古巴的大小與佛羅里達相當,是加勒比地區生態最多樣化的島嶼,擁有超過10,000特有的植物和動物物種。 該國的珊瑚礁面積為1000平方英里,佔加勒比海島嶼所有珊瑚礁的三分之一。 古巴健康的海洋生態系統對區域珊瑚幼蟲的傳播和漁業生產至關重要,這不僅有利於加勒比地區,也有利於美國東南部。

大自然保護協會與古巴保護機構合作超過20年,提供保護區管理和規劃,GPS和GIS,珊瑚礁監測,氣候適應和可持續旅遊等培訓,否則將無法獲得。 在此期間,保護區還繪製了保護區內的珊瑚礁,海草和紅樹林 - 這些地圖已被用於促進對這些高生物多樣性地區的監測和有針對性的保護。 保護協會對古巴的承諾使我們成為與古巴保護機構保持良好積極工作關係的少數幾個組織之一。 該保護協會通過回應其現有承諾並為政府和非政府組織工作人員提供推進海洋和陸地保護所需技能的培訓,為古巴的保護機構提供支持。 通過中國全球自然保護基金和私人捐助者的資助,目前計劃利用新的繪圖技術為該島制定全面的保護藍圖,以改進現有數據並通過專業知識對其進行改進。 這些產品將整合到信息系統中,以評估保護和發展情景 - 提供有關棲息地保護,自然資源開發和減緩的指導。

加勒比計劃執行主任LuisSolórzano博士,古巴項目經理Raimundo Espinoza先生和加勒比計劃高級科學家Steve Schill博士都在推動古巴的合作和保護工作中發揮了不可或缺的作用。 我們向他們詢問了一些關於大自然保護協會在該國的工作的問題,以及他們不得不說的話:

RR:您認為古巴人在珊瑚礁保護方面面臨的最大挑戰是什麼?
Raimundo Espinoza先生:古巴保護主義者非常熱情,富有創造力,並且具有很高的學術標準。 但是,日常技術的局限性,例如網速較慢以及科學分析所需的軟件限制,是他們每天面臨的挑戰。 特別是對於珊瑚礁而言,古巴珊瑚礁佔加勒比海島嶼所有珊瑚礁的三分之一以上,這對監測和管理如此廣闊的地區提出了挑戰。 儘管如此,古巴在加勒比地區擁有一些原始的珊瑚礁系統。 古巴珊瑚礁缺乏大規模的沿海開發和低營養和沈積物流動,這提供了一個假設,即為什麼這些系統能夠與加勒比地區許多其他退化系統相比保持其完整性。

增加發展的潛在威脅可能是保持古巴珊瑚礁系統健康的一項挑戰。 我們目前正在與古巴保護機構合作,確定實現珊瑚礁保護的最佳途徑,並努力最大限度地發揮海洋對人類的益處,同時保持健康的海洋棲息地。

RR:TNC正在做些什麼來幫助應對這些挑戰?
Raimundo Espinoza先生:我們目前正在進行兩項重大努力。 第一個是古巴保護藍圖,將與古巴保護機構合作進行。 該藍圖將指導將保護重點放在生態價值高的地區的努力,這將有助於古巴以促進可持續利用而不犧牲生態完整性的方式做出有關未來發展的明智決策。 此外,保護協會將通過在CiénegadeZapata生態系統內的保護區Elemento Natural Destacado-Sistema Espeleolacuste與古巴國家保護區中心合作建立珊瑚苗圃,建設加強珊瑚管理和恢復能力的能力。 我們還為珊瑚礁管理人員提供建立和管理古巴第一個珊瑚苗圃所需的現有科學,最佳做法和工具。

RR:古巴保護和發展藍圖的預期成果是什麼?
Steve Schill博士:古巴保護藍圖將提供改進和更新的陸地,淡水和海洋棲息地空間數據庫以及整個古巴的社會經濟活動。 這些特徵將以比以前過時,不准確或以不適當的比例映射的數據集更精確地映射。 通過這一過程,我們將確定保護差距,最終將導致設計最佳保護區網絡,從而有效地滿足陸地,淡水和海洋系統的既定保護目標。

這一改進的保護區網絡將有助於保護整個古巴這些系統的生態功能和長期生存能力。 此外,我們將舉辦一系列研討會和會議,以教育,提高認識並就明智的保護議程達成共識。 該議程將優先考慮和指導保護工作,幫助政府在不犧牲生態完整性的情況下,以促進可持續利用的方式對未來發展做出明智和明智的選擇。

RR:大自然保護協會在古巴的工作對加勒比地區的保護工作有何重要意義?
LuisSolórzano博士:古巴是加勒比海地區最大的島嶼,也是全球最大的20島嶼之一,因此是該地區保護價值最高的島嶼之一。 該島擁有高水平的特有物種,對北美洲的鳥類遷徙很重要,並為該地區擁有健康的海洋物種遺傳庫。 此外,由於農業和發展影響低,人口密度低,古巴保存完好。

隨著美國與古巴外交關係的變化,經濟活動增加的可能性可能推動農業,石油,採礦,旅遊和移民等部門的土地使用變化。 該保護協會正在努力保護和保護加勒比地區的自然資源,因此任何區域保護目標和戰略都需要包括古巴以確保生物代表性和生物地理連通性。 我們將與古巴夥伴合作,完成該國的保護藍圖,並支持設計和實施有效管理的保護區網絡。 這些努力的目標是捕捉古巴海洋和陸地生態系統的生物豐富性,並與不同部門接觸以實現發展目標,同時保持環境完整性和該國的自然豐富性。 古巴有可能成為21世紀真正可持續發展的一個例子,在這個世紀,人類的發展需求和願望得到滿足,而不會侵蝕維持我們所有人的生命支持系統。

por youjizz xmxx 老師xxx 性別

The Nature Conservancy in Cuba: A major step in protecting Caribbean resources

Dr. Bob Steneck and Ramon Lloveras TNC Caribbean Program Trustees snorkeling off of Playa Girón, Cuba, viewing healthy endangered Elkhorn coral stands. © Alex Quintero, Director of Operations, North America Region.

Dr. Bob Steneck and Ramon Lloveras TNC Caribbean Program Trustees snorkeling off of Playa Girón, Cuba, viewing healthy endangered Elkhorn coral stands. © Alex Quintero, Director of Operations, North America Region.

Roughly the size of Florida, Cuba is the most ecologically diverse island in the Caribbean with more than 10,000 endemic plant and animal species. The country’s coral reefs span 1000 sq. miles and represent a third of all reefs in the insular Caribbean. Cuba’s healthy marine ecosystems are crucial for regional coral larvae dispersal and fisheries production that not only benefit the Caribbean region, but also the southeastern United States.

The Nature Conservancy has partnered with Cuban conservation agencies for more than 20 years, providing trainings such as protected area management and planning, GPS and GIS, coral reef monitoring, climate adaptation, and sustainable tourism that otherwise would not be available. During this time, the Conservancy has also mapped coral reefs, sea grasses, and mangrove forests within protected areas – these maps have been used to facilitate monitoring and targeted protection of these high-biodiversity locations. The Conservancy’s commitment to Cuba has made us one of the few organizations that have an excellent active working relationship with conservation agencies in Cuba. The Conservancy supports conservation agencies in Cuba by responding to their existing commitments and training government and NGO staff in skills necessary to advance marine and terrestrial conservation. Through funding from the China Global Conservation Fund and private donors there are currently plans to develop a comprehensive conservation blueprint for the island using new mapping techniques to improve existing data and refine it through expert knowledge. These products will be integrated within an information system to evaluate conservation and development scenarios—providing guidance about habitat protection, natural resource development and mitigation.

Dr. Luis Solórzano, Executive Director of the Caribbean Program, Mr. Raimundo Espinoza, Program Manager for Cuba, and Dr. Steve Schill, Senior Scientist for the Caribbean Program have all played integral roles in advancing collaborations and conservation efforts in Cuba. We asked them a few questions about The Nature Conservancy’s work in the country and here’s what they had to say:

RR: What do you see as the greatest challenges for Cubans working in coral reef conservation?
Mr. Raimundo Espinoza: Cuban conservationists are very passionate, creative, and have high academic standards. However, limitations with everyday technology, such as slow Internet speeds and restrictions on software needed for scientific analysis, are challenges they face on a daily basis. Specifically for coral reefs, Cuban reefs represent over one third of all reefs in the insular Caribbean presenting challenges for monitoring and management of such a vast area. Nonetheless, Cuba has some of the more pristine reef systems in the Caribbean. The lack of massive coastal development and low nutrient and sediment flows onto Cuban reefs provide a hypothesis as to why these systems have been able to maintain their integrity compared to many others degrading systems in the Caribbean.

A potential threat of increased development will likely be a challenge in keeping Cuban coral reef systems healthy. We are currently working with Cuban conservation agencies to identify the best way to achieve coral reef conservation and work towards maximizing the ocean’s benefits to people, while maintaining healthy marine habitats.

RR: What is TNC doing to help address these challenges?
Mr. Raimundo Espinoza: We currently have two major efforts underway. The first is the Cuba Conservation Blueprint, which will be undertaken in collaboration with Cuban conservation agencies. The blueprint will guide efforts to focus conservation in areas of high ecological value, which will help Cuba make informed decisions about future development in ways that will promote sustainable use without sacrificing ecological integrity. In addition, the Conservancy will be building capacity for enhanced coral management and restoration in Cuba by establishing coral nurseries in partnership with the Cuban National Center for Protected Areas at the Elemento Natural Destacado- Sistema Espeleolacuste, a Protected Area within the Ciénega de Zapata ecosystem. We are also providing coral reef managers with current science, best practices, and tools necessary to establish and manage Cuba’s first coral nursery.

RR: What are the expected outcomes of the Cuba Conservation and Development Blueprint?
Dr. Steve Schill: The Cuba Conservation Blueprint will provide an improved and updated spatial database of terrestrial, freshwater, and marine habitats as well as socioeconomic activities throughout Cuba. These features will be consistently mapped at much greater accuracy than previous datasets that are outdated, inaccurate, or mapped at inadequate scales. Through this process, we will identify protection gaps that will ultimately lead to the design of an optimal protected area network that efficiently meets identified conservation goals for terrestrial, freshwater, and marine systems.

This improved network of protected areas will help to preserve ecological function and long-term viability of these systems throughout Cuba. In addition, we will host a series of workshops and meetings to educate, raise awareness and build common consensus for a smart conservation agenda. This agenda will prioritize and guide conservation efforts, helping the government make informed and smarter choices about future development in ways that will promote sustainable use without sacrificing ecological integrity.

RR: How is The Nature Conservancy’s work in Cuba important for conservation efforts in the Caribbean Region?
Dr. Luis Solórzano: Cuba is the largest island in the Caribbean and one of the top 20 largest islands worldwide and therefore has one of the highest conservation values in the region. The island hosts high levels of endemic species, is important for migrations of birds from North America, and holds a healthy genetic bank of marine species for the region. In addition, Cuba is well preserved due to low-impact agriculture and development and low human population density.

With changes in the U.S.A. – Cuba diplomatic relations, a potential for increased economic activities could fuel changes in land-use in sectors such as agriculture, oil, mining, tourism, and immigration. The Conservancy is working to protect and conserve the Caribbean’s natural resources and so any regional conservation goal and strategy need to include Cuba to secure biological representation and biogeographical connectivity. We will work with Cuban partners to complete the conservation blueprint for the country, and support the design and implementation of a network of effectively managed protected areas. The goal of these efforts is to capture the biological richness of Cuba’s marine and terrestrial ecosystems and engage with different sectors to achieve development goals, while preserving the environmental integrity and the country’s natural richness. Cuba has the potential to become an example of true sustainable development in the 21st century, where human development needs and aspirations are met without eroding the life support systems that maintain us all.

Log on to the Network Forum to ask Mr. Raimundo Espinoza questions or share your comments about marine conservation efforts in Cuba.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someone