المديرين في العمل

في عالم سريع التغير ، تعد قدرة الشعاب المرجانية على الاستجابة والتحديات والتكيف مع التحديات المستقبلية ضرورية للنظم الإيكولوجية البحرية والمجتمعات المعتمدة على الشعاب في جميع أنحاء العالم. ولتحقيق ذلك ، دعمت الشبكة أكثر من مديري الشعاب المرجانية 1,250 من بلدان وأقاليم 66 لحضور التدريبات الشخصية والتبادلات التعليمية لاكتساب الخبرة في تقييم مرونة الشعاب المرجانية الخاصة بهم وتلقي إرشادات الخبراء حول كيفية دمج مفاهيم المرونة في المرونة المحلية المشاريع.

مدير الأضواء
مدير الأضواء
مدير الأضواء
مدير الأضواء

منحت الشبكة منحا تمويلية أولية للمشاركين في 50 لتسريع تنفيذ المشاريع التي تم تطويرها خلال تدريبات Reef Resilience. حتى الآن ، تم تخصيص أكثر من $ 95,000 للمشاريع الميدانية في جميع أنحاء العالم لدعم الإدارة والحماية الفعالة للشعاب المرجانية. لتحقيق ذلك ، قدمنا ​​الدعم للمديرين لاستكمال المشاريع التي:

  • بناء مهارات المتخصصين في الشعاب المرجانية
  • التواصل مع المجتمعات المحلية
  • إجراء البحوث لإعلام الإدارة
  • تنفيذ خطط الإدارة والاستراتيجيات

لمعرفة المزيد حول مشاريع التمويل الأولية ، اقرأ قصص النجاح من أعضاء الشبكة أدناه.

مهارات بناء محترفي الشعاب المرجانية

توفر هذه المشروعات المعلومات والأدوات والاستراتيجيات لتعزيز مهارات المهنيين العاملين في الحفاظ على الشعاب المرجانية وتمكينهم من دمج مفاهيم المرونة في الإدارة المحلية وتعزيز القدرة على التكيف لأنظمة الشعاب المرجانية.

تشارك دارلا وايت كيف استخدمت الأدوات والموارد من دورة ريف لتدريب المدربين من أجل دعم مشروع تمويلها الأساسي.

مدير الأضواء

قابل دارلا وايت ، مدير الشعاب المرجانية في قسم الموارد المائية في هاواي DLNR ، ماوي. شاركت في ورشة عمل 2011 لتدريب المدربين في جزر المحيط الهادئ (TOT) للتعرف على إدارة مقاومة الشعاب المرجانية وبناء المهارات في تسهيل ورشة العمل. بعد ورش عمل TOT ، تلقت دارلا وشريكها ، إريك كونكلين ، منحة تمويل أولية لقيادة ورش عمل 5 لمقاومة الشعاب المرجانية لجزر هاواي ، للوصول إلى مديري البحرية في 63 ، ومديري الموارد البحرية في المجتمع ، والعلماء. من خلال هذه التدريبات ، جلبوا العلوم والاستراتيجيات الجديدة إلى الوكالات الرئيسية المشاركة في إدارة الشعاب المرجانية (NOAA ، شعبة النظم الإيكولوجية للشعاب المرجانية ، قسم الموارد المائية في هاواي) والعديد من منظمات إدارة المجتمع في جزر 4. سمحت التدريبات الواسعة النطاق لأصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين بالتعرف على مرونة الشعاب وتطبيقها في خطط الإدارة ، وساعدت على التوفيق بين أهداف إدارة الدولة والمجتمع في المستقبل.

المشاركة المجتمعية

تُمكِّن هذه المشاريع أعضاء المجتمع وأصحاب المصلحة ومستخدمي الموارد من الاضطلاع بدور أكثر نشاطًا في الحفاظ على الشعاب المرجانية والخدمات التي يقدمونها وتشجع المجموعات على المشاركة في المشاريع التي تعمل على تحسين قدرة الشعاب المرجانية.

استمع إلى البودكاست أدناه لتستمع إلى مشاركة Yashika Nand في مشروع تمويلها الأساسي وما ألهمها لدراسة أمراض الشعاب المرجانية.

ستيفن جونسون في ياب ، ميكرونيزيا ، إجراء البحوث.

مدير الأضواء

يعمل ستيفن جونسون مع قسم الجودة البيئية في كومنولث جزر ماريانا الشمالية (CNMI). في 2011 ، كان مشاركًا في ورشة عمل تدريب جزر المحيط الهادئ. بعد هذا التدريب ، منحت الشبكة ستيفن منحة تمويل أولية حيث تعاون مع ستيف مكاجان ، عالم الأحياء السمكية مع NOAA ، لقيادة التدريب في سايبان لأعضاء مجتمع 59. عرّف تدريبهم المشاركين على المفاهيم الأساسية لتغير المناخ وتبيض المرجان وقدرته على التدرب وتدريبهم على كيفية إجراء مسوحات مراقبة الشعاب المرجانية ، مما أدى إلى زيادة المشاركة العامة في برامج مراقبة تبيض في سايبان. خلال حدث تبييض 2013 ، كانت هناك زيادة في تقارير تبيض المرجان من قبل الجمهور نتيجة للمشاركة في التدريبات. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، عندما عمل ستيفن على دمج مبادئ المرونة في عمله ، قام بالتواصل مع الدكتور جيفري ماينارد وأجرى بحثًا ميدانيًا أدى إلى منشور حول تقييمات المرونة في مجلة رئيسية.

البحث لإعلام الإدارة

تقوم هذه المشروعات بمراقبة حالة واتجاهات أنظمة الشعاب المرجانية من خلال برامج الرصد والتقييمات لتوجيه قرارات الإدارة المستقبلية بشكل أفضل.

المشاركون في ورشة عمل فالي في مدغشقر. الصورة @ WCS

مدير الأضواء

تعرف على بيمهفالي (فالي) راندريامانانتسوا. بعد حضوره تدريب Reef Resilience في تنزانيا ، أدرك الحاجة إلى دمج مبادئ المرونة في خطط الإدارة الحالية في مدغشقر. بدعم من منحة تمويل أولية من الشبكة ، جمع Faly مديري 26 والصيادين ومشغلي السياحة وأصحاب المصلحة الآخرين في 2013 للتدريب على مقاومة الشعاب المرجانية وتبيض المرجان ، وكيف يمكن للمديرين العمل على الحد من التأثيرات على النظم الإيكولوجية للشعاب المرجانية.

ونتيجة لذلك ، بدأت المجموعة في دمج مبادئ وأنشطة المرونة في خمس خطط إدارة للحدائق البحرية في مدغشقر. يقول بيماهفالي ، "كل عام ، يقومون برصد ، وخطوة خطوة ، يوافقون على دمج معايير مرونة إضافية." لقد حسن التدريب بشكل كبير العلاقات بين المديرين. "قبل التدريب ،" يقول فالي ، "لم يتفاعلوا. بعد التدريب ، لدينا اتصالات. منذ نوفمبر 2013 ، لا تزال مستمرة حتى الآن مع الاتصال والتواصل. "

وجد المشاركون هذه القيمة في اجتماعهم معا ، وأنشأوا لجنة رسمية لمراقبة التبييض. يواصل أفراد المجتمع المحلي الذين كانوا جزءًا من التدريب مراقبة الشعاب المرجانية بحثًا عن أحداث التبييض خلال موسم الطقس الحار السنوي. قامت المجموعة حتى بإعداد صفحة Facebook لمشاركة المعلومات مع بعضها البعض عبر مواقع مختلفة. عندما تحدث التأثيرات ، من التبييض إلى الصيد المدمر أو غير القانوني ، فإنهم ينقلونه على Facebook ويعملون معًا لتقييم التأثير ومعالجته.

تنفيذ خطط الإدارة والاستراتيجيات

تركز هذه المشروعات على تخطيط الإدارة واستراتيجيات الحد من التأثيرات الناتجة عن الضغوطات المحلية والعالمية وتعزيز قدرة الشعاب المرجانية - على سبيل المثال ، وضع خطط استجابة لتبييض المرجان ، ونظام الإنذار بأمراض الشعاب المرجانية ، وخطط إدارة الأنواع الغازية.

Yashika Nand تقديم للمشاركين في ورشة عمل فيجي ريف المرونة.

المقابلة الشخصية

مشروع تمويل البذور ومرض المرجان

مدير الأضواء

قابل ياشيكا ناند ، عالم البحار لمشروع جمعية فيجي لحماية الحياة البرية. شاركت في شبكة Reef Resilience في 2011 عندما تم ترشيحها من قِبل فريقها للمشاركة في دورة Reef Resilience Training of Trainers (TOT) لدعم عملهم على شبكة المناطق البحرية المدارة محليًا في فيجي. خلال دورة TOT ، تلقت Yashika تدريباً على تصميم شبكة MPA المرنة ، وأمراض الشعاب المرجانية ، وعملت مع الخبراء لإنشاء إطار لخطة استجابة للتبييض يمكن تكييفها مع معظم المجتمعات.

بعد دورة تدريب المدربين TOT ، استضافت Yashika وفريقها ورشة عمل فيجي ريف لمرونة 2 لمدة يوم واحد لشركاء FLMMA وممثلي المجتمع لتعريفهم بمبادئ المرونة ومرض الشعاب المرجانية ، وتدريب المديرين على الإدارة التكيفية وتطوير خطط الاستجابة للتبييض الخاصة بالمواقع. خلال ورشة العمل ، استخدمت معلومات عن مرض الشعاب المرجانية من دورة TOT لتعريف شركاء FLMMA وممثلي المجتمع بأمراض الشعاب المرجانية. كان خلال هذا العرض التقديمي ، عندما أقر شركاء FLMMA وممثلو المجتمع أن مرض المرجان كان يؤثر على الشعاب المرجانية ، مما أثار القلق والاهتمام بمعرفة المزيد عن أسباب مرض المرجان في فيجي وكيفية إدارته. بعد ورشة العمل ، قام ممثلو مجتمع 4 بتطوير وتنفيذ خطط استجابة للتبييض لمقاطعاتهم مقتبسة من المعلومات والإطار الذي تعلموه من Yashika. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، عقد شركاء FLMMA وممثلو المجتمع تدريبات على المرونة في المناطق الأخرى بناءً على المعلومات التي تعلموها في ورشة العمل. بعد دورة TOT وورشة فيجي Reef Resilience ، كانت ياشيكا متحمسة للعودة إلى المدرسة للحصول على درجة الماجستير بعد تقديمها لمرض المرجان في دورة TOT. أمضت السنوات الأربع الأخيرة في جامعة المحيط الهادئ في دراسة توزيع أمراض المرجان من أجل توجيه استراتيجيات الإدارة المستقبلية.

استمع إلى مقابلة Yashika لتستمع إلى الأحداث البارزة من مشروع تمويلها الأساسي وما الذي ألهمها لدراسة أمراض الشعاب المرجانية.

Seed Funding Projects

In a rapidly changing world, the ability of coral reefs to respond, recover, and adapt to future challenges is essential to marine ecosystems and reef-dependent communities around the world. To achieve this, the Network has supported more than 1,250 coral reef managers from 66 countries and territories to attend in-person trainings and learning exchanges to gain experience in assessing the resilience of their reefs and receive expert mentorship on how to incorporate resilience concepts into local projects.

The Network awarded seed funding grants to 50 participants to accelerate the implementation of projects developed during Reef Resilience trainings. To date, over $95,000 has been allocated for on-the-ground projects around the world to support effective management and protection of coral reefs. To achieve this we’ve provide support for managers to complete projects that:

  • Build Skills of Coral Reef Professionals
  • Engage with Local Communities
  • Conduct Research to Inform Management
  • Implement Management Plans and Strategies

To learn more about seed funding projects, read success stories from Network Members below.

Building Skills of Coral Reef Professionals 

These projects equip provide information, tools, and strategies to enhance the skills of professionals working in coral reef conservation and enable them to incorporate resilience concepts into local management and boost the adaptive capacity of coral reef systems.

Manager Spotlight

Screen Shot 2017-06-19 at 3.02.27 PM

Darla White share how she used tools and resources from Reef Resilience Training of Trainers course to support her seed funding project.

Meet Darla White, Coral Reef Manager at Hawaii DLNR Division of Aquatic Resources, Maui. She participated in the 2011 Pacific Islands Training of Trainer’s (TOT) workshop to learn about coral reef resilience management and build skills in workshop facilitation. After the TOT workshops, Darla and her partner, Eric Conklin, received a seed funding gran to lead 5 reef resilience workshops for Hawaiian islands, reaching 63 state marine managers, community marine resource managers, and scientists. Through these trainings, they brought new science and strategies to major agencies involved in coral reef management (NOAA, the Coral Reef Ecosystem Division, Hawaii Division of Aquatic Resources) and several community management organizations on the 4 islands. Their wide-reaching trainings allowed major stakeholders to learn about reef resilience and it’s application in management plans, and helped align state and community management goals in the future.

 

Community  Engagement

These projects empower community members, stakeholders, and resource users to take a more active role in sustaining coral reefs and the services they provideand encourage  groups to participate in projects that improve reef resilience.

Manager Spotlight

Steven Johnson in Yap, Micronesia, conducting research.

Steven Johnson works with the Division of Environmental Quality in the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI). In 2011, he was a participant in the Pacific Islands Training of Trainer’s workshop. After this training, the Network awarded Steven a seed funding grant where he partnered with Steve McKagan, a Fisheries Biologist with NOAA, to lead a training in Saipan for 59 community members. Their training introduced participants to the key concepts of climate change, coral bleaching and resilience and trained them on how to conduct coral reef monitoring surveys, leading to an increase in public participation in bleaching monitoring programs in Saipan. During a 2013 bleaching event, there was an increase of reports of coral bleaching by the public as a result of participation in the trainings. In addition, as Steven worked to incorporate resilience principles into his work, he to connected with Dr. Jeffrey Maynard and conducted field research leading to a publication on resilience assessments in a major journal.

 

Research to Inform Management

These projects monitor the status and trends of coral reef systems through monitoring programs and assessments to best inform future management decisions. 

Manager Spotlight

Participants from Madagascar workshop. Credit @ WCS

Participants from Faly’s workshop in Madagascar. Photo @ WCS

Meet Bemahafaly (Faly) Randriamanantsoa. After attending a Reef Resilience training in Tanzania, recognized the needs to incorporate resilience principles into existing management plans in Madagascar. With support from a seed funding grant from the Network, Faly brought together 26 managers, fishermen, tourism operators, and other stakeholders in 2013 for a training about reef resilience, coral bleaching, and how managers can work to reduce impacts to coral ecosystems.

As a result, the group began to incorporate resilience principles and activities into five management plans for marine parks in Madagascar. Bemahafaly says, “Every year, they do monitoring and, step-by-step, they agree to incorporate additional resilience parameters.” The training greatly improved relationships between the managers. “Before the training,” Faly says, “they did not interact. After the training, we have connections. Since November 2013, they still continue until now with the communication and interconnection.”

The participants found such value in meeting together that they established a formal committee to monitor bleaching. Local community members who were part of the training continue to monitor the reefs for bleaching events during the annual warm-weather season. The group even set up a Facebook page to share information with one another across different sites. When impacts occur, from bleaching to destructive or illegal fishing, they communicate it on Facebook and work together to assess and address the impact.

 

Implementing Management Plans and Strategies

These projects focus on management planning and strategies to reduce impacts from local and global stressors and enhance reef resilience—for example, developing coral bleaching response plans, coral disease alert system, and invasive species management plans. 

Manager Spotlight

Yashika Nad presenting to participants during Fiji Reef Resilience Workshop.

Yashika Nand presenting to participants during Fiji Reef Resilience Workshop.

Meet Yashika Nand, marine scientist for the Wildlife Conservation Society Fiji Project. She became involved in the Reef Resilience Network in 2011 when she was nominated by her team to participate in a Reef Resilience Training of Trainers (TOT) course to support their work on Fiji’s Locally Managed Marine Area (FLMMA) network. During the TOT course, Yashika received training on resilient MPA network design, coral disease, and worked with experts to create a framework for a bleaching response plan that can be adapted to most communities.

After the TOT course, Yashika and her team hosted a 2-day Fiji Reef Resilience workshop for FLMMA partners and community representatives to introduce them to resilience principles and coral disease, train managers in adaptive management and develop site specific bleaching response plans. During the workshop, she used information on coral disease from the TOT course to introduce FLMMA partners and community representatives to coral disease. It was during this presentation, when FLMMA partners and community representatives recognized coral disease was effecting their reefs, raising concern and interest in learning more about the causes of coral disease in Fiji and how to manage it. After the workshop, 4 community representatives developed and implemented bleaching response plans for their districts adapted from the information and framework they learned from Yashika. In addition, FLMMA partners and community representatives held resilience trainings for other districts based on the information they learned at the workshop. Following the TOT course and the Fiji Reef Resilience workshop, Yashika was motivated to go back to school to get her Masters Degree after being introduced to coral disease at the TOT course. She spent the last four years at the University of the Pacific studying coral disease distribution in order to guide future management strategies.

Listen to the podcast below to hear Yashika Nand share highlights from her seed funding project and what inspired her to study coral disease.

 

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone