社會適應力

Mulutseribu海藻農場,印度尼西亞。 照片©凱文阿諾德

社會適應力被定義為人類社區應對和適應社會,政治,環境或經濟變革等壓力的能力。 文獻 由於人類可以預測和準備未來的條件,管理者需要考慮與依賴珊瑚礁的社區合作,以了解他們對珊瑚礁狀況變化的脆弱性,並支持適應工作。 健康和繁榮的人有更多的選擇,因此,他們更有能力確保他們的活動支持而不是削弱生態系統的複原力。 重視沿海社區可持續性的管理計劃也更有可能受益於更強大的社區支持,降低的交易成本和更高的合規性。 簡而言之,珊瑚礁管理者通過投資支持社會復原力 基於生態系統的適應 更有可能實現其長期保護目標。 文獻

馬達加斯加海洋保護區(MPAs)的社會適應能力

使用社會經濟監測數據,Cinner等。 (2009)審查了包含若干社區的MPA中社會生態系統規模的社會復原力方面。 他們通過家庭調查以及與關鍵信息提供者和社區領導者的訪談收集信息。 馬達加斯加海洋保護區的地方社會復原力的幾個方面似乎非常可取。 生計戰略和以資源棲息地禁忌形式管理海洋資源的正式機構的靈活性似乎提供了一些適應性管理海洋資源的能力。 與該地區其他國家相比,參與社區組織和決策的程度很高。

馬達加斯加漁民,Andavadoaka。 圖片來源:Ida Vincent

馬達加斯加漁民,Andavadoaka。 圖片來源:Ida Vincent

如果得到解決,社會組織中的一些明顯弱點可能有助於將網站的社會生態系統轉向更理想的配置。 家庭和社區都缺乏資產。 對社區的科學信息反饋不佳是導致公園員工和社區之間信任度低的一個關鍵因素。 低水平的正規教育既抑制了對影響海洋資源的機制的認識,又抑制了改善這些資源狀況的方法。 地方和大型機構之間的聯繫也很差。

了解社交漏洞和彈性

社會脆弱性和復原力是對珊瑚礁管理至關重要的相關概念。 社會脆弱性衡量的是抵禦衝擊和壓力對生計或福祉的能力。 脆弱性通常被認為包括三個組成部分:暴露,敏感性和適應能力。 文獻 暴露和敏感性決定了系統可能遇到的潛在影響,而適應能力可以緩和潛在影響以確定總體脆弱性。 彈性可以表徵為脆弱性的組成部分 文獻 這決定了系統如何應對變化的風險。 換句話說,彈性是靈敏度和適應能力的組合。 彈性和脆弱性通常被視為彼此的對立面,這適用於任何特定的暴露場景。 然而,彈性最好被視為決定其應對暴露能力的系統屬性,而脆弱性是具有特定彈性的系統的結果,如果它受到特定暴露的影響。

曝光

依賴珊瑚礁的社區和工業受到珊瑚礁生態系統變化的影響。 變化的類型和數量在空間和時間上是變化的,這意味著不同的社區和部門在生態系統變化方面會有所不同。 暴露量決定了實現脆弱性降低所需的彈性量。 珊瑚礁管理者和研究人員是預測珊瑚礁生態系統變化的重要信息來源,可以成為評估脆弱性的關鍵因素。 對於漁民來說,接觸可能會減少目標物種的存量,而對於旅遊業來說,可能會減少主要旅遊景點珊瑚礁的美學效果。

對變化的敏感性

更依賴珊瑚礁提供的產品和服務的社區和個人對生態系統狀況的變化更為敏感。 對依賴性的理解提供了社會系統敏感性的指示,當與暴露知識(即資源狀況/可用性的預測變化)相結合時,可以幫助管理者評估潛在影響。 由於社會(例如,地方依戀,職業身份,家庭環境,就業能力和網絡的質量和質量),經濟(例如,收入,業務規模和商業方法)和環境(資源使用),人們可能依賴珊瑚礁,特殊性,價值觀,態度,觀念和對威脅的理解)屬性。

潛在影響

潛在影響描述了在沒有適應的情況下系統的脆弱性。 例如,如果企業不適應,目標物種庫存預計下降對漁業的潛在影響可能是完全的經濟崩潰。

適應能力

適應能力涉及人們轉換資源(包括金融,自然,人類,社會或物理)以適應暴露情景的能力,因為它們對變化敏感(即資源依賴性)。 對於漁民而言,這可能轉化為他們投資替代漁具的能力,通過學習獲得新技能,並形成合作社以使捕撈成分多樣化並提高利潤率以補償目標物種的減少庫存。 與自適應能力相關的關鍵屬性是: 文獻

  • 能夠管理風險和不確定性
  • 擁有戰略,計劃,實驗,學習和重組的技能
  • 吸收改變的緩衝
  • 對變革的興趣

社會脆弱性的組成部分和可能影響依賴珊瑚礁的社會系統的暴露,敏感性和適應能力的特徵的例子。 改編自 Wongbusarakum和Loper 2011.

Providing girls with reproductive choices allows them to delay their first pregnancy until after they have completed their education. © Ida Vincent

Communities and individuals that are more dependent on the goods and services provided by reefs are more sensitive to change in ecosystem condition. Future generations depend on good management decisions being made today. Photo © Ida Vincent

Social resilience is defined as the ability of a community to cope with and adapt to stresses such as social, political, environmental or economic change. ref  Because humans have the ability to anticipate and prepare for future conditions, managers need to consider working with reef-dependent communities to understand their vulnerability to changes in reef condition and to support adaptation efforts. Healthy and prosperous people have more options available to them, and thus, are more capable of ensuring their activities are supporting, rather than eroding, ecosystem resilience. Management programs that value sustainability of coastal communities are also more likely to benefit from stronger community support, reduced transaction costs and increased compliance. In short, coral reef managers that invest in supporting social resilience through ecosystem-based adaptation are more likely to achieve their long-term conservation goals. ref

Social Resilience in Madagascar’s Marine Protected Areas (MPAs)

Malagasy fishermen, Andavadoaka. Photo Credit: Ida Vincent

Malagasy fishermen, Andavadoaka. Photo Credit: Ida Vincent

Using socioeconomic monitoring data, Cinner et al. (2009) examined aspects of social resilience at the scale of the social-ecological system in an MPA that encompassed several communities. They gathered information using household surveys and interviews with key informants and community leaders. Several aspects of local-level social resilience in Madagascar’s MPAs appeared quite desirable. Flexibility in both livelihood strategies and the formal institutions governing marine resources in the form of resource-habitat taboos appeared to provide some ability to adaptively manage marine resources. Involvement in community organizations and decision making was high relative to other countries in the region.

Several apparent weaknesses in social organization, if addressed, could help move the social-ecological system of the sites toward a more desirable configuration. Both households and communities lacked assets. Poor feedback of scientific information to communities was a key factor contributing to low levels of trust between park staff and communities. Low levels of formal education inhibited both the recognition of the mechanisms that affect marine resources and the perception of ways to improve the condition of those resources. There were also poor links between local and larger-scale institutions.

Understanding Social Vulnerability and Resilience

Social vulnerability and resilience are related concepts that are important to coral reef management. Social vulnerability is a measure of the ability to withstand shocks and stresses to livelihood or wellbeing. Vulnerability is usually considered to comprise three components: exposure, sensitivity and adaptive capacity. ref  Exposure and sensitivity determine the potential impact that a system could experience, while adaptive capacity moderates potential impact to determine total vulnerability. Resilience can be characterized as the components of vulnerability ref that determine how a system copes with exposure to change. In other words, resilience is a combination of sensitivity and adaptive capacity. Often resilience and vulnerability are viewed as opposites of each other, and this holds true for any particular exposure scenario. However, resilience is best seen as the properties of the system that determine its ability to cope with exposure, and vulnerability is the outcome for a system with a particular resilience if it is subject to a specific exposure.

Exposure

Reef-dependent communities and industries are affected by changes in coral reef ecosystems. The type and amount of change is variable in space and time, meaning that different communities and sectors will vary in their exposure to ecosystem change. The amount of exposure determines the amount of resilience required to achieve a particular reduction in vulnerability. Coral reef managers and researchers are important sources of information on predicted changes to reef ecosystems, and can be key contributors to efforts to assess vulnerability. For fishers, exposure may take the form of reduced stock of targeted species, while for a tourism business it may be decreased aesthetics of coral reefs at key tourism sites.

Sensitivity to Change

Communities and individuals that are more dependent on the goods and services provided by reefs are more sensitive to change in ecosystem condition. An understanding of dependency provides an indication of the sensitivity of the social system, which when combined with knowledge of exposure (predicted changes in resource condition/availability) can help managers assess potential impacts. People can be dependent on coral reefs because of social (e.g. place attachment, occupational identity, family circumstances, employability and extent and quality of networks), economic (e.g. income, size of business and business approach) and environmental (resource use, specialization, values, attitudes, perceptions and understanding of threats) attributes.

Potential Impact

Potential impacts describe the vulnerability of a system in the absence of adaptation. For example, the potential impact on a fishery of predicted declines in stocks of targeted species might be complete economic collapse if businesses do not adapt.

Adaptive Capacity

Adaptive capacity relates to the ability of people to convert resources (including financial, natural, human, social or physical) to adapt to a particular exposure scenario given their sensitivity to change (i.e. their resource dependency). This might translate, for fishers for example, into their ability to invest in alternative fishing gear, acquire new skills through learning and form a cooperative to diversify catch composition and increase profit yields to compensate for reduced stocks of target species. Key attributes associated with adaptive capacity are ref :

  • Ability to manage risk and uncertainty
  • Possession of skills for strategy, planning, experimenting, learning and reorganizing
  • Buffers for absorbing change
  • Interest in change

Components of social vulnerability and examples of characteristics that can influence exposure, sensitivity and adaptive capacity of reef-dependent social systems. Adapted from Wongbusarakum and Loper 2011.

Return to Top

Last updated August 1, 2017

Translate »