最近發表了他們的文章“全球保護成果取決於海洋保護區的五個關鍵特徵”,從而激起了海洋保護世界。 在本文中,他們使用作者和訓練有素的休閒潛水員生成的數據,回顧了全球87站點(964國家)的40 MPA。

新聞埃德加等人的地圖

他們的總體結論是“生物多樣性公約”的全球保護目標 這完全基於海洋保護區的範圍 不要優化對生物多樣性的保護。 他們發現有效的海洋保護區(以生物多樣性,大型魚類生物量和鯊魚生物量衡量)需要具有以下特徵的4或5:禁止使用,執行良好,> 10歲,> 100 km2 大小,用深水或沙子隔離。 不幸的是,只有9 MPA的87具有這些特徵的4或5,其餘大多數MPA在生態上與非MPA無法區分。 作者希望認真對待生物多樣性結果的保護區將採用5特徵(如果可能的話),並迅速看到一個地點具有區域高生物量和物種數量的潛力的快速增加。 您可以 在這裡找到論文看到一個對話 與一些作者。

我們向埃德加博士詢問了一些問題,這就是他所說的:

較小,較新或未分離的MPA的經理可以從本文中獲得什麼,因為他們可能無法影響這些因素?

注重良好的執法,最好是通過當地社區的良好意願,並在必要時通過改善警務。 較新的海洋保護區將會老化,因此,如果有良好的執法和一些禁區,大多數地方都可以實現生物多樣性目標。 然而,這並不能保證,因此需要進行生態監測,以了解哪些是有效的,哪些可以改進,而不是假設海底都很好。

關於與訓練有素,技術熟練的休閒潛水員合作收集本研究的數據:您對與其休閒潛水員合作(或想與之合作)進行監測計劃的珊瑚礁管理者有什麼建議? 這部分數據收集的哪些方面取得了成功?
我們發現在調查過程中團體參與有所幫助,在激勵時更有樂趣,志同道合的潛水員可以相互交流。 此外,對珊瑚礁生命調查(RLS)志願者潛水員的一對一培訓和支持是一致數據收集的基礎。 我們的潛水員可以看到他們的努力直接有助於改善海洋保護管理。 實際上,六年前從RLS計劃開始的所有活躍潛水員仍然熱情並繼續參與,這是一個非常積極的統計數據。

做這項研究最讓你驚訝的是什麼?
在生物學方面:即使在孤立的無人居住的島嶼上,除了海洋保護區以外,潛水員幾乎看不到鯊魚和其他大型掠食性魚類。 與僅在十年或兩年前在同一地區巡航遊艇和潛水員的報告相比,近年來大型魚類和龍蝦的人口數量急劇下降似乎很明顯。

在治理方面:發展中國家和南半球正在努力建立MPA網絡。 儘管巨大的生態壓力和海洋生物多樣性資產顯著且獨特但卻在惡化,歐洲和亞洲大陸國家的有效海洋保護區很少。

這項研究的哪一部分讓您對海洋保護區的未來感到最樂觀?
最近在偏遠地區建立大型禁捕海洋保護區是一個非常積極的步驟。 當然,這只是全球MPA系統的一個組成部分 - 我們當然需要各種規模的有效海洋保護區,以涵蓋全球所有生態系統類型 - 但很高興看到建立一些有助於大範圍物種生存的避難所,至少在熱帶地區。

por youjizz xmxx 老師xxx 性別

Interview with Dr. Graham Edgar

Five Characteristics of Effective MPAs

Dr. Graham Edgar and his 24 co-authors recently stirred up the marine conservation world with their article, “Global conservation outcomes depend on marine protected areas five key features”. In this article, they review 87 MPAs at 964 sites (in 40 countries) around the world using data generated by the authors and trained recreational divers.

News Edgar et al map

Their overall conclusion is that global conservation targets for the Convention on Biological Diversity that are solely based on the area of MPAs do not optimize protection of biodiversity. They found that effective MPAs (measured by biodiversity, large fish biomass, and shark biomass) needed to have 4 or 5 of the following characteristics: no-take, well enforced, >10 years old, >100 km2 in size, and be isolated by deep water or sand. Unfortunately, only 9 of the 87 MPAs had 4 or 5 of those characteristics, most of the remainder of MPAs were ecologically indistinguishable from non MPAs. The authors hope that reserves that are serious about biodiversity outcomes will adopt the 5 characteristics (when possible) and quickly see a rapid increase in the potential of a site to have regionally high biomass and species numbers. You can find the paper here, and see a conversation with some of the authors.

We asked Dr. Edgar some questions and here is what he said:

What can a manager of a smaller, newer, or not isolated MPA take from this paper, as they might not be able to influence those factors?

Concentrate on good enforcement, ideally through good will from the local community, and also through improved policing if required. Newer MPAs will age, so with good enforcement and some no-take zones, biodiversity goals are achievable in most locations. This is not assured, however, so ecological monitoring is needed to understand what is working and what can be improved, rather than assuming all is fine under the sea.

In regards to working with trained, skilled, recreational divers to collect data for this study: what would you recommend to coral reef managers who work with (or want to work with) recreational divers for their monitoring programs? What aspects of this part of the data collection led to success?
We found group participation helped during surveys, which were more enjoyable when motivated and like-minded divers could interact with each other. Also, one-on-one training and support to Reef Life Survey (RLS) volunteer divers is fundamental to consistent data gathering. Our divers can see that their efforts contribute directly to improved marine conservation management. Virtually all of the active divers from the start of the RLS program six years ago remain enthusiastic and continue to participate, a very positive statistic.

What surprised you the most in doing this study?
In terms of biology: the near absence of sharks and other large predatory fishes sighted by divers other than in MPAs, even off isolated unpopulated islands. By comparison with reports from cruising yachts and divers in the same areas only a decade or two ago, it seems clear that population numbers of big fishes and lobsters have declined precipitously in recent years.

In terms of governance: the fact that the developing world and the Southern Hemisphere are leading efforts to establish MPA networks. European and continental Asian countries have very few effective MPAs, despite huge ecological stresses and marine biodiversity assets that are remarkable and unique, but deteriorating.

What part of this research has made you feel the most optimistic for the future of MPAs?
The recent establishment of large no-take MPAs in isolated regions is a very positive step. Of course this is only one component of a global MPA system – we certainly need effective MPAs of a variety of sizes to encompass all ecosystem types worldwide – but it is great to see some refuges established that will assist the survival of large wide-ranging species, at least in the tropics.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone