選址

Staghorn珊瑚在甘蔗灣,聖克羅伊。 照片©Kemit-Amon Lewis / TNC

選址有助於確定主動修復是否是一種適當的管理策略,以及哪種方法最適合項目。 選擇地點還可以幫助量化珊瑚種植需求的規模,並找到可能增加珊瑚種植成功可能性的區域,最終幫助您確定項目的可行性。

以下三個因素可幫助您確定要恢復的區域(如果有):1)場地的生態歷史; 2)場地的生物和物理特徵; 和3)恢復的可行性。

網站歷史

可以識別以前的珊瑚群落或“參考站點”嗎?

選擇那些有證據表明珊瑚物種恢復繁殖後的地點

  • 在某些情況下,您的場地可能會退化,無法確定場地中的天然珊瑚群落是什麼樣的,應該重建哪些珊瑚物種,或珊瑚密度最好。 在這種情況下,您應該在潛在的恢復位置附近標識“參考”站點或社區。
  • 選擇參考地點有助於確定該地點的環境條件是否已經發生變化,珊瑚物種或社區將不再繁榮。
  • 如果無法找到附近的參考站點或社區,這可能表明由於環境條件惡劣,該區域的恢復可能不會成功,並且應該對由於尋找源珊瑚的潛在困難而導致恢復的可行性提出疑問。

現場條件

哪些網站適合修復?

  • 如果恢復的主要原因是為了增加特定珊瑚物種的數量,那麼選擇能夠為這一人口提供良好環境的指標將是重要的。
  • 如果恢復的主要原因是為了加強漁業等生態系統服務,那麼其他環境條件,地點或方法可能更有價值,並影響哪些地點最有效。
  • 旨在恢復珊瑚礁以加強沿海保護的項目可以使用 海洋財富地圖集,其中顯示了可能對增加沿海保護產生更大影響的區域。
  • 對於種植外活動,管理者應該找到有條件支持健康珊瑚群落的地點,並且可以更加適應溫暖的海面溫度等壓力事件。 在開始修復之前,可以進行“事實調查”練習,以比較潛在的地點及其環境或生態質量。 以下指標通常用於評估網站的彈性:
  • 現有野生種群 - 珊瑚物種目前被種植或在歷史上繁榮的珊瑚礁可以成為珊瑚礁場地的良好候選者。 但是,在恢復開始之前,應該消除該物種退化和衰退的原因。 應對現有珊瑚進行調查,以確定其在種植過程中的環境壓力,捕食,漂白,疾病和藻類過度生長的程度。
  • 父母殖民地的起源 - 如果育苗珊瑚是從供體群落中提取的,那麼將種植珊瑚的親本殖民地的環境條件或苗圃地的條件與提高整體生存率相匹配可能會有所幫助。
  • 網站深度 - 珊瑚移植的深度應與珊瑚物種正常生長的深度相似。 這可以通過尋找供體集落的深度或通過調查其他珊瑚礁地點上的珊瑚物種的野生菌落來確定。
  • 底部類型 - 應避免使用鬆散碎石或材料的區域,以及過多的沙子,細粒沙子和與沈積物結合的草皮藻類。
  • 水質 - 場地應具有良好的水質,例如良好的光穿透性和低水平的沉積物和營養物質。 應避免流域排放場附近的區域。
  • 生物壓力源 - 應避免珊瑚捕食豐富的地區(如蝸牛或海星),珊瑚上的雀鯛地區,或珊瑚與其他底棲空間競爭者(如藻類,海綿,柳珊瑚,火珊瑚)之間的高水平競爭。
  • 網站可訪問性 - 重要的是外部植物站點易於接近,並且可以在外植後定位,以便可以進行監測。
  • 受保護的狀態 - 外部植物場所應該在人類活動水平降低的地區,這些地區可能會對外植物造成傷害。 在海洋保護區內或遊客或漁民較少訪問的地區進行種植可以減少潛在的損害並增加外生存活率。
  • 整體珊瑚礁的恢復力和健康狀況 - 應進行一般的珊瑚礁調查,以確保外部場地的整體健康狀況。 大自然保護協會制定了評估標準,通過調查幾種不同的彈性因素來評估潛在外植體的整體生態健康狀況。 此調查基於修改後的版本 AGRRA。 網站的所有因素都會加在一起,而排名最高的網站則會成為外包工作的目標。 到目前為止,基於該系統的彈性評分較高的站點記錄了更好的外植體存活率。
大自然保護協會選擇種植場地的評估標準。 圖片來源:TNC的Kemit Amon-Lewis。
標準測量得分:1得分:2得分:3
水質當地知識沒有問題適度的問題; 通常在下雨之後已知問題和點放電源
當地知識恆定流量適度流動潟湖; 有時候還是
Acroporids測量豐度> 50菌落25-50菌落
珊瑚組合測量%覆蓋率和多樣性> 20%覆蓋率和> 50%珊瑚屬> 20%覆蓋率或> 50%珊瑚屬
diadema測量豐度> 5025-50
雀鯛每個菌落測量%捕食標記5,15%> 15%
海藻測量%覆蓋率1,5%6,10%> 10%
Corallivores測量豐度01-15> 15
健康測量%漂白和變色0%1,20%> 20%

現場可行性

移植區域的大小,珊瑚種類和移植來源?

為了確定一個地點是否可以恢復,建議進行實況調查,同時考慮以下幾點:

  • 需要種植的區域的範圍:由於移植成本與恢復區成正比,因此要測量移植髮生的總面積。 考慮成本以及您是否能夠實現恢復項目的範圍和規模以使其成功。
  • 哪種珊瑚適合種植:大多數恢復計劃與分枝物種(如acroporids和pocilloporids)一起使用,因為它們生長迅速並為小型魚類和無脊椎動物生成重要的棲息地。 然而,這些珊瑚可能更容易受到漂白和風暴的影響。 因此,巨石物種也很重要,因為它們構建了礁石結構,並且通常比分枝珊瑚更能容忍壓力。 應考慮採用各種珊瑚物種和類型進行恢復,以盡量降低風險。
  • 用於托兒所和外植的珊瑚碎片的當地來源:捐贈地點,苗圃地點和修復地點的接近是重要的考慮因素。 您還需要確定是否需要珊瑚苗圃而不僅僅是採取源珊瑚或“機會珊瑚”(珊瑚礁上的天然碎片,生存機會很低)。 使用源站點的船隻不應超過30-60分鐘,以盡量減少壓力和珊瑚碎片的損失。 有關這方面的更多信息,請參閱 無性繁殖收集 頁。

Site selection can help determine whether active restoration is an appropriate management strategy and which methods best suit the project. Selecting sites can also help quantify the scale of coral outplanting needs and locate areas that may increase the likelihood of success for coral outplants, ultimately helping you determine the feasibility of the project.

Below are three factors that help you determine which (if any) areas to restore: 1) the ecological history of a site; 2) the biological and physical characteristics of a site; and 3) the feasibility for restoration.

Site history: Can a previous coral community or “reference site” be identified?

 Select sites where there’s evidence that the coral species being restored once thrived

  • In some cases, your site may be degraded and it is not possible to determine what natural coral communities in the site looked like, which coral species should be reestablished, or what coral densities are best. In such cases, you should identify a “reference” site or community near the potential restoration location.
  • Selecting a reference site can help to determine whether the environmental conditions in that site have changed such that the coral species or community will no longer thrive.
  • If a reference site or community nearby cannot be located, this could be a sign that restoration may not be successful in that area due to poor environmental conditions, and should call into question the feasibility of restoration due to potential difficulties finding source corals.

Site conditions: What sites are suitable for restoration?

  • If the primary reason for restoration is to enhance a population of a particular coral species, then selecting for indicators that suggest a good environment for this population will be important.
  • If the primary reason for restoration is to enhance ecosystem services, such as fisheries, then other environmental conditions, sites, or methods may be more valuable and affect which sites will work best.
  • Projects aimed at restoring coral reefs to enhance coastal protection can use the Atlas of Ocean Wealth, which shows areas that are likely to have a higher impact for increasing coastal protection.
  • For outplanting activities, managers should locate sites that have conditions that support healthy coral communities and may be more resilient to stressful events like warm sea surface temperatures. Prior to starting restoration, a “fact-finding” exercise can be undertaken to compare potential sites and their environmental or ecological quality. The following indicators are often used to evaluate the resilience of sites:
  • Existing wild populations – reefs where the coral species being outplanted currently or have historically thrived can be good candidates for a reef site. However, the causes of degradation and decline for that species should be removed before restoration begins. Surveys should be done of existing corals to determine their level of environmental stress, predation, bleaching, disease, and algal overgrowth before outplanting occurs.
  • Origin of parent colonies – if nursery corals were raised from donor colonies, it may be helpful to match the environmental conditions of the outplanted coral’s parent colonies or to the conditions of the nursery site to enhance overall survivorship.
  • Site depth – depths at which corals will be transplanted should be similar to the depths where the coral species normally grows. This can be determined by finding the depths of donor colonies or by surveying wild colonies of the coral species on other reef sites.
  • Bottom type – areas with loose rubble or materials, as well as excessive sand, fine-grained sand, and turf algae that binds to sediment should be avoided.
  • Water quality – sites should have good water quality, such as good light penetration and low levels of sediment and nutrients. Areas near watershed discharge sites should be avoided.
  • Biological stressors – areas with high coral predator abundance (such as snails or sea stars), damselfish territories on corals, or high levels of competition between corals and other benthic space competitors (e.g., algae, sponges, gorgonians, fire corals) should be avoided.
  • Site accessibility – it is important that outplant sites be easily accessible and can be located after outplanting so that monitoring can be conducted.
  • Protected status – outplant sites should be in areas with reduced levels of human activities that can cause damage to outplants. Conducting outplanting within MPAs or in areas that are less visited by tourists or fishermen can reduce potential damage and increase outplant survivorship.
  • Overall reef site resilience and health – general reef surveys should be conducted to ensure high overall health of the outplant site. The Nature Conservancy has developed evaluation criteria to rate the overall ecological health of potential outplant sites by surveying several different resilience factors. This survey is based on a modified version of the AGRRA. All factors for a site are added together, and sites that rank highest are targeted for outplanting efforts. So far, better outplant survivorship has been recorded at sites that had higher resilience scores based on this system.
The Nature Conservancy evaluation criteria for selecting outplanting sites. Credit: Kemit Amon-Lewis, TNC.
CriteriaMeasureScore: 1Score: 2Score: 3
Water qualityLocal area knowledgeNo issuesModerate issues; typically after rain eventsKnown issues and point sources of discharge
FlowLocal area knowledgeConstant flowModerate flowLagoonal; sometimes still
AcroporidsMeasured abundance>50 colonies25-50 colonies<25 colonies
Coral assemblageMeasured % cover and diversity>20% coverage and >50% coral genera>20% coverage or >50% coral genera<20% coverage and <50% coral genera
DiademaMeasured abundance>5025-50<25
DamselfishMeasured % predation mark per colony<5%5-15%>15%
MacroalgaeMeasured % coverage1-5%6-10%>10%
CorallivoresMeasured abundance01-15>15
HealthMeasured % bleaching and paling0%1-20%>20%

Site feasibility: Size of transplantation area, coral species, and source of transplants?

To determine whether a site is feasible for restoration, a fact-finding mission is advised, taking into consideration the following points:

  • The extent of the areas requiring outplanting: As the cost of transplantation will be proportional to the restoration area, measure the total area where transplantation will occur. Consider costs and whether you will be able to achieve the scope and scale of the restoration project for it to be successful.
  • Which coral species are appropriate for outplanting: Most restoration programs work with branching species (like acroporids and pocilloporids) because they are fast-growing and generate important habitat for small fish and invertebrates. However, these corals may be more vulnerable to bleaching and storm impacts. Thus, boulder species are also important because they build reef structure and are often more tolerant of stressors than branching corals. A broad range of coral species and types should be considered for restoration to minimize risk.
  • Local sources of coral fragments for nurseries and outplanting: Proximity of the donor sites, nursery location, and restoration sites for outplanting are important considerations. You also need to determine whether a coral nursery is required versus simply taking source corals or “corals of opportunity” (natural fragments on the reef that have a poor chance of survival). Source sites should be no more than 30-60 minutes away by boat to minimize stress and loss of coral fragments. More information on this is provided in the Population Enhancement Collection page.

Resources

Reef Rehabilitation Manual (pdf, 5.2M)

Monitoring Functional Groups of Herbivorous Reef Fishes as Indicators of Coral Reef Resilience – A Practical Guide for Coral Reef Managers in the Asia-Pacific Region (pdf, 3.1M)

Global Bleaching Database (pdf, 1.9M)

Atlas of Ocean Wealth – Mapping Ocean Ecosystem Services

Return to Top

Last updated October 20, 2017

Translate »