幼蟲繁殖

Staghorn珊瑚在甘蔗灣,聖克羅伊。 照片©Kemit-Amon Lewis / TNC

珊瑚採用兩種根本不同的繁殖方式。 有性生殖 涉及珊瑚配子(即卵子和精子)被釋放或“產生”到水柱中,匯集在一起,創造出基因獨特的珊瑚群落。 無性繁殖 包括創造基因相同的珊瑚群(或“克隆”)。 這種情況雖然是破碎,但珊瑚群落斷裂並長成新的殖民地,或出芽,珊瑚息肉分裂成兩個相同的息肉。 萌芽是允許珊瑚群體變大的過程。 主動傳播努力可以採用這兩種模式,具有不同的成本和益處。

成功繁殖和招募具有不同性狀的新珊瑚對於恢復珊瑚種群至關重要。 如果珊瑚種群數量較少,即使採取其他管理行動,有限的招募也會顯著抑制珊瑚礁的恢復。 本節描述了利用有性生殖過程通過幼蟲繁殖方法恢復珊瑚種群的步驟。

收集鹿角珊瑚珊瑚配子。 照片©Barry Brown / SECORE International

收集鹿角珊瑚珊瑚配子。 照片©Barry Brown / SECORE International

利用有性繁殖進行珊瑚恢復的最重要的好處是能夠大幅度擴大珊瑚種植的數量,與眾多珊瑚物種和形態一起工作,並增加珊瑚礁珊瑚的遺傳多樣性。 雖然大規模珊瑚產卵事件每年僅發生1-3次,但這些事件可以提供數百萬隻嬰兒珊瑚 - 每種都代表一種新的遺傳個體。

當然,幼蟲繁殖技術也存在挑戰。 例如,大多數珊瑚產卵事件發生在夜間,珊瑚幼蟲在顯微鏡下很小並且易受傷害,並且幼蟲對成功沉降和變態具有特定的生態要求。 因此,需要相當多的經驗和準備來解決這些恢復技術,並鼓勵與專家進行進一步的實踐學習。

觀看最新紀錄片 關於SECORE的幼蟲繁殖技術。

Secore_Logo_RGB

此內容由SECORE International開發。 欲了解更多信息,請聯繫 info@secore.org 或訪問他們的網站 secore.org.

Corals employ two fundamentally different modes of reproduction. Sexual reproduction involves coral gametes (i.e., eggs and sperm) being liberated or ‘spawned’ into the water column that come together and create genetically unique coral colonies. Asexual reproduction includes the creation of coral colonies that are genetically identical (or ‘clones’). This occurs though fragmentation, where pieces of a coral colony break off and grow into new colonies, or budding, where a coral polyp splits into two identical polyps. Budding is the process allowing coral colonies to grow larger. Active propagation efforts can employ both of these modes, with differing costs and benefits.

Successful reproduction and recruitment of new corals with diverse traits are essential for restoring coral populations. If coral populations are low, limited recruitment can significantly inhibit coral reef recovery even with other management actions in place. This section describes the steps involved with restoring coral populations through larval propagation methods utilizing the sexual reproduction process.

 

Collecting coral gametes from Acropora corals. Photo © Barry Brown/SECORE International

Collecting coral gametes from Acropora corals. Photo © Barry Brown/SECORE International

 

The most important benefits of utilizing sexual reproduction for coral restoration is the ability to dramatically scale up the number of coral outplants, work with numerous coral species and morphologies, and increase the genetic diversity of corals on reefs. Although mass coral spawning events occur only 1-3 times per year, these events can provide millions of baby corals – each of which represents a new genetic individual.

Of course, there are also challenges to larval propagation techniques. For instance, most coral spawning events occur at night, coral larvae are microscopically small and vulnerable, and larvae have specific ecological requirements for successful settlement and metamorphosis. Thus, considerable experience and preparation are required to tackle these restoration techniques and further hands-on learning with experts is encouraged.

 

Secore_Logo_RGB

 

This content was developed with SECORE International. For more information, contact info@secore.org or visit their website at secore.org.

 

 

Return to Top

Last updated August 13, 2018

Translate »