經理人在行動

在瞬息萬變的世界中,珊瑚礁應對,恢復和適應未來挑戰的能力對於世界各地的海洋生態系統和依賴珊瑚礁的社區至關重要。 為實現這一目標,該網絡支持來自1,250國家和地區的66多個珊瑚礁管理人員參加現場培訓和學習交流,以獲得評估其珊瑚礁恢復能力的經驗,並獲得關於如何將抵禦能力概念納入當地的專家指導項目。

經理聚焦
經理聚焦
經理聚焦
經理聚焦

該網絡向50參與者授予種子資金撥款,以加速實施珊瑚礁恢復力培訓期間開發的項目。 迄今為止,已為全世界的實地項目分配了超過$ 95,000,以支持有效管理和保護珊瑚礁。 為實現這一目標,我們為管理人員提供支持,以完成以下項目:

  • 建立珊瑚礁專業人員的技能
  • 與當地社區互動
  • 進行研究以告知管理
  • 實施管理計劃和戰略

要了解有關種子資助項目的更多信息,請閱讀以下網絡成員的成功案例。

建立珊瑚礁專業人員的技能

這些項目裝備提供信息,工具和戰略,以提高珊瑚礁保護專業人員的技能,使他們能夠將抵禦能力概念納入當地管理,並提高珊瑚礁系統的適應能力。

Darla White分享了她如何使用Reef Resilience Training of Trainers課程中的工具和資源來支持她的種子基金項目。

經理聚焦

在毛伊島夏威夷DLNR水產資源部的珊瑚礁經理達拉懷特見面。 她參加了2011太平洋島嶼培訓師培訓(TOT)研討會,以了解珊瑚礁的恢復力管理並培養車間促進技能。 在TOT研討會之後,Darla和她的合作夥伴Eric Conklin獲得了種子基金資助,為夏威夷群島的5珊瑚礁恢復力研討會,到達63州海洋管理者,社區海洋資源管理者和科學家。 通過這些培訓,他們為參與珊瑚礁管理的主要機構(NOAA,珊瑚礁生態系統部,夏威夷水產資源部)和4島上的幾個社區管理組織帶來了新的科學和戰略。 他們廣泛的培訓使主要的利益相關者了解珊瑚礁的恢復能力及其在管理計劃中的應用,並有助於在未來協調州和社區管理目標。

社區參與

這些項目使社區成員,利益相關者和資源使用者能夠在維持珊瑚礁及其提供的服務方面發揮更積極的作用,並鼓勵群體參與改善珊瑚礁恢復力的項目。

聽聽下面的播客,聽聽Yashika Nand分享她種子基金項目的亮點,以及激發她學習珊瑚病的靈感。

史密斯約翰遜在密克羅尼西亞的雅普進行研究。

經理聚焦

史蒂芬約翰遜與北馬里亞納群島(CNMI)的環境質量處合作。 在2011,他是太平洋島嶼培訓師培訓班的參與者。 在這次培訓之後,該網絡授予史蒂文一項種子基金資助,他與NOAA的漁業生物學家Steve McKagan合作,為59社區成員帶領塞班培訓。 他們的培訓向與會者介紹了氣候變化,珊瑚褪色和復原力的關鍵概念,並培訓他們如何進行珊瑚礁監測調查,從而增加公眾參與塞班島漂白監測方案的情況。 在2013漂白活動期間,由於參加培訓,公眾對珊瑚褪色的報告有所增加。 此外,當Steven努力將彈性原則納入他的工作時,他與Jeffrey Maynard博士聯繫並進行實地研究,從而在一個主要期刊上發表關於韌性評估的出版物。

通知管理研究

這些項目通過監測方案和評估來監測珊瑚礁系統的現狀和趨勢,以便為今後的管理決策提供最佳信息。

來自Faly馬達加斯加工作室的參與者。 照片@ WCS

經理聚焦

認識Bemahafaly(Faly)Randriamanantsoa。 在坦桑尼亞參加了Reef Resilience培訓後,他認識到需要將彈性原則納入馬達加斯加的現有管理計劃。 在網絡的種子基金資助的支持下,Faly將26的管理人員,漁民,旅遊運營商和其他利益相關者聚集在一起,進行有關珊瑚礁恢復力,珊瑚褪色以及管理者如何努力減少對珊瑚生態系統影響的培訓。

因此,該小組開始將彈性原則和活動納入馬達加斯加海洋公園的五項管理計劃。 Bemahafaly說,“每年,他們都會進行監控,並逐步採用額外的彈性參數。”培訓大大改善了管理人員之間的關係。 “在訓練之前,”法利說,“他們沒有互動。 培訓結束後,我們有了聯繫。 自11月2013以來,他們仍然繼續與通信和互聯互通。“

參與者發現這樣的價值,他們建立了一個監督漂白的正式委員會。 參加培訓的當地社區成員繼續在每年的溫暖季節期間監測珊瑚礁的漂白事件。 該組甚至建立了一個Facebook頁面,以便在不同的站點之間相互共享信息。 當發生衝擊時,從漂白到破壞性或非法捕撈,他們在Facebook上進行溝通,共同評估和解決影響。

實施管理計劃和戰略

這些項目側重於管理規劃和戰略,以減少當地和全球壓力因素的影響,提高珊瑚礁的恢復能力 - 例如,制定珊瑚褪色反應計劃,珊瑚疾病預警系統和入侵物種管理計劃。

Yashika Nand在斐濟珊瑚礁恢復力研討會期間向與會者致辭。

經理聚焦

認識斐濟野生動物保護協會海洋科學家Yashika Nand。 當她被團隊提名參加Reef Resilience Training of Trainers(TOT)課程以支持他們在斐濟本地管理海洋區域(FLMMA)網絡上的工作時,她參與了2011的珊瑚礁恢復力網絡。 在TOT課程期間,Yashika接受了有關彈性MPA網絡設計,珊瑚病的培訓,並與專家合作創建了一個可以適應大多數社區的漂白響應計劃框架。

在TOT課程之後,Yashika和她的團隊為FLMMA合作夥伴和社區代表舉辦了為期一天的2日斐濟珊瑚礁恢復研討會,向他們介紹適應性原則和珊瑚病,培訓管理人員進行適應性管理,並製定針對特定地點的漂白應對計劃。 在研討會期間,她利用TOT課程中的珊瑚病信息向FLMMA合作夥伴和社區代表介紹了珊瑚病。 正是在這次演講中,FLMMA合作夥伴和社區代表認識到珊瑚病正在影響他們的珊瑚礁,引起人們的關注和興趣,更多地了解斐濟珊瑚病的原因以及如何管理它。 研討會結束後,4社區代表根據他們從Yashika學到的信息和框架,為他們的地區製定並實施了漂白應對計劃。 此外,FLMMA合作夥伴和社區代表根據他們在研討會上學到的信息,為其他地區舉辦了抵禦能力培訓。 在TOT課程和斐濟珊瑚礁恢復研討會之後,Yashika在TOT課程中被介紹為珊瑚病後,有動力回到學校獲得碩士學位。 她花了四年時間在太平洋大學研究珊瑚疾病分佈,以指導未來的管理策略。

聽聽Yashika的採訪,聽取她的種子基金項目的重點,以及激勵她學習珊瑚病的原因。

Seed Funding Projects

In a rapidly changing world, the ability of coral reefs to respond, recover, and adapt to future challenges is essential to marine ecosystems and reef-dependent communities around the world. To achieve this, the Network has supported more than 1,250 coral reef managers from 66 countries and territories to attend in-person trainings and learning exchanges to gain experience in assessing the resilience of their reefs and receive expert mentorship on how to incorporate resilience concepts into local projects.

The Network awarded seed funding grants to 50 participants to accelerate the implementation of projects developed during Reef Resilience trainings. To date, over $95,000 has been allocated for on-the-ground projects around the world to support effective management and protection of coral reefs. To achieve this we’ve provide support for managers to complete projects that:

  • Build Skills of Coral Reef Professionals
  • Engage with Local Communities
  • Conduct Research to Inform Management
  • Implement Management Plans and Strategies

To learn more about seed funding projects, read success stories from Network Members below.

Building Skills of Coral Reef Professionals 

These projects equip provide information, tools, and strategies to enhance the skills of professionals working in coral reef conservation and enable them to incorporate resilience concepts into local management and boost the adaptive capacity of coral reef systems.

Manager Spotlight

Screen Shot 2017-06-19 at 3.02.27 PM

Darla White share how she used tools and resources from Reef Resilience Training of Trainers course to support her seed funding project.

Meet Darla White, Coral Reef Manager at Hawaii DLNR Division of Aquatic Resources, Maui. She participated in the 2011 Pacific Islands Training of Trainer’s (TOT) workshop to learn about coral reef resilience management and build skills in workshop facilitation. After the TOT workshops, Darla and her partner, Eric Conklin, received a seed funding gran to lead 5 reef resilience workshops for Hawaiian islands, reaching 63 state marine managers, community marine resource managers, and scientists. Through these trainings, they brought new science and strategies to major agencies involved in coral reef management (NOAA, the Coral Reef Ecosystem Division, Hawaii Division of Aquatic Resources) and several community management organizations on the 4 islands. Their wide-reaching trainings allowed major stakeholders to learn about reef resilience and it’s application in management plans, and helped align state and community management goals in the future.

 

Community  Engagement

These projects empower community members, stakeholders, and resource users to take a more active role in sustaining coral reefs and the services they provideand encourage  groups to participate in projects that improve reef resilience.

Manager Spotlight

Steven Johnson in Yap, Micronesia, conducting research.

Steven Johnson works with the Division of Environmental Quality in the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI). In 2011, he was a participant in the Pacific Islands Training of Trainer’s workshop. After this training, the Network awarded Steven a seed funding grant where he partnered with Steve McKagan, a Fisheries Biologist with NOAA, to lead a training in Saipan for 59 community members. Their training introduced participants to the key concepts of climate change, coral bleaching and resilience and trained them on how to conduct coral reef monitoring surveys, leading to an increase in public participation in bleaching monitoring programs in Saipan. During a 2013 bleaching event, there was an increase of reports of coral bleaching by the public as a result of participation in the trainings. In addition, as Steven worked to incorporate resilience principles into his work, he to connected with Dr. Jeffrey Maynard and conducted field research leading to a publication on resilience assessments in a major journal.

 

Research to Inform Management

These projects monitor the status and trends of coral reef systems through monitoring programs and assessments to best inform future management decisions. 

Manager Spotlight

Participants from Madagascar workshop. Credit @ WCS

Participants from Faly’s workshop in Madagascar. Photo @ WCS

Meet Bemahafaly (Faly) Randriamanantsoa. After attending a Reef Resilience training in Tanzania, recognized the needs to incorporate resilience principles into existing management plans in Madagascar. With support from a seed funding grant from the Network, Faly brought together 26 managers, fishermen, tourism operators, and other stakeholders in 2013 for a training about reef resilience, coral bleaching, and how managers can work to reduce impacts to coral ecosystems.

As a result, the group began to incorporate resilience principles and activities into five management plans for marine parks in Madagascar. Bemahafaly says, “Every year, they do monitoring and, step-by-step, they agree to incorporate additional resilience parameters.” The training greatly improved relationships between the managers. “Before the training,” Faly says, “they did not interact. After the training, we have connections. Since November 2013, they still continue until now with the communication and interconnection.”

The participants found such value in meeting together that they established a formal committee to monitor bleaching. Local community members who were part of the training continue to monitor the reefs for bleaching events during the annual warm-weather season. The group even set up a Facebook page to share information with one another across different sites. When impacts occur, from bleaching to destructive or illegal fishing, they communicate it on Facebook and work together to assess and address the impact.

 

Implementing Management Plans and Strategies

These projects focus on management planning and strategies to reduce impacts from local and global stressors and enhance reef resilience—for example, developing coral bleaching response plans, coral disease alert system, and invasive species management plans. 

Manager Spotlight

Yashika Nad presenting to participants during Fiji Reef Resilience Workshop.

Yashika Nand presenting to participants during Fiji Reef Resilience Workshop.

Meet Yashika Nand, marine scientist for the Wildlife Conservation Society Fiji Project. She became involved in the Reef Resilience Network in 2011 when she was nominated by her team to participate in a Reef Resilience Training of Trainers (TOT) course to support their work on Fiji’s Locally Managed Marine Area (FLMMA) network. During the TOT course, Yashika received training on resilient MPA network design, coral disease, and worked with experts to create a framework for a bleaching response plan that can be adapted to most communities.

After the TOT course, Yashika and her team hosted a 2-day Fiji Reef Resilience workshop for FLMMA partners and community representatives to introduce them to resilience principles and coral disease, train managers in adaptive management and develop site specific bleaching response plans. During the workshop, she used information on coral disease from the TOT course to introduce FLMMA partners and community representatives to coral disease. It was during this presentation, when FLMMA partners and community representatives recognized coral disease was effecting their reefs, raising concern and interest in learning more about the causes of coral disease in Fiji and how to manage it. After the workshop, 4 community representatives developed and implemented bleaching response plans for their districts adapted from the information and framework they learned from Yashika. In addition, FLMMA partners and community representatives held resilience trainings for other districts based on the information they learned at the workshop. Following the TOT course and the Fiji Reef Resilience workshop, Yashika was motivated to go back to school to get her Masters Degree after being introduced to coral disease at the TOT course. She spent the last four years at the University of the Pacific studying coral disease distribution in order to guide future management strategies.

Listen to the podcast below to hear Yashika Nand share highlights from her seed funding project and what inspired her to study coral disease.

 

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone